Facilities At Pittodrie

I have a Season Ticket in the South Stand and believe it is about time that something is said about the toilet and food facilities there. Surely we can upgrade them a bit. If not up to Richard Donald Stand standard, at least a bit of an improvement! The toilets are dirty, but the food facilities annoy me the most. I don't really eat anything at Pittodrie these days (maybe just as well :laughing: ), but it is ridiculous that people have to queue for ages just to get a pie. Some people are going up to the counters just before half time and are only getting back to their seats 10 minutes into the 2nd half! And if there is any food left to choose from. There are 2 food counters in the South Stand (for those of you who don't sit there) and the queues at busy matches are massive. OK, there is another one just at the gates, but it is a bit of a trail to get there. It gets even worse at Old Firm games when we lose part of the stand - only 1 food counter. Surely Stewart Milne can spend a wee bit of money on this in the off-season (now we are going to be loaded from the Bayern ties :laughing: ). I know improving the team is priority but I feel I must bring this up as a few of my friends and people I sit beside are complaining about it. After all, it's not a fortune we are speaking about here!!

Is there a burger van in the south stand these days? spied that the other day or is that just for the big games (saw it at Copenhagen game). Only been in South Stand a few times but did think queues for food were mental and toilets not great. I sit in the main stand and its a bit better on both fronts but still facilities are shocking and thats one reason attendances will improve at the new stadium

Aye I think you're right. They probably bring in the Burger van for Old Firm and European games, as I didn't see it at the Caley game today. But the facilities are still not good enough. New stadium....will it ever happen? :laughing:

Can you still take a piss over the fence at the back of the South Stand or are you not allowed to since the new flats went up?

Don't know, you would have to ask the coppers that :laughing: I'd never heard of anyone being thrown out for relieving themselves there until a couple of months ago. My brother said the police ejected somebody even though there were heaps of other people doing likewise. Or maybe he was just too slow putting it away :hysterical::laughing:

Aye I think you're right. They probably bring in the Burger van for Old Firm and European games, as I didn't see it at the Caley game today. But the facilities are still not good enough. New stadium....will it ever happen? :laughing:

i think ths is the reason we need a new stadium. i remember a news piece on Arsenal when they moved to the their new ground. there corporate and match day facilities were exceptional and allowed them to make so much more money by making it easier for supporters to spend money.

Even if there were mobile food sellers (like in american sports stadiums) to reduce the queues a bit

i think ths is the reason we need a new stadium. i remember a news piece on Arsenal when they moved to the their new ground. there corporate and match day facilities were exceptional and allowed them to make so much more money by making it easier for supporters to spend money.

Even if there were mobile food sellers (like in american sports stadiums) to reduce the queues a bit

Spot on. But this is Stewart Milne we are speaking about here. Will it ever happen? It will have to, as it must be putting some people off.

Seen as we don't make an extra penny if we sold an extra 1000 pies, i'm guessing this will always be a non-starter.

However, while moanind about facilities, in the Main Stand, I went for a Bovril & Steak pie 5 mins before half time in the Main Stand, where there were none of either! The Scotch pie was real good, but the Chicken soup is mince (terrible choice of words there!) also outside the toilets STINKS of pish!

i havent had a pittodrie pie in about 10 years. Cant be arsed missing 20 mins of the game to get a pie.

For anyone who hasnt been to it, you should see inside the Millenium stadium. I know its a smidge bigger than pittodrie but the whole stadium is connected since its an oval so under ever stand on every tier theres a food/drink shop with adjacent toilets.

millseat.jpg

Using this as an example, start at the very top. Say you were seated in M19. You come down the stairs from your seat into a corridor and your met by, lets say the alcohol unit. Through the swing doors behind M20 is the burger unit, through again into M21 the soft drinks, then the pies and so on and so on all the way round the stadium. Thats about 60m between each place to buy something. Turn around and theres a toilet right there. No queues anywhere in the whole place.

I know and accept that the millenium is well in advance of what we need in terms of size...but i love the set up they have there. Very little space is wasted and the way theyve managed to squeeze it into the very centre of cardiff a matter of 5 feet away from the next office block is something special.

Can we nae just buy out the Morrisons on King street. Or buy where the new bus station is going in that square. Surely ideal places to keep it easy for most folk to get to.

Never had anything to eat at Todders, so wouldn't know about the food queues in terms of experiencing them, but they seemed very long yesterday, and I overheard someone urging a friend to go and queue just before half time as the word was they were running out of pies.

As to the loos, they're fine for the quines - even have hot water, which is much more than most of the other stadia around Scotland. However, I've NEVER seen a queue for the loons like yesterday which was far longer than our one, to the extent that a couple of them were joking they'd be better off joining ours. Never thought I'd see the day!

I have a Season Ticket in the South Stand and believe it is about time that something is said about the toilet and food facilities there. Surely we can upgrade them a bit. If not up to Richard Donald Stand standard, at least a bit of an improvement! The toilets are dirty, but the food facilities annoy me the most. I don't really eat anything at Pittodrie these days (maybe just as well ;) ), but it is ridiculous that people have to queue for ages just to get a pie. Some people are going up to the counters just before half time and are only getting back to their seats 10 minutes into the 2nd half! And if there is any food left to choose from. There are 2 food counters in the South Stand (for those of you who don't sit there) and the queues at busy matches are massive. OK, there is another one just at the gates, but it is a bit of a trail to get there. It gets even worse at Old Firm games when we lose part of the stand - only 1 food counter. Surely Stewart Milne can spend a wee bit of money on this in the off-season (now we are going to be loaded from the Bayern ties :laughing: ). I know improving the team is priority but I feel I must bring this up as a few of my friends and people I sit beside are complaining about it. After all, it's not a fortune we are speaking about here!!

Boys and girls, can you nae avoid eating for a couple of hours? :applause:

Any money available should not be wasted on a decrepit stadium.

totally agree, we're looking to move and flatten Todders, why spend money on something that makes very little anyway (and I belive i 100% franchised out)

Sorry I can't agree with that statement.

It was an effing disgrace yesterday. We are normally at the merkland end of South Stand but yesterday were next to Caley Fans. Only realised yesterday that there is only one toilet in home end of South Stand. Completely ridiculous.

Folk shouldna be encouraged to piss against a fence but that's what it's coming down to.

As for the catering - a joke!

i dont often sit in the south stand, but on the times that i have the facitlities are shocking, i agree.

as for worst in the spl, i think motherwells main stand would run it close after being in it on boxing day.

Always a sooth stander but I never eat anything. Find a nose bag before the game along the Beach or up in the town. And there were lots of moans yesterday in the SS about nae pies or Bovril or something.

The toilets arenae dirty, just old, like the rest of the ground, and really underlines why we need a new stadium.

21st century SPL/UEFA Cup side in a 20th century stadium with second division facilities

Although Fir Park makes our main stand look like the Bernebau by comparison. Worst Ive seen apart fae Dens Park

Does anyone know what happened with that stand? Did they intend to have a patch of wasteland at the end of it, or did they run out of money when building it?

from wikipedia regarding main stand at fir park

This is an unusual structure in that the steel girders run for the full length of the pitch, but the stand only runs for two thirds the length of the pitch. This was due to a dispute with a home owner beside the stadium during construction, which the club lost, and thus were unable to complete the stand across the whole length of the pitch.

frigging hell you would have thought in motherwell they would have just found means to "persuede" the residant in question to move

i remember reading that we done a feasability study on rebuilding main stand at todders across the road. it would have meant purchasing the houses behind and rediverting the road. heard a few comments that residants would not move. prob same happened here. the expression "theres always one" comes to mind