Bars/pubs In Town.

Mrs_Mols

'Top Casuals' fae the 80s'??? HaHa. Fuck off. The top boys I knew would never give it that load of old shite. No fuckin chance.

I concur, anyone who said that certainly wasn't there and isn't one. In my experience the real top boys are if anything understated and polite funny blokes, none would come away with that kind of crap.

If everyone who claims to be one was there our mob would have been in the thousands.

I used to work in the Bells 20 years ago.

It wont be missed

Decent bar a very long time ago but utterly neglected for a decade and a half.

Used to be mobbed at the weekends with even the top footballers of the day in attendance before heading off to the Cotton Club (still there, I was surprised to notice last weekend) or Pavarottis(I think - may have been Leanardos?)

I concur, anyone who said that certainly wasn't there and isn't one. In my experience the real top boys are if anything understated and polite funny blokes, none would come away with that kind of crap.

If everyone who claims to be one was there our mob would have been in the thousands.

Well said, by a man obviously in the know. Any fanny who comes out with that bullshit wasn't there. At best, they may have been around at the time but they would have been more interested in the fashion and being associated with a 'big gang'. Boys who were there and done it can share a memory or two over a couple of beers but that's it.

Like Dayts :swear:

I used to work in the Bells 20 years ago.

It wont be missed

Decent bar a very long time ago but utterly neglected for a decade and a half.

Used to be mobbed at the weekends with even the top footballers of the day in attendance before heading off to the Cotton Club (still there, I was surprised to notice last weekend) or Pavarottis(I think - may have been Leanardos?)

The bit at the back of the bells up the stairs was my favourite watering hole for a long time in town, it was a really good bar, pity it was left to run down.

Does anyone recall the boozer on Langstane place, had a open fire at the back with big leather chairs, I used to go there to neck drugs before hitting the hoochi, had a nae bad dj on the decks at weekends, long narrow place. The back window looked on to a square, loved that place but can't recall its name.

The bit at the back of the bells up the stairs was my favourite watering hole for a long time in town, it was a really good bar, pity it was left to run down.

Does anyone recall the boozer on Langstane place, had a open fire at the back with big leather chairs, I used to go there to neck drugs before hitting the hoochi, had a nae bad dj on the decks at weekends, long narrow place. The back window looked on to a square, loved that place but can't recall its name.

Sounds like Cul-de-sac to me.

Was it Betty Burkes?

No.

I was thinking Churchills but that was across from the Star and Garter (another class cruiser), something with a single name anyway.

My main memory from the place was in a leather armchair and the snow was tipping down outside, big log fire was roaring and the tunes were thumping, e coming on, I just thought....this place is good.

Was in the East Neuk on Friday and was offered outside by some 'top casuals' fae the 80's (quoting them). een o them ended up buying me a pint 5 minutes later.

That place has to be the worst pub in Aberdeen, makes Portals look like the Malmaison..

Went in there last year we few lads on pub crawl up King Street, As we walked in the one eye'd barmaid was clambering over the bar throwing an ald wifie oh 65(Approx) "shouting get the fuck oot oh here ya fucking Slag"

Now each to there own in that, but if said barmaid was telling the truth and old wifie was indeed dishing oot the burger to a cunt, who the fuck is taking her up on the offer. Holy fuck she looked like Subo a we third degree burns!!!!

We had one drink in there, was going to ask for Grey Goose but as I looked across the Optic's saw that there wasna even Grants, Stuck we a bottle oh Bud even that was oot oh date.

They should be selling tickets at the door for that freak show!!!!!!

No.

I was thinking Churchills but that was across from the Star and Garter (another class cruiser), something with a single name anyway.

My main memory from the place was in a leather armchair and the snow was tipping down outside, big log fire was roaring and the tunes were thumping, e coming on, I just thought....this place is good.

Thought the S&G used to be a Gaybar?

Was it Chambers??

Once treble dunted Microdots in there before becoming a complete shambles of a man and was convinced the Seagulls on Union Street were trying to dive bomb me. I had to get off the busy drag sharpish and try and compose myself.

You're the man Cheese, that was doing my head in!! :) Chambers it was.

The big leather chairs in front of the fire were the perfect place for getting wrecked, good tunes in there as well.

Me and the good wife bought a house a few days ago, its not built yet, we move in approx aug/sep.

I was looking on google maps to see what the nearest pub to it was and then looked on google reviews when I found it. The review said "good beers and good bears", so it's obviously a hun pub, a den of iniquity :(

I will miss living in the city centre, where the pubs are not (usually) so tribal like this.

It as an error to purchase property without first identifying suitable public houses nearby.

Me and the good wife bought a house a few days ago, its not built yet, we move in approx aug/sep.

I was looking on google maps to see what the nearest pub to it was and then looked on google reviews when I found it. The review said "good beers and good bears", so it's obviously a hun pub, a den of iniquity :(

I will miss living in the city centre, where the pubs are not (usually) so tribal like this.

It as an error to purchase property without first identifying suitable public houses nearby.

Moving to suburbia to shit out some bairns CS min?

Yes indeed Harcus.

Thats the plan!

Its only 3 miles or so from our current flat / city centre so not too far out. The only downside I can see so far are:

- After 13 years of having a 5 min walk home from the pub, its now a taxi or train shot

- the wife says I am not allowed to smoke in the new house (cow)

This will naturally lead to her criticising me for being out in the back garden smoking all the time.

Yes indeed Harcus.

Thats the plan!

Its only 3 miles or so from our current flat / city centre so not too far out. The only downside I can see so far are:

- After 13 years of having a 5 min walk home from the pub, its now a taxi or train shot

- the wife says I am not allowed to smoke in the new house (cow)

This will naturally lead to her criticising me for being out in the back garden smoking all the time.

You're married to Cow, now this takes your gay loving a new level.