forbesz1903 Posted April 7, 2009 Share Posted April 7, 2009 ???? Didn't Miller hit a speculative ball from well inside his own half, that Smith latched onto. Thats hardly a striking partnership? And how much difference did Miller make for the first? That result was down to the brilliance of Jamie Smith. Two sublime long-rangers, which he's struggle to do again. And.. they're was a spark I felt between them. There was no evidence of this when Aluko went upfront. Christ, even John Stewart and Chris Maguire when played upfront together against Celtic did better than Aluko and Miller. for the last time Aluko is not a striker. If Mulgrew isn't good enough to play Left Back then don't play him at all. Link to comment
Guest LondonScottish Posted April 7, 2009 Share Posted April 7, 2009 And.. they're was a spark I felt between them. Jesus wept. The Chernobyl affect may have been worse than first anticipated. Link to comment
OneZanderDiamond Posted April 7, 2009 Share Posted April 7, 2009 If Mulgrew isn't good enough to play Left Back then don't play him at all. Exactly. The Calderwood way of managing is rubbing off on here. We know Mulgrew is no use at left back and in the last two games at wing back he's been even worse as he has no pace. Aluko is our best player at left wing and shouldn't be shifted about to accomodate anyone especially someone as "pish" as Mulgrew. Link to comment
Guest LondonScottish Posted April 7, 2009 Share Posted April 7, 2009 Exactly. The Calderwood way of managing is rubbing off on here. We know Mulgrew is no use at left back and in the last two games at wing back he's been even worse as he has no pace. Aluko is our best player at left wing and shouldn't be shifted about to accomodate anyone especially someone as "pish" as Mulgrew. Where would you put a player who has four goals and six assists? Not bad going for a defender. Give him some decent coaching, then lets see where we're at. Link to comment
OneZanderDiamond Posted April 7, 2009 Share Posted April 7, 2009 Where would you put a player who has four goals and six assists? Not bad going for a defender. Give him some decent coaching, then lets see where we're at. In the reserves Link to comment
Guest Donforlife Posted April 7, 2009 Share Posted April 7, 2009 Where would you put a player who has four goals and six assists? Not bad going for a defender. Give him some decent coaching, then lets see where we're at. I agree - he is low on confidence - help the lad get his confidence back and go from there. OZD has made his mind up about him which is daft but then he does love Mackie. and to call Considine a colossus is laughable, really really laughable. He has never established himself as 1st choice centre half, mainly due to his Zander-like capabilities to f**k IT UP every time he gets near to cementing his place in the side. Fabio Cannavaro was a colossus for Italy in the 2006 World Cup. Considine a colossus - f**k off dafty! Link to comment
forbesz1903 Posted April 7, 2009 Share Posted April 7, 2009 Where would you put a player who has four goals and six assists? Not bad going for a defender. Give him some decent coaching, then lets see where we're at. Aluko, Miller, Smith, Severin, Maguire. All decent set piece takers. No real need to have a player like Mulgrew in the team just because he can take free kicks. I'd prefer him to play don't get me wrong but on current form he is not good enough. Even his free kicks and corners aren't what they were. Link to comment
K-9 Posted April 7, 2009 Share Posted April 7, 2009 Have to ask whether his overall poor play is worth putting up with if he can produce the goods from set pieces. At the moment most certainly a no as done nothing since Celtic game bar make mistakes and waste free kicks. But nobody much else to stick in to replace which is a problem with most of our team. Link to comment
forbesz1903 Posted April 7, 2009 Share Posted April 7, 2009 Have to ask whether his overall poor play is worth putting up with if he can produce the goods from set pieces. At the moment most certainly a no as done nothing since Celtic game bar make mistakes and waste free kicks. But nobody much else to stick in to replace which is a problem with most of our team. Defence of Vidal Diamond Considine Foster is my choice, foster has at least managed to be less sh*t than Mulgrew. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted April 7, 2009 Share Posted April 7, 2009 Is it lack of concentration? Young players make errors. Don't tell me you didn't see McLeish screwing up when he was young. I proper CB beside Diamond would keep him focused, gee him up, improve his positioning, and general game.Some of his mistakes I would say yes. Hes had good positioning and then just watched the ball either go past him or just stared at it as it has dropped out of the air. This, to me, shows a lack of concentration. As for the second point highlighted I am too young to remember McLeish as a wee lad. I agree about a decent centre back being required to give ALL of our defence a boot up the doup. Since Ando left we have had nobody marshalling the defence in any way shape or form. Mulgrew also seems to lack any sort of concentration. Looking back to the dundee utd game for their second goal he was well positioned to prevent a cross coming in then just let caddis run by him as if he wasn't there. Schoolkids would have done better. In fact I've seen them do better. I don't think his set piece ability is any reason to keep him in the team either. Its as good as being a goal down recentley. Link to comment
madjockmcferson Posted April 7, 2009 Share Posted April 7, 2009 Zander is 24 ... i no longer classify him as a young player. he can still improve but i dont think he will ever be the player we once though the could have been . he is a good SPL defender but not good enough to play for either of the gruesome twosome or a Chumpionship team...... Link to comment
weapon Posted February 27, 2011 Share Posted February 27, 2011 Mulgrew is having a bloody mare against motherwell! Missed a clearance in first minute and let motherwell clean through but view didn't score. Then less than a minute later tried to shield long ball bk tae keeper but sutton nipped in to get the ball and score! Motherwell 1 Celtic 0 half hour gone Link to comment
At The Border Guy Posted February 27, 2011 Share Posted February 27, 2011 Mulgrew is having a bloody mare against motherwell! Missed a clearance in first minute and let motherwell clean through but view didn't score. Then less than a minute later tried to shield long ball bk tae keeper but sutton nipped in to get the ball and score! Motherwell 1 Celtic 0 half hour gone Thought he'd been doing quite well recently. Massive backward step today though. BBC site:1248:GOAL: Motherwell 1-0 Celtic (John Sutton) GoooooooaaaaaaaaalWhat a start for Stuart McCall's men! Chris Humphrey's just after having a chance from a Charlie Mulgrew mistake - Daniel Majstorovic mopped up on that occasion... But then another Mulgrew error allows John Sutton to score. The defender leaves the ball for his goalkeeper, but Sutton nicks in to slot in from an angle. "You could see that it was never going to reach the goalkeeper and John Sutton just gambled and it paid off. Motherwell have started really well and are pressing Celtic high up the pitch" Motherwell captain and BBC Radio Scotland pundit Stephen Craigan "That must go down as the most mistakes made by one player in the first three minutes of a game. You wonder how that will effect Charlie Mulgrew's confidence. He made a mistake before the goal and was then caught in possession again straight after it" BBC Radio Scotland pundit Murdo MacLeod 1253: I think you get the message - it's not been the best start for Mulgrew... 1300: "Neil Lennon is having a real go at Charlie Mulgrew, basically telling him: 'Get your act together mate.'" - BBC Scotland reporter Charlie Mann in the thick of things on the touchline. 1306: TwitterStevie Lochran on Twitter via #bbcsportsound: "I don't care what Lennon says, Mulgrew is never in a million years a centre half." Link to comment
Crossbow Posted February 27, 2011 Share Posted February 27, 2011 Charlie Mulgrew is not a defender - he was more exposed with us and our less than class act, particularly last season but that didn't minimise the fact that he made basic errors. He's now in a team where he is under less pressure and therefore will make less mistakes because he's given less chance to, they moved him sharply from LB becuase he couldn't cope and tried to re invent him as a CH. He's now been exposed there. No one can surely be too surprised except perhaps Charlie and Lennon. Tragically for us Motherwell won, I actually wanted a Tims win, it would have made our life easier - oh, how we might rue that defeat to Motherwell recently. Still every cloud has a silver lining.... Mulgrew and Lennon Link to comment
DD1903 Posted February 27, 2011 Share Posted February 27, 2011 was actually talking about mulgrew with a sellick fan at work last night. I implied that mulgrew was in fact pish and not the classy centre half that some believe he is, to which he replied "you're just bitter cos he used to bang them in for you..." he didnt believe me when I pointed out he scored only 4 goals last season. Amazing how some people get completely undeserved reputations. Link to comment
Scarface Posted February 27, 2011 Share Posted February 27, 2011 mulgrew has been immense for celtic recently actually, especially in old firm games Correct. Mulgrew's a decent player and he'll only improve playing alongside better players at the Tims. He was at fault for his mis-cue in the first minute today but, as Craig Brown rightly acknowledged on Sportscene just now, it was the 'keeper's hesitation at fault for 'Well's opener, not Mulgrew. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted February 27, 2011 Share Posted February 27, 2011 Correct. Mulgrew's a decent player and he'll only improve playing alongside better players at the Tims. He was at fault for his mis-cue in the first minute today but, as Craig Brown rightly acknowledged on Sportscene just now, it was the 'keeper's hesitation at fault for 'Well's opener, not Mulgrew. By all accounts he has been decent recently, and players improve, but I still think as a left back, he lacks the defensive qualities required. Link to comment
Scarface Posted May 24, 2011 Share Posted May 24, 2011 Despite a very shaky start at left full-back for Celtic this season, does anyone else think Mulgrew's free transfer to the Tims has to go down as one of the bargain buys of the 2010/11 season? He obviously excels at set pieces, but Mulgrew also formed an good partnership with Majstorović for a short spell at centre-back and then proved his versatility by switching to left midfield. Putting aside his supposed unprofessionalism off the field, I've always thought that he has the potential to be a Scotland international in the years ahead. Thoughts? Link to comment
OddJob Posted May 24, 2011 Share Posted May 24, 2011 Despite a very shaky start at left full-back for Celtic this season, does anyone else think Mulgrew's free transfer to the Tims has to go down as one of the bargain buys of the 2010/11 season? He obviously excels at set pieces, but Mulgrew also formed an good partnership with Majstorović for a short spell at centre-back and then proved his versatility by switching to left midfield. Putting aside his supposed unprofessionalism off the field, I've always thought that he has the potential to be a Scotland international in the years ahead. Thoughts?No. It's easy to look "good" in a Celtic or Rangers team when surrounded by better players. Still very suspect and the Caley game was another example of his culpability in defence. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted May 26, 2011 Share Posted May 26, 2011 Despite a very shaky start at left full-back for Celtic this season, does anyone else think Mulgrew's free transfer to the Tims has to go down as one of the bargain buys of the 2010/11 season? He obviously excels at set pieces, but Mulgrew also formed an good partnership with Majstorović for a short spell at centre-back and then proved his versatility by switching to left midfield. Putting aside his supposed unprofessionalism off the field, I've always thought that he has the potential to be a Scotland international in the years ahead. Thoughts? I'm not sure if it's just coincidence, but all the lads that seem to have a poor attitude at Aberdeen have been big Celtic fans. Guys like Diamond, Maguire, Paton and Mulgrew seemed to regard Aberdeen as a joke club, where they can have a good old caper, earn a decent wage and piss it all up the wall. By the end Mulgrew was just going through the motions at Aberdeen. It hasn't surprised me to see Mulgrews attitude and performance improve since he joined Celtic. I think Maguire will also kick on once he's left the club. Link to comment
baconman Posted May 26, 2011 Share Posted May 26, 2011 I'm not sure if it's just coincidence, but all the lads that seem to have a poor attitude at Aberdeen have been big Celtic fans. Guys like Diamond, Maguire, Paton and Mulgrew seemed to regard Aberdeen as a joke club, where they can have a good old caper, earn a decent wage and piss it all up the wall. By the end Mulgrew was just going through the motions at Aberdeen. It hasn't surprised me to see Mulgrews attitude and performance improve since he joined Celtic. I think Maguire will also kick on once he's left the club. I think you make a very good point there! Not only that but they also want everyone to know they're celtic fans!! Now, i think most of us are not naive enough to think that most players who play for AFC are not supporters of the club, but at the same time we're not interested in who they support. I am sure most pro players with age still have a soft spot for the team they grew up supporting but their determination should be focused on who pays their wages which is why i find the players mentioned above a joke. Mulgrews career was going nowhere down south until AFC came in and gave him a chance. He repays the club by mocking it and i hope one day that comes back to bite him?!! Link to comment
Terrorfex Posted May 26, 2011 Share Posted May 26, 2011 I'm not sure if it's just coincidence, but all the lads that seem to have a poor attitude at Aberdeen have been big Celtic fans. Guys like Diamond, Maguire, Paton and Mulgrew seemed to regard Aberdeen as a joke club, where they can have a good old caper, earn a decent wage and piss it all up the wall. By the end Mulgrew was just going through the motions at Aberdeen. It hasn't surprised me to see Mulgrews attitude and performance improve since he joined Celtic. I think Maguire will also kick on once he's left the club. Even if it is an extraordinary coincidence, it's an excellent point. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted May 26, 2011 Share Posted May 26, 2011 For me nothing has changed with Mulgrew, we all know he has the ability , occasionally , to deliver excellent set pieces. Defensively he is still an utter liability as was exposed in Europe and many other games , and perhaps isnt exposed as regularly when he was in a poor Dons team Link to comment
centraldon Posted May 26, 2011 Share Posted May 26, 2011 It's maybe as much down to youth as anything else. Take Jamie smith. I presume he's a tim at heart. But was always fully commited to Aberdeen on the rare occasion he played. Diamond/Bebo/mulgrew are just silly little boys that grew up in the social media age and haven't got the common sense to play down their aligence. The players listed all have ideas above their station (with the arguable exception of mulgrew who got his dream move) and would no doubt be dickheads regardless of who they support. I suspect they think we will be more tolerant of them than were they to be fans of their knuckle dragging brethren. Link to comment
scoutman70 Posted June 30, 2011 Share Posted June 30, 2011 Meanwhile, Celtic defender Charlie Mulgrew will consider playing for the United States after being overlooked by Scotland coach Craig Levein. The versatile player's grandmother was born in America. (Daily Record) Is that a wind up? Mulgrew isn't good enough for the united states of American Samoa Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted June 30, 2011 Share Posted June 30, 2011 Meanwhile, Celtic defender Charlie Mulgrew will consider playing for the United States after being overlooked by Scotland coach Craig Levein. The versatile player's grandmother was born in America. (Daily Record) Is that a wind up? Mulgrew isn't good enough for the united states of American Samoa :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: Link to comment
Scarface Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Watched the Hibs v Celtic game yesterday and saw yet another good performance from Charlie Mulgrew. He's an intelligent player with a sublime left peg for set pieces and he's now established at both left-back and in central defence. Admittedly he's come on leaps and bounds at Parkhead and it's a huge pity he wasn't committed to the cause when he playing at Pittodrie. Presumably the squad for Scotland's upcoming friendly against Slovenia on the 29th Feb will be announced shortly, and Mulgrew must be in the running to win his first international cap. Link to comment
davieb Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Its easy to look good in a team thats top of the league by a country mile Link to comment
jasmine57 Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Presumably the squad for Scotland's upcoming friendly against Slovenia on the 29th Feb will be announced shortly, and Mulgrew must be in the running to win his first international cap. Called up this morning. http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/mobile/scotland/17095027 Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Hibs ran at him maybe once per half. We allowed opposition strikers, half their midfield plus the overlapping full back (whatever that is) to run at him every 45 seconds. Simples really. I say well done to the guy for improving his lot immeasurably from the disaster zone that was his left back tenure (excluding the dead ball). Link to comment