International Football

• Replies 139

Partick keeper Tuffey between the sticks tonight for Northern Ireland.

EDIT: Good save by him from the penalty.

It was a good save but not the best penalty I've ever seen. Italy managed to hit the post direct from a corner soon after. Very impressed by the way Italy have played tonight. Like Northern Ireland many of their experienced regulars aren't playing tonight.

If anybody is interested, current standings after tonights matches...Croatia have already played Andorra twice (6th place team) and they play Belarus twice, England, and Kazakastan in their last matches...its going to be close! Russia, Hungary, Switzerland, and Croatia all have a game in hand

France 10

Bosnia and Herzegovina 9

Russia 9

Hungary 7

Switzerland 7

Republic of Ireland 7

Northern Ireland 7

Scotland 7

Croatia 5

If anybody is interested, current standings after tonights matches...Croatia have already played Andorra twice (6th place team) and they play Belarus twice, England, and Kazakastan in their last matches...its going to be close! Russia, Hungary, Switzerland, and Croatia all have a game in hand

France 10

Bosnia and Herzegovina 9

Russia 9

Hungary 7

Switzerland 7

Republic of Ireland 7

Northern Ireland 7

Scotland 7

Croatia 5

The Irelands are both prone to a f**k up.

France 10

Bosnia and Herzegovina 9

Russia 9

Hungary 7

Switzerland 7

Republic of Ireland 7

Northern Ireland 7

Scotland 7

Croatia 5

Doesn't our group have one less team, hence less games? If so, how will that count to our runner-up standing?

Determining Europe's runners-up

When the group phase of European Zone qualifying reaches its conclusion on 14 October 2009, the nine section winners will be guaranteed a place at the 2010 FIFA World Cup South Africa

Since the results went for us on Saturday, I'll hope for more of the same tonight.

FYR Macedonia v Iceland

Netherlands v Norway

To be honest, I think the games can go whatever way they want now, as I'm confident we can get a point in Norway and win the 2 home games.

Since the results went for us on Saturday, I'll hope for more of the same tonight.

FYR Macedonia v Iceland

Netherlands v Norway

To be honest, I think the games can go whatever way they want now, as I'm confident we can get a point in Norway and win the 2 home games.

Will probably watch this game on the (Norwegian) telly tonight so will report how they look. Norway and Macedonia looked VERY VERY poor on Saturday. Fingers crossed for probably a draw for Iceland and a win for Holland.

Agreed, that's how I'd wish them to turn out and seems as likely as not - but we still have a job to do and we have not (as yet) set the heather on fire - though we've got rid of a few huns so not a bad start.

:unsure:

Surely we'd be arite with 7 points from our 3 games? I don't really fancy us to come to Norway with the tactics of we must win. Play for a draw and if we win then its a boost. We can surely beat Holland at home in the last game though, Holland might even not call up their full squad with Champions League the midweeks before and after.

Think we need to treat all 3 games as must win.

FYR Macedonia v Iceland

Netherlands v Norway

Im never confident watching Scotland :laughing:

Guest LondonScottish
Do England qualify if they win tonight? Must admit, so far, Capello has done a great job.

No, I think they may need another point. Capello has done exactly what I thought he would; formed a rigid and efficient side that may not be the most exciting to watch, but gets the results, and loese very few goals along the way.

England's strip is superb too.

Best new strip is the England one. If it didn't have England on it, I'd buy one. Class.

Shame the numpties who design the Scotland shirts can't copy that design.

Wish we could get a red version of the England Kit. Thats one of the best ones ever.

However I don't really care what we're playing in as long as we win something and play better.

No, I think they may need another point. Capello has done exactly what I thought he would; formed a rigid and efficient side that may not be the most exciting to watch, but gets the results, and loese very few goals along the way.

England's strip is superb too.

Do you by any chance like the new England strip?

Missed a trick here Macedonia Iceland also on the telly but wasn't well advertised. Tuned in with 10 mins to go. Currently 1-0 Macedonia which would put them ahead of us on the head-to-head. Iceland keeper just made an great double save, Macedonia are doing the attacking so a draw looks unlikely.

Will Macedonia go above us in the table on the head to head or will goal difference still be used just now?

In my heid they are above us on head to head. Norwegian telly has us 2nd on goal difference.

They put up a table also showing the current standings for 2nd place (trying to emphasise tonight as a big game for Norway). We are 8th/9 as results up to right now.

According to the BBC its Goal Diff first and then head to head so we will remain 2nd as long as that game remains 2-0

1836: Just a few minutes to go in the Macedonia v Iceland match and Filip Ivanovski has made it 2-0 to the Macedonians. That should wrap up the points and pretty much ensures they'll be the main rivals for Scotland in the race for a potential runners-up play-off spot in Group Nine (Netherlands have already won that group). Scotland still in a good position though, they've got that game in hand.

1757: Re: 1742 - cheese666 has quite rightly pointed out over on 606 that Fifa turn to goal difference first rather than head-to-head results when teams are level on points in qualifying groups. Grovelling apologies from me and thanks to cheese666. And that's good news for Scotland - they'll stay in second place should there be a win for Iceland or Macedonia, unless either scores a veritable sackful of goals.

torrential rain as the Netherlands Norway game is about to get underway.

If any of you see the highlights/goals you'll see its very waterlogged. I dont know why other countries seem to play in much wetter condition that we would ever in Scotland.

Holland had the best of the first half hour and took the lead through an Oojier header fae a Van der Vaart set piece.

As good as holland are going forward, I think they can be got at in defence... I can't believe that boy Oojier gets a game for them, he looked a below par premiership standard player at Blackburn.

Who else are they playing at the back? By all accounts, the big lad Heitinga has struggled badly too, since he left Dutch football.