Flares In Football - For Or Against?

Always for a bit of flares.

Never thought I'd see them ever again after the 70's but then along came the Stone Roses :thumbup1:

Nah, think they look shitw, but also think drainpipes are sh*te too, guess I'm just a boring middle of the road sort of guy, but at least I don't look like a fashion freak :thumbup1:

• Replies 193

old wooden stands, certainly wasn't a flare. think it was either faulty wiring or a cigarette that was blamed. in modern stadia there's zilch chance of that being caused by a flare.

Smoking was banned in the mainstand a long time before smoking was banned in Stadia, ever wondered why?

There are many many stands in scotland that are still "bradford" era stands

And there are many more combustables thing in a football crowd than the stand itself - the people for one

As I said incendaries and crowds be it at football or away are not a good mix

One of the reason that surfing flags are banned is because of idiots using them as cover to light a flare - what an absolutly storming idea that is cover 50 people in a cloth and light a fire under it

a lot of the rules that we face in football stadia is becuase of the high number of idoits who lack the commonsense to understand the potential outcome of their actions.

Generally rules are put in place to prevent the lowest common denominator in a grouping harming others unfortuantly your average football crowd has some extremly low demoninators in it

smoking was banned because it's a fire risk obviously. south stand, zero chance of a flare starting a fire. main stand, miniscule chance of a flare starting a fire. the torino fans let some off in section E with no problems whatsoever.

zero chance huh

Stand in the south stand

take a flare

light it

hold it against your jacket

Obviously you are perfectly willing to do this because there is zero chance of it starting a fire

it only takes on to be dropped in a crowd .......oh no hang on zero chance sorry

as i say rules are there to protect us from fools

zero chance huh

Stand in the south stand

take a flare

light it

hold it against your jacket

Obviously you are perfectly willing to do this because there is zero chance of it starting a fire

it only takes on to be dropped in a crowd .......oh no hang on zero chance sorry

as i say rules are there to protect us from fools

While I have to say that I despise the health and safety nazis and all the bullshit that has come with it, on this point they are bang on as you point out Bamber. Just takes one idiot, and football crowds are full of idiots.

so he's highlighted a scenario where somebody MIGHT get a wee fag type burn on his jacket. we're not exactly in the realms of stadium disasters or stands being raised to the ground are we.

fans could be run over on their way to the stadium. should we ban all traffic in a 20 mile radius ?

so he's highlighted a scenario where somebody MIGHT get a wee fag type burn on his jacket. we're not exactly in the realms of stadium disasters or stands being raised to the ground are we.

fans could be run over on their way to the stadium. should we ban all traffic in a 20 mile radius ?

fag burn on a jacket from a flare - what planet are you on? maybe not stadi burned to the ground but go on how many injuries in a year is acceptable 10? 50? 1? it takes 1 idiot to ruin a life thats all

You dont put incendary devices in the middle of a crowd - how difficult is that to understand?

we are plently protected on the roads

we wear seat belts

we are in cars with minimum standards of protection

we impose speed limits

ever wonder why we have these

to protect us from idiots on the road - lowest common denominator

Flares have been used all over Europe on a weekly basis for at leat 30 odd years. That no ground has ever burned to the ground because of flares or that folk continue to use them abroad shows undoubtedly that your talking H&S bollocks on this one.

Not difficult to find

A female Celtic fan was injured by a flare after violence broke out during a pre-season friendly match.

The incident was one of several flashpoints which led to 20 arrests as the Glasgow giants took on Lincoln City on Saturday.

Two Scots fans, Stuart Stanley, 32, of Uddingston, South Lanarkshire, and Adam Pollock, of Pollok, were held in custody over the weekend before being charged with fighting in the street and freed on bail yesterday.

Both will appear at Lincoln Magistrates Court on August 17.

Five fans, including the girl, were injured as a result of the violence and all received hospital treatment before they were released.

Police said a St Georges flag was set on fire outside the Golden Cross pub before the match started and tensions were also heightened by pro-IRA chants.

A smoke grenade was set off and, after the game, there were a number of scuffles involving rival fans.

More than 1000 Celtic fans travelled to the Sincil Bank Stadium to see their side cruise to a 4-1 victory.

Twelve of those arrested were locals and the remaining eight are believed to have been visiting Celtic supporters.

PC Andy Pearson said: There was some disorder outside the Golden Cross pub and some after the match.

A lot of it came from the inflammatory nature of the songs from the Celtic fans. Many of the incidents were fuelled by alcohol.

Before kick-off, police had to deal with fights between two Celtic fans and another brawl in the away end of the ground. Police were also called to several fights in the towns High Street.

Lincoln City are managed by ex-Celtic striker Chris Hutton.

South stand you say - could you imagine the carnage if a flare was thrown over the fence in an OF game?

Lowest common demoninator rules and all that

So another thread that can only see divison and in fighting amonst dons fans.

Am I just being cynical or is there and agenda behind these threads to create division between "casuals","ultras" and the other fans? Whats the point?

As with previous threads this won't be remain a debate about flares it'll become the usual stand off about attitudes and personalities.

It wasn't even in a football ground?

could you imagine if it was - crowds of people all hemmed in - it is directly related to football

Ive said from post one that flares and crowds whether at football or not is a disaster waiting to happen

Obviously these fans felt it was ok to be launching flares and smoke bombs at each other as a direct result people are injured

And you wonder why fans are treated like children#

Im sure with a bit of time I could find examples of injuries due to flares in and around grounds - unfortuantly im setting off soon

So another thread that can only see divison and in fighting amonst dons fans.

Am I just being cynical or is there and agenda behind these threads to create division between "casuals","ultras" and the other fans? Whats the point?

As with previous threads this won't be remain a debate about flares it'll become the usual stand off about attitudes and personalities.

They are all the same thing

People act like kids but then complain they are being treated like kids

However it does appear to be some sort of campaign by a few - as similar threads are appearing at the same time on various forums

if people want rules to disappear then really they need to behave like adults rather that children, every rule in existence is there to protect the public from the actions of others who cant be trusted.

We have far too many rules at football not becuase the authorities want to remove the fun but unfortauantly becasue we cannot be trusted to behave in a civilised manner

why not just tell everyone with asthma and other respiratory problems how great flares are.

I always thought flares were warning and distress items and football was a ball sport.

you guys that want them are childish and don't give a f**k about the folks round you.

Go buy a packet of sparklers and play with them at home before going to a match.

why not just tell everyone with asthma and other respiratory problems how great flares are.

I always thought flares were warning and distress items and football was a ball sport.

you guys that want them are childish and don't give a f**k about the folks round you.

Go buy a packet of sparklers and play with them at home before going to a match.

"a ball sport" :hysterical:

i suppose you just go for the flares.

Maybe you never noticed the guys on the pitch kicking a ball about.

if you read back you'll find I'm nor particularly in favour of flares. they don't really excite me so I can take them or leave them. I've plenty pals who are asthmatic and I myself suffer from a narrow trachea so am no stranger to respiratory problems. just nae into spoiling other folks fun because of my own problems and I can guarantee my mates who puff on their wheezers wouldn't want to either. just not in me to be a killjoy really.

suppose the ideal scenario for the lads who want flares would be the singing section. an area of a ground where like minded 'fanatics' can gather to sing and create as much of an atmosphere and spectacle as they can.

if you read back you'll find I'm nor particularly in favour of flares. they don't really excite me so I can take them or leave them. I've plenty pals who are asthmatic and I myself suffer from a narrow trachea so am no stranger to respiratory problems. just nae into spoiling other folks fun because of my own problems and I can guarantee my mates who puff on their wheezers wouldn't want to either. just not in me to be a killjoy really.

suppose the ideal scenario for the lads who want flares would be the singing section. an area of a ground where like minded 'fanatics' can gather to sing and create as much of an atmosphere and spectacle as they can.

The flares tend to be released in a certain area - if you've problems wi' flares, you just dinna nip in with that lot when they are lit. Totally agree with you min, this is why we need proper segregated sections.

The spectacle is (or should be) on the pitch. The atmosphere can come from singing etc. Atmosphere doesn't comes from people going ooh and aah at a bright light.

"should be" is right. it's different things for different people, for the majority of folk what happens on the pitch is only a small part of the whole match day experience.

as for flares you're preaching to the converted, as I pointed out in my first post in the thread I don't see what they add but if folk like them then let them let some off. it's called freedom, as long as they're nae killing folk what's the big deal.

I'm for singing or standing areas and I'd go there but I wouldn't want a flare near it.

Tell me what it genuinely adds to the atmosphere.

I'm for singing or standing areas and I'd go there but I wouldn't want a flare near it.

Tell me what it genuinely adds to the atmosphere.

you're asking the wrong person as I don't have a hard on for them. however plenty supporters do and who am I to want to stop them. whether I personally think they add something to the atmosphere or not is irrelevant. if other fans want to let them off then that's none of my business.

dons fans sing plenty songs I personally find cringe worthy but I don't tell everybody to stop singing them as it's none of my business.

you're asking the wrong person as I don't have a hard on for them. however plenty supporters do and who am I to want to stop them. whether I personally think they add something to the atmosphere or not is irrelevant. if other fans want to let them off then that's none of my business.

dons fans sing plenty songs I personally find cringe worthy but I don't tell everybody to stop singing them as it's none of my business.

I'm not trying to stop anything. I'm merely giving my opinion on the question do I personally find a place for them.