Richard Foster

Plenty other reds feel this way aswell and both Rangers and Aberdeen will know this and will make things much easier for Rangers to broker a deal for him at cheap price.

True but there may be other clubs interested in Foster, league 1 or two English sides, so may be a wee bidding war going, and squeeze another

• Replies 182

No problem with taking Foster back and letting McNamee go. Means a bit more cash available to try and keep Smith.

But if we take Foster back, we're paying his wages again, so no more money available to us?

But I agree rgds Smith, as I said earlier maybe Norwich will be daft enough to buy him & give us Smith as a sweetner :laughing: :laughing:

But in all seriousness I'd take a straight swap Foster for Smith, in fact I'd bite Lamberts hand off for that (may even swallow it)

It would be like taking back a girlfriend that cheated on you with your nemesis, you wouldnt do it unless she was a 10 and you had a plan to mess with her. Foster clearly isn't a 10 in the football world, more like a 1.5, so it is decided, nuke him.

Did Foster actually put in a request to go to Rangers?

Nope. But apparently it is a mortal sin to be forced to go to a better team than the one you play for, with the prospect of playing against top European teams, to have a winning mentality. Apparently many people on this message board would prefer him to wallow in mediocrity and pledge blind allegiance to a team which told him to f**k off....

Just sayin....

Nope. But apparently it is a mortal sin to be forced to go to a better team than the one you play for, with the prospect of playing against top European teams, to have a winning mentality. Apparently many people on this message board would prefer him to wallow in mediocrity and pledge blind allegiance to a team which told him to f**k off....

Just sayin....

Exactly.

Imagine wanting to play in the Champions League against the likes of Man United, marking players like Nani. Who would want to do that eh?

The way i see it, it should be a win win situation for us. If the huns want him and are willing to pay a decent fee, then fair enough, sell him. If not, then he comes back here a better player with that winning mentality drummed into him.

McGhee was forced to get rid of Foster because of a stupid clause in Fosters contract.

I'm led to believe that Foster wasn't too keen on moving their either.

It was a certain legend upstairs that forced the move.

not what I heard

I heard as soon as Foster knew Rangers were in for him he was in his car and heading to Ibrox. Partly because he's a hun and partly because he and McGhee didnt get on.

Miller has no control over who a manager signs or doesnt sign, his words direct from his mouth. His job is to facilitate the managers wants, the manager wants Foster out on loan to Rangers and Vilicka in return, Miller does it.

I also heard another reason behind this was to try and boost the transfer kitty for next season. Foster ex Aberdeen player was worth 300K max, Foster ex Hun, played in CL and UEFA is now worth 1m+. Foster was part of what McGhee saw as the rot at AFC, his attitude problems are well reported. It was part of a long term plan to improve the squad by getting his mouth out and improving his worth at the same time...

If he comes back he'll come bck a better player, if he doesnt we'll get some decent cash for one of ours for a change. Personally I say f**k off Fozzy but not because he'S been playing for them, because he's never really played for us.

Exactly.

Imagine wanting to play in the Champions League against the likes of Man United, marking players like Nani. Who would want to do that eh?

The way i see it, it should be a win win situation for us. If the huns want him and are willing to pay a decent fee, then fair enough, sell him. If not, then he comes back here a better player with that winning mentality drummed into him.

Wanting to play in the champions league is fair enough, nobodys going to hold it against him for wanting that but where does the assumption that its going to make him a better player come from?

He played more games in Europe for us during our run to the last 32 than he's played for Rangers and when playing for us he was playing for a team that was trying to play football instead of trying to stop the opposition playing yet he didn't make any major jumps forward as a footballer so i don't see how just because he's playing for Rangers its going to make him better than he was.

Wanting to play in the champions league is fair enough, nobodys going to hold it against him for wanting that but where does the assumption that its going to make him a better player come from?

He played more games in Europe for us during our run to the last 32 than he's played for Rangers and when playing for us he was playing for a team that was trying to play football instead of trying to stop the opposition playing yet he didn't make any major jumps forward as a footballer so i don't see how just because he's playing for Rangers its going to make him better than he was.

He really should be coming back here a better player. He's training with better players day in day out and let's not forget most of the fans thought he was rank rotten anyway so surely shouldn't be that hard to be better than what he was.

I actually thought he got an unfair ripping as he did a decent enough job at full back. Not outstanding but better than the majority of full backs we've had in recent years.

No problem at all with Foster coming back, we're hardly stacked for full-backs as it is and he is decent enough at RB. The whinings of a few numpties on a website is hardly going to alter the outcome one way or another anyway, so all the 'f**k him he's tainted goods' brigade are really just shouting into a vacuum.

I suspect that this debate is largely academic, since I fully expect the Hunnery to make a reasonable offer to sign him full-time, which we will accept.

This assumption that he will come back a better player, I find laughable. Foster is what Foster is. A third rate, at best, footballer that can run quickly to cover for the mistake that he invariably made in the first place. If Rangers are stupid, or desperate enough to pay £200k for him I would snap their hands off for it.

I'm sorry but £200k for a player (all be it a sh*te player) that has still two year to run on his contract is laughable.

He is certainly no worse than Clark & we got £250k for him with 6 months left.

We would get more for him by punting him down south & using his Champions League games & Euro games with the huns as justification for pushing his price up a little further.

Whether you agree with it or not, the simple fact that he has these games (& performed adequately) under his belt for any potential buyers to see is good for us & Foster but not so good for the huns if they want him on the cheap.

Tell you what if we woke up to tomorrows paper with a story of

Craig Brown hopes to sign a full back who has played in the champions league this season and his team has just been knocked out of the euro's

we would have a 80 page thread on how brilliant it was to be signing such a player - how it showed intent and well done to all at AFC for such a brilliant job

and we wouldnt even care that we didnt know who - but would have a possible answer as members of the site went on a massive hunt through UEFA pages to determine a list of full backs who could be coming to us.

We wouldnt care about the name, we wouldnt care who he had played for we'd just be over the moon about getting a player of that calibre

I doubt that anyone would be calling that player third rate -

now just becuase its richard foster who is the player and rangers that is the team it all wrong

I suspect McCoist will want to put his own stamp on Rangers next season, so fuds like Foster will be out the door. If that means he comes back here and helps warm the bench, then so be it. But a composed, effective first team player, he is not. At least, not the level I would like to see in an Aberdeen side next season.

Why would Velicka being released have anything to do wi Rangers paying us 200 grand for Ricky Foster?

Just repeating what I was told. My mate wonders about that as well, given the fact Velicka was going to be out of contract in the summer anyway.

If we are going to sell him, I'd be wanting no less than