Stoneybloke Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 From time to time there are comments about some of our players supporting the OF teams. We all know who they are. However, if they come from the west of Scotland, it's not surprising that they have such allegiances. I can't understand why there is such a fuss about it as it has probably always been like this, although I think I'd prefer them to be discreet about it. I hope it doesn't have a major impact on their performances, but I wonder if some of them do get a bit awestruck at the wrong times. Link to comment
minijc Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 I think the main reason that fans get pissed off about is that they make it obvious and continually show that they support the filth fae Glasgow, years ago before my time the greats of the 80s probably supported the old firm but they didn't show it like these minks do now adays, sickens me. Link to comment
Jaws Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 We haven't really had many that go around gloating about who they support. Diamond and Paton spring to mind but who else has made it glaringly obvious? I think there's an over reaction sometimes about this. Link to comment
minijc Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 We haven't really had many that go around gloating about who they support. Diamond and Paton spring to mind but who else has made it glaringly obvious? I think there's an over reaction sometimes about this.Maguire, Mulgrew aswell when he was here. Link to comment
Jaws Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 Maguire, Mulgrew aswell when he was here. I knew Maguire's name would be mentioned. We maybe know who he supports but he doesn't go on about it. Link to comment
woohoo Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 The stuff on Bebo was a long time ago, granted, but he definitely spoke about it then. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 I think the main reason that fans get pissed off about is that they make it obvious and continually show that they support the filth fae Glasgow, years ago before my time the greats of the 80s probably supported the old firm but they didn't show it like these minks do now adays, sickens me.Aye this is it. Nae problem withj who they support, if they're fitba players they must have supported a team when they were young, and unless they're Aberdonian, then no big surprise that many of the rest would support one or other of the minks. But, they're meant to be professional, the club that pays your wages is the only one they should ever be talking about publicly in any way, and that includes social networking shites. Link to comment
RUL Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 Apart from anything else, if they are professional footballers they would be because they played Saturday/Sunday and trained other days. How much support could any of these cants actually given any side? Surely once your a professional you stop being a fan of any team and its about playing the game - obviously its not the case but it should be (imo). Link to comment
Oklahoma 1903 Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 Zander Diamond is a Tim and doesn't try to hide it, but did it stop him scoring twice against them a couple of seasons ago in an Aberdeen win that ultimately cost his "Heroes" the league. Link to comment
minijc Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 Works both ways I suppose, if the "Tims" in our team have that bit of an extra edge in their games against Rangers which makes the difference then I'm all for it. Jesus, I'd rather the players gave their all every match and made no exceptions for rivals of the team they support, must be true what the huns say about us trying harder against them. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 I knew Maguire's name would be mentioned. We maybe know who he supports but he doesn't go on about it. there was the bebo fiasco and a recent interview about him in the daily hun where he was on about who he supports. I'm with mini on this, they can support who they want but theres no need to gloat about it or mention at each opportunity Link to comment
minijc Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 Reading elsewhere that Zander and Bebo were spotted in the Tim end today.Aye, read that too. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 Reading elsewhere that Zander and Bebo were spotted in the Tim end today. Same as was the case with Paton and Diamond at Tannadice soon after the Pope "scandal." Amazing how often this is supposedly the case, but never any proof materialises. Wouldn't be difficult to take a photo now, would it? Link to comment
K-9 Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 If seen on telly as claimed elsewhere then no doubt be photos appearing. I have my doubts though. Link to comment
minijc Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 I'll be honest here, don't actually have a problem if they were in the tim end today, free weekend going to watch the club they supported growing up, if I played for an SPL side and the dons were in a cup final I'd be at if I had a free weekend. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 I'll be honest here, don't actually have a problem if they were in the tim end today, free weekend going to watch the club they supported growing up, if I played for an SPL side and the dons were in a cup final I'd be at if I had a free weekend. I would to a degree due to the direct nature that the team they supported had on our exit from the cup just one round earlier. All fair and well having a soft spot for the club but they should as professional footballers still be hurting that they missed out on a final because of Celtic, not forgetting and going and actively supporting them... Link to comment
Jaws Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 there was the bebo fiasco and a recent interview about him in the daily hun where he was on about who he supports. I'm with mini on this, they can support who they want but theres no need to gloat about it or mention at each opportunity Do they actually mention it at every opportunity though? The answer to that is no. In any case is there even a problem with someone mentioning once in a blue moon who they grew up supporting? As long as it doesn't affect their performance on the pitch against said team, there really is no problem. Bebo, Diamond and Paton have all scored against Celtic and by the way they celebrated their goals you would never have known they support them. Link to comment
Ernie McCracken Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 The whole AFC team should have been at that match to do some research ahead of the semi. If on the other hand they were there to jump around and cheer at the prospect of "their team" winning or scoring they can GTF! I've mentioned in another thread that it would have been in no way acceptable for Barry Robson to have went to see Rangers v Falkirk in the cup final and jump around cheering when the Huns won - and it should be the same for any other player. Most people grow up supporting a team - but a professional would put this on hold whilst he played for a rival. Plenty of time for following your team once you career is over. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 I'll be honest here, don't actually have a problem if they were in the tim end today, free weekend going to watch the club they supported growing up, if I played for an SPL side and the dons were in a cup final I'd be at if I had a free weekend.I do. If they were in the corporate/direcors area, then fine, but if they're in with the general fans, sorry, just as much out of order as any other time. Link to comment
Ernie McCracken Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 So is this confirmed - is there any evidence? Or is it just a rumour? Link to comment
ScottishJohn Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 Reading elsewhere that Zander and Bebo were spotted in the Tim end today. Doesn't matter. Aluko was at the Man U game. That doesn't matter either. Link to comment
Jack_Glass Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 look at the amount of foreigners that play for the OF, they don't support the Tic or Gers, bottom line is you they for cash these days and not the jerseys, whoever pays more get's the best players theres no way a die hard Tic or Gers player would turn down a move to R Madrid or Barcelona if the wage was good, there's very little loyalty in footy these days that can't be broke by hard cash, especially when it comes to leagues that can't pay much, like our SPL Link to comment
Oklahoma 1903 Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 there's very little loyalty in footy these days Footy?... in Port Glasgow...Really Link to comment
Nig Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 Reading elsewhere that Zander and Bebo were spotted in the Tim end today. Nae luck Link to comment
Nig Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 In Zanders defence, when we beat the Tims at Parkhead 3-2 in Oct 04 he was sat in the away end bout 4 rows behind me. When Mackie scored the winner he was going mental just as much as the rest of us Link to comment
madjockmcferson Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 It makes no difference who our players support. It is only a small % of people on an internet forum who care. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted March 20, 2011 Share Posted March 20, 2011 It makes no difference who our players support. It is only a small % of people on an internet forum who care.Chris Maguire is universally known now as "bebo". Blows that theory out of the water Link to comment
madjockmcferson Posted March 21, 2011 Share Posted March 21, 2011 Chris Maguire is universally known now as "bebo". Blows that theory out of the water Not sure I understand your point..... Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted March 21, 2011 Share Posted March 21, 2011 You can't compare players in the 80s to players in 2010! We've got bloody social networking, newspapers covering every single thing players do, people with mobile phones taking videos etc etc. Social Networking has brought players right into the limelight (usually negatively) and we're hearing everything from what they had for breakfast and who their favourite blowjob was from! I think players need to be more careful nowadays because of this... Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted March 21, 2011 Share Posted March 21, 2011 Not sure I understand your point.....Think his point is that it's not isolated to just "internet forums" and that he's called Bebo from EVERYONE now Link to comment