vanderark14 Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 arite back on topic this place was great last time I was there http://www.thepitsligoarms.co.uk/index.html not much places in the north east but I would recommend it best meal I had was matilda bay restaurant in Perth, Oz Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Wolfgang's steakhouse on park avenue, sticks in my mind. The steak was like butter, must've been hanging for months. Sweet melinda's in marchmont is a good eatery for edinburgh folk. Link to comment
jaybee1978 Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Best ever would be a place called Odin's in Laaandan, was in there circa 2000 and it was f**king lush from start to finish. Might be under new management now or whatnot, but it was breathtaking at the time. Best in the Weeg would be Mister Sings Indian (as recommended to R_S a few weeks back), was in there not so long ago and it was quality albeit on the pricey side. Full of photos of Huns in there though given it's their curry house of choice. Best in the NE is Heath-hill out at Memsie, again will have been taken over a couple of times since I was last in but it's excellent, hearty local fare. I will second Mr Singhs, great service from start to finish. The food was superb and they gave us their speciality to try free of charge. Another good place I've been to recently is The Pelican Cafe across from art gallery in Glasgow, really good pre theatre menu and quite reasonably priced too. They use a lot of local produce too. Link to comment
daytripping Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 During the World cup in Paris 98, had been living on crap for a couple weeks so we decided to book up a table for 20 in a Chinese next to Gard de Nor station, the food was sublime and just kept on coming, big piles of sweet and sour frogs legs being the most memorable, best meal I ever had! It looked pokey from the outside but blew our chinese places away. Link to comment
Crossbow Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Best Meal - the wild bergamot in Milngavie, now gone, first visit everything was just perfect, next time round, champagne was warm, food bland, don't know what had happened, closed shortly thereafter Best Steak - a place in Palm Springs, was apparently number 2 in the US on some list, steak was brilliant Best Lobster - Andrew Fairlie at Gleneagles, truly amazing; wonderful service too Link to comment
tup Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Ye canna whack a white pudding supper IMO, which retails at about Link to comment
TheG_L_A Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Roberto, this is not to be argumentitive but Zara's in Dyce is easily one of the worst Indians i've ever set foot in, microwaved starters and my missus was sick for a week after her uncooked chicken main course. Anyway, Its bullshit to say there are no good places in Aberdeen. Rusticos Nazma Bhan Thai Manchurian thats 4 i've been too in the last few months or so and all were superb. I'm with you there big guy. Was at Bhan Thai a couple of Fridays ago, it was still truelly scrumptious. Rusticos is good also, if a bit pricey. Shabazz is my favourite Indian though, didna think much of Nazma though. Is Manchurian off Mounthooly? Link to comment
TheG_L_A Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Thats the one GLA, good chinkee like! Only thing that marks them down was the lager was tins of T poured into pint glasses. That would get you banned from Aberdeen Mad, that would. Racist. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 That would get you banned from Aberdeen Mad, that would. Racist. ye daft racist! Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 few years ago after a days boozin at ascot i went to the fat duck. for honeymoon went to the el bulli hotel and just last week went to noma in copenhagen.unforgettable and unbelievable food. Link to comment
tup Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 no chance of getting the missus back thats for sure. Cheesepipes min, this is a thread about restaurants, not marital problems, if you don't mind. I'm getting sick of these Aberdeen Mad rejects, keep it on topic, sex, sex, sex that's all you ever think about. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 I see Jamie Oliver is planning to open an Italian restaurant in the old E&M building. Link to comment
tup Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 I see Jamie Oliver is planning to open an Italian restaurant in the old E&M building. Perhaps we could get a Bernard Matthews vigilante crew to rough him up a bit, dressed as Turkey Twizzlers, in the hope he changes his mind. He's a dick, and a homosexual one at that. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Thats got overpriced sh*te but the birds still want to eat there written all over it. Maybe not though. I'm the lasagne man, its my yardstick of how good the italian is, that and the Panna Cotta. I'd give it a bash, you think it'll be in the Spree Book? It's all well and good him opening a restaurant but surely most of the appeal would be getting your food cooked by Jamie Oliver. I doubt he'd be spending too much time up the shitey end of Union Street. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 i love jamie and his wacky mates. he has a gnary camper van, a bodacious vespa and on-trend parka. whats nae to like about oliver? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Plus crazy named kids.......very Frank Zappa! aye oliver's the man like. went to his folks pub last year. his mug was everywhere. nearly put me off my pint. nearly. Link to comment
dervish Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Amber Regent is a staple, Ho Wong isnt bad but in bad part of town. For those Aberdonians, for such an affluent place why so many poor restaurants ? There are many many many good ones though. La Stella/Yatai(before the move) etc. did a big list after being back down for two weeks, dunno where it is. Was in Maze earlier on this month did the lunch where you get loads of little things, some (really) great, some hmm good. The service while very "active" actually nearly pissed me off, then disappeared at the end of service. Preferred Cyrano de Bergerac in Krakow, it's my #1 of all time, had a good crack with the waitress and chef afterwards too. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Not the best meal/restaurant ever, but just had a really fine 2 course at the Broadstraik. The duck breast wis affa fine. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Hinna bin for years but I ken a couple of gadgies fae here that could verify the verity of your opinion. Broad Straik affa good rep.Aye, I believe RTYD & Dom are regulars in there.The Broadie isn't my regular haunt in Westhill. Link to comment
forbesz1903 Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Had 2 brilliant meals at the Snow Goose in Inverness when I was up working there a couple weeks ago, I'm more a fan of a bar supper than fancy Link to comment
Slimfella Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Best meal ever has to be mince and mashed tatties (kerrs pinks are the best) and mealie. Made by my granny! Aye same here, nowt beats that. Broth, Tattie or lentil soup first then the above and Eve's pudding and custard for afters, top of the pops. Link to comment
forbesz1903 Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Aye same here, nowt beats that. Broth, Tattie or lentil soup first then the above and Eve's pudding and custard for afters, top of the pops. in america, they let you decide your last meal. Mine would be Haggis Fritters, Mince and Tatties and Mealie, and then a mountain o profiterols for after Link to comment
Slimfella Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 in america, they let you decide your last meal. Mine would be Haggis Fritters, Mince and Tatties and Mealie, and then a mountain o profiterols for after Almost worth going on a killing spree in Texas for Link to comment
forbesz1903 Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Almost worth going on a killing spree in Texas for I'd say! Link to comment
Slimfella Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 I'd say! I doubt they'd fly my granny across for it though, she ain't getting on no plane and we once tried slipping her a mickey via a glass of milk before taking her to Tenerife on holiday but she wasn't being no crazy fool and falling for it. Top choice of tuck though Forbesz. Fit fine! Link to comment
forbesz1903 Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 I doubt they'd fly my granny across for it though, she ain't getting on no plane and we once tried slipping her a mickey via a glass of milk before taking her to Tenerife on holiday but she wasn't being no crazy fool and falling for it. Top choice of tuck though Forbesz. Fit fine! I can't believe you used the phrase fit fine! I'm known at my work for using it excessively! Link to comment
Slimfella Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 I can't believe you used the phrase fit fine! I'm known at my work for using it excessively! Do you work at the Ashvale? Link to comment
forbesz1903 Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Do you work at the Ashvale? Nope! Link to comment
Slimfella Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 I was in a tapas restaurant a while back. Really disappointing, the food was ok but there wasn't an ass worth tappin in the whole joint. Let me tell I don't get no respect, I was with my wife, I made a toast "to the best woman I ever had" the waiter joined me. No respect. I went up to the bar "do you know how to make a Manhatten?" the barman said "Do you know how to make shoes stink?" Link to comment
Quagmire Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 Big fan of Cafe 52 on the Green. Nice relaxing place, good food and good wine. Going to meet my sister for lunch at the Broadstraik tomorrow then Simpsons at night. Best meal i've ever had was probably at a small Cuban restaurant in Manhattan or a place on the waterfront in Cape Town. Both times i had steak, both were amazing. For consistancy, i don't think i ever had a bad meal in Thailand. Whether it was in a fancy restaurant or off a street vendor it was always fresh and better than any asian cuisine i've tasted over here. One night we sat at a vendors munching on huge chicken kebab sticks for about 30p, sinking beers and talking sh*t to the 4 Thais huddled round it not having a clue what we were saying, but smiling none the less! Good times. Link to comment