Best Meal/restaurant

barassie_afc

• Replies 194

Last meal = mince and tatties.

:suicide:

best chinese experience...outside a massage was TAO in NYC....****ing amzing food, loved it...

Went to Ramsay's in NYC, and wasnt blown away, but the food was priced ok, cocktails were the best TBH.

In Aberdeen, Bistro210 and 21 have been 7/10 recently for me, wine lists horrible price as normal.

I have to say the cults hotel can do a nice "pub" style meal.

We popped in there for a quick pint a couple of Sundays ago on the way back from golf. First time I'd been in for at least 25 years. Rugby was on in the bar. My mate and I got a very excellent quality pie as it was HT when we entered but I won't be going back there again, however good their meals might be. Place was full of dicks with rugger shirts and/or specs who looked at you suspicious as you're not a local and who had never been in a real pub nor the real world. Lose some weight you fat stuck up b*stards and get some sex drive. Tits.

never frequented the bar.....where were u golfing?

Craibstone. The "will it, won't it" be a golf course in the future Craibstone.

On topic, Churchills in Crown Street served superb pub meals back in the day, late 70's/early 80's.

it did, my mum used to go there a lot....Highland Hotel can serve up some decent stuff...but for top quality in the city, not that much, plenty of decent places but thats about it.

Rustico's Italian is good, it went to sh*t for a while but its decent...."if someone else is paying the tab"

if I had to make a choice to go anywhere in the city, theres a vice wee italian at the end of union terrace...cant mind its name...seats about 12...magic little place

Aye we went to that brazilian place, didn't eat anything though. It was a few months back, we looked online for somewhere decent to go, saw "Number 1 golden square" website, had a look at the menu online, the missus saw a few things she might like, seafood especially so phoned up and booked it for the Friday. Got there and was seated, the wifie then went on to explain there would be a guy along with meat on a stick and we had to pick it off with our implements in front of us, and there is a card you have to turn to green to alert said meat wielder that we are ready.

She went away, and I looked at the missus and said "WTF?, pick meat of a stick held by some bloke" We thought we'd come to the wrong place. So went to leave as like I say she wanted seafood, the waitress spotted us and I told her I booked "number 1 golden square, so we are leaving, sorry etc, think there is a mistake", she said "no this used to be it", I said "oh right, nah we are still leaving, we were expcting summat else but might come back again when we fancy some meat", She just looked at me weird and in disbelief beckoned us back to the table saying "but this used to be number 1 golden square" as if that would help. Then went to "Yu" and spent over £100 to feel hungry again half an hour later.

Will go back there though, once I've grown my moustache a bit bigger, as I've heard good reviews too, was just a bit confused and frightened the first time.

Look the menu is still online, so folk could still get mixed up number 1 the square

MacDonalds in Elgin last night, NFT. lolololololol, nae funny.

When I was in Rome went for a 'traditional Italian meal', it stands out, 2 pasta courses, 2 meat courses, dessert, with loads of wine. Was ace. Eating outside in the warm too, adds to the atmosphere.

thats the bugger.....I could spend all day in there....best italian in toon.....by a country mile...

fukk it going to try and book it for next month.....

I'm totally with you on that - throughout the late eighties early nineties I ate there almost every day before I moved away from Aberdeen and I still go there every time I'm in town. Best minestrone I've ever eaten. Top scran !!

Carmine became a good mate and played in our 5s game every week. He actually used to play pro for Italan 2nd div. side (Formia I think) when he was a young guy.

In Glasgow, check out Macsorleys Bar.

It's a well refurbished traditional boozer, mahogany bar and cut glass windows with an awesome menu. Seriously good food at very reasonable prices and won the Scottish pub grub of the year award last year and was up for best newcomer in the Scottish Restaurant awards. Well worth a visit!

• 5 weeks later...

From reading this thread i've come to the conclusion that to be a "decent" restaurant you need to have a pretencious and/or foreign sounding name!!!

One of the best restaurants i've been to was a Polynesian restaurant in Cyprus! Very very good! Not sure if there is a Polynesian restaurants in Aberdeen, not seen any on my travels.

Speaking of chain eating dining experiences in Union Square, friends of ours went to Giraffe recently and said it was excellent. I'd never heard of it nor seen it.

Anyone been?

I was there the other weekend. The service was sh*te (admittedly, that's not exclusive to Giraffe). It seems to cater for a bit of everything (e.g. Greek, nachos/burritos, pizza, burgers) and a load of smoothies for drinks. I had a classic burger which was OK but was about £10. Bird had some kind of salad thing with humus which looked nae bad. Service was so poor we just left the dough on the table at the end and walked out. I'd give it 3/10.

Would Ciao Napoli and Rustico's still be the Italian restaurant's of choice in Aberdeen ?

And has anyone been to the Granite city grill @ Hilton Garden Inn Hotel ? The restaurant has excellent reviews on tripadvisor.

I went in to Rustico on Friday and loved the pasta dish I had, wife loved it too. Never been to Ciao Napoli before.

Hey, in this case you're wrong min. I took you off idiot blocker after I got on with you in golf section.....was it a mistake? Nope - because I've never said at all that Prezzo was better than Ciao Napoli which is my favourite Italian.

I said Prezzo's garlic bread was fantastic (note I never compared it to anywhere at this point, garlic bread point still stands).

I then went onto say I found Prezzo was quite fine. This wasn't speaking sh*te, I think many restaraunts are quite fine.

I then went onto compare it to my FAVE italian, this is Ciao Napoli....it wasn't a patch on that, BUT no Italian in Aberdeen IMO is, but that's not to say that some of the Italians aren't still 'quite fine' (i.e. Prezzo).

You following space cadet?

Roberto. Pretty sure he's got you here I'm afraid. See your quote below.

"although I went to Prezzo in Union Square on Saturday with the wife, and I have to safe it was absolutely brilliant.

The garlic bread was fantastic."

Prezzo changes from absolutely brilliant to quite fine. :dontknow:

In Glasgow, check out Macsorleys Bar.It's a well refurbished traditional boozer, mahogany bar and cut glass windows with an awesome menu. Seriously good food at very reasonable prices and won the Scottish pub grub of the year award last year and was up for best newcomer in the Scottish Restaurant awards. Well worth a visit!

This place is afa fine. Both times I've eaten there the lead singer from Del Amitri has been propping up the bar, think it may be his local?

Ate at the Wheelhouse Restuarant next to the Falkirk wheel last week - was pretty good, Modern Scottish type food, nicely done up. Am working down in Grangemouth for a few weeks and the restuarants down here have been pretty grim so far, anybody know of anywhere decent down this way?

Champion fat b*stard club, aye.

Don't you feel like sh*t after one of those McDonald's or Burger Kings or whatever that was? I find after the first couple of bites that it turns to cardboard and I might as well be eating the container it comes in. Even the chips taste like sugary sh*te and the coke is differently fattist too.

In Florida, we went to a burger joint once, a McDonalds and they encouraged free refills of coke and sh*t. I swear I saw people who were supra 20 stone drinking 5 or 6 litres of that sh*t, just because it was "free". They perceive free refills as value yet their bodies being sh*te (and therefore their minds and their lives) didn't bother them. That is one f**ked up nation in a myriad of different ways but watching this example, in action, was mind-bendingly tragic.

Definitely. I had a McDonalds on my way from Dublin to the birds parents and I stupidly looked at the "nutritional" information and realised I had consumed about 1200 calories! I felt ill after that, partially to do with the amount of crap i've just injested and partially due to finding out i've almost eaten my daily allowance of calories and probably doubled my fat intake for the week!

Free refills generally mean "we'll give you a quarter of the glass in coke, and then the rest is ice" so it does take 3 - 4 glasses to get your moneys worth (i.e. 1 glass worth)

I try to avoid fast food at all costs. Only time I tend to eat it is if i'm on the motorway and there really isn't much choice!

Cheeky bugger Bloot!!

but to be honest a Meze for 2 would be a very light snack for a sweaty plumper, i'd suggest meze for 3 c/w mixed kebab and extra pitta.

and a deep fried pizza on the way home too aye?

what i dont get is that on the odd occasion i have dinner before going out to watch football, i'll be stuffed when i leave the house.

i'll go and sink a good ten pints, which isnt exactly thin air.

then i'll feel the need to get a kebab and chips on the way home

why? :dontknow:

Does alcohol make you hungry? Is there something in this drug too that gives you the munchies?

Or maybe bluto just aspires to be a fatter b*stard, obviously being just a fat one the now.

Do you ever eat fruit, sploots? Is the orange in your triple vodka the only vitamin C you get, apart form the traces of tomato in your kebab salad?

I think it does, I read somewhere that Alcohol gives you the munchies! Plus i've experienced it first hand for years when I used to have 10+ pints then head for a pizza...glad i've kurbed my drinking / eating habits!

Does alcohol make you hungry? Is there something in this drug too that gives you the munchies?

Or maybe bluto just aspires to be a fatter b*stard, obviously being just a fat one the now.

Do you ever eat fruit, sploots? Is the orange in your triple vodka the only vitamin C you get, apart form the traces of tomato in your kebab salad?

i have a decent or reasonable diet thank you very much.

untill i drink and then i'll eat pretty much rubbish, be it bar snacks or take aways.

dont drink vodka and dont drink mixers either.

i'm guessing your pretty much like a mix between macrobiotic weirdos gwineth paltrow/cris martin and mockney chef jamie oliver aye?