Bluto10 Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 Who would have thought bluto was a fan of beef? Beefcakes are his favourite of course. hated it acttually. just said it was nice to keep up my cultured and sophisticated appearance. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 Bluto loves Polish Sausage, he has it every Monday, Tuesday and Friday. On the weekend he enjoys nothing more than a large peice of meat. itailan dry cured sausage is better i.m.o. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 Off to Bukahara for a curry on Wednesday night, then Grill on The Corner on Friday night in Glasgow, if I was a prick I'd go "nom nom nom" but I'm not so I won't.I wouldn't brag if I was going to grill on the corner either as it's distinctly over priced for the quality of the food. Glasgow overall I think is pretty average when it comes to food. Except cafe andaluz which is ace and 1 Devonshire gardens. Edinburgh is streets ahead IMO. The witchery being perhaps the finest steak I have ever eaten. A simple rump steak that knocked into a cocked hat all the fillets and chateubriand I have eaten. Amazing. Oh and everyone knows that the best sausage is Spanish. Chorizo. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 I wouldn't brag if I was going to grill on the corner either as it's distinctly over priced for the quality of the food. Glasgow overall I think is pretty average when it comes to food. Except cafe andaluz which is ace and 1 Devonshire gardens. Edinburgh is streets ahead IMO. The witchery being perhaps the finest steak I have ever eaten. A simple rump steak that knocked into a cocked hat all the fillets and chateubriand I have eaten. Amazing. Oh and everyone knows that the best sausage is Spanish. Chorizo. check out gordon ramsey! Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 check out gordon ramsey!You calling me a Hun you c**t! Speaking of Gordon Ramsey I too have eaten in petrus and I would concur with barrasie that it also blew my mind. Food, service everything was spot on except the company. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 You calling me a Hun you c**t! Speaking of Gordon Ramsey I too have eaten in petrus and I would concur with barrasie that it also blew my mind. Food, service everything was spot on except the company. i've eaten in a few swanky restaurants and good food indeed does hit the spot. although there is a certain man on here who is happy to stick with his tradional scottish fayre.more fool him. Link to comment
TheG_L_A Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 Ever been on the 711 or the Cleeton? Thats 2 off the top of my head that were a load of tits. Do agree that some are f**king ace......Curlew springs to mind, Curry nights, Chink nights, Mexican plus puddings it can lead you down the slippery slope. 711 is f**king rancid. The place i'm on now is quite yummy. Link to comment
TheG_L_A Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 The Armadas food was immense, some of the best Chicken soup i've ever had in my life. Their lasagne was amazing as was everything else that was put on my plate! Was on the Dunlin last week, not quite so great but the Steak pie and Chicken stir fry were both decent. Depends on how good the chef is I suppose, never had a bad meal offshore yet. never been to the two you mentioned though... Dunlin was ok. Magnus, Alba and Fulmar are my favourites. Link to comment
tup Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 i've eaten in a few swanky restaurants and good food indeed does hit the spot. although there is a certain man on here who is happy to stick with his tradional scottish fayre.more fool him. This is why I'm strong, and fine food and wine eaters are weak, mentally and physically. Full of gout half the time, after a feed of foie gras. Give me a full plate with a steak and a pile of chips on it any day, rather than a fillet of some obscure animal covered in a drizzle of gentleman's relish and garnished with a few leaves and stuff. I've no time for pretence. Link to comment
TheG_L_A Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 Was in Chiquito recently at the beach for the first time. Had an hour and a half to kill and we loved it. Wouldn't go out of my way to go back but very acceptable. Me and my mum went there a couple of months back. It was f**king sh*te. You're easily pleased. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 Was in Chiquito recently at the beach for the first time. Had an hour and a half to kill and we loved it. Wouldn't go out of my way to go back but very acceptable.Last time I was doon there it looked closed? Had a sceret menu in munich at his masters home. Was really good as well. Link to comment
tup Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 Lol. Chips are sh*t. Only minks fry chips or eat that fat sh*t regularly from a chipper. Nae chipper for me, home made, in beef dripping, not sunf**kingflower oil, or any of that other alien sh*t, so that the skin is chewy, and the inside white, fluffy and piping hot. I agree chippers are for scum of the earth. The numbers of fat people you see entering is no coincidence. I feel like pulling them aside at the door and saying 'are you sure you need anither supper? Do you feel you have earned the right to this fat laden meal my dear? Have you made any efforts to improve yourself since the last time you had one of these?' Sick culture that openly encourages chippers. Chips like mine however are far from sh*t, they're lethal. Link to comment
TheG_L_A Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 I like Fish and Chips. I had it last time at home for the first time in months. Is that allowed? Link to comment
tup Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 I like Fish and Chips. I had it last time at home for the first time in months. Is that allowed? Aye, for you, not for me. I canna thole fish. But dinna make a habit of it. I overheard two posh people, proper Hoorah Henry's, in a cafe yesterday, looking at the menu, and announcing incredulously: 'Is there such a thing as a red pudding?' I can't believe posh people have never heard of or sampled the delights of a red pudding. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 I always look at the Chicken Ceasar Salad and think "that would be a really nice meal, and not too unhealthy" then go and order the burger. Usually regretting my decision as i'm unbuttoning the top button on my jeans and seeing the amazing looking ceasar going to a table next to mine!! I just can't bring myself to EVER buy a salad.... Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 I've no time for pretence. for the brainiest man in scotland tup, youre nae very experimental. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 Aye, for you, not for me. I canna thole fish. But dinna make a habit of it. I overheard two posh people, proper Hoorah Henry's, in a cafe yesterday, looking at the menu, and announcing incredulously: 'Is there such a thing as a red pudding?' I can't believe posh people have never heard of or sampled the delights of a red pudding. youre a real snob tup. Link to comment
tup Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 youre a real snob tup. Hunting, shooting and fishing types, landed gentry. Arseholes to a man. Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 I dont mind fish, but defo better in a nice crispy batter, with some thick cut homemade chips and homemade tart sauce or mayo. cant beat a nice steak of any description, fried mushrooms, homemade chips and onion ring, with some mustard....superb. Posh nosh.....like a rissotto. love my pasta...normally a cannaloni or carbonara..... Roast Lamb is the bomb Link to comment
Crossbow Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 I always look at the Chicken Ceasar Salad and think "that would be a really nice meal, and not too unhealthy" then go and order the burger. Usually regretting my decision as i'm unbuttoning the top button on my jeans and seeing the amazing looking ceasar going to a table next to mine!! I just can't bring myself to EVER buy a salad.... Stupid but possibly interesting fact that Caesar Salad and dressing etc has more calories than your average burger so you may have taken the healthy option after all. Link to comment
tup Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 That reminds me of a joke: Two Indians were admitted to hospital after injecting curry powder by mistake instead of smack. One has a dodgy tikka, the other one's in a korma. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 Lol. Chips are sh*t. Only minks fry chips or eat that fat sh*t regularly from a chipper. Never tasted foie gras. Dinna funcy abused goose. Dinna funcy unabused goose. Goose sucks. Duck done right can be ok. The chinks do it best in their Peking derivation, westernised for our palates. Pigeon, Quail and Pheasant are all equally unpleasant, a dish for the most pretentious. I don't like eating bird. Bird like me eating them. I had pigeon for the first, and probably last time on Saturday night, while the meat its self was not that bad tasting, the pea sorbet that accompanied it, certainly IMO did not go with it. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 Stupid but possibly interesting fact that Caesar Salad and dressing etc has more calories than your average burger so you may have taken the healthy option after all.Yeah, I have heard that before. Ceasar dressing is fairly high in calories. Still, I think it's more of a physcological thing! Link to comment
TheG_L_A Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 That reminds me of a joke: Two Indians were admitted to hospital after injecting curry powder by mistake instead of smack. One has a dodgy tikka, the other one's in a korma. Excellent work tup. I must remember that one. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 I've had Wood Pigeon once, Quail once and Pheasant once. Pheasant was the most unpleasant. Unpleasant Pheasant. Wouldn't order pea sorbet on principle, nor accept it at a dinner party. Speaking of which, we were at friends for dinner on Saturday. Four couples and the subject of Scottish Independence came up. I was a bit forceful and rigorous dealing with a non-Scot and his typical scaremongering establishment views. This didn't detract from the quality of the excellent meal. The "boozy strawberries" accompanying the sweets were delightful. Pea sorbet reminds of Hector or Hesten or fitever Bloomingprick. Boy's a nutter. Lonely as a child I reckon. Pea sorbet is indeed sh*t, or at least my taste buds thought so, Link to comment
TheG_L_A Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 Dunno bout you but I'm sh*te at remembering jokes. So what I did was just copied it and e-mailed it to everyone, failing to credit tup or the tinternet and passing it off as my own. Me to. I can't wait til I tell it in a pub or while having a curry with the lads. Link to comment
tup Posted May 17, 2011 Share Posted May 17, 2011 My mate bought a bottle of HP sauce the other day. It's costing him 3p a week for the next two years, interest free. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted May 18, 2011 Share Posted May 18, 2011 Talking of Sauce.....Bransons Hot Chilli and Jalapeno relish is lovely! (not a sauce per se) Great with grilled chicken. Link to comment