ericblack4boss Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 It was an almighty coup from Aberdeen boss Alex Smith when he managed to persuade Dutch internationalist Gillhaus to leave PSV Eindhoven and move across the North Sea to Aberdeen in 1988. Hans made an imediate impact in his first game he scored a fabulous overhead kick, before adding a second helping the Dons to a win at Dunfermline. then in his second game at home to Rangers he scored a stunning goal to ensure the Dons single goal win. Gillhaus made a decent enough start scoring 8 times in his first haldf season but i was the second season when Gillhaus was at his best scoring 14 league goals. as the Dons finished runners up againin the league. Gillhaus also managed to force his way into Leo Beenakkers Dutch world cup squad but Gillhaus was only to make a brief substitute appearance for the Dutch as he had to play second fiddle to Marco Van Basten. Gillhaus last season at the Dons 1991/92 saw Gillhaus a shadow of the previous seasons striker pining for the departed Charlie Nicholas, he seemed to spend most of his time trying not trip over his bottom lip, and it was obvious that his time with us was coming to and end. though despite Hans scoring record no top clubs were willing to take on Hans. eventually Vitesse Arnhem in the Eredvisie signed Gillhaus he will be remembered for his debut, and also for his alleged role in the infamous McDiarmid park fiasco when the dons were thumped 5-0 Link to comment
boboisared Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 It was an almighty coup from Aberdeen boss Alex Smith when he managed to persuade Dutch internationalist Gillhaus to leave PSV Eindhoven and move across the North Sea to Aberdeen in 1988. Hans made an imediate impact in his first game he scored a fabulous overhead kick, before adding a second helping the Dons to a win at Dunfermline. then in his second game at home to Rangers he scored a stunning goal to ensure the Dons single goal win. Gillhaus made a decent enough start scoring 8 times in his first haldf season but i was the second season when Gillhaus was at his best scoring 14 league goals. as the Dons finished runners up againin the league. Gillhaus also managed to force his way into Leo Beenakkers Dutch world cup squad but Gillhaus was only to make a brief substitute appearance for the Dutch as he had to play second fiddle to Marco Van Basten. Gillhaus last season at the Dons 1991/92 saw Gillhaus a shadow of the previous seasons striker pining for the departed Charlie Nicholas, he seemed to spend most of his time trying not trip over his bottom lip, and it was obvious that his time with us was coming to and end. though despite Hans scoring record no top clubs were willing to take on Hans. eventually Vitesse Arnhem in the Eredvisie signed Gillhaus he will be remembered for his debut, and also for his alleged role in the infamous McDiarmid park fiasco when the dons were thumped 5-0 Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 What's the joke? Are you laughing at how far we've falling from having a player playing 2nd fiddle to Van Basten? Link to comment
boboisared Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 What's the joke? Are you laughing at how far we've falling from having a player playing 2nd fiddle to Van Basten?Aye. Nae a dig at Eric at all, just think it's hilarious reading that that our striker was next in line behind one of the greatest strikers ever. If I didn't laugh I'd cry mate. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Aye. Nae a dig at Eric at all, just think it's hilarious reading that that our striker was next in line behind one of the greatest strikers ever. If I didn't laugh I'd cry mate.I figured as much. It's such a spectacular fall from grace. From Han's Gillhaus to Chris Maguire. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 A fair bit of pish written there Eric in amongst some facts. Outstanding player had everything , am sure Miller had a hand in getting rid. Link to comment
tup Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 The best player ever to play for Aberdeen, as far as my memory goes, absolutely outstanding. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 The best player ever to play for Aberdeen, as far as my memory goes, absolutely outstanding. fxck me tup, I agree with you :applause: Link to comment
Dandyjam Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Another one of my heroes growing up, a superb all round player and still shudder to think that he was in a Dutch squad in a World Cup finals. He and Charlie formed a great partnership and will always remember that debut at East End Park. Think you're right Barassie, his departure was to do with a fall out with Miller if I remember rightly and Miller then got rid. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Another one of my heroes growing up, a superb all round player and still shudder to think that he was in a Dutch squad in a World Cup finals. He and Charlie formed a great partnership and will always remember that debut at East End Park. Think you're right Barassie, his departure was to do with a fall out with Miller if I remember rightly and Miller then got rid.Did he nae also try to ride Jazzers great geysir Link to comment
stirlingsheep Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 Was at his debut at East End against Pars as a very young lad, and was allowed to stay up late till 11 to watch highlights of his home debut on the telly against the Huns when he scored again. Paul Mason was the first player I really liked at Dons, but Hans was my first hero. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 Probably the only player I would shoehorn into my All Time Greatest Dons XI who didn't play in the CWC Final. Can't stress enough how good Gilhaus was. He was pretty much the complete player. Easily as good as Charlie Nicholas, but with a much better workrate. As deadly as Duncan Shearer, but with better outside the box play. Great with his feet, good in the air. Positional play the gypes we have playing for us now could only dream about, and a presence that genuinely scared the f**king bejesus out of opposing players and fans alike. What I remember him for was his performances against Hearts, McPherson in particular. Gangly, useless c**t that McPherson was, he was shown for the 'quality' he really was. You could pick any four Aberdeen players today and replace them all with one Hans Gilhaus. Link to comment
altogi Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 The best player ever to play for Aberdeen, as far as my memory goes, absolutely outstanding. Not just that but one of the best to play in the SPL the guy was amazing. Was fantastic at linking the midfield to attack as well and bringing players into the game. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 Not just that but one of the best to play in the SPL the guy was amazing. Was fantastic at linking the midfield to attack as well and bringing players into the game. Without being a pedantic c**t, he never played in the SPL Link to comment
altogi Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 Without being a pedantic c**t, he never played in the SPL Hahahaha yeah yeah but you know what i mean Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 The best player ever to play for Aberdeen, as far as my memory goes, absolutely outstanding. whaoo!!! a positive post from tup!! i liked heelhouse. he's amongst my first an biggest memories of watching the dons as a kid. also i think he might actaully have played third fiddle to marco at italia 90, behind wim kieft who might also have been ahead of him at psv. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 whaoo!!! a positive post from tup!! i liked heelhouse. he's amongst my first an biggest memories of watching the dons as a kid. also i think he might actaully have played third fiddle to marco at italia 90, behind wim kieft who might also have been ahead of him at psv. he played on the left side for Holland,where he played for us a lot, he also made Jess into a player, that partnership was and would have been far more explosive than the one with Nicholas Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 it really is pretty amazing when you think about it.eurpean cup winner from a top nation joins aberdeen. mind you it was not so long after fergie left so we were probably a fairly high profile team back then. highlight everything thats wrong nowadays.still better to have loved and lost than never loved at all. Link to comment
Crossbow Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 A great player, one of the finest ever to play in Scotland. We could sell our entire squad now and the ground and not get a player of his class. Link to comment
red_rowie Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 Was at his debut at East End against Pars as a very young lad, and was allowed to stay up late till 11 to watch highlights of his home debut on the telly against the Huns when he scored again. Paul Mason was the first player I really liked at Dons, but Hans was my first hero. I was at that game (as moderately auld mannie). Honestly brought a tear to the eye.A great player. Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 Amazing player. Just a shame he was a poof that tried to feel-up WM (allegedly). Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 Amazing player. Just a shame he was a poof that tried to feel-up WM (allegedly). Must have been Willie's moustache Link to comment
tup Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 If I was a poof, the last c**t I'd be trying to feel up is Willie Miller FFS. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 out of your league is he tup? Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 Amazing player. Just a shame he was a poof that tried to feel-up WM (allegedly).He'd obviously never met Claire M then. Staffy cha'in a wasp Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 He'd obviously never met Claire M then. Staffy cha'in a wasp I"ll never forget his goal against the huns....89th minute think it was, was in the SS and the place went fooking mental..... nae as good a left peg as u ollie! or me even Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted March 25, 2011 Share Posted March 25, 2011 I"ll never forget his goal against the huns....89th minute think it was, was in the SS and the place went fooking mental..... nae as good a left peg as u ollie! or me even You must have me confused with my brother! Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted March 25, 2011 Author Share Posted March 25, 2011 A fair bit of pish written there Eric in amongst some facts. Outstanding player had everything , am sure Miller had a hand in getting rid.What of the piece do you disagree with chief, He said that he missed playing alongside Charlie, and the McDiarmid debacle was that not caused by him turning up late for the game. Link to comment
OddJob Posted March 26, 2011 Share Posted March 26, 2011 Amazing player. Real shame the way he left the club though. Link to comment