Young To Skipper Dons.

• Replies 81

Don't think he's captain material as he's too keen on shouting and blaming but I'd love to be proven wrong.

Hope he gets a new deal as cover in the summer though.

like the time earlier this season when his first involvement in the game was to hook the ball aimlessly over his shoulder to the opposition (canna mind the game) and berate young Jack for the pass he received.

Is this how far our standards have dropped.

Could be the worst player ever to captain the Dons if it happens :ThumbsDown:

That'll be us then.

Young as team captain, and eagerly anticipating the return of Mackie to bolster the forward line.

Mebbes we'll get Tom Jones back in to add that extra level of skill inna.

:suicide:

About time there was some sense produced in this thread.

How the mighty have fallen.

Though to be fair, we have rather limited options.

Still rather have the likes of Milsom, Jack, Vernon or Smith be captain.

Rather than someone who is pish at fitba

I like Young. The idea of him being Captain appeals to me in a "this is bonkers" kind of way.

I dinna really mind him that much either.

It jist sort of distresses me. The thought that a bit part journeyman, used as cover basically and picked up after being rejected by partick ****ing thistle is being mentioned as a possible captain of our once proud club.

It's enough to mak ye eat yer young.

Looks like Pa Broon has taken to Young in a big way.

Digital edition isn't up yet but this seems to be what it is saying.

http://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/Article.aspx/2201341

A bit of a misleading thread title considering it says f**k all of the sort about Young captaining AFC in the EE article!

It does state that 'Brown has still to decide who will lead the dons in Lanarkshire' though.

I dinna really mind him that much either.

It jist sort of distresses me. The thought that a bit part journeyman, used as cover basically and picked up after being rejected by partick ****ing thistle is being mentioned as a possible captain of our once proud club.

It's enough to mak ye eat yer young.

Aye, the very same Delek Yung that two months ago was (correctly) being pilloried and hounded for his performance (or lack of) and ridiculous hand ball at Hampden. It pains me to even think his name and captain of this club in the same sentence. Give it to Milsom, give it to Smith, give it to Scotty Vernon, hell, even give it to Ryan Jack. Yung has been pretty much a constant in some if our most shameful results in our recent history. Mr Aberdeen. Don't make me f**king laugh.

An active hun as captain?

Union Jack = no thanks.

Same applies to the poor man's Billy McNeill.

Young at least has AFC at heart.

A Hun he may be. Do you think he gives any less than 100% when playing. I'm not saying Delek does either, but he's sh*te. Did Willie Miller grow up a red? Was Alex McLeish a dandie? No, but they demanded success and comanded respect. The only respect I'll ever give Delek is when he turns up at my door with the correct order when he's in his future employ.

I'd hand it to considine, an Aberdeen loon, who in recent months has been solid.

We clearly need someone to captain the side. If he is going to play anyway then Young is not a bad shout as at least he communicates. Considine would be less able at that and personality wise does not come over as a natural leader as yet (he may grow into the role - but this is probably a one off).

As K9 has observed it says nothing about Zander as he's suspended.

As things stand after Hartley who do we have?

(as for the worst player ever to captain AFC - wasn't O'Neil captain - I have fuzzy memories of his tenure as I try to blot out the pain of what we paid for him)

We clearly need someone to captain the side. If he is going to play anyway then Young is not a bad shout as at least he communicates. Considine would be less able at that and personality wise does not come over as a natural leader as yet (he may grow into the role - but this is probably a one off).

As K9 has observed it says nothing about Zander as he's suspended.

As things stand after Hartley who do we have?

(as for the worst player ever to captain AFC - wasn't O'Neil captain - I have fuzzy memories of his tenure as I try to blot out the pain of what we paid for him)

You think Derek Young stands out as a leader of men?

The crux of the matter is this.

The squad assembled by McGhee, Hartley aside, was so lacking in leadership they were at times virtually mute on the park.

Young, for all his lack of actual footballing ability, embodies the attributes required of a captain. In short, he gives a f**k.

He's the best we have at the moment, I'm sure he's not going to be the long term captain, but is undoubtedly the best option in the short term.

Diamond has shown no leadership whatsoever this season, quite the opposite at times.

The squad assembled by McGhee, Hartley aside, was so lacking in leadership they were at times virtually mute on the park.

Young, for all his lack of actual footballing ability, embodies the attributes required of a captain. In short, he gives a f**k.

He's the best we have at the moment, I'm sure he's not going to be the long term captain, but is undoubtedly the best option in the short term.

Diamond has shown no leadership whatsoever this season, quite the opposite at times.

Sadly (not because of the author but the reality of the situation) I agree - a winning team tends to have lots of leaders, we don't.

Switch the lights off, close the doors and put the padlock on the gates.

The club I once knew is officially dead.

That was yesterday...

MOVE ON