Site Sponsor RTYD Posted April 1, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted April 1, 2011 A few of us are going to embark on a fundraising initiative with a view to enhancing the Youth Development spend of AFC. As we all know Scottish Football in general and our club in particular is very short of cash. We can get into all sorts of debates as to why that is but the reality is that we are where we are so rather than look back we want to look forward and that is why we are committed to raising funds for youth development. Before explaining how we are going to try to do this it is important to tell you that this is a fans initiative, not one developed by the club. We have no desire to alienate the club; neither do we want any control exerted on us by the club. Fundraising is a very important part of the club Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted April 1, 2011 Share Posted April 1, 2011 good initiative i would be interested in attending a golf day and contributing Link to comment
Old Wing Stand Posted April 1, 2011 Share Posted April 1, 2011 Great work RTYD I will definately contribute in some way Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted April 1, 2011 Share Posted April 1, 2011 :applause: :applause: excellent idea RTYD keep me posted on corporate evenings, golf days etc and I'll try to fill a few tables. Link to comment
RUL Posted April 1, 2011 Share Posted April 1, 2011 Awesome. Football tourney is a great idea, used to raise circa Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted April 1, 2011 Share Posted April 1, 2011 Fantastic RTYD. My son's involvement in the youth academy is well documented and something I'm obviously immensely proud of. Whether it lasts a year, two or whatever, I would like to help in any way I possibly can for that duration and beyond. I don't know if you are aware but an AFC Youth Academy Parents Association was formed at the tail end of last year with like minded individuals as yourself, and had great success with the youth academy calendar (amazingly, if what we were told is true, sold more over the Christmas period than the club version!) and there is a dinner planned for July where Craig Brown has generously given up his time to speak. I can get all the details of everyone involved and maybe "crack heids 'igither".Please pm me if you need anything, I'd be more than happy to help. In the meantime, i applaud you, and everybody else you have on side, for giving your time and effort for such a cause. Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted April 1, 2011 Share Posted April 1, 2011 Any gala dinner, keep us all posted, I could get a table filled no problem. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted April 1, 2011 Author Site Sponsor Share Posted April 1, 2011 Guys, great to see such ealry enthusiasm. We are not off the starting blocks yet and we want to get this right so it will be a relatively slow start until we can get various major issues resolved (Speakers, venues, etc) We will keep you all regularly informed of where we are at. Link to comment
minijc Posted April 1, 2011 Share Posted April 1, 2011 Superb, RTYD, dinner would be great and like Dazzy would get a table or two filled without a problem, obviously getting speakers and that sorted would be hard but imagine the club would be willing to help. Link to comment
paullawrie Posted April 2, 2011 Share Posted April 2, 2011 good idea happy to look at any events for tables ,teams, sponsorship etc paul Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted April 2, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted April 2, 2011 Superb, RTYD, dinner would be great and like Dazzy would get a table or two filled without a problem, obviously getting speakers and that sorted would be hard but imagine the club would be willing to help.Speakers will not be a problem - I have organised events at which the main speakers were Sir Bobby Charlton, Denis Law, the late Sir Bobby Robson. That's the standard we are looking to achieve and any event will be run professionally and with 100% effort put in by those involved. good idea happy to look at any events for tables ,teams, sponsorship etc paulSuperb Paul. I will speak to Reidser and aim to hook him in to this. Will keep you posted. Link to comment
minijc Posted April 2, 2011 Share Posted April 2, 2011 Speakers will not be a problem - I have organised events at which the main speakers were Sir Bobby Charlton, Denis Law, the late Sir Bobby Robson. That's the standard we are looking to achieve and any event will be run professionally and with 100% effort put in by those involved. Fantastic Dom, well willing to help if needed and the race night you done last year for something different was well ran so I know what to expect in that way. Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted April 2, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted April 2, 2011 Fantastic Dom, well willing to help if needed and the race night you done last year for something different was well ran so I know what to expect in that way.Dinna worry Loon, you will be hooked in to lend a hand! Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted April 5, 2011 Share Posted April 5, 2011 Sounds like a great initative. I'd be willing to help out or contribute in anyway and time allows. Brilliant idea. Link to comment
tup Posted April 5, 2011 Share Posted April 5, 2011 Well done RTYD, youth is the future, I'll happily chip in a few bob to something worthwhile and this definitely falls into that category. More power to your elbow min Link to comment
tmwtm Posted April 8, 2011 Share Posted April 8, 2011 I'm sure i'll get roped in anyway but would be volunteering my helpin anyway I can anyway... it's sounding very promising! Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted April 8, 2011 Share Posted April 8, 2011 I'll happily Seriously though, great idea min. I'm a minky student, but if there was any wee jobs needing done, gies a shout! Link to comment
Site Sponsor Dom Sullivan Posted April 8, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted April 8, 2011 Seriously though, great idea min. I'm a minky student, but if there was any wee jobs needing done, gies a shout!Nae problem - we'll easily find a job for a member of the great unwashed Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted April 8, 2011 Share Posted April 8, 2011 count me in to anything Link to comment
athenaeum Posted April 11, 2011 Share Posted April 11, 2011 Great idea and i hope i can contribute somehow You should do a mass email of all members when something concrete is decided Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted April 11, 2011 Author Site Sponsor Share Posted April 11, 2011 Great idea and i hope i can contribute somehow You should do a mass email of all members when something concrete is decided Ducks lined up and all of that. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted April 15, 2011 Author Site Sponsor Share Posted April 15, 2011 Does anyone have Kevin Stirling's contact details? Link to comment
tmwtm Posted April 15, 2011 Share Posted April 15, 2011 Does anyone have Kevin Stirling's contact details? kevin.stirling@afc.co.uk Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted April 16, 2011 Share Posted April 16, 2011 Let's get something together to give these, and many more boys like them, as much opportunity as possible. Link to comment
redarmy88 Posted April 22, 2011 Share Posted April 22, 2011 Fantastic to see an initiative like this. Don't spend a load of time in Aberdeen these days so events might be a challenge but would happily part with 1 or 2 quid a month for a cause like this. Best of luck. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted April 26, 2011 Author Site Sponsor Share Posted April 26, 2011 A wee update. We are still waiting to hear from our number one target as guest speaker so everything else is in a bit of limbo at the moment. I have been in touch with some people about organising a big football quiz with the emphasis on the Dons. When I say a big quiz I mean a big venue and lots of teams. Teams of four would be my preference. How much per team would you guys be willing to pay as an entry fee on the assumption that you entered a team? It would be great to get that kind of feedback to see if it is viable at the sort of venue I am thinking of. Ideally it should be a free venue and I kind of know where it should be, but would we get it for free?!!!! Link to comment
K-9 Posted April 26, 2011 Share Posted April 26, 2011 A wee update. We are still waiting to hear from our number one target as guest speaker so everything else is in a bit of limbo at the moment. I have been in touch with some people about organising a big football quiz with the emphasis on the Dons. When I say a big quiz I mean a big venue and lots of teams. Teams of four would be my preference. How much per team would you guys be willing to pay as an entry fee on the assumption that you entered a team? It would be great to get that kind of feedback to see if it is viable at the sort of venue I am thinking of. Ideally it should be a free venue and I kind of know where it should be, but would we get it for free?!!!!If the club don't come with offer of venue for free (knowing they will make money on drinks sales) then be aswell packing up this initiative before it even starts. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted April 26, 2011 Author Site Sponsor Share Posted April 26, 2011 If the club don't come with offer of venue for free (knowing they will make money on drinks sales) then be aswell packing up this initiative before it even starts. LOL I'm hopeful that they would but haven't contacted them. Ducks in a row and all of that. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted May 23, 2011 Share Posted May 23, 2011 Superb, RTYD, dinner would be great and like Dazzy would get a table or two filled without a problem, obviously getting speakers and that sorted would be hard but imagine the club would be willing to help.Im only going if i can wear a suit. Link to comment