Foster14 Posted April 17, 2011 Author Share Posted April 17, 2011 Langfield and Maguire were heroic today Stevie Smith, Aluko and Diamond get pass marks Considine unfortunately had yet another lapse, many times we going to let him away with this? Diamond? Really? Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Langfield and Maguire were heroic today Stevie Smith, Aluko and Diamond get pass marks Considine unfortunately had yet another lapse, many times we going to let him away with this? Heroic? We got beat 4-0!!!! There couldn't possibility have been any heroes in red! Link to comment
Foster14 Posted April 17, 2011 Author Share Posted April 17, 2011 thought he was fairly manful, yeah Him and Considine played like they had never met before for that first 15 minutes. Diamond kept on losing his man and did so when Considine ended up taking him out. After that he maybe put himself about a bit more, but certainly wasn't up to much as far as I could see. Link to comment
dervish Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 My thoughts were Considine was trying to cover for Dimonds mistake when he got sent off, could be wrong though. Fairly sure like the rest of us he has zero confidence in Diamond. Edit: Would also say Maguire had a very good game. Can't fault him in any way. Link to comment
Crossbow Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Just in - gutted but not surprised. Not sure about either pen or our disallowed goal - certainly not surprised that the paranoid paddies got the rub of the green (forgive the pun) though. Thought they were the better team but never by 4 goals. Clangers did well on balance but that free kick miss (whether avoidable or not) destroyed the game for us. Our fullbacks were okay, Aluko and Bebo did well enough, Vernon (I think) had a good opportunity early on but headed it straight at the keeper. Centre of defence as ever looked at sea every time a cross came in and our midfield often came in and helped out. We never really generated much threat which is obviously a problem. Been to Hampden twice this season, we played worse the first time but were second best on both occasions. Still a lot of weakness in that team. Best player - the dons fans - we done good. Pleased to see Bebo applaud the fans. This year is over - time to learn for next year. Link to comment
ScottishJohn Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 I've been to 4 semi-finals and we have let in 4 goals in each one. Link to comment
OneLeeMiller Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Langfield and Maguire were heroic today Stevie Smith, Aluko and Diamond get pass marks Considine unfortunately had yet another lapse, many times we going to let him away with this? aye bebo put in a good shift and ran for ninety mins Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Langfield and Maguire were heroic today Stevie Smith, Aluko and Diamond get pass marks Considine unfortunately had yet another lapse, many times we going to let him away with this? I agree with all you say except maguire. Can't wait to get out of this weegie sh*te hole, Lennon is a fud, celtics fans are scumbags and I hate that f**king club. Link to comment
TheG_L_A Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Bunch of f**king wimps. The Dons are an embarrassment to the city. Only Steven Smith gets pass marks fae me the day.....and he's a hun. Wish all the other players showed the same fighting spirit. Clowns. Link to comment
boboisared Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Maguire, full backs and Aluko only ones to get pass marks from me. Langfield was on the fringes of that. Only saw the match from 25 mins onwards though. Link to comment
Walt Flanagan's Dog Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 To the guy in the South Stand who hurled his scarf on the pitch at 2-0 and stormed off up the stairs - I hope you sh*t yourself on the way home. Link to comment
stirlingsheep Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Can't believe the attitude of some, we were hoping to avoid a thumping at best, Scott Brown and Maloney both said post match that until the sending off it was even and I'd agree with that, barring one Stokes chance, Celtic didn't really threaten us, yeah we looked nervy at corners, but I can't recall there ever being too much danger from them. Sone looked in the mood and Magennis had a couple of okay runs inside and shots, though neither were ever troubling Forster too much. 1st pen was a definite, and going by the rules, a sending off, Stokes kinda suckered Considine in to a challenge, and I thought just maybe Langfield would have beat him to the ball, but thats by-the-by, if it had been at the other end I'd be wanting a pen too. After that it was always going to be backs to the wall. How anyone can lay blame on any player I really don't know, to play with a Young at centre half and Jack at full back with Vernon at centre mid and get to half time still even is pretty good. For those criticizing Langfield for the 1st, if he'd dived that way and someone had got a touch, you'd be saying he's still a numpty. I seem to recall Peter Kjaer doing the same thing in his 1st game and no-one was screaming about how crap he was for that error (cause he was anticipating a touch, like Clangers today). 2nd we were struggling, most of the midfield had expended their energy defending for their lives, Maguire ran his heart out and I think thats the best game Sone's had in a while. 3rd is never a pen, yeah Young slides in, but theres minimal contact, and Stokes just falls. 4th we were completely out on our feet and after Wilson hits it, it can go anywhere. Why the hell folk are so angry I don't know, we were never likely to get a result with 11, and to play 2/3 of the game with 10 against 12 (which it was by the way, although the ref did get the sending off correct, that was about it for him all game). Link to comment
dezzy_dan Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Bunch of f**king wimps. The Dons are an embarrassment to the city. Only Steven Smith gets pass marks fae me the day.....and he's a hun. Wish all the other players showed the same fighting spirit. Clowns. I can't agree with much of that I'm afraid. Firstly, and as an aside really, what bearing does Smith being a former Rangers player have on your assessment of him? It should have none. He had a good game and deserves credit for that. No mention of Hun should be made as he fought hard for our team. Please allow him that without dragging any negative connotation into it. Maguire showed fighting spirit during the game. He closed down defenders manfully, but was isolated so it was easy for them to play around him. When he got the ball he carried it and didn't make any glaringly stupid decisions, winning free kicks and corners which helped us get out and gave the defence somewhat of a breather. Excellent job considering he was on his own for the majority of the game. Aluko too carried the ball well, which was vital as we needed to hang on to possession which he helped us do. Milsom covered a huge amount of ground in midfield, but ultimately he had a thankless task as he was the only central midfielder once Jack was moved to full back. Really feel sorry for that lad as he has ability which is wasted in our team at the moment. Langfield pulled off a few good saves and kept us in it at times. Good save from the first penalty. A bit harsh to blame him for the first goal as we were on top of him in his six yard box and can not react until he knows that the centre forward is not heading it. By that time it was too late. The reality is that we were once again let down by a poor centre half pairing. The signs were there that their movement up front would cause us problems as neither Diamond nor Considine seemed willing to cover for each. Obviously a lack of awareness and communication there, which led to the sending off. Whether you wish to accept it or not, we actually played pretty well considering the circumstances. Once we went to ten men, we were ultimately on the end of a defeat as our squad is paper thin at the moment, which was shown by Young at centre half and Vernon at centre mid; Aluko even spent time in the middle of the park too. We simply don't have enough about us to play for 70 odd minutes with ten men against a very good passing side and win. Very few teams could compete over the course of the whole game. Craig Brown asked in his interview that the fans recognise the effort that the players put in. Some of the players were visibly struggling towards the end. That does not come from a lack of effort or fighting spirit. Link to comment
woohoo Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 I'm far too drunk to surmise the game coherently, but I am far less pissed off with the team than I was at the first Semi. Most players played well given the circumstances, which sadly meant we had next to no-chance. Aluko and Maguire had great games and I can't help but think if Aluko was receiving the ball and beating his marker in their half rather than 30 yards inside our own, or Maguire wasn't chasing down lost causes by himself we could've nicked a result. Although obviously against the best passing team in the league that was always going to be the case if our squad was reduced to 10 men. Bitterly bitterly disappointed, but as I say, nowhere near angry with the players. Link to comment
Walt Flanagan's Dog Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Highlights are up. Both penalties are pretty much stonewallers. The second one is a monumentally stupid tackle from Derek Young. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 If Considine hadn't been sent off, would we have won? Link to comment
Kilkito Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Can't believe the attitude of some, we were hoping to avoid a thumping at best, Scott Brown and Maloney both said post match that until the sending off it was even and I'd agree with that, barring one Stokes chance, Celtic didn't really threaten us, yeah we looked nervy at corners, but I can't recall there ever being too much danger from them. Sone looked in the mood and Magennis had a couple of okay runs inside and shots, though neither were ever troubling Forster too much. 1st pen was a definite, and going by the rules, a sending off, Stokes kinda suckered Considine in to a challenge, and I thought just maybe Langfield would have beat him to the ball, but thats by-the-by, if it had been at the other end I'd be wanting a pen too. After that it was always going to be backs to the wall. How anyone can lay blame on any player I really don't know, to play with a Young at centre half and Jack at full back with Vernon at centre mid and get to half time still even is pretty good. For those criticizing Langfield for the 1st, if he'd dived that way and someone had got a touch, you'd be saying he's still a numpty. I seem to recall Peter Kjaer doing the same thing in his 1st game and no-one was screaming about how crap he was for that error (cause he was anticipating a touch, like Clangers today). 2nd we were struggling, most of the midfield had expended their energy defending for their lives, Maguire ran his heart out and I think thats the best game Sone's had in a while. 3rd is never a pen, yeah Young slides in, but theres minimal contact, and Stokes just falls. 4th we were completely out on our feet and after Wilson hits it, it can go anywhere. Why the hell folk are so angry I don't know, we were never likely to get a result with 11, and to play 2/3 of the game with 10 against 12 (which it was by the way, although the ref did get the sending off correct, that was about it for him all game). Good summarisation. I agree, I don't know why some posters are criticising the team and certain individuals, I thought on the whole we played well, and don't think anyone had a bad game, once we were down to 10 men it was only ever going to go one way, we had no luck, they had plenty, but the players don't deserve any criticism. I'm absolutely gutted, but I'm not angry, which I was last time round. Forgot to add, Sone has to be our MOTM, thought he was absolutley immense today. Link to comment
DieHardDandy Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Good summarisation. I agree, I don't know why some posters are criticising the team and certain individuals, I thought on the whole we played well, and don't think anyone had a bad game, once we were down to 10 men it was only ever going to go one way, we had no luck, they had plenty, but the players don't deserve any criticism. I'm absolutely gutted, but I'm not angry, which I was last time round. Forgot to add, Sone has to be our MOTM, thought he was absolutley immense today. Teams that play well don't tend to lose 4-0. I've lost count of the aggregate score between us and Celtic this season but it must be eye-watering. I agree that in general we passed well and that in the circumstances we did the best we could, but I'm afraid that's not good enough and I'm not going to start patting a team of losers on the back for only losing 4-0. I think Brown is having a positive impact on us but he's nobbled until he can rejig the squad. I can't wait until he starts the process in summer! Good riddance season 2010-11! Link to comment
DieHardDandy Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 My thoughts were Considine was trying to cover for Dimonds mistake when he got sent off, could be wrong though. Fairly sure like the rest of us he has zero confidence in Diamond. Edit: Would also say Maguire had a very good game. Can't fault him in any way. Massively agree with the above points about Diamond. Link to comment
deco_1985 Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 I thought we played quite well today. For the first 20 mins we were probably the better team, and Maguire (?) could have scored a header after going down to 10 men. But we just tired, and Celtic knocked it about from side to side just waiting for an opening. Naive again from Considine. Celtic player was looking for it, went down quite easy, but ref prob got decision right. I thought every single player gave 100% and when it was 10 v 12 for an hour, there was only going to be one winner. Thought the fans were brilliant today as well. Glad to see the back of Celtic this season! Link to comment
Leightons_Missing_Teeth Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 I thought we played quite well today. For the first 20 mins we were probably the better team, and Maguire (?) could have scored a header after going down to 10 men. But we just tired, and Celtic knocked it about from side to side just waiting for an opening. Naive again from Considine. Celtic player was looking for it, went down quite easy, but ref prob got decision right. I thought every single player gave 100% and when it was 10 v 12 for an hour, there was only going to be one winner. Thought the fans were brilliant today as well. Glad to see the back of Celtic this season! Damn right about that min. Link to comment
NorthernLights24 Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 I've been to 4 semi-finals and we have let in 4 goals in each one. I'm in the same boat as you. One day maybe I'll see us win one Link to comment
wee jock poo-pong mcplop Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 At least we are getting to semi-finals!! Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 At least we are getting to semi-finals!! Yeah, it's really brilliant, isn't it. Link to comment
wee jock poo-pong mcplop Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Well it's the only way to win cups Link to comment
Oklahoma 1903 Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 At least we are getting to semi-finals!!If only we had got top six as well. Link to comment
wee jock poo-pong mcplop Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Two semi finals and nae getting relegatedOnwards and upwards(god these valium are good!!) Can we still get relegated? Link to comment
Patty Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Aye the boy that threw his scarf towards Archie can get to f**k, the joker. Don't need people like him in our support and glad he was booed. Good riddance. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Two semi finals and nae getting relegatedOnwards and upwards(god these valium are good!!) Can we still get relegated?Yes, mathematically, we need to win 2 more games to be safe. Link to comment
Bamber Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Thought Brown made one mistake today and it was his last substitution When he took off Vernon for Paton it should have been blackman that came off Otherwise i felt all did all they could - you do need everything to go well and have a bit of luck to beat the OF and that was all we really missed today - we had the attitude just not the luck Link to comment