Who Would You Keep?

But not many you'd get shot of either.

I canna see Wigster gan for a squad of 40 to be honest.

With the 19 I would keep and adding to that hopefully 5 signings and bringing in a couple from the youth team that would give us a squad of 26. That's not too unreasonable is it?

Most definitely Langfield, McArdle, Considine, Paton and i would also say despite being our main chance of possibly creating anything this season Maguire and Aluko since both play once about every 5 games (usually against low end of league teams) and can get much better value for money.

Paton is perhaps the one I would remove from my list, however I feel he'd really benefit from a loan move, like Maguire did at Killie.

I have my doubts about Maguire and Aluko staying anyway, but feel they would perform better and more regularly with a midfield that was more willing to support them.

there are bound to be better than Langfield on our budget, a keeper who can cover his near post a lot better than clangers and a keeper than doesnt crap hi shorts during big matches

I would imagine there are some, but I feel our budget should be focussed on other areas of the park which are more alarming, such as the central defence and attacking midfield.

A traffic cone would make less mistakes than langfield, watch the first 50seconds of the highlights from Saturday and tell me langfield isnt a f**king chocolate.

I cant wait to see the back of him, i have never seen 1 keeper make many mistakes. A backup at every other club in 3 of leagues but a first choice here, says it all.

In the first 50 seconds of the highlights from Saturday, Langfield features once and actually makes a very good save. So, Langfield isn't "a f**king chocolate".

Thta's because it's not our job.

Did I say it was? I said I was using the league as an example. With the amount of teams there are down south and given how difficult it is to determine how much some players are actually on in England, then it's a hard task to identify someone we could realistically bring up here.

• Replies 93

With the 19 I would keep and adding to that hopefully 5 signings and bringing in a couple from the youth team that would give us a squad of 26. That's not too unreasonable is it?

Paton is perhaps the one I would remove from my list, however I feel he'd really benefit from a loan move, like Maguire did at Killie.

I have my doubts about Maguire and Aluko staying anyway, but feel they would perform better and more regularly with a midfield that was more willing to support them.

I would imagine there are some, but I feel our budget should be focussed on other areas of the park which are more alarming, such as the central defence and attacking midfield.

In the first 50 seconds of the highlights from Saturday, Langfield features once and actually makes a very good save. So, Langfield isn't "a f**king chocolate".

Did I say it was? I said I was using the league as an example. With the amount of teams there are down south and given how difficult it is to determine how much some players are actually on in England, then it's a hard task to identify someone we could realistically bring up here.

thats a matter of opinion, we need a stringer keeper in my opinion, defender feel a lot more comfortable when they have a strong keeper behind them. I have said for too long now that Langfield is a poor keeper and has been for the majority of him time here. He had one decent season with us but thats it, he shat it on the big stage with the exception of Dnipro, he struggle at the near post too often too.

I feel the opposite - always think a 'keeper performs better with a solid, stable and consistent defence. By that I mean the same four mostly every week. I don't think we've kept the same back line for more than two games at a time this season! It is a matter of opinion in that respect though. Whilst some like yourself feel that a better keeper makes a defence more comfortable, others like myself feel that a stronger defence makes a 'keeper more comfortable. However I don't think that cuts it as an excuse for the agenda some people seem to have against Langfield, it's as if people are totally blind to anything he does well.

do you think a solid defence has a bearing on Langfield's ability to collect a cross or shot?

It can do at times. The relationship between a defence and goalkeeper is crucial, particularly for the 'keeper. Different defenders anticipate the ball in different ways. Some, no matter how loud the keeper shouts "mine" will still opt for the panic option and try and make contact with it. Not much the keeper can do about that.

As far as Langfield is concerned, I don't think his ability to collects a cross is that bad. If anything I've always thought the defence has been to blame when we've come under pressure from a cross. When it comes to shots, I think Langfield's best attribute is his shot stopping, but of course a solid defence has a bearing on that aspect.

It can do at times. The relationship between a defence and goalkeeper is crucial, particularly for the 'keeper. Different defenders anticipate the ball in different ways. Some, no matter how loud the keeper shouts "mine" will still opt for the panic option and try and make contact with it. Not much the keeper can do about that.

As far as Langfield is concerned, Idon't think his ab ility to collects a cross is that bad. If anything I've always thought the defence has been to blame when we've come under pressure from a cross. When it comes to shots, I think Langfield's best attribute is his shot stopping, but of course a solid defence has a bearing on that aspect.

you must have very low standards for goalkeeping

Who would you suggest that is better then? Only ones in the SPL I can think of are Kello, Alexander, McGregor and maybe Randolph. No chance of us being able to affors someone with the quality of the first three. Langfield in my opinion is better than Forster, Pernis, Cerny, Brown, Esson, Bell, Gallacher and Enckleman.

Out of the 19 players I have listed, tell me who you would get rid of then?

I'd get rid of all of them, total fkn crap, the lot of them. I don't know who the manager can bring in, I don't know the budget and what players are on elsewhere. I do know there are players outwith of England who are technically better than the dross we keep signing and think its about time we scouted that market :confused:

you must have very low standards for goalkeeping

I have realistic standards. It would appear that some want us to sign a 'keeper along the lines of quality that Iker Casillas possesses.

I'd get rid of all of them, total fkn crap, the lot of them. I don't know who the manager can bring in, I don't know the budget and what players are on elsewhere. I do know there are players outwith of England who are technically better than the dross we keep signing and think its about time we scouted that market :confused:

I sense a bit of exaggeration in that post. Surely you'd at least keep Milsom and Smith...

Indeed, Langfield's best attribute is is his stot stopping apparently :tumbleweed:

What is his best attribute then if it isn't his shot stopping?

I have realistic standards. It would appear that some want us to sign a 'keeper along the lines of quality that Iker Casillas possesses.

I sense a bit of exaggeration in that post. Surely you'd at least keep Milsom and Smith...

What is his best attribute then if it isn't his shot stopping?

don't talk bollocks, nobody expects that at all.

all we want is better than what we have,.

ok thats me told, we should just leave it and accept that Langfield is as good as we can get EVER

:deadhorse: :deadhorse: :deadhorse: :deadhorse:

That isn't what I said. I said in our price range and current lack of money Langfield isn't a bad option. There may be a better keeper out there and I'd like us to find him but we would be lucky to get him given our financial status.

don't talk bollocks, nobody expects that at all.

all we want is better than what we have,.

Thought you might have been able to realise that I was jesting. When you look at the faults people keep picking and highlighting about Langfield (some of which are very seldom produced by him and some don't even exist at all), it gets to the point where people won't be happy until they get the all round keeper. There aren't a lot of them. Goalkeeper is arguably the hardest and most high pressure position on the football pitch. One mistake and people jump on your back. If a striker makes a mistake, like missing out on an easy header or failing to control a simple ball, he is quickly forgiven despite the fact that the mistake was perhaps as easy to make as say misjudging the speed or power of a shot at the keeper.

ok thats me told, we should just leave it and accept that Langfield is as good as we can get EVER

:deadhorse: :deadhorse: :deadhorse: :deadhorse:

Nobody is suggesting that. What some, including myself are trying to get across is that given our budget and other factors such as the quality of the league etc, Langfield is a good goalkeeper. He's not amazing, because if he was, he'd be playing for a top EPL team. He's not great, because if he was he'd be playing for the Old Firm or a lower EPL team or higher Championship side. He is good, and probably as good as we can get. Not as good as we can get EVER, but as good as we can get for the moment.

We can barely compete with Division 3 in England. In our price range and in the SPHell Langfield isn't a bad keeper.

We don't have to complete with Division 3 in England. However we do have to compete with St Johnstone, Motherwell, Kilmarnock, Inverness and Dundee United in same league as us who all seem to be able to get a better team and squad together on lot less of a fincial budget than we do.

As for keeper we should go after Cerny from Hamilton who are going down and is far far better keeper than Clangers.

That isn't what I said. I said in our price range and current lack of money Langfield isn't a bad option. There may be a better keeper out there and I'd like us to find him but we would be lucky to get him given our financial status.

I don't believe that for one second, if Langfield is indeed the best this club can hope for then we are more f**ked than I thought.

yep, much like you told me to do when I was arguing about money and standings in general in another thread?

I think we will leave that debate MT, you completely missed my points and I didn;t say we cannot improve at all

for the record i dont mean from pass-backs, i mean when he has the ball in his hands.

some of his kicks are delightful, a point not lost on the usually hyper-critical craig burley recently!

f**k me I though you were taking the piss so I laughed with you...........

We don't have to complete with Division 3 in England. However we do have to compete with St Johnstone, Motherwell, Kilmarnock, Inverness and Dundee United in same league as us who all seem to be able to get a better team and squad together on lot less of a fincial budget than we do.

As for keeper we should go after Cerny from Hamilton who are going down and is far far better keeper than Clangers.

If he is better then i hope we sign him.

These figs are well out of date (2006) but i'm guessing the difference hasn't changed much. I can't find more recent average SPL wages....though according to Delloite & Touche the average SPHell wage is something like

Billy Dodds was speaking after the Hibs defeat and he had nothing nice to say about our team at all. To paraphrase he said a lot of our players are substandard, most are over paid, we are not getting value for money, he knows of players in the SPL that would give their right arm for the wages we pay who are of a much better standard than we currently have.

He finished by saying we need a complete clear out of the older players bar Vernon and Milsom who were the only 2 he saw as good enough for us.

Goes to show that it doesnt matter what your budget is, to an extent, its how you spend it and its been said on here before that we aint spending ours right.

If he is better then i hope we sign him.

These figs are well out of date (2006) but i'm guessing the difference hasn't changed much. I can't find more recent average SPL wages....though according to Delloite & Touche the average SPHell wage is something like £100k (atleast it was in 2000 ex the OF)....it must be much less than that now?

Where I guess we have a disadvantage is paying a transfer fee and / or signing on fee? I couldn't find any stats on that, so I'm speculating. Given it is probably now less than £100k we are probably competing with teams at the top of Div 3 (Div 1) and bottom of Div 2.

How many players have we been able to attract whom had serious interest from teams in those divisions? How many players have we lost to bottom/Mid Div 2 / top Div 3 teams? Nicholson, Maybury, Clark, Hart, Byrne, Severin, McNaughton ?

I'm sure there are other factors at play here, like ambition in the case of McNaughton and boredom in the case of Nicholson but were we ever in a position to stop these players from leaving / were we ever in a position to make them an offer they couldn't refuse? (we probably didn't want to keep Byrne but you get my point?).

AVERAGE BASIC WAGE (2006)

Premiership £676,000

Championship £195,750

League One £67,850

League Two £49,600

Re: we are spending more than a lot of teams.

Looks like we are spending more than most teams except Celtic, Rangers and Hearts. I have no idea how this guy has rounded the figs but it does seem we are paying roughly 20% more in wages than Kilie and HIVs.

In a league like the SPHell I'd expect this to yield a higher return than it has.

img35.jpg

http://www.football-finances.org.uk/spl/img35.jpg

Remember Jock this is total wages we have a corporate snouttery at Pittodrie where we are paying a ceo , a director of football and their associated lackeys a sh*t load of money.

Dundee Utd have a significantly poorer budget than us and manage to find keepers easily enough.

i cannot see how or where any players who are better then the ones we have will come from. we are in a league devoid of money. hell, if even the huns were on the verge of bankrupcy after years of playing to crowds we can only imagine, with the tv revenue and europe revenue to help them what chance for the rest of us.

the scouting does need to improve. the dons have one of the biggest catchment areas in the country. there must be a couple of lads with huge potential playing in the area. time wm pulled his finger out and found them. unfortunatly the talent we have in Pawlett, bebo and fyvie will end up playing in lower league english fitba cos they can pay the money we can only dream of.

Out of current squad who would you keep for next season?

If i was pushed id name four.

Jack,Vernon,Smith and Milsom.

Folly, Fyvie and Pawlett on top of the above.

rest can f**k off starting with the the 3 super tims and then Clangers

100% agree, especially with VDA. Time for a total clear out. Interesting to read Billy Dodds saying the same thing a couple days back.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/13101930.stm

"We are due the fans something and it must be a better team next season," Brown told BBC Radio Scotland.

"There will have to be personnel changes but we haven't all that many players out of contract, so we will have to do some wheeling and dealing."

So there are players still in a contract that he'll be looking to shift on.