Ke1t Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Just found myself getting more and more aggravated listening to Craig Brown's post-match interviews. The same, tired, worn out old platitudes and empty promises were rolled out, only this time in Craig Brown's voice rather than Steve Paterson's, or Jimmy Calderwood's or Mark McGhee's. We'll have new faces at the club. We'll better next season, team the fans deserve. I'm 100% sure that Brown was 100% sincere, but I don't think he fully understands the people he's dealing with at AFC. Just tired of hearing the club's lies through a never-ending procession of meat-puppets and well-meaning but naive managers. Also tired of hearing that the players gave it their all, or that they were unlucky. We're not unlucky, we're manned by third rate players who, even on the incredibly rare occasion that they bother their arses (like today) they're still third rate and will be beaten in the manner of a third rate team. This 'unlucky' sh*t didn't fly under Paterson, when we were signing lower league journeymen, and it doesn't fly now. We're not unlucky, we're garbage, and all the effort in the world... when we see it a couple of times a season... means zip. I'm sure Hailton puts in a lot of effort, but they're pish and they'll get relegated... not because they're unlucky, but because they're pish. Well, we're not unlucky, we're pish, and thank f**k Hamilton are worse. And Craig, don't be making promises that you won't be allowed to keep, thanks. That just makes you complicit. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 We're not unlucky, we're garbage, and all the effort in the world... when we see it a couple of times a season... means zip. I'm sure Hailton puts in a lot of effort, but they're pish and they'll get relegated... not because they're unlucky, but because they're pish. Well, we're not unlucky, we're pish, and thank f**k Hamilton are worse. Mathematically, it isn't a certainty. We still have to win 2 more games to be safe. Link to comment
Bamber Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Mathematically, it isn't a certainty. We still have to win 2 more games to be safe. Only one actually - the next one Link to comment
Red Loon Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Just found myself getting more and more aggravated listening to Craig Brown's post-match interviews. The same, tired, worn out old platitudes and empty promises were rolled out, only this time in Craig Brown's voice rather than Steve Paterson's, or Jimmy Calderwood's or Mark McGhee's. We'll have new faces at the club. We'll better next season, team the fans deserve. I'm 100% sure that Brown was 100% sincere, but I don't think he fully understands the people he's dealing with at AFC. Just tired of hearing the club's lies through a never-ending procession of meat-puppets and well-meaning but naive managers. Also tired of hearing that the players gave it their all, or that they were unlucky. We're not unlucky, we're manned by third rate players who, even on the incredibly rare occasion that they bother their arses (like today) they're still third rate and will be beaten in the manner of a third rate team. This 'unlucky' sh*t didn't fly under Paterson, when we were signing lower league journeymen, and it doesn't fly now. We're not unlucky, we're garbage, and all the effort in the world... when we see it a couple of times a season... means zip. I'm sure Hailton puts in a lot of effort, but they're pish and they'll get relegated... not because they're unlucky, but because they're pish. Well, we're not unlucky, we're pish, and thank f**k Hamilton are worse. Agree on all counts. What's the thread after fifteen years of accepting sh*te? Milne and his cronies thats what. Stadium is a side show to keep the punters happy. No stadium will be needed that's bigger than around 7,000 tops. AFC is in serious decline along with much of the rest of the SPL Craigie - decent guy that he is - has been duped and has walked into it like the others did before him. Now believes all the Wiggyspeak whilst we, the fans, could have told him so. And why didn't STV ask MM what he thought of all this? Maybe he'd have given an honest view - too honest - for the board's liking And next season the team promoted might not be worse than us Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Only one actually - the next oneIf you want to rely on goal difference, yes. Got to win 2 games if you want to be absolutely sure. Link to comment
Bamber Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 If you want to rely on goal difference, yes. Got to win 2 games if you want to be absolutely sure. differnce today 12 pts with 15 available aberdeen vs hamilton next game we win or draw difference is 15 (or 13 if a draw) with 12 pts to play for 1 Draw will do Link to comment
centraldon Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Brown did his job. Kept us up (mathematics aside). The cup would have been an incredible bonus. Except we were never going to win it if we had to play a top six side, let alone the old firm. Had we of beaten Celtic, Motherwell would have gubbed us. That's just the way of it. Season finished a few months ago. Fingers crossed Brown can make the changes he needs to over the summer. We'll have a better idea a year from now. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 differnce today 12 pts with 15 available aberdeen vs hamilton next game we win or draw difference is 15 (or 13 if a draw) with 12 pts to play for 1 Draw will do Incorrect. If we draw with Hamilton, they get a point too, so the difference is still 12. Sheesh! Link to comment
Bamber Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Incorrect. If we draw with Hamilton, they get a point too, so the difference is still 12. Sheesh! ooh aye two many drinks since i've got home - ok one win will do - the next one! Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 differnce today 12 pts with 15 available aberdeen vs hamilton next game we win or draw difference is 15 (or 13 if a draw) with 12 pts to play for 1 Draw will do :hysterical: Link to comment
onlyjim Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Milne sh*te. give me a break.ONE TEAM in the whole of ABERDEEN.My grandad climbed on the roof c'cause he couldn't get in for a normal match.Club funds would be available if you spent some money instead of moaning.Imagine the amount this club would have if everyone turned up.We could afford decent players.Stop moaning and put your money where your mouth is.I live in Shetland and the club gets a lot more than a season ticket out of me. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 We got to 2 semis this piss poor season so I hope he can see with some changes, we might make a go of it in the league. I would get a nuggety wee midfielder, that can run all day. Link to comment
onlyjim Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Get of your arses and support your team for f**ks sake.BUMS on SEATS keep the club alive.All glory to you guys that travelled down and made your team feel proud of their support.I am 62 and most of you guys are the biggest bunch of moaning b*stards and it's all your own fault.You have to go to every match you possibly can to support your team.Not just the ones you think they might win or the OF or Man U Link to comment
onlyjim Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 I have been an Aberdeen Supporter since I was 5.Most guys my age will understand where I am coming from.Mind you we had some moaning b*stards back then as well.They are all decrepit old c**ts and their families hate them (i hope)If you want your team to go forward....SUPPORT IT....Money is support bums on seats supply that money. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Get of your arses and support your team for f**ks sake.BUMS on SEATS keep the club alive.All glory to you guys that travelled down and made your team feel proud of their support.I admire your dedication to the cause, but surely there is a breaking point somewhere which means that fans reach a limit of what they can take in terms of being let down over and over again. It's a human nature thing, unless you suffer from a form of addiction and are simply unable to break out of the habit. In the early 60s when I started going to Pittodrie as a kid, we were accustomed to failure and took it with a sense of humour - if you didn't you would have wept. It was a habit for me, and I rarely missed a home game. Personally, I can never stop being a Dons supporter, but these days people have many other habits and demands on their time and finances. Support has to be earned, it can no longer be taken for granted. Link to comment
Jocky Balboa Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Good OP. Brown has no idea of the following: - Milne's priorities. Miller's priorities. The former's clearly isn't "the product". The latter is only intent on receiving a wage and has nothing positive to contribute to aid the recovery. Recovery ain't gonna happen in the absence of will and desire. From the people in charge of AFC, there is zero desire, hence zero prospect of recovery. I don't blame Brown for his naivety at this juncture. The bad karma will sink him too. As a man who never played the game professionally, I can almost forgive the Wigless Wonder his lack of winning mentality, but Miller is unforgivable in his about turn. A man who, as a player, was so ruthless in his "win at all costs" attitude. Yet here he stands, a sad caricature of his old self, perfectly happy to accept a third-rate team with a revolving door of managers, so long as his big fat monthly pay cheque is maintained and his "legend" status assured in the minds of less discerning individuals, many too starstruck to ever question the great man. Sad to think that a genuinely decent man like Granpa Broon will in the not too distant future most likely be forever tainted by his association with those 2 odious characters we have at the helm of our sinking ship. Link to comment
onlyjim Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 I admire your dedication to the cause, but surely there is a breaking point somewhere which means that fans reach a limit of what they can take in terms of being let down over and over again. It's a human nature thing, unless you suffer from a form of addiction and are simply unable to break out of the habit. In the early 60s when I started going to Pittodrie as a kid, we were accustomed to failure and took it with a sense of humour - if you didn't you would have wept. It was a habit for me, and I rarely missed a home game. Personally, I can never stop being a Dons supporter, but these days people have many other habits and demands on their time and finances. Support has to be earned, it can no longer be taken for granted. The fans are the breaking the breaking point.They have become armchair fan's.No longer supporters.Shout as loud as you want from where ever you want, unless you spend money you are not supporting your team. Link to comment
onlyjim Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 you work and your family depend on your support.YEY I LOVE MY FAMILY if thats all you give them they starve.A football team is the same.No money they die. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 The fans are the breaking the breaking point.They have become armchair fan's.No longer supporters.Shout as loud as you want from where ever you want, unless you spend money you are not supporting your team. Has time passed you by. Don't you realise that this is the 21st century now. Link to comment
red donut Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 fans wont return in numbers until we get better players playing better football. we wont get better players until we have a change of owner thus as 99% of us agree, our problems are down to Milne... and how do you hurt milne, no bums on seats!! which goes against our will but is the only way of making change. nothing is going to change with milne in charge, in 10years time we will be in the same position. in 20years time we will be in the same position. This will impact the youth coming through and not going to games. I know of a few aberdonians who only follow liverpool or man utd because its decent football and the dons are pish. That is down to lack of investment, and that is down to milne. we have the power, we just have to use it in an unconvential & uncomfortable manner to ditch milne....... Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Instead of blaming my mates and my family that choose NOT to watch AFC plc these days, plus the other 6 or 7 THOUSAND of people from this city and this shire that similarly don't bother their arse, a critical trend that has happened ONLY THIS YEAR, ask yourself WHY? If we don't put bums on seats, we die. Simple. Take a +10 for that post. Link to comment
onlyjim Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Has time passed you by. Don't you realise that this is the 21st century now.No time hasn't passed me by.Do you think the club can live on nothing Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 No time hasn't passed me by.Do you think the club can live on nothingWhy don't you get a few tin cans and rattle them on Union Street, see how much you get, Wise up man. Link to comment
onlyjim Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Shetland jim, only jim, consider this... Over 15 years ago, the club formerly known as Aberdeen Football Club asked supporters to dig deep for a share issue, whereupon AFC became AFC plc. Then, it requested a rights issue and took a further seven figures from it's benefactor shareholders. The money wasn't just squandered on the likes of Paul Bernard et al, it was pissed against a wall as a mountain of debt accumulated. This isn't for debate. These are facts. Fast Forward one and a half decades later and the average crowd is 7,000 something. This has fallen dramatically SINCE Brown came in. This is nothing to do with Craig Brown. We took down 8,000 less today than we did for the other semi. I was amazed how quiet the road was driving to Glasgow this morning. Even the windmills on the top of the Mearns weren't moving an inch. It was eerily quiet. Even the traffic through the average speed cameras at 40 weren't chock a block like they normally are. Instead of blaming my mates and my family that choose NOT to watch AFC plc these days, plus the other 6 or 7 THOUSAND of people from this city and this shire that similarly don't bother their arse, a critical trend that has happened ONLY THIS YEAR, ask yourself WHY? If we don't put bums on seats, we die. Simple. But blaming the customers whilst not asking the right questions is retarded in the extreme. The sort of retardation you might find in fishing villages as a result of successive in-breeding, for example. Or islands even.So how many turn up to meetings and how many turn out to support their club.????Stop asking questions and support your club.Then all will be answered. Link to comment
onlyjim Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 So how many turn up to meetings and how many turn out to support their club.????Stop asking questions and support your club.Then all will be answered. When supporters turn out in greater numbers they will be listened to. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 When supporters turn out in greater numbers they will be listened to.RS must have been right about the retardation, or maybe you are just drunk. Hope you get better soon. Link to comment
onlyjim Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Shetland jim, only jim, consider this... Over 15 years ago, the club formerly known as Aberdeen Football Club asked supporters to dig deep for a share issue, whereupon AFC became AFC plc. Then, it requested a rights issue and took a further seven figures from it's benefactor shareholders. The money wasn't just squandered on the likes of Paul Bernard et al, it was pissed against a wall as a mountain of debt accumulated. This isn't for debate. These are facts. Fast Forward one and a half decades later and the average crowd is 7,000 something. This has fallen dramatically SINCE Brown came in. This is nothing to do with Craig Brown. We took down 8,000 less today than we did for the other semi. I was amazed how quiet the road was driving to Glasgow this morning. Even the windmills on the top of the Mearns weren't moving an inch. It was eerily quiet. Even the traffic through the average speed cameras at 40 weren't chock a block like they normally are. Instead of blaming my mates and my family that choose NOT to watch AFC plc these days, plus the other 6 or 7 THOUSAND of people from this city and this shire that similarly don't bother their arse, a critical trend that has happened ONLY THIS YEAR, ask yourself WHY? If we don't put bums on seats, we die. Simple. But blaming the customers whilst not asking the right questions is retarded in the extreme. The sort of retardation you might find in fishing villages as a result of successive in-breeding, for example. Or islands even. Link to comment
onlyjim Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Shetland jim, only jim, consider this... Over 15 years ago, the club formerly known as Aberdeen Football Club asked supporters to dig deep for a share issue, whereupon AFC became AFC plc. Then, it requested a rights issue and took a further seven figures from it's benefactor shareholders. The money wasn't just squandered on the likes of Paul Bernard et al, it was pissed against a wall as a mountain of debt accumulated. This isn't for debate. These are facts. Fast Forward one and a half decades later and the average crowd is 7,000 something. This has fallen dramatically SINCE Brown came in. This is nothing to do with Craig Brown. We took down 8,000 less today than we did for the other semi. I was amazed how quiet the road was driving to Glasgow this morning. Even the windmills on the top of the Mearns weren't moving an inch. It was eerily quiet. Even the traffic through the average speed cameras at 40 weren't chock a block like they normally are. Instead of blaming my mates and my family that choose NOT to watch AFC plc these days, plus the other 6 or 7 THOUSAND of people from this city and this shire that similarly don't bother their arse, a critical trend that has happened ONLY THIS YEAR, ask yourself WHY? If we don't put bums on seats, we die. Simple. But blaming the customers whilst not asking the right questions is retarded in the extreme. The sort of retardation you might find in fishing villages as a result of successive in-breeding, for example. Or islands even.The more bums that are on the seats, the bigger the power of the complaint if they don't perform.the crowds they are demanding at the moment are 2nd divison loosers.Go get boosed up and leave AFC alone.They need positive supporters not the ones the always argue for the negative. Link to comment
dervish Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 Can see both sides of the argument on this. Main thing I believe is that for years our club, more specifically the 11 gents we pay to see and their leaders, have changed every transfer window. We need to identify with the players. As of now we have a bunch of loan players and some want away gashers (many good players who tried and did well today, but do you see them here in 3 years?). Why would we ever support that? We need a team we identify as our own and can believe will be here for the long haul. Link to comment
onlyjim Posted April 17, 2011 Share Posted April 17, 2011 By the way i can also recite the history of the club....I am part of it. Link to comment