Your Local Boozer

Henry

• Replies 106

is it decent vin rouge? none of yer pish like black tower or blue nun!!

I believe it will be an expensive harvest, as to which region, f**k knows, I'm not a wine snob, and if you seen the Chileans, in their bare feet, trampling all over the grapes pre-fermentation, you might not be so keen on the hint of woodsmoke you thought you tasted when 'quaffing' it, which is more likely to be a hint of poorly wiped Chilean arse.

I don't know, but I'll find out this evening.

I believe it will be an expensive harvest, as to which region, f**k knows, I'm not a wine snob, and if you seen the Chileans, in their bare feet, trampling all over the grapes pre-fermentation, you might not be so keen on the hint of woodsmoke you thought you tasted when 'quaffing' it, which is more likely to be a hint of poorly wiped Chilean arse.

I don't know, but I'll find out this evening.

:hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical: :hysterical:

drinking (and appreciating) wine shows a certian degree of intelligence.

not academic intelligence but an openness and sophisticated awareness of other tastes and cultures.

intelligence cant just be measured in verbose and wordy internet message board posts despite what rocket_queen thinks.

take for example tup.

tup loves correcting spelling and grammer but he is nothing more than a inbred home boy who has no understannding of anything outside his beloved northern scotland.

drinking (and appreciating) wine shows a certian degree of intelligence.

not academic intelligence but an openness and sophisticated awareness of other tastes and cultures.

intelligence cant just be measured in verbose and wordy internet message board posts despite what rocket_queen thinks.

take for example tup.

tup loves correcting spelling and grammer but he is nothing more than a inbred home boy who has no understannding of anything outside his beloved northern scotland.

It shows a penchant for pretence, and is therefore the drink of choice for secret alcoholics country wide.

I'm having a wine, darling, and reading the Guardian, in the drawing room. How quaint.

Reality? I'm an alcoholic, the paper's a front, and I've a further bottle stashed in a cupboard in the drawing room, same brand, same label, just in case.

It's a liquid, it cannot prove intelligence or otherwise.

And it tastes like paint stripper.

It shows a penchant for pretence, and is therefore the drink of choice for secret alcoholics country wide.

Exacta-f**king-mundo. It's a drink that nice to be seen drinking.

"Oh darling, I've had a hard day, let's open a bottle."

Meanwhile, when I suggest opening half a dozen cans of Special Brew, I'm the bad guy.

Yes, and wine is of course seen as socially acceptable.

Never mind that it's stronger than the dirty dishwater derived Special Brew.

Or the never seen an aipple in it's life, plugged into the mains White Lightning.

So people tan it, all the time, and expect to get away with it, scot free. They are doing something sophisticated

The people drinking the other two things above are looked down upon, through the toffee noses of the sophisticates as scum

Never mind, I'm watching you closet alkie, and the burst capillaries in your nose, which are rapidly spreading across your coupon, are in the process of betraying you. Heart attack fairly soon. Possibly cirrhosis too, bit of yellow creeping into the eyeballs there min. Best of British.

what an utter pile of rusty water.

vino tinto is a drink that in order to appreciate you need a developed and educated palate, unlike the above mentioned tipples (white lightening - an aphrodisiac of the teens, or special brew - cheapest way to get smashed when you tip in an askit powder).

If I want to enjoy a drink, I head for the vino or a decent gin, dram or vodka. If I want to get smashed, I head for the cider or lager (sometimes with a couple of shooters too). If I want to be sociable while in a bar I prefer a beer (nothing too heavy - usually a Belhaven Best or a John Smiths).

I believe there is no booze snobbery apart from those who slate the wine drinkers - i.e. those jealous of the higher levels of finery!

how's it nice to be seen drinking if you're sitting in yer hoose drinking it (in the drawing room as there's an extra stash in there according to tup)????????

and fashionable/pretty boy drinks (peroni, corona, miller (a few years ago), bulmers/magners) are not drinks to be "seen" drinking???

You would say that Seb min, seeing as you drink it.

I reckon you have been pussy whipped into doing so, and now feel the need to preach, like a bitch would.

I'm a hairy arsed male, 14 stone with 2 hingin, and wine will not be crossing my lips under any circumstances, let alone reaching my palate, where I can 'wax lyrical' (i.e. talk sh*t) about this that and the next thing it supposedly contains.

I've got no airs or graces, and I call a spade a f**king spade and that's it, no grey areas.

and fashionable/pretty boy drinks (peroni, corona, miller (a few years ago), bulmers/magners) are not drinks to be "seen" drinking???

I actually don't have any strong opinions regarding wine, just not a fan myself. Agree with the above point though.

what an utter pile of rusty water.

vino tinto is a drink that in order to appreciate you need a developed and educated palate, unlike the above mentioned tipples (white lightening - an aphrodisiac of the teens, or special brew - cheapest way to get smashed when you tip in an askit powder).

If I want to enjoy a drink, I head for the vino or a decent gin, dram or vodka. If I want to get smashed, I head for the cider or lager (sometimes with a couple of shooters too). If I want to be sociable while in a bar I prefer a beer (nothing too heavy - usually a Belhaven Best or a John Smiths).

I believe there is no booze snobbery apart from those who slate the wine drinkers - i.e. those jealous of the higher levels of finery!

i'm with you tain.

tups idea that it is pretentious, is just more of his typical inverted snobbery.

tup, despite his best efforts to convince us otherwise, is not well educated enough to appreciate the finer things in life.

wine and spirits are the gentlemans tipple.

i currently working my way through a couple of bottles of hendricks gin. lovely with cucumber.

bought a saffron-infused gin (french i think) but not tasted it yet.

gin is ace in summer. refreshing.

There should be four drinks available in a pub.

Whisky, vodka, dark rum, and beer.

If you don't like any of that, f**koff, you shouldna be drinking.

Alcopops and all that sh*t, give me f**king strength, honest to f**k.

A wine spritzer for the birds, or a gin if they're lucky.

Nothing else.

wine and spirits are the gentlemans tipple.

i currently working my way through a couple of bottles of hendricks gin. lovely with cucumber.

bought a saffron-infused gin (french i think) but not tasted it yet.

gin is ace in summer. refreshing.

And lo and behold, here we have a gentleman couching his blatant alcoholism in terms, as if a hint of sophistication masks the underlying problem.

nah min.

i enjoy a drink and drinking far too much to ever be an alkie.

you on the other hand, do not appear to be a person who is happy in his own skin. i wonder if you resort to the bottle. :itch-chin:

nah min.

i enjoy a drink and drinking far too much to ever be an alkie.

you on the other hand, do not appear to be a person who is happy in his own skin. i wonder if you resort to the bottle. :itch-chin:

Quoting 'le grande sausicce' there I do believe.

Yes I'm comfortable in my own skin, and I never drink spirits, so there's not muckle chance of me resorting to the bottle.

If I drink, I go for a pint, in a bar, where I can enjoy some company with like minded individuals.

Not sitting tanning anything with an alcohol content before resorting to the bleach when it runs out. That's you, that is :party:

Quoting 'le grande sausicce' there I do believe.

Yes I'm comfortable in my own skin, and I never drink spirits, so there's not muckle chance of me resorting to the bottle.

If I drink, I go for a pint, in a bar, where I can enjoy some company with like minded individuals.

Not sitting tanning anything with an alcohol content before resorting to the bleach when it runs out. That's you, that is :party:

Where is this bar? Does it play scottish music only and you sit down and discuss the state of the nation since it was taken over by those imperialist pig dogs the English (spit)?

Oh and MiniJC rose isnae wine. It is the b*stard offspring of wine designed with folk who dinna like actual wine in mind.

A cheap bottle of rose and a bottle of lemonade, mix the two, very cheap and gets you utter ruined, done it on holiday last year, 6 bottles I think before I went out ended up missing for 6 hours, good times.

You're only really missing if someone is looking for you though aren't you? ;)

Anyway, have be known to indulge in a bottle or a box of vino on the busses back from an away game. Doesn't make you look intelligent at all though :thumbs:

You're only really missing if someone is looking for you though aren't you? ;)

Anyway, have be known to indulge in a bottle or a box of vino on the busses back from an away game. Doesn't make you look intelligent at all though :thumbs:

Three mates went looking for me, couldn't find me, I woke up otherside of Kavos, only way I found my way back was because I could remember a subway being near my hotel and a KFC being right outside it, so once I stumble upon one I knew the other was close.