Your Local Boozer

Henry

• Replies 106

The Regent, a gay friendly pub near where the buses park for footy at easter road.

some fruity characters in there, they also have a pommel horse like the one marcellus wallace gets bummed over in pulp fiction. took my mum there and there was this big fella at the bar with a short dress, wig, and some tarty make up, docker's fists the lot. funny sh*t.

The Regent, a gay friendly pub near where the buses park for footy at easter road.

some fruity characters in there, they also have a pommel horse like the one marcellus wallace gets bummed over in pulp fiction. took my mum there and there was this big fella at the bar with a short dress, wig, and some tarty make up, docker's fists the lot. funny sh*t.

Our supporters club at the time (Stirling Reds) went into the Regent, first day of the season in '02 (?), Hibs casuals followed us in and thought they could pick on us. They got their heads in their hands and then some. Funny thing is, a certain well known poster from here later claimed it was himself and his mates who sent the CCS on their way... when all he did was sit on his fat arse in the back room shiting it with the rest of his mates. :sherlock::wave:

Sometimes they shut it when the footy is on down the road. Friday night is lesbian club night though!

I maybe ken you. Or at least seen you in the bar.

You in a lot?

I'm not in all that often as away alot with work.

He does look after you on the outings like you say. I was on the Perth Races bus he ran and it was a quality day out.

I was looking to go on the golf day, just as a caddy though, but had to go away for work today instead.

Maybe you do know mw, I am in enough, for me not to have a serious drinking problem !! lol

Saturday was fun, my golf was pish but beers were good.

I was there that day ina - was mental, pints flying everywhere. I mind some boy got caught in the door way and got a proper kicking.

We also won the match with a winner in the 97th minute if I recall - great day out!!

back on topic, I know how dare I

I dont have a local right now, Buckie Farm would be the closest thing to it but its not my Cheers.

Mecca was my last local in Scheveningen. Nice little place, good food, freebie nibbles, nice beer, good looking barmaid and best of all weed smoking was allowed outside all day and inside from 9.00pm onwards.

It was a real mecca :)

Two boozers in Newtonhill, Quoiters and Newton Arms, both a 20 second walk from each other! Technically Quoiters is the closest to my house (3 mins versus 3 mins and 20 secs) but always class the Newton as my local, it being where my Dad drinks and the traditional pub.

Pros:

Good Jukebox

Kept the bar fairly original and lounge is modern so offers something for everyone

Friendly staff

Pool table

Us "locals" are friendly

Never usually any neds

Good bbq in Summer

Football on tv

Cons:

Can be crowded in bar when busy

All you can ask from a pub really. That said I'm rarely there and often in the Paddock in Portlethen, which has an awesome jukebox, can be full of old b*stards one night then total neds the next, or a combo of both. Went through a phase of there being a fight every night, I've even been jumped from behind when on the jukebox!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wXw6znXPfy4

is this a clue to the person in question?