barassie_afc Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 if he obtains significant investment then good apppointment 04.07.2011 A leading figure in the global energy sector is to become a director of AFC to work on the development of its investment strategy and assist in meeting the many challenges the club faces as it prepares for its relocation to the largest 'new build' stadium in the country for over a century. Colin Welsh, chief executive officer of corporate finance advisers to the energy industry - Simmons & Company International Limited - is joining the board of directors of AFC. He will be working with the club to enhance existing and develop new relationships with the energy sector. Commenting on his appointment, chairman Stewart Milne, said: "The board has a huge task in the next three to five years. We need to secure investment for the new stadium and sports facilities that will deliver benefits for the club and the city. We need to invest in building the squad and we must re-connect with our fans and the wider community. "With the significant achievement of securing planning consents for Loirston and Pittordrie, we have also kept the banks on-side and are now entering a new era in which we need new people with fresh ideas and new energy to help drive us forward. It is highly unlikely that anyone is going to come along with an open cheque book and we must find ways of delivering what is needed through differentways of working and partnering. "Colin's appointment is part of our new approach to the way in which we run the club. I am confident he will deliver value for the club that will ultimately lead to new investment. Brought up in Aberdeen, Mr Welsh attended Hazelhead Academy before studying Economics, Accountancy and Law at the University of Aberdeen. He trained as a chartered accountant with Ernst & Young. Following spells in the London and Aberdeen offices of Touche Ross (now Deloitte), he established the Aberdeen office of RMD in 1987. RMD became a highly successful independent accountancy and corporate finance firm which was eventually acquired by Deloitte. In 1999, Mr Welsh was invited to join Simmons & Company International to establish the firm's European office. Mr Welsh is married with two children. He said: "Having a successful football club is key to improving the city's civic pride and creating a feel-good factor. I am keen to see AFC reclaim its place among the best in Scotland both on and off the pitch and increase its contribution to the local economy. "I hope to bring business expertise, ideas, contacts and a fresh approach to the board. The club recognises that it faces some major challenges in the next few years and wants to re-engage with the fans, the community and businesses. I aim to play my part in helping the club achieve this. "The club has made some good signings recently and we need to build on this momentum with the aim of giving the fans what they deserve this season. "Aberdeen's global energy industry is on our doorstep and the club must engage more meaningfully with the industry to develop mutually beneficial partnerships. We have the potential to be the energy football club." Link to comment
tup Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 The only 'energy sector' the club needs concern itself with is the effort put in by the players on the park on a Saturday. This guy sounds a right tube. Link to comment
Mikeyboy1903 Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 "we must re-connect with our fans and the wider community" They lost that years ago ..... Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted July 4, 2011 Author Share Posted July 4, 2011 Thought you may have had insider information Tup ? Link to comment
russellh Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 Is this the person that will go knocking on doors of the oil companies seeing as Miller wont do it? Link to comment
tup Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 Thought you may have had insider information Tup ? Never heard of him, big money in renewables though, don't suppose it does any harm. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 The only 'energy sector' the club needs concern itself with is the effort put in by the players on the park on a Saturday. This guy sounds a right tube.Aye, of course it is "we must re-connect with our fans and the wider community" They lost that years ago .....Hence, re-connect f**k me, fans cry out that with all the wealth around Aberdeen from the oil sector, that Wiggy does nothing to tap into it. So what does he do, but co-opt onto the board someone who seems to have been tasked with approaching - and is from - said oil sector. Predictable round of booing from the sidelines from whinging Aberdonians. f**king pathetic. Link to comment
tup Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 Aye, of course it is Hence, re-connect f**k me, fans cry out that with all the wealth around Aberdeen from the oil sector, that Wiggy does nothing to tap into it. So what does he do, but co-opt onto the board someone who seems to have been tasked with approaching - and is from - said oil sector. Predictable round of booing from the sidelines from whinging Aberdonians. f**king pathetic. He's too late, the oil's running oot min, should have been in there from the start when the big money was flying around. The renewables sector is all government money at the moment, but the future appears to be wind and pish rather than oil. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted July 4, 2011 Author Share Posted July 4, 2011 is he a halogen tube ? Link to comment
fatshaft Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 He's too late, the oil's running oot min, should have been in there from the start when the big money was flying around. The renewables sector is all government money at the moment, but the future appears to be wind and pish rather than oil.Nae in our lifetime you depressing c**t. Link to comment
tup Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 Nae in our lifetime you depressing c**t. You must be a right old b*stard is all I'm saying to that. Link to comment
BMS Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 You must be a right old b*stard is all I'm saying to that. I ken him and he is nae a tube, fine bloke, Dandy through and through... gie the boy a chunce min Tup Link to comment
Mikeyboy1903 Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 Aye, of course it is Hence, re-connect f**k me, fans cry out that with all the wealth around Aberdeen from the oil sector, that Wiggy does nothing to tap into it. So what does he do, but co-opt onto the board someone who seems to have been tasked with approaching - and is from - said oil sector. Predictable round of booing from the sidelines from whinging Aberdonians. f**king pathetic. This boy needs to be Harry fu*king Potter to turn our club around, Clearly you cannot see what the main root of the problem is...... You don't just bring someone else onboard that will be a "Yes" man. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 This boy needs to be Harry fu*king Potter to turn our club around, Clearly you cannot see what the main root of the problem is...... You don't just bring someone else onboard that will be a "Yes" man. what makes you think he's going to be a "yes man"? Link to comment
tup Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 If he's heading up some renewable sector company, he's pretty much guaranteed to be a yes man. Anyway, Miller has been marginalised, he was the problem, I predict we'll see more investment regardless of this gadgie's credentials. Link to comment
Jazzer_Bett Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 I ken him and he is nae a tube, fine bloke, Dandy through and through... gie the boy a chunce min Tup Does everything need to be run by you Tup A guy like this should have been appointed years ago - good connections to the as yet untapped businesses. Clearly a (slow) reaction to the famous "Thats not my job its Angelas job" quote from a few years ago. Now its Colin's job, so good luck min. Link to comment
K-9 Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 Will see - new ideas certainly needed. Wonder if this guy will be taking a wage then? Doubt it will be full time position. Link to comment
Mikeyboy1903 Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 what makes you think he's going to be a "yes man"? Jim Cummings wasn't a yes man ... and left the club shortly afterwards, Lots of high profile businessmen want the club to change but they know It's an impossible task with certain people at the helm. Link to comment
tup Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 Jim Cummings wasn't a yes man ... and left the club shortly afterwards, Lots of high profile businessmen want the club to change but they know It's an impossible task with certain people at the helm. Cummings strikes me as anything but. Link to comment
Guest Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 Will be interesting to see how much time he is going to spend in this new role. I mean, is he keeping his current job? How much are we paying him? Will his ability to gain investment outweigh hos pay cheque? And Tup... you mentioned investment was being made in AFC but sounds like this new appointment was news to you. So can I ask, was the yarn you were spun about investment just a smoke screen, and this is what they were talking about? ie, we are getting a new man in and he will find investment? Or have you had assurnaces that Milne and/or another director are making tangible investment? I think this appointment is sound and we have been crying out for an interface between local companies and the club for years. Milne may be good at building houses, but his PR and his connection with the people in the region - sucks! Mine you, you'd have to ask, what are the other directors bringing to the party? A 6 pack of Tennents maybe, but that's about it! Link to comment
Jonty Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 I know a couple of folks that work at Simmons (though not Colin specifically) and they are a really respected company - they are easily the best known Corp Finance outfit specialising in the energy sector. This guys contacts should be a huge asset if used properly. Link to comment
tup Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 And Tup... you mentioned investment was being made in AFC but sounds like this new appointment was news to you. So can I ask, was the yarn you were spun about investment just a smoke screen, and this is what they were talking about? ie, we are getting a new man in and he will find investment? Or have you had assurnaces that Milne and/or another director are making tangible investment? It's no yarn min, and is not based on some unknown future revenue possibility. Link to comment
Tommy Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 I doubt that there's any salary going to be paid. Link to comment
ChookterDon Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 f**k sake usual moaning crap from the usual moaning arseholes! This is a great appointment. It clearly states he is going to help gain significant investment and create relationships with the energy companies in Aberdeen. I for one am pleased at this new appointment and will wait patiently to see what divedends it pays!Welcome aboard Colin! Link to comment
tup Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 Colin is a nerd's name. Maybe get a Justin in at board level for a bit of the old feng shui about the place :tup: Link to comment
Mouse Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 No idea, but clearly Angela wasn't doing her job either if there was no investment. Looks like a good appointment to me Link to comment
tup Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 With all due respect to Angela, I'm sure she's a nice enough wifie, we need serious b*stards at Pittodrie from now on and women do not fall into that category, well maybe one week in four, but that's not good enough. Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted July 4, 2011 Share Posted July 4, 2011 With all due respect to Angela, I'm sure she's a nice enough wifie, we need serious b*stards at Pittodrie from now on and women do not fall into that category, well maybe one week in four, but that's not good enough. the sales team need a proper fecken shake up...no respect and stuck in a fookin time zone Link to comment