Ricky Foster Named Captain

What a guy, I actually feel a bit sorry for him.

Ditching your mob to come down to Glasgow for a season to see what it's like to actually win some silverware, and comes back a better player after actually playing in some half decent games....games in the Champions League - you know what that is, right?

I've absolutely loved reading the last three pages of this, what an unbelievably deluded wee fan base you mob are. Foster isn't at your level? Aye, it looked like it last season against Valencia and Man United.

It must be gutting, this step down. From Rangers reserve to sheep shaggers captain, one of the most drastic comedowns in sporting history.

Still, I'd just like to say :sheepshag:

Looking forward to ruining your pishy wee team again next year.

Whoever this guy is I'll give him a +1.......the comments on this topic are embarrassing. This forum has jumped the shark.

• Replies 396

Ditching your mob to come down to Glasgow for a season to see what it's like to actually win some silverware, and comes back a better player after actually playing in some half decent games....games in the Champions League - you know what that is, right?

I've absolutely loved reading the last three pages of this, what an unbelievably deluded wee fan base you mob are. Foster isn't at your level? Aye, it looked like it last season against Valencia and Man United.

It must be gutting, this step down. From Rangers reserve to sheep shaggers captain, one of the most drastic comedowns in sporting history.

Aye, but he's probably brought back other things like, oh, lack of personal hygiene, felonious tendencies, overt racism, proclivity towards terrorism and a tendency towards filthy bigotry.

Now I realise YOU don't see the problem with these kinds of things......

Aye, but he's probably brought back other things like, oh, lack of personal hygiene, felonious tendencies, overt racism, proclivity towards terrorism and a tendency towards filthy bigotry.

Plus fecking one, Kelt.

Well said.

You missed out cheating

Look, everyone is entitled to their opinion on this subject, so stop harping on about negative bullsh*t or whatever.

If folk think the decision is a poor one, then so bet it. Doesn't reduce their capacity or desire to see Aberdeen do well does it?

My own view? I think Foster is a poor choice as captain. Mostly as when he made a mistake in the past, he was quick to berate the younger members of our team. He had a few fallings out with Calderwood. which to me shows indiscipline. His move to Rangers still beggars belief in my eyes and when people say we missed him last year, they are being misled by the assumption he was of value to us in the first place. We missed a full back... not Ricky Foster. Had McGhee replaced him with a suitable full back, no one would have given two hoots about his departure.

Mawene for me was obvious candidate. Can't get my head around Brown's thought process in this choice at all. I was hoping we'd be able to purchase a full back who could actually beat a man and pass the ball, but now looks like we'll have to rely on Foster as a first choice pick.

I'm happy enough with Foster as a full back.

I agree with the Mawene bit though.

this is the worst managerial decision by any manager in my life time. utterly horrendous. just when you start to feel slightly optimistic you get hit with this. i suspect brown is doing this to try and keep foster happy because we all know he now thinks he's billy big time. utter f**king shambles ricky foster is our captain. how the hell can ANY aberdeen fan welcome this announcement? the guy can't pass a ball 6 yards FFS. :banghead:

and i thought calderwood was a tube.

I don't see why people keep on saying Mawene would be the sensible choice, given that Brown will obviously know him better than any poster on here.

As for Foster, I can only assume he has come back in to the fold and shown himself to be captain material to Brown. On the talk of sulks and fallings out with Calderwood, I certainly didn't see that on the pitch ever, and it seemed to be standing up for what he thought. Although only based on rumours, it didn't always seem that he did this in the best manner, but at the same time, based on rumours, it seemed that Calderwood had his boys and then the outsiders. GIven that there were supposedly numerous fallings out supposedly and that Foster was not shipped out like so many others (even much more talented players), is a bit strange.

As for the captaincy, well, he seems one of the more natural candidates from the squad left last season. Clark and Mawene may have been alternate candidates, but I guess Brown has reviewed the situation and seen something in Foster. Think it would be better than the McGhee method of trying out loads of folks, but at the same time, hope it doesn't turn out a bad choice early on, could be a risk for squad morale...

Certainly didn't see this one coming, I'm very surprised at this move. Can only assume Brown has seen something in him in training or that he now has a winning mentality from being with them last season and it'll rub off on the other players.

If not, no idea why he's been given this role. As Bripod suggested, giving the armband to the wrong player can backfire, Kerr and Seve being prime examples. Could be a masterstroke by Brown or majorly backfire. I guess we'll have to just wait and see but far from convinced.

mind the stairs on yer way out ya huun cuunt!!

Looking forward to cracking you and your ilks skulls when next in Aberdeen

nae all time you goon, my life time. i'm 26 so you do the maths. :thumbup1:

I'd say the decision to offload him to the huun scum and then take on that plank Velicka was the worst managerial decision of all time.

McGhee - what a dobber.

If Foster is crap, I'll boo him because he is crap, nothing to do with his dalliance with the huun - hardly his fault was it?!

What an utter shower of negative twats many, most, of you lot are. Why do you even bother supporting a team when it is fault, criticism, negative comment, after comment about anything and everything. Now some of it is valid on many topics but the level of distaste I see for the team you say you support is incredible. Foster has his ego faults but he may have learned much training for a higher level. Sadly we watched him create a number of vital plays for Rangers so he brought something to their game.

I'm not sure about the decision and he has much to prove but in Brown/Knox we must trust.

*awaits petty abuse* :)

I'd say the decision to offload him to the huun scum and then take on that plank Velicka was the worst managerial decision of all time.

McGhee - what a dobber.

If Foster is crap, I'll boo him because he is crap, nothing to do with his dalliance with the huun - hardly his fault was it?!

But he is crap. All you morons saying the forum has jumped the shark etc.. Need to wise up. Foster was an abortion of a player before he went to the huns and still will be.

cant say im over the moon, would like to have brought in a captain. I thought mawene was a shoe-in to get it tbh.

But broon prob thinks that as he is a local lad (sorta), been with AFC for a while and that he has gained valuable experience with the huns (Champs league) its perhaps not surprising he was chosen

All the best ricky, better start putting in some consistent performances

you are weird. you do realise we now have what can only be described as a clown captaining our team. if you're an aberdeen fan surely you're horrified and extremely worried that a guy who can't control, pass or cross a football and openly wants to play for rangers is skipper? utter shambles.

McGhee - what a dobber.

eh? what's that got to do with anything. my gripe is he is S*ITE utter S*ITE nad he's now our captain. be aswell with a f*ucking traffic cone on the park.

The Uk is the only country who gives a sh*t who is captain. On the continent they dont care...thus Capello's blundering over the England captain.

Personally, I don't care who is captain. Its a redundant position.

Bollocks they do. Here in Milan, Inter fans idolise Zanetti. "Il capitano" is what they love to shout.

Just heard on the Northsound news bulletin that "Foster received and unwelcoming return after being boo-ed by sections of the dons support"

What a feckin joke. At times I am embarrassed to follow the dons with some of the clinical spaztiks that follow us....f**k off the lot of you!!!!

But he is crap. All you morons saying the forum has jumped the shark etc.. Need to wise up. Foster was an abortion of a player before he went to the huns and still will be.

I thought he was player of the year in McGhee's first season in charge.

To all those who say the isnt our best player so shouldnt be captain is Messi captain?Ronaldo?Rooney? He doesnt need to be our best player facts are he is a league winner and has played at the highest European level how many of our squad can say that? Judge him on what he does not what he has done in the past

Do one hun.

The Uk is the only country who gives a sh*t who is captain. On the continent they dont care...thus Capello's blundering over the England captain.

Personally, I don't care who is captain. Its a redundant position.

I'd love to know what experience you have on that. When I was at the Olimpico for a Roma game Totti is worshipped like a bloody god.

Just heard on the Northsound news bulletin that "Foster received and unwelcoming return after being boo-ed by sections of the dons support"

What a feckin joke. At times I am embarrassed to follow the dons with some of the clinical spaztiks that follow us....f**k off the lot of you!!!!

Can't say I feel sorry for him at all. He's a silly boy for the comments he made, knowing full well he was coming back.