Bluto10 Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 who plays football? i played for local u12s but then stopped and only picked it up again as i was leaving school, so i missed out on the best years. as a late teenager i was a fearless midfielder with a bit of bite, similar in mould to a bryan robson i suppose. but nowadays i'm a solid deep lying midfielder, slowing down play and spraying hollywood balls about. am tempted to say pirlo but more likely a boozers charlie adam. lacking skill but with decent pace, good stamina and a howitzer of a shot i can also play the no10 like sneijder. do you play football? Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 My style is reminiscent of a retard chasing a balloon. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 Mainly play 7s if I play nowadays. What role depends on the day, and who else there is. Goalkeeper - Bertand Bossu style. Defender - Dave Bus style. Midfield - Scott Muirhead style. Striker - Dyron Daal style. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 I'm a bit of a wimp in goals! Outfield, nah problem! There used to be a guy that played 5's with us that had such a hard shot, he broke someones wrist trying to save his shot. I like quick passing, pass and go style of play. I don't try and go past my man normally. I'm pish. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 Jack of all trades master of none. Goalie - Clangfield Defender - Solid enough, right or left back though. Midfield - Modric Attack - Agbonlahor, got a bit of pace but terrible finisher although get the odd goal. A good passer, that's my strength. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 Only play 5's now-a-days. I model myself on Nigel Pepper. Link to comment
Donmacca Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 I would say I'm like bobby mann, centre half with a big belly and the turning circle of a battleship Link to comment
robbojunior Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 I'm very Messi-like. Sorry i meant i'm very messy like. Ken? Link to comment
InTaeEm Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 My style is reminiscent of a retard chasing a balloon. Quality! I play Saturday amatuers, always been a striker ever since primary school days which were by far the best, we used to be really competitive with goal scoring records and i think by then end of it, myself, my brother and another young lad at the time were up in the 200+ mark... I wish i had all the games i played back then on DVD to watch back! I myself don't know what my style is, i broke my own team's keepers finger after a shot about 7-8 years ago now, always have had a affa powerful strike on me, i guess it it just came from constantly shooting and my legs have always been my strongest part of my body... for the amount of shots i blast wide or straight at the keeper, i tend to make up for it with a screamer sooner or later.. Also play wings occasionaly, although i never was the fastest.. i'd say just about average at the time of the likes of U15's, now that im playing amatuers i wouldn't say i've gained pace, maybe fitness levels have improved in last year or two, I seem to be nippy past the old sweaty men that patrol the defence in amatuers. Im also partial to some cheeky tricks/shots just to p*ss off the other team. Always good to wind the opposition up Link to comment
Pash Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 Classic #10 role. "In the hole"...or on the bench. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 In my early days in Amateur football I was an absolute flying machine at right back and could get "up and down the line" easily for 90 minutes. Had my best days in Junior football as either a sweeper or centre mid. I could read the game very well, and was described by my manager (a lifelong friend but sure that didn't have any bearing!) at the time as being the best sweeper in Junior football. I was strong in the tackle and could pass the ball well which suited me perfectly when the legs were going (or when a lifetime of drink and drugs really took hold) towards the end of my Junior days. scroll down to Stevie Campbell http://www.freewebs.com/glentanar/exglens.htm and you'll get the picture After going back to Amateur for a season or so I am now happily in football retirement. Link to comment
Scarface Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 I'm the top scorer both on and off the field. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 19, 2011 Author Share Posted July 19, 2011 We've heard this fairytale before. Roughly translated - I was sh*te at fitba and was always picked last. nae true. i was a tidy footballer in my day what about you?shotputter? Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 In my early days in Amateur football I was an absolute flying machine at right back and could get "up and down the line" easily for 90 minutes. Had my best days in Junior football as either a sweeper or centre mid. I could read the game very well, and was described by my manager (a lifelong friend but sure that didn't have any bearing!) at the time as being the best sweeper in Junior football. I was strong in the tackle and could pass the ball well which suited me perfectly when the legs were going (or when a lifetime of drink and drugs really took hold) towards the end of my Junior days. scroll down to Stevie Campbell http://www.freewebs.com/glentanar/exglens.htm and you'll get the pictureAfter going back to Amateur for a season or so I am now happily in football retirement. Far did Ollie come from Ollie? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted July 19, 2011 Author Share Posted July 19, 2011 I'm the top scorer both on and off the field. well, whilst we're on that subject. i'm a bit fo a modern day georgie best. go out and sink 10-15 pints and then still do the business the next day. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 Far did Ollie come from Ollie? Somebody called me Ollie in primary school. I presumed it was after the irish rugby player of the time Ollie Campbell but nae sure. 30 years later it's still a sticker Link to comment
Stoney Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 Midfield - enforcer. Very limited footballing ability but loved a tackle! Had a good first touch although the second and third ones tended to be a bit sh*t and think my longest career pass was 15 yards.......... I did however score from the half was line once - bonzai Link to comment
robbojunior Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 In my early days in Amateur football I was an absolute flying machine at right back and could get "up and down the line" easily for 90 minutes. Had my best days in Junior football as either a sweeper or centre mid. I could read the game very well, and was described by my manager (a lifelong friend but sure that didn't have any bearing!) at the time as being the best sweeper in Junior football. I was strong in the tackle and could pass the ball well which suited me perfectly when the legs were going (or when a lifetime of drink and drugs really took hold) towards the end of my Junior days. scroll down to Stevie Campbell http://www.freewebs.com/glentanar/exglens.htm and you'll get the picture After going back to Amateur for a season or so I am now happily in football retirement. i used to play for East End juniors but left in 2001 to move to glaisga for work (boo) and so went back to amateurs - moved to plymouth and played amateurs down here ana but retired from 11 a side 2 year ago. stick to the 5s and 7s now that i canna be arsed (ie am getting on a bit) Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 In my early days in Amateur football I was an absolute flying machine at right back and could get "up and down the line" easily for 90 minutes. Had my best days in Junior football as either a sweeper or centre mid. I could read the game very well, and was described by my manager (a lifelong friend but sure that didn't have any bearing!) at the time as being the best sweeper in Junior football. I was strong in the tackle and could pass the ball well which suited me perfectly when the legs were going (or when a lifetime of drink and drugs really took hold) towards the end of my Junior days. scroll down to Stevie Campbell http://www.freewebs.com/glentanar/exglens.htm and you'll get the picture After going back to Amateur for a season or so I am now happily in football retirement. Spot on Ollie....I wouldnt know where to start Link to comment
Nealey Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 In my playing days(given up by the age of 26!) I played for Glentanar Boys Club, Cove Boys Club, Rattrays XI, the now defunct Cornhill Thistle, Woodside,(Saturday amateurs), Northstar(Sunday morning amateurs) and Shirlaw's(Sunday afternoon welfare/amateurs) I'd say I was very much a utility player in the sense that I was pretty sh*t in every position. Did manage to get the odd goal mind you, scored screamers on my Rattrays and Cornhill Thistle debuts but on the whole pretty much flattered to deceive. As I'm involved on the committee and as 'spongeman' for Stonehaven Juniors on Saturdays my playing of the game is restricted to 7-a-sides at the Sports Village most Sunday evenings where I'll have one good/decent game followed by playing absolutely sh*te the next. My style, I wouldn't say there really was one, but I was wholly dependant on my right foot as my left is merely for standing on. Fitness levels are/were decent so there's no issues getting about the pitch, got a decent enough shot on me & I'd like to think a decent cross but not a huge deal else sadly! Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 In my playing days(given up by the age of 26!) I played for Glentanar Boys Club, Cove Boys Club, Rattrays XI, the now defunct Cornhill Thistle, Woodside,(Saturday amateurs), Northstar(Sunday morning amateurs) and Shirlaw's(Sunday afternoon welfare/amateurs) I'd say I was very much a utility player in the sense that I was pretty sh*t in every position. Did manage to get the odd goal mind you, scored screamers on my Rattrays and Cornhill Thistle debuts but on the whole pretty much flattered to deceive. As I'm involved on the committee and as 'spongeman' for Stonehaven Juniors on Saturdays my playing of the game is restricted to 7-a-sides at the Sports Village most Sunday evenings where I'll have one good/decent game followed by playing absolutely sh*te the next. My style, I wouldn't say there really was one, but I was wholly dependant on my right foot as my left is merely for standing on. Fitness levels are/were decent so there's no issues getting about the pitch, got a decent enough shot on me & I'd like to think a decent cross but not a huge deal else sadly! Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 i used to play for East End juniors but left in 2001 to move to glaisga for work (boo) and so went back to amateurs - moved to plymouth and played amateurs down here ana but retired from 11 a side 2 year ago. stick to the 5s and 7s now that i canna be arsed (ie am getting on a bit)Fairly sure I would have been up against you in your time there. Link to comment
Nealey Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 I'm nothing if not truthful mate Link to comment
Dandie1992 Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 Fabien Barthez - Capable of such supreme goalkeeping moments, aswell as the most monumental howlers. Link to comment
360 Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 Inzaghi. I'll do f**k all, but I'll hit the back of the net. :thumbs: Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 In my playing days(given up by the age of 26!) I played for Glentanar Boys Club, Cove Boys Club, Rattrays XI, the now defunct Cornhill Thistle, Woodside,(Saturday amateurs), Northstar(Sunday morning amateurs) and Shirlaw's(Sunday afternoon welfare/amateurs) I'd say I was very much a utility player in the sense that I was pretty sh*t in every position. Did manage to get the odd goal mind you, scored screamers on my Rattrays and Cornhill Thistle debuts but on the whole pretty much flattered to deceive. As I'm involved on the committee and as 'spongeman' for Stonehaven Juniors on Saturdays my playing of the game is restricted to 7-a-sides at the Sports Village most Sunday evenings where I'll have one good/decent game followed by playing absolutely sh*te the next. My style, I wouldn't say there really was one, but I was wholly dependant on my right foot as my left is merely for standing on. Fitness levels are/were decent so there's no issues getting about the pitch, got a decent enough shot on me & I'd like to think a decent cross but not a huge deal else sadly!I mind playing against you in Glendale vs Glentanar derbies. Where did your nickname come from? Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted July 19, 2011 Share Posted July 19, 2011 Would like to think I'm a reasonably intelligent player. Always try to use my head but it f**ks me off when team mates don't. Decent passer. Very much a confidence player though. Link to comment