Spl Clubs To Go Bust

• Replies 84

Popular Days

You dont have to support a team to watch a game of football.

If you only watch Aberdeen than its no wonder you know so little about football :thumbup1:

I don't only watch Aberdeen, some leap that.

I only give a f**k about Aberdeen.

And the EPL coverage makes me want to puke, it's like the X-Factor of football, full of f**king pansies, no swearing mind, and the players get paid an amount of money that totally offends me.

By watching the output, you contribute to that.

I'm assuming you aren't serious when you say that EPL is scripted like WWF....

Anyway, your final sentence.... this is what I think will end up happing, 10 or 15 years down the line. Rangers and celtic will leave and our top league will become semi-professional, like the league or Ireland or Wales. To be honest, I think it might be better that way. The current SPL is just an utter embarrassment.

You don't think the EPL is scripted? It wouldn't surprise me in years to come to find out that footballs rigged at all levels.

I remember being excited at the last day finishes in the Italian League for a while, Roma et all going gung ho until last day of season, 40,000 travelling away and so forth. Think it ended up happening 3 years in a row or something and even the Italian crowds had twigged that something was up by then.

It never ceases to amaze me that there is something to play for in the EPL on the last day, always, always something for SKY to have 3 live games and build up all week. Then it all finishes and it ends how everyone thought it would at the start more often than not. We're all fkn mugs watching probably one of the most corrupt sports going. Only corruption can explain the dross on show at Aberdeen these past few years, organised crime racket to bore the fans into submission.

I don't only watch Aberdeen, some leap that.

I only give a f**k about Aberdeen.

And the EPL coverage makes me want to puke, it's like the X-Factor of football, full of f**king pansies, no swearing mind, and the players get paid an amount of money that totally offends me.

By watching the output, you contribute to that.

You seem to have an rather extensive opinion on this, must be something you have watched a lot of

I bet you will secretely be chugging away to the EPL this weekend. Go-on tup fa's your team, Bet your a bitter blue.

This isnt down to solely to TV, a lot of it is due to the pish that is put in front of them, and the fact we have been sh*te for nearly 20 years

fixed.

The last season that we were truly a decent team was Willie Miller's penultimate season (91/92?). We had been a good team with a spell of effing great for the 20 years leading up to that. Anything since has been a pale imitation.

15 years since we won anything and 11 years since a Cup Final.

It's no wonder that we've lost half our support. Credit to the fans it's taken two decades a more fickle group would have effed of long before.

You seem to have an rather extensive opinion on this, must be something you have watched a lot of

I bet you will secretely be chugging away to the EPL this weekend. Go-on tup fa's your team, Bet your a bitter blue.

Jesus Christ what the hell does that mean?

Give your head a shake coming out with stuff like that for f**k sake.

You don't think the EPL is scripted? It wouldn't surprise me in years to come to find out that footballs rigged at all levels.

I remember being excited at the last day finishes in the Italian League for a while, Roma et all going gung ho until last day of season, 40,000 travelling away and so forth. Think it ended up happening 3 years in a row or something and even the Italian crowds had twigged that something was up by then.

It never ceases to amaze me that there is something to play for in the EPL on the last day, always, always something for SKY to have 3 live games and build up all week. Then it all finishes and it ends how everyone thought it would at the start more often than not. We're all fkn mugs watching probably one of the most corrupt sports going. Only corruption can explain the dross on show at Aberdeen these past few years, organised crime racket to bore the fans into submission.

I am in 100% agreement that football is fixed in England and the moronic fishes lap it all up.

Scotland too, Celtic and Rangers 'close' title race, bollocks, they railroad all the cash to themselves, and the league is a joke.

'Seedings' = fixed. Even the WC play-offs have seedings now, why is that one wonders?

Of course the pleb parting with

fixed.

The last season that we were truly a decent team was Willie Miller's penultimate season (91/92?). We had been a good team with a spell of effing great for the 20 years leading up to that. Anything since has been a pale imitation.

It's no wonder that we've lost half our support. Credit to the fans it's taken two decades a more fickle group would have effed of long before.

Think you mean 92/93, average home SPL attendance........11,176

Wasn't that because we had a reduced capacity due to building the RDS? You have to also remember that a lot of folk were lifted over the turnstyles and that clubs used to take cash at the gate...crowds were frequently higher than reported to avoid paying tax and because footballs corrupt as feck, as outlined above.

I am in 100% agreement that football is fixed in England and the moronic fishes lap it all up.

Scotland too, Celtic and Rangers 'close' title race, bollocks, they railroad all the cash to themselves, and the league is a joke.

'Seedings' = fixed. Even the WC play-offs have seedings now, why is that one wonders?

Of course the pleb parting with

Ah but if we had no Live TV games all the games would be on at 3pm on a Saturday when there are no games to watch on telly.

That rule was designed to get people to games but it fails miserably now due to the saturation of football on the telly.

Armchair fans would have to get out of their chair and go to the match to see their team. (Live streams not counting in this debate)

This TV excuse is a load of sh*te IMO

If you look at clubs in the lower leagues of Englandshire some of them are selling 10-15K season tickets. Saw a bit on the BBC on Saturday about Brighton who had just sold 16K season tickets and a diddy club from Eastbourne that had more than doubled its season ticket sales from last year to this.

If a diddy team from Eastbourne can double its ticket sales using good promotion of the club and community then the argument that the armchair fan has ruined football hasnt obviously reached the folk of Eastbourne.

Easy enough to blame sky etc for folk not going to games, but sky has been on the go now for 15 years +

Why not look at the fact that ticket prices have more than doubled and folk just cant afford it anymore.

TV money started this sh*t - nobody can deny it. Big clubs got more money = better players = higher demand to see them = lesser demand to see the sh*t teams but they still have to drive prices up to keep afloat.

Scottish football is crap because we're losing out on any or ALL of our best players to England. The reason? MOTHER f**kING MONEY!

It's as simple as that.

And Stoney, you are saying that SKY can't be blamed because it's been going on for 15+ years. But in the beginning when SKY money was coming in, football teams in Scotland ended up spending well more than they should have done, which put most of our clubs in huge debt. The money was a curse.

Once again us good old fashioned never say die fans will be the ones to pay for all this sh*t.

TV money started this sh*t - nobody can deny it. Big clubs got more money = better players = higher demand to see them = lesser demand to see the sh*t teams but they still have to drive prices up to keep afloat.

Nobody has ever desputed that fact - Apart from tup arguing with himself.

I merely pointed out that nobody will be X amount of pounds to watch SPL football when there is a better product available elsewhere.

Then tup started another anti english football rant even though he clearly watches it every chance he gets.

This TV excuse is a load of sh*te IMO

If you look at clubs in the lower leagues of Englandshire some of them are selling 10-15K season tickets. Saw a bit on the BBC on Saturday about Brighton who had just sold 16K season tickets and a diddy club from Eastbourne that had more than doubled its season ticket sales from last year to this.

If a diddy team from Eastbourne can double its ticket sales using good promotion of the club and community then the argument that the armchair fan has ruined football hasnt obviously reached the folk of Eastbourne.

The population of England is far greater than that of Scotland, as i'm sure you are aware, so comparing season tickets with Scottish clubs is hardly fair. Aberdeen should be doing better, however, with the amount of folk living in and around Aberdeen and the fact we've got 1 team.

Clubs like Aberdeen are being forced to pay higher wages for less quality because of inflated wages (and egos) of footballers, our crowds have remained roughly the same and yet we're paying out more money. It just isn't feasible, so ticket prices go up....crowds go down, less money for decent players, sh*te performances on the park, even less fans come!

Ban foreign investment as well.

Nobody has ever desputed that fact - Apart from tup arguing with himself.

I merely pointed out that nobody will be X amount of pounds to watch SPL football when there is a better product available elsewhere.

Then tup started another anti english football rant even though he clearly watches it every chance he gets.

The thing is, 90% of football fans would prefer to watch a game at the stadium than on TV. Another problem lies in our drink culture in this country. We'd rather sit and get hammered in a pub watching West Ham v Stoke than go to the local game.

And you'd need to be hammered to even consider watching that pish.

Only winners are brewers and Murdoch.

Fitba used to be sport, now it's telly.

I've said it before, scrap the TV deal and get people back into the stadiums, f**k the armchair or pub supporters, most of them are w*nkers anyway, more interested in drinking than football.

Football needs to be given back to the fans who actually attend the games, it's hardly value for money right now.

30 years ago we had one of the strongest leagues in Europe.

What's the difference?

That's right, live TV football.

Get rid of it.

In some ways I agree with you Tup and I would love to go to every home game, however I live 500 miles away so other than red web how do I get to watch Aberdeen play? I'm not in a position to be able to afford to travel up to Pittodrie every home game, my dad still lives in Aberdeenshire and whenever I go up to visit I make sure I go to a game (if they're playing) and take my wife with me even though she has no interest in Aberdeen FC as I know it's an extra person paying to watch.

Knowing that I can't contribute in terms of me attending the games on a regular basis I buy the new football shirt every season, I have a 7 month old boy and have bought the full kit for him and I usually buy a polo shirt or some top when I do go back home (about 4/5 times a year). Is there anything else that I could do as an "armchair" supporter?

And you'd need to be hammered to even consider watching that pish.

Only winners are brewers and Murdoch.

Fitba used to be sport, now it's telly.

Football, as someones already pointed out, has become more about the drama and, dare i say it, entertainment! It's not about seeing your local lads getting on the field and playing football against the local city rivals anymore. Thats all been lost in the last 20 years, coincidently, just as TV money has come along...

11 guys from Aberdeen, most of them were friends of a friend or someone in the community that everyone knew v 11 guys from Glasgow. Football doesn't get more raw than that. Scotland national team used to be proud Scots playing for their country, now it's any old mucker from Englandshire whos Grandad once shagged a quine from Gretna in the toilets of a Little Chef!

In some ways I agree with you Tup and I would love to go to every home game, however I live 500 miles away so other than red web how do I get to watch Aberdeen play? I'm not in a position to be able to afford to travel up to Pittodrie every home game, my dad still lives in Aberdeenshire and whenever I go up to visit I make sure I go to a game (if they're playing) and take my wife with me even though she has no interest in Aberdeen FC as I know it's an extra person paying to watch.

Knowing that I can't contribute in terms of me attending the games on a regular basis I buy the new football shirt every season, I have a 7 month old boy and have bought the full kit for him and I usually buy a polo shirt or some top when I do go back home (about 4/5 times a year). Is there anything else that I could do as an "armchair" supporter?

Fair enough, but if you move somewhere else, watch the local team there instead, and watch the Dons when you can afford it/time allows.

If you dinna live near Aberdeen, you should not be expecting to see every game, and the radio is far better coverage anyway.

There is a big difference between local armchair fans and folk that geniunly can't go to the games, for whatever reason. It's the folk that would rather sit in a dark and dingy pub watching some EPL game with 22 foreigners and a biased ref, than to head out to Pittodrie for a day out, watch some live football, see your local team and have a hot pie and a bovril! Personally the latter is definitely more appealing.

Fair enough, but if you move somewhere else, watch the local team there instead, and watch the Dons when you can afford it/time allows.

If you dinna live near Aberdeen, you should not be expecting to see every game, and the radio is far better coverage anyway.

I lived in Nottingham before I moved to Oz, and I used to watch Forest regularly when i wasn't playing football myself, on a saturday afternoon.

My current local team are dreadful. They are even worse than Aberdeen. I pay for RedTV, but that doesn't cover every match, so in order to get my football fix I watch the English Premier League, which receives huge coverage in Australia.

fixed.

Agreed - but seems now many of the old hardcore seem to have had enough and club doing nothing about it.

I lived in Nottingham before I moved to Oz, and I used to watch Forest regularly when i wasn't playing football myself, on a saturday afternoon.

My current local team are dreadful. They are even worse than Aberdeen. I pay for RedTV, but that doesn't cover every match, so in order to get my football fix I watch the English Premier League, which receives huge coverage in Australia.

I'll go to any game, if I'm in an area at the time, but EPL game prices are becoming out of the reach of such transient supporters, unless tourists from Korea count.