granite sheep Posted August 12, 2011 Share Posted August 12, 2011 Had an affa affa weird dream the other night, dreamt I went to the chemist to get some pills, however all they had were Nuclear Pills, take two, and cause nuclear explosions. Side effects include instant blindness, severe burning, and death. Anyway, I'm in ma dream, thinking "Fit the f**k min, I've never heard o such sh*te, and by the way, why has the boy ahind the counter got a tangerine for a face?", and I realise that I'm actually asleep, and I can do stuff in ma dream. So when I got up, at lunchtime I had a wee look on the internets, and I find oot that, aye, I'm nae mad, and folk ken about this sorta thing. It's known in the psychiatric trade as Lucid Dreaming So, anyone else got any weird dreams like that? Link to comment
360 Posted August 12, 2011 Share Posted August 12, 2011 I used to have a recurring dream. I would be riding a penny farthing along a road, but the front wheel would disappear. I would then wake up. Link to comment
Big Man Posted August 12, 2011 Share Posted August 12, 2011 This is so weird, i was just going to start a thread about this. We watched inception with my birds cousin and her man the other night and he told me about this book he read about lucid dreaming (its like a guide on how to achieve it). Supposedly the boy who wrote it was a consultant on inception, anyway just started reading it and it is f/uckin good. There's mind exercises in it and everything, i achieved lucid dreaming for the first time 2 days ago - nothin spectacular i was just running around in a field whilst there was a war going on and i had this torch with me (wierdest and most amazing experience ive had in a long time). Been trying to repeat the feat but havent managed it yet. I think ill finish the book before i try again, but its odd you mentioned it as this is something ive become obsessed/fascinated with over the past week. Anyway here is the book if your interested: http://www.amazon.co.uk/Exploring-World-Dreams-Stephen-LaBerge/dp/034537410X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1313174453&sr=8-1 Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted August 13, 2011 Share Posted August 13, 2011 Had an affa affa weird dream the other night, dreamt I went to the chemist to get some pills, however all they had were Nuclear Pills, take two, and cause nuclear explosions. Side effects include instant blindness, severe burning, and death. Anyway, I'm in ma dream, thinking "Fit the f**k min, I've never heard o such sh*te, and by the way, why has the boy ahind the counter got a tangerine for a face?", and I realise that I'm actually asleep, and I can do stuff in ma dream. So when I got up, at lunchtime I had a wee look on the internets, and I find oot that, aye, I'm nae mad, and folk ken about this sorta thing. It's known in the psychiatric trade as Lucid Dreaming So, anyone else got any weird dreams like that? So you can make things you want to happen, happen in your dreams. And all you could think to do was give your local pharmacist a wee orange for a napper? Wasted opportunity - you need to have a long talk with yourself. I'd have woken up stuck to the mattress. Link to comment
RUL Posted August 13, 2011 Share Posted August 13, 2011 Dont think you can control it as such, hence the orange as a face. Its more an awareness that your actually dreaming in my experience! Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted August 13, 2011 Share Posted August 13, 2011 Dont think you can control it as such, hence the orange as a face. Its more an awareness that your actually dreaming in my experience! They say that you can. Supposedly if you can look at the palm of your hand in your dream, obviously once you realise you're in a dream, then you can control your dream. ------- When I first came back after 5 years spent in coffeeshops my mind became a lot more active during dreamtime and there were some real vivid freaky ones. Zombies were a favourite topic, god knows why, not into zombie films. I remember one where I stole a 4x4 (I dont drive) and was driving round Westhill running over zombies. Was in a house at one point, took me all day to realise it was the olds old pad out in Westhill, picture perfect in my dream but if you'd asked me to describe it to you before the dream I would've came up an almost total blank. Tis mad what the mind can come up with Link to comment
The Boofon Posted August 13, 2011 Share Posted August 13, 2011 So you can make things you want to happen, happen in your dreams. And all you could think to do was give your local pharmacist a wee orange for a napper? Wasted opportunity - you need to have a long talk with yourself. I'd have woken up stuck to the mattress. Magic. Dandy your dreams are the dreams that dreams are made of. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted August 13, 2011 Author Share Posted August 13, 2011 So you can make things you want to happen, happen in your dreams. And all you could think to do was give your local pharmacist a wee orange for a napper? Wasted opportunity - you need to have a long talk with yourself. I'd have woken up stuck to the mattress. Aye as others have said, it's more you come to a sudden realization that you're in a dream, I couldna change the fact the boy had an orange for a heid, however I did take 2 of the nuclear pills, opened a door that somehow opened up onto Dundee city centre, farted, and sh*t a nuclear blast! Unfortunately, dundee is already a radioactive wasteland, not even dreams can change that. Mind you I have had dreams o the page 3 birds fae time to time unfortunately nae lucid eens otherwise I'd be as you say, stuck to the matress, or worse attempting to poke holes in it Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 13, 2011 Share Posted August 13, 2011 Had an affa affa weird dream the other night, dreamt I went to the chemist to get some pills, however all they had were Nuclear Pills, take two, and cause nuclear explosions. Side effects include instant blindness, severe burning, and death. Anyway, I'm in ma dream, thinking "Fit the f**k min, I've never heard o such sh*te, and by the way, why has the boy ahind the counter got a tangerine for a face?", and I realise that I'm actually asleep, and I can do stuff in ma dream. So when I got up, at lunchtime I had a wee look on the internets, and I find oot that, aye, I'm nae mad, and folk ken about this sorta thing. It's known in the psychiatric trade as Lucid Dreaming So, anyone else got any weird dreams like that? Had a dream a few nights ago that the wife was possessed by demons, and I had her pinned to the ground and was going, "THE POWER OF CHRIST COMPELS THEE!" over and over. Bit strange for an atheist, but there you are. Link to comment
elvisdon Posted August 13, 2011 Share Posted August 13, 2011 Had a dream a few nights ago that the wife was possessed by demons, and I had her pinned to the ground and was going, "THE POWER OF CHRIST COMPELS THEE!" over and over. Bit strange for an atheist, but there you are.Read about this once and it's true you can become aware you're in a dream and influence it, had some great dreams with kylie et al (-; the aphex twin claims he wrote an album through lucid dreaming, we never inhaled tho Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted August 14, 2011 Share Posted August 14, 2011 Magic. Dandy your dreams are the dreams that dreams are made of. What can I say? Tangerines turn me on. Particularly when wearing a binliner over my head. Link to comment
Big Man Posted September 19, 2011 Share Posted September 19, 2011 Bump. Good thinking Boof. Beat me too it. Link to comment
Crossbow Posted September 19, 2011 Share Posted September 19, 2011 sorry guys, didnt catch this first time round (mods please feel free to delete my other thread) Been having the same dream recently, which to be honest is horrible to endure. im always standing out in my old street and i see a plane flying through the air. i just know that somehow its in difficulty, before it starts wavering..it then starts hurtling towards the ground and BANG.... it blows up, usually when it plows into one of my ex neighbours gardens... kinda weird?! any dream analysts here? also, been dreaming a lot about death my dad has died a few times over the last few weeks and last night, my sisters boyfriend died! so...1) airplane crashes and 2) deaths in the family...go! Airplanes usually represent sex. Link to comment
Pash Posted September 19, 2011 Share Posted September 19, 2011 Airplanes usually represent gay sex. Link to comment
RUL Posted September 19, 2011 Share Posted September 19, 2011 Airplanes usually represent sex.Sounds to me like you watched to many 9 11 docus, you have a fear of your dad dying and that you wish your sister bf would die, presumably after your dad so you would be centre of mt family attention! Link to comment
Monkey Posted September 19, 2011 Share Posted September 19, 2011 Plane crashes in dreams.... To dream that a plane crashes suggests that you have set overly high and unrealistic goals for yourself. Your goals may be too high and are impossible to realize. You are in danger of having it come crashing down. Alternatively, your lack of confidence, self-defeating attitude and self-doubt toward the goals you have set for yourself is represented by the crashing airplane; you do not believe in your ability to attain those goals. Loss of power and uncertainty in achieving your goals are also signified. http://www.dreammoods.com/ Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 19, 2011 Share Posted September 19, 2011 Plane crashes in dreams.... http://www.dreammoods.com/ Relatives die in dreams. To dream about the death of a loved one suggests that you are lacking a certain aspect or quality that the loved one embodies. Ask yourself what makes this person special or what you like about them. It is that very quality that you are lacking in your own relationship or circumstances. Alternatively, the dream indicates that whatever that person represents has no part in your own life anymore. In particular, to dream about the death of your parents indicates that you are undergoing a significant change in your waking life. Your relationship with your parents has evolved into a new realm. Not looking too good for you Jimmy. Unrealistic goals, lacking in quality, significant changes and loss of power all in there. Maybe you need to accept yourself for what you are (and Tup will put you straight on that ) to get rid of these horrible dreams. Link to comment
wullfo Posted September 19, 2011 Share Posted September 19, 2011 I have a recurring dream about a door opening. My old school teacher used to tell me that you wont get on in life without opening doors. That's quite profound, as he's dead now, he was sucked out of an airplane. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 19, 2011 Share Posted September 19, 2011 I have a recurring dream about a door opening. My old school teacher used to tell me that you wont get on in life without opening doors. That's quite profound, as he's dead now, he was sucked out of an airplane. I always wish I'd listened to what my old Geography teacher used to tell me. Link to comment
wullfo Posted September 19, 2011 Share Posted September 19, 2011 I always wish I'd listened to what my old Geography teacher used to tell me. It was maffs actually, but I,ll nae change the subject. How ya doin cuz? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 19, 2011 Share Posted September 19, 2011 It was maffs actually, but I,ll nae change the subject. How ya doin cuz? I'm doing very well. Tup will be intrigued as to what's going on now. You nae going to ask me what my Geography teacher used to tell me? Link to comment
wullfo Posted September 19, 2011 Share Posted September 19, 2011 I'm doing very well. Tup will be intrigued as to what's going on now. You nae going to ask me what my Geography teacher used to tell me? Go on en, spill.... Link to comment
The Boofon Posted September 19, 2011 Share Posted September 19, 2011 Go on en, spill.... You've ruined it now but here goes anyway. I always wish I'd listened to what my old Geography teacher used to tell me. Go on en, spill.... Fuck knows I wizna listening Link to comment
wullfo Posted September 19, 2011 Share Posted September 19, 2011 You've ruined it now but here goes anyway. I always wish I'd listened to what my old Geography teacher used to tell me. Go on en, spill.... Fuck knows I wizna listening numpty Link to comment
minijc Posted September 19, 2011 Share Posted September 19, 2011 Had a weird dream earlier, was in aitkens the baker, got 12 french funcies, a brithday cake and something else and all i wanted was 2 french funcies, woke up just before i got a chance to eat them. Also several years ago had a dream in the morning before school that during PE I was playing rounders with a pink tennis racquet, later that day it actually happened. Link to comment
redtildead88 Posted September 19, 2011 Share Posted September 19, 2011 Have some wild dreams after a night out. For example, Saturday night/Sunday morning I dreamt that I was in Tenerife (where I was actually on holiday just over a week ago) and I was having a threesome with two smoking hotties (yes, most definitely a dream) and terrorists just burst into the room and took us hostage. Managed to escape later but not before some munter bird chased me out of my hotel room wanting to shag me. Link to comment
Chrisyboy81 Posted September 20, 2011 Share Posted September 20, 2011 I quite often have dreams when I know I'm dreaming, I always have. Whenever I have a nightmare and I can feel things are getting dodgy I just wake myself up. Sounds a bit ridiculous when I write it down but it honestly happens. Whenever I have dreams where something really bad happens I always realise I'm just dreaming and everythings ok. The same happens when it's a good dream, I realise it's not really happening. I've had so many dreams about the Dons winning the Champions League or me playing at Todders when I have realised mid-dream it's not real. Make of that what you will folks. Link to comment
tup Posted September 20, 2011 Share Posted September 20, 2011 I never dream, if I do, I canna remember any of it, and any cunt who comes away with a cock and bull story about this that or the next happening in their dreams is lying and has an ulterior motive. Link to comment
Pash Posted September 20, 2011 Share Posted September 20, 2011 I never dream, if I do, I canna remember any of it, and any cunt who comes away with a cock and bull story about this that or the next happening in their dreams is lying and has an ulterior motive. Without dreams tup, we cannot conquer life's goals. Link to comment