V for Vendetta Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 Our support has been so fractious for so many years now that any single issue campaign would fail such as a 'Milne oot'. It is also too early in the season to carry any significant discontent to push for something more positive on behalf of the future of our club. Moves like this have to be supported by the overwhelming majority of fans and as I mentioned the fractious nature of ourselves is very problematic to this. The return of the 'dons for change' idea which was mooted around in the dying days McGhees reign or something very similar with a generalist tone of things need to improve and fans coming together to have a greater voice would be in my opinion be the only way to move ahead but when that time is - if ever - relies on the forthcoming results. Aye, as I suggested something a bit smarter than "milne out" is needed and as you point out the fractious nature of the support is a mjor hurdle. In fact if we ever do find a way to unite all dons fans in a single cause Milne and his pals on the board will be fcked, we'll have them against a wall and listening to our point of view in not time. Just not sure we'll ever really get there. Link to comment
torrysheep82 Posted August 16, 2011 Author Share Posted August 16, 2011 Aye, as I suggested something a bit smarter than "milne out" is needed and as you point out the fractious nature of the support is a mjor hurdle. In fact if we ever do find a way to unite all dons fans in a single cause Milne and his pals on the board will be fcked, we'll have them against a wall and listening to our point of view in not time. Just not sure we'll ever really get there. A Milne out scarf campaign like Man United s yellow and gold anti glazer initiative? Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 A Milne out scarf campaign like Man United s yellow and gold anti glazer initiative? Something a bit more like that maybe aye. But the point shouldn't be "Milne out" - there won't be wide support for that. The agenda needs to be more positive. About aberdeen fans showing they are taking the club back for themselves. Show absolute togetherness therefore clear voice and expectations, pressure on Milne and the board, total support for the manager and guys in the jersey on the match day while we do aspire to a better quality team. Doesn't have to be "Milne out". Thats his choice. But if he's going to stay we'd want to fcking see him buck his ideas up and the board reshaped. Maybe Milne become vice chairman or something. Link to comment
weapon Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 But who would come in to replace milne and more importantly invest their money??!!! As far as I see it Scottish football is dying and no business man would invest unless it's in the old firm.......unless that is a stinking rich aberdeen fan is out there who's willing to loose a large chunk of his money?? Anyone possibilities that we're not aware of?? Link to comment
ebbe Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 there's nae justice. if i won that massive euro millions that, that fat ogre weigy messes won i'd of been able to sort oot the s*ite at pittodrie in 10 minutes. Link to comment
HughMungus Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 there's nae justice. if i won that massive euro millions that, that fat ogre weigy messes won i'd of been able to sort oot the s*ite at pittodrie in 10 minutes. bravo ebbe! you've highlighted a point that we're all thinking...and it's central to the whole SM arguments.. He got on the rich list by being good at building houses..and he did (is doing) phukking well..he seems to be convinced that his nouse and acumen will be...kennis? I canna be phukkin arse.d... The worst thing we could do right now is to boycott games Link to comment
HughMungus Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 there's nae justice. if i won that massive euro millions that, that fat ogre weigy messes won i'd of been able to sort oot the s*ite at pittodrie in 10 minutes. The auld pedant in me can't resist... would "of"...the word is "HAVE"!!!!It has went...it has fell..I have wrote.I have spoke..they have came...we have knew....when did we stop teaching our own children how to speak our own language?? Link to comment
K-9 Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 Correctamundo. Milne could continue to guarantee the debt without necessarily being chairman. And as you say what ARE Gilbert and the other major shareholder contributing except for a nod of agreement whenever Milne comes up with a new proposal to cut costs.Gilbert sold most of his shares to Milne a while back. Milne now holds over 1.6 million shares and rest of board together 56224 in total. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 The auld pedant in me can't resist... would "of"...the word is "HAVE"!!!!It has went...it has fell..I have wrote.I have spoke..they have came...we have knew....when did we stop teaching our own children how to speak our own language?? And you dont speak on a forum you right, ah-write? Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 Gilbert sold most of his shares to Milne a while back. Milne now holds over 1.6 million shares and rest of board together 56224 in total. I must have missed that one. what percentage of the total share stock is 1.6 million shares? Link to comment
HughMungus Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 I'm sure you have a point spam-spam-spam-spam-spam min...I'm not sure what it is but I guess you'll be right and I'll be wrong.. Link to comment
RUL Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 There's no denying that having a chairman with a company worth over 200m helps us with the bank when it comes to how large the overdraft is. Milne could step aside as chairman though and still be the banks guarantee for the debt. It would only be an issue if he sold his shares. People are also forgetting the other multi millionaire we have sitting on the board, what does Gilbert actually do for the club? He's on the board for First, owns AAM which is a company that sells investment portfolios... Why hasnt someone from AFC actually invested some of AFC's money using Gilberts supposed expertise. We have 2 of Aberdeens richest men sitting at the helm of our club yet we cant even afford a freebie left back. Not sure if anyone has corrected this but AFC don't have an overdraft. They have a secured loan, against the stadium, which is not owned by Milne, ts owned by AFC. AFC have circa Link to comment
HughMungus Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 Not sure if anyone has corrected this but AFC don't have an overdraft. They have a secured loan, against the stadium, which is not owned by Milne, ts owned by AFC. AFC have circa Link to comment
RUL Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 But who would come in to replace milne and more importantly invest their money??!!! As far as I see it Scottish football is dying and no business man would invest unless it's in the old firm.......unless that is a stinking rich aberdeen fan is out there who's willing to loose a large chunk of his money?? Anyone possibilities that we're not aware of?? Is the problem with AFC that there is no investment or that the club pays Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 Is the problem with AFC that there is no investment or that the club pays Link to comment
K-9 Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 I must have missed that one. what percentage of the total share stock is 1.6 million shares?Just checked and total of 5.843 million shares Link to comment
HughMungus Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 Surely a combination of unsustainable debt, shrinking attendances and f**ktarded financial decision after f**ktarded financial decision. We've no money to build a stadium, so the club literally pishes away 600k on a feasibility study to see if, had we the money, we could build a stadium. Does that not strike anyone else as a massively wasteful use of resources?De ja vu al over again Kelt.. have you a proposal? Or are you just the best at pointing out how bad things are? Link to comment
HughMungus Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 And..can you point to a football team who are bucking the trend? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 De ja vu al over again Kelt.. have you a proposal? Or are you just the best at pointing out how bad things are? I've already made my suggestion. So, yeah, pipe and smoke it. Link to comment
adl333 Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 Apologies in advance if this has already been covered, read most of theposts, but thought the obvious had to be said............................... S Milne is worth a fortune, a rather large fortune. He could afford to run AFC as a hobby/tax loss/ whatever. He chooses not to, because he is a business man. He is in the business of making money/ creating a public profile. He created the public profile by becoming heid bummer of AFC. Personally i choose to be charitable & to believe that he didnt initially appreciate the time & money that might be needed to fulfill the position of chairman of a football club that prided itself in being amongst the elite in our little league. However, as a wealthy developer & builder of properties I'm sure he came to realise that the land on which OUR club stands is both substantial & valuable (what was it, circa 330 properties approved for development onthe land, I dont live in Aberdeen & not sure the average value of apartments near the beach), lets just say 330 x Link to comment
HughMungus Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 I've already made my suggestion. So, yeah, pipe and smoke it. empty pipe min.. not your fault...all mine..give me some baccy Link to comment
Peterheid Loon Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 The problem is as a support we'd rather argue amongst ourselves all day long what is the best way forward rather than properly put a plan into action. One of Aberdeen FC's biggest problems is the fans themselves. As they said on Braveheart "you two couldnt agree on the colour of s*ite" is a very true saying for sections of Dons fans. It's pathetic as have been proven with past demonstrations. I'm seriously glad i've stopped going and never ever thought i would say that. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 The problem is as a support we'd rather argue amongst ourselves all day long what is the best way forward rather than properly put a plan into action. One of Aberdeen FC's biggest problems is the fans themselves. As they said on Braveheart "you two couldnt agree on the colour of s*ite" is a very true saying for sections of Dons fans. It's pathetic as have been proven with past demonstrations. I'm seriously glad i've stopped going and never ever thought i would say that.So your suggestion is? Link to comment
HughMungus Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 empty pipe min.. not your fault...all mine..give me some baccy Kelt min..I'm away for a sleepless night there's only me here Link to comment
Big Man Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 Got sony vegas pro 10 today. Been pondering the contents of this thread, so here is my first attempt at a video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vk2mKVw9Pho Link to comment
HughMungus Posted August 16, 2011 Share Posted August 16, 2011 Got sony vegas pro 10 today. Been pondering the contents of this thread, so here is my first attempt at a video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vk2mKVw9Phogood one big man! enjoyed that... It's a hoorin difficult conumdrum is AFC... but if we lose our sense of humour...we're royally phukked!! night night Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Got sony vegas pro 10 today. Been pondering the contents of this thread, so here is my first attempt at a video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vk2mKVw9Pho Was tooling around with that function... did you have to stick each line of text into each available line in the dialogue box, or were you able to just type it all out in one continuous sentence? Hope you stripped out the idents, or Lucasfilms will stomp on your sh*t They're as bad as Warner. Link to comment
Big Man Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Was tooling around with that function... did you have to stick each line of text into each available line in the dialogue box, or were you able to just type it all out in one continuous sentence? Hope you stripped out the idents, or Lucasfilms will stomp on your sh*t They're as bad as Warner. Yeh, i had to type each line individually - it was a pain in the tits gettin it to fit properly. I didn't bother stripping the idents as it was a rush job, their on my arse already. Got an email from youtube the instant it was uploaded - they must analyse the waveform of the audio or something? Anyway whilst i've got you here Ke1t boy, from one vegas proffesional to an amateur, what file type do you normally render your videos in? I only used mov. cause avi. had problems with the audio (came out all stuttery and that)... Link to comment
Ke1t Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Yeh, i had to type each line individually - it was a pain in the tits gettin it to fit properly. I didn't bother stripping the idents as it was a rush job, their on my arse already. Got an email from youtube the instant it was uploaded - they must analyse the waveform of the audio or something? Anyway whilst i've got you here Ke1t boy, from one vegas proffesional to an amateur, what file type do you normally render your videos in? I only used mov. cause avi. had problems with the audio (came out all stuttery and that)... Generally render to WMV, which is cumbersome, big and archaic, but more flexible. Take a look at the size of the rendered files, they're f**king ridiculous. Btw, I'd call myself sub-amateur with Sony Vegas, since I'm pretty damn lazy about figuring out what all the sh*t's for.. and if there's a way of cutting corners I'll go for it. Was trying to figure out how to make the Text appear then Fade out, a'la your Board Wars logo... easiest way I found was to stick a pre-rendered logo on a still frame and then zoom out. Did you insert Text from Vegas or pre-render in a paint program and import it? Link to comment
Big Man Posted August 17, 2011 Share Posted August 17, 2011 Generally render to WMV, which is cumbersome, big and archaic, but more flexible. Take a look at the size of the rendered files, they're f**king ridiculous. Btw, I'd call myself sub-amateur with Sony Vegas, since I'm pretty damn lazy about figuring out what all the sh*t's for.. and if there's a way of cutting corners I'll go for it. Was trying to figure out how to make the Text appear then Fade out, a'la your Board Wars logo... easiest way I found was to stick a pre-rendered logo on a still frame and then zoom out. Did you insert Text from Vegas or pre-render in a paint program and import it? Right, thanks.Well, i rendered that originally in avi. to 1920x1080 HD, 59 fps with all the trimmings and it came out at 13.8GB Yeh i did exactly what you said and just added a little fade on the end. Used vegas to insert the text - got the star wars font from a guy at work. Link to comment