Foster14 Posted August 23, 2011 Share Posted August 23, 2011 Another discussion thread ruined by the usual. Nae sure like, it was gearing up to be a good old moan-a-thon before Tup's contribution... Link to comment
SkyeDon Posted August 23, 2011 Share Posted August 23, 2011 Fyvie was CM and was probably our best player. Fair enough. :thumbs: Link to comment
Foster14 Posted August 23, 2011 Share Posted August 23, 2011 Arnason didn't look too good at all hobbling off and Clark pinged muscle and will no doubt be out a few weeks. Arnarson's is surely not too serious, given that they had all of half time to have a look at it and decided to still try him out second half. That said, I ain't no doctor... Link to comment
K-9 Posted August 23, 2011 Share Posted August 23, 2011 Nae sure like, it was gearing up to be a good old moan-a-thon before Tup's contribution...You seem to agree several players were poor though in other thread. However the other contribution is from someone not at game just looking to bait others and insult them derailing another thread. Link to comment
tup Posted August 23, 2011 Share Posted August 23, 2011 Nae sure like, it was gearing up to be a good old moan-a-thon before Tup's contribution... Thanks. I could say that the usual suspects pish on any optimism regarding the club in every thread, but I'm not a moderator, nor do I get butthurt about the written word, so I'll leave the public to decide whether I've ruined the thread or offered a rare snippet of insight into an otherwise sterile discussion which promotes dissent as it's ethos. Link to comment
wilm1542 Posted August 23, 2011 Share Posted August 23, 2011 Arnarson's is surely not too serious, given that they had all of half time to have a look at it and decided to still try him out second half. That said, I ain't no doctor... International break after Saturday so a little time to recover....hope the Iceman is fit for the Ibrox clash tho Link to comment
Foster14 Posted August 23, 2011 Share Posted August 23, 2011 You seem to agree several players were poor though in other thread. However the other contribution is from someone not at game just looking to bait others and insult them derailing another thread. Yeah, but there seems to be more a focus on negatives which are obviously there and shouldn't be glossed over, but complete ignoring of positives. I won't get in to that argument though, I am sure everyone is just happy to see us get past a potential banana skin. On Tup, surely as a mod you and your fellow people have control over such things, no point moaning about it in a thread. Link to comment
tup Posted August 23, 2011 Share Posted August 23, 2011 However the other contribution is from someone not at game just looking to bait others and insult them derailing another thread. No, I'm offering my opinion and I would have been at the game had it been a Saturday but it's logistically impossible for me to attend more than a handful of midweek games every season, so your criticism is not likely to deter me, au contraire, I attend most home games, so you canna beat me with the 'you never go' stick, I make the effort. Link to comment
tup Posted August 23, 2011 Share Posted August 23, 2011 The specifics of what happened in a game tend to be discussed in a match thread or JiT thread like this, people simply calling it as they see it. Countering the specific points raised might be better in this sort of thread, rather than blanket positivity even though others may not see it. Same can of course be said for those who post blanket negativity of course. Actually I tend to side with K-9 and say that only those who were there should merit recognition in such a thread, as the title spells it out starkly. However, when the prevailing stance seems to be one of overt criticism, I feel that needs counter-balanced, because I've witnessed the bulk of our games this season and totally disagree with the notion that things are no better or worse. We were totally lost at this stage last season, and the one before. This year we have a team which, whilst not in the same category ability wise as previous Dons sides, knows how to go about the game, and I'm urging unity behind this well organised, disciplined, but admittedly limited side, because a fractious support, who only see trouble on the horizon, cannot be of any benefit in any sense in terms of the results of the team. I'm certainly not into point scoring against guys who support the same team as I do but hold different opinions on the way forward for the club and I resent the accusation that my input 'ruins' the thread simply for offering an alternative view. Link to comment
K-9 Posted August 23, 2011 Share Posted August 23, 2011 However, when the prevailing stance seems to be one of overt criticism, I feel that needs counter-balanced, because I've witnessed the bulk of our games this season and totally disagree with the notion that things are no better or worse.Fair enough but this aint the thread for it. We were totally lost at this stage last season, and the one before. We had won 3 games at this stage last season in league and then went through in cup. This year we have a team which, whilst not in the same category ability wise as previous Dons sides, knows how to go about the game, and I'm urging unity behind this well organised, disciplined, but admittedly limited side, because a fractious support, who only see trouble on the horizon, cannot be of any benefit in any sense in terms of the results of the team.Difference of opinion, nothing more. But really should learn to accept others views without slagging them off. I'm certainly not into point scoring against guys who support the same team as I do but hold different opinions on the way forward for the club and I resent the accusation that my input 'ruins' the thread simply for offering an alternative view.The thread is about tonights game and discussing the game yet 5 tup posts and none about game but all 5 confrontational including pointless insults. Link to comment
Sheeptastic Posted August 23, 2011 Share Posted August 23, 2011 The Pawlett we saw for the first half of tonight will be far more useful then Aluko ever was, providing he can stay fit. His pace and willingness to really drive forward scared the sh*t out of the Dundee backline. Was impressed with Mackie and Magennis first half, shame Josh got punted to the wing because he simply can't play there. Arnason class act, reminds me of Heikkinen. Ryan Jack, however, was my motm. Absolutely solid for those that have said in the past he isn't strong enough. Did a good job at right back before getting moved to midfield to slow things down and take the sting out of the game. Well done that boy. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted August 23, 2011 Share Posted August 23, 2011 Sorry min, I've got the wrong end of the stick, I thought you were the player manager of Aberdeen such is your expertise in predicting the big calls before they happen.WTF are you wittering on about?From memory, deep cross from Pawlett, cushioned header from Clark coming in at back post, control and shot from Mackie.Fair doos, will still have to see it again. So his contribution to the game was 1 cross and 1 header. Thanks. I could say that the usual suspects pish on any optimism regarding the club If you're including me in that i'll point you to my post where I said everyone was performing well, except Clark, who in my opinion, at this moment in time, he is an unfit, pale shadow of the very ordinary player, he once was. I'm certainly not into point scoring against guys who support the same team as I do but hold different opinions on the way forward for the club and I resent the accusation that my input 'ruins' the thread simply for offering an alternative view.That's your problem though Tup. Call it point scoring, one-upmanship, call it whatever you want but that is exactly what you're about, as your 100% correct, 100% of the time statement from earlier this evening would testify. No one is allowed a different opinion to your own Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 We have our best manager in 25 years, and the finest assistant on planet earth in terms of experience, and this pair ken exactly what it takes to win a simple game of f**king football. Nail the midfield, and you win. The naysayers are going to have a healthy dose of egg on their chins come May. And of course I'll gleefully trouser one hundred pounds from the third most torn faced hoor on AFC Chat, ebbe, a good soul, who's been badly advised, and will suffer a financial penalty for his naivety in the face of my sage advice to the contrary. As for Stoney and his incredulous proclamations of doom two weeks ago, the fact you were putting a massive welly in to the club when they were down on the bones of their arse will be difficult to forgive min, because you still appear to be convinced this manager will fail, and the team does not have what it takes. Football is 95% mindset, ergo the manager is pivotal, and we have possibly the best one in the SPL. This team is only going to get better, winning breeds confidence, which breeds momentum, etc etc etc. Dundee would have turned us over in the past but the players know their role now, and the team has a shape and coherence which was entirely absent in the last 2 years, where game planning amounted to mouthing off about opponents in the days leading up to the game, and character assassination of young players, supporters, and previously good players in the inquest which followed. I implore the doubters to drop the chips on their shoulders in relation to that era and get behind a team which has massive potential. You are anticipating a spectacular collapse from the club you purport to support in order to gain a small merit moral victory over me? No offence, dj bollocks min, I'm sure you mean well, but you can take your doom laden prophecies to Union Street at that juncture, via the medium of 'The End is Nigh' sandwich board, whilst I get on with the serious business of being 100% correct 100% of the time, and I'll buy the wheelbarrow which will bear the load of your Viz-esque humungous bollocks, as you live up to your moniker of being a purveyor of utter balls vis-a-vis the future of the Dons. Milne made the biggest mistake of his life in appointing McGhee, usurping his insane syrup of figs vanity period, and he has followed that by making the biggest coup of his entire tenure in the second time of asking recruitment of the wily old duo of Brown and Knox. Football matches are marginal, and these guys know how to get on the right side of that fine line, despite the repeated negativity they are faced with from ignorant members of our hardcore support. I will take no reflected glory in being correct again, I've done it that often it's water off a duck's back to me, but if you wish to back your pessimistic forecast with one hundred pounds I am more than willing to take the eyes from you in recognition of the utter claptrap you are attempting to pass off as reality. Aye I'm black affronted at the carbon copy, minus the heat, of the shocking performance level of our players in once again securing victory at 60% fitness in comparison to the modern day Adonises wearing the hyper-fit colours of Caley and Dundee, what credit we could have taken from 2 wins in a row is soured by the clear early onset senile dementia which is taking a hold of the useless coffin dodger in our dugout who disna have the first clue when it comes to football given his tendency to adhere to our suppporters demands. Age has caught up with this clown Brown, he never knew what he was doing 20 years ago and he's only getting worse by the day, only thing I can do is urge him to accept that we have no defence to speak of, no width, no strikers, and a goalie who's here on a jolly whilst he builds a tidy pension for a rainy day spent largely chilling out in the foothills of Colombia, the odd kidnap and ransom demand in relation to the odd kidnapped foreign tourist notwithstanding. Were it not for Stoney outing you as a pre-Easter Road mudshake exponent, I was almost 100% convinced that K-9 was in fact the electronic outlet for Mr Misery Guts himself, Aberdeen 'fan' Scott Davie, a supporter who takes twisted delight in our general haplessness of recent times. K-9 attends every game. So does Davie Sorry min, I've got the wrong end of the stick, I thought you were the player manager of Aberdeen such is your expertise in predicting the big calls before they happen. OK, so if you eat that in 90 minutes, I dread to think the sheer volume you consume in a 24 hour day, christ on a bike, you're pishing on a forest fire with the Diet Coke min, that fools nobody. Thanks. I could say that the usual suspects pish on any optimism regarding the club in every thread, but I'm not a moderator, nor do I get butthurt about the written word, so I'll leave the public to decide whether I've ruined the thread or offered a rare snippet of insight into an otherwise sterile discussion which promotes dissent as it's ethos. No, I'm offering my opinion and I would have been at the game had it been a Saturday but it's logistically impossible for me to attend more than a handful of midweek games every season, so your criticism is not likely to deter me, au contraire, I attend most home games, so you canna beat me with the 'you never go' stick, I make the effort. Actually I tend to side with K-9 and say that only those who were there should merit recognition in such a thread, as the title spells it out starkly. However, when the prevailing stance seems to be one of overt criticism, I feel that needs counter-balanced, because I've witnessed the bulk of our games this season and totally disagree with the notion that things are no better or worse. We were totally lost at this stage last season, and the one before. This year we have a team which, whilst not in the same category ability wise as previous Dons sides, knows how to go about the game, and I'm urging unity behind this well organised, disciplined, but admittedly limited side, because a fractious support, who only see trouble on the horizon, cannot be of any benefit in any sense in terms of the results of the team. I'm certainly not into point scoring against guys who support the same team as I do but hold different opinions on the way forward for the club and I resent the accusation that my input 'ruins' the thread simply for offering an alternative view. Tup could you please have the decency to wind your neck in. I logged on this morning hoping to read some fair and balanced comments regarding our performance last night... however both "JiT" and "Aberdeen vs Dundee" threads are dominated by you lording it up, shouting everyone down and exclaiming how you were right all along, just because we beat a first division side 1-0, at home in the third round of the communities cup. For gods sake, give us a break!!! Link to comment
RUL Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 Cracking first half, us going at it for 25 mins and then a levelling out! We created loads of chances and both forwards were playing well. Second half was dire, they edged it but created not a lot. New boy was more miss than hit, gave away some fouls and did some crazy movements. However he did engineer a few chances, early days. Overall a deserved win and glad we are through. Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 You seem to agree several players were poor though in other thread. However the other contribution is from someone not at game just looking to bait others and insult them derailing another thread. 2 wins on the trot, delighted, good that the team was juggled around a bit, good to see the players who are lacking match fitness getting a run out, brown has enough faith in this squad to mix it up a bit, and realises if they are even 70% fit they should cope with Dundee. home tie next round please. roll on sunday Link to comment
RUL Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 Thought brown was solid in goals, more confident that he wouldnt fk up than clangers! Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 Was Milsom only rested?We'll mis Arnason on Sun.Especially if our fitness is a worry. The huns will just pummel us start to finish & fitness will be a big concern let alone the fact we're also sh*te Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 Sorry min, I've got the wrong end of the stick, I thought you were the player manager of Aberdeen such is your expertise in predicting the big calls before they happen. Speaking of predictions, you've nae really got the greatest success rate there, so you maybe just need tae haud yer wheesht about them. Link to comment
Stoney Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 Positives 1-0 win against tricky opposition. Clean sheetMagennis and Mackie up front looked quite goodPawlett gave us a 20 minute glimpse of his breakthrough formBrown looks quite solidDundee fans made a good noiseOsbourne - doing a job Negatives Brown f**king up by putting clark on the pitchOur totally inept second halflack of midfield in the second halfTotal lack of fitness which is a real concernLack of width still a problemMawene - CarthorseClark - Girls blouseBrowns - weight - Jesus H Christ - seen sunday league keepers in better shapeJack at right backThe seagullssh*te home supportHavining everyone back for corners even though dundee only had 4 in the box Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 Positives 1-0 win against tricky opposition. Clean sheetMagennis and Mackie up front looked quite goodPawlett gave us a 20 minute glimpse of his breakthrough formBrown looks quite solidDundee fans made a good noiseOsbourne - doing a job Negatives Brown f**king up by putting clark on the pitchOur totally inept second halflack of midfield in the second halfTotal lack of fitness which is a real concernLack of width still a problemMawene - CarthorseClark - Girls blouseBrowns - weight - Jesus H Christ - seen sunday league keepers in better shapeJack at right backThe seagullssh*te home supportHavining everyone back for corners even though dundee only had 4 in the box Andy Gorham was the size of two sunday league keepers Link to comment
RUL Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 Indeed, didn't cause any problems. Fit the f**ks going on with that useless Hawk anyway? Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 Indeed, didn't cause any problems. Fit the f**ks going on with that useless Hawk anyway? How many seagulls do you think one wee hawk can eat? Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted August 24, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted August 24, 2011 Superb for 20 mins, scored, slowed down and completely died in last half hour. The lack of fitness in the team again glaringly obvious and right across the midfield we completely died late on. Desperately hanging on at end again. But positives: The front pairing of Mackie and Magennis both making great runs into channels and easily best partnership so far this season. Arnason before injury looked very good. Pawlett running riot early on. Foster playing very well again. Almost agree with everything, but certainly not Mackie. Took his goal well so credit there, but otherwise at his pinball best as ball bounced off him numerous times, plus he just cannot handle the offside rule and is always constantly half a yard off. I thought Jack was MOM, easliy his best game at right back. New loon, once fit, will allay all of my concerns about Mackie as he will keep him out of the side. As for Broon, my concerns about his inherent negativity won't go away. Quite frankly after the starts we had in the past two games, a continual positive attitude would have seen two 4-0 victories and everyones nails intact. This everyone back for deadballs is a pile of pish and will cost goals. The positives were Jack, Pawlett, new keeper looks Ok (but must learn to command his box), Considine, who has been fine in both games, but nae doubt his snipers will attack this, Foster was Ok, Osbourne, Arnason and Magennis (not bad for an under 21 ex goalie; the laddie needs to get some credit for his performances and given the right service will score 15 a season). Negatives were Broon's tactics, Clark (a complete and utter waste of budget and a very lazy signing), the referee. We are in the draw though!!!! Link to comment
Roo Posted August 24, 2011 Share Posted August 24, 2011 The Pawlett we saw for the first half of tonight will be far more useful then Aluko ever was, providing he can stay fit. His pace and willingness to really drive forward scared the sh*t out of the Dundee backline. Was impressed with Mackie and Magennis first half, shame Josh got punted to the wing because he simply can't play there. Arnason class act, reminds me of Heikkinen. Ryan Jack, however, was my motm. Absolutely solid for those that have said in the past he isn't strong enough. Did a good job at right back before getting moved to midfield to slow things down and take the sting out of the game. Well done that boy. Agreed with all of this. Pawlett showed a few glimpses of the exciting player he can be last night, just a shame he got switched in the 2nd half and didn't make an impact. Not really a Jack fan but he impressed me last night, he did really well Fyvie for me was incredibly disappointing last night, not in the game at all, constantly losing posession. Really poor performance Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted August 24, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted August 24, 2011 It was but more obvious tonight. And there was no extreme heat tonight either to blame!! It must has been the setting sun then. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted August 24, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted August 24, 2011 Aye I'm black affronted at the carbon copy, minus the heat, of the shocking performance level of our players in once again securing victory at 60% fitness in comparison to the modern day Adonises wearing the hyper-fit colours of Caley and Dundee, what credit we could have taken from 2 wins in a row is soured by the clear early onset senile dementia which is taking a hold of the useless coffin dodger in our dugout who disna have the first clue when it comes to football given his tendency to adhere to our suppporters demands. Age has caught up with this clown Brown, he never knew what he was doing 20 years ago and he's only getting worse by the day, only thing I can do is urge him to accept that we have no defence to speak of, no width, no strikers, and a goalie who's here on a jolly whilst he builds a tidy pension for a rainy day spent largely chilling out in the foothills of Colombia, the odd kidnap and ransom demand in relation to the odd kidnapped foreign tourist notwithstanding. Were it not for Stoney outing you as a pre-Easter Road mudshake exponent, I was almost 100% convinced that K-9 was in fact the electronic outlet for Mr Misery Guts himself, Aberdeen 'fan' Scott Davie, a supporter who takes twisted delight in our general haplessness of recent times. K-9 attends every game. So does Davie I thought he was a Raith Rovers fan Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted August 24, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted August 24, 2011 Tremendous finish by Mackie by the way. I'll have to see the build up again to see what this setting up consisted of. I remember Leon Mike having a tremendous finish in that same goal. He was still sh*te. I Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted August 24, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted August 24, 2011 You really are a boring patronising pri......in fact not even going to bother with you since we all know exactly what you are all about. As you were. He's good for the inside knowledge in the club though. Only another 7 days to go before our superhero signs. Canna wait. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted August 24, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted August 24, 2011 The specifics of what happened in a game tend to be discussed in a match thread or JiT thread like this, people simply calling it as they see it. Countering the specific points raised might be better in this sort of thread, rather than blanket positivity even though others may not see it. Same can of course be said for those who post blanket negativity of course. Personally speaking I think you should only comment in a JIT if you've seen the game. Link to comment