bruceg1978 Posted October 13, 2011 Share Posted October 13, 2011 Can someone explain how these are picked? I thought it would have been based on their rankings. But noticed that Turkey are ahead of ROI and Czech Republic yet there not seeded? Link to comment
tup Posted October 13, 2011 Share Posted October 13, 2011 Seeding = fixing the outcome in the best interests of TV companies and other financial beneficiaries. Turks have no money and no satellite telly to put it simply, if they do have satellite it will be of the buckshee FOC variety. Whereas the tattie munchers watch every Celtic game on the telly and Ireland and Celtic are basically the same team. Link to comment
Henry Posted October 13, 2011 Share Posted October 13, 2011 SeedingsThe draw for the play-offs will be held on 13 October 2011 in Krak Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted October 13, 2011 Share Posted October 13, 2011 SeedingsThe draw for the play-offs will be held on 13 October 2011 in Krak Link to comment
tup Posted October 13, 2011 Share Posted October 13, 2011 It's just the way of football these days. Entirely money driven. Players are betting against themselves to win and everything, all everyone involved wants is Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted October 13, 2011 Share Posted October 13, 2011 It's just the way of football these days. Entirely money driven. Players are betting against themselves to win and everything, all everyone involved wants is Link to comment
tup Posted October 13, 2011 Share Posted October 13, 2011 it already is as far as I'm concerned. True to an extent with the big leagues but some of the lower level stuff is still very watchable, including the Dons at times, but teams need to learn that by chasing more and more money they are ripping away what made the game fantastic in the first place, equality. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted October 13, 2011 Share Posted October 13, 2011 Croatia v TurkeyPortugal v BosniaIreland v EstoniaCzech Rep v Montenegro I hope Bosnia, Estonia and Montenegro go through. can't see it though Link to comment
tup Posted October 13, 2011 Share Posted October 13, 2011 Christ we'd have beaten Montenegro no bother Link to comment
bruceg1978 Posted October 13, 2011 Author Share Posted October 13, 2011 Christ we'd have beaten Montenegro no bother We wouldna have been seeded though. Link to comment
Nespa Posted October 13, 2011 Share Posted October 13, 2011 The only certainty is we would have got Portugal.... ..I can see the headlines...."Caldwell...I'll stop Ronaldo" Link to comment
tup Posted October 13, 2011 Share Posted October 13, 2011 Next day: Ronaldo: 'I dinna know who Caldwell is' Link to comment
OddJob Posted October 13, 2011 Share Posted October 13, 2011 Croatia v TurkeyPortugal v BosniaIreland v EstoniaCzech Rep v Montenegro I hope Bosnia, Estonia and Montenegro go through. can't see it thoughTbh as well as Estonia have done to get to the playoffs i feel they'd be shite at the Euros. Link to comment
OddJob Posted October 13, 2011 Share Posted October 13, 2011 Ireland can count them fortunate to be in the playoffs, referee made a complete fuck up sending off the Armenian keeper for a non-handball and even then Armenia still looked tidy enough. Funny how there wasn't the borderline racist outcry as there was when France knocked Ireland out last time with a dodgy handball decision.Yeah i know funny that Link to comment
Dynamo Posted October 13, 2011 Share Posted October 13, 2011 Tbh as well as Estonia have done to get to the playoffs i feel they'd be shite at the Euros. It'd be a great achievement for them to be even be there and Im sure they'd be delighted, good luck to them!Much like Latvia reaching Euro 2004 (by beating Turkey in the play offs). It's weird I can remember shit like that. Link to comment
Jaws Posted October 13, 2011 Share Posted October 13, 2011 Ireland can count them fortunate to be in the playoffs, referee made a complete fuck up sending off the Armenian keeper for a non-handball and even then Armenia still looked tidy enough. Funny how there wasn't the borderline racist outcry as there was when France knocked Ireland out last time with a dodgy handball decision. Link to comment
OddJob Posted October 13, 2011 Share Posted October 13, 2011 It'd be a great achievement for them to be even be there and Im sure they'd be delighted, good luck to them!Much like Latvia reaching Euro 2004 (by beating Turkey in the play offs). It's weird I can remember shit like that.Not saying it wouldn't be a great achievement as it would be, but imo they'll struggle, especially if they were to be put in a group with Spain or Germany who you'd imagine would rip them to pieces Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted November 11, 2011 Share Posted November 11, 2011 good luck to all of the unseeded nations in the playoffs this weekend Link to comment
tup Posted November 11, 2011 Share Posted November 11, 2011 I imagine Dale Farm will be rocking for the Estonia game. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted November 11, 2011 Share Posted November 11, 2011 I imagine Dale Farm will be rocking for the Estonia game. :laughing: seriously do hope that the unseeded teams get through though. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 11, 2011 Share Posted November 11, 2011 I imagine Dale Farm will be rocking for the Estonia game. Doubtful. Fuck all left of the place. Link to comment
tup Posted November 11, 2011 Share Posted November 11, 2011 I hope Ireland and the Czech cunts get knocked out. Apart fae that I'm not fussed. Link to comment
E-P-K Posted November 12, 2011 Share Posted November 12, 2011 Rep of Ireland and Croatia good as through. Robbie Keane. 53 International goals, outstanding. Portugal should be good enough at home to see of Bosnia. Czech have a 2-0 lead, but from what I seen of them in qualifying, Montenegro could easy turn that round. Suarez scored 4 last night for Uruguay in a WC qualifier, Argentina could only draw 1-1 at home V Bolivia. And Hernandez scored 2 as Mexico beat Serbia 2-0 in a friendly, 23 goals in 33 games, ooft. Link to comment
OddJob Posted November 12, 2011 Share Posted November 12, 2011 Rep of Ireland and Croatia good as through. Robbie Keane. 53 International goals, outstanding. Portugal should be good enough at home to see of Bosnia. Czech have a 2-0 lead, but from what I seen of them in qualifying, Montenegro could easy turn that round. Suarez scored 4 last night for Uruguay in a WC qualifier, Argentina could only draw 1-1 at home V Bolivia. And Hernandez scored 2 as Mexico beat Serbia 2-0 in a friendly, 23 goals in 33 games, ooft.Mexico are really developing into a very good team and in "The Little Pea" they have a forward who might finally become as good as Hugo Sanchez Ireland and Croatia are through now, no question of that and you'd think the Czechs will sneak through but i still think Bosnia have a chance of scoring over in Portugal so i won't discount them yet Link to comment
E-P-K Posted November 12, 2011 Share Posted November 12, 2011 Mexico are really developing into a very good team and in "The Little Pea" they have a forward who might finally become as good as Hugo Sanchez Ireland and Croatia are through now, no question of that and you'd think the Czechs will sneak through but i still think Bosnia have a chance of scoring over in Portugal so i won't discount them yet Hernandez is only 6 goals away from what Sanchez scored for Mexico (29) Borgetti is Mexico top scorer with 46, followed by Blanco. Sanchez is 7th on the list, Mexico really have been blessed with superb strikers over the last 20+ years. Borgetti, Luis Hernandez, Javier Hernandez, Galadino, Blanco, Sanchez, Alves. Link to comment
tup Posted November 12, 2011 Share Posted November 12, 2011 Uefa seedings had the desired effect I see. Riverdancer McGeady has a greetin face no Scot could tire of rattling. Link to comment
OddJob Posted November 12, 2011 Share Posted November 12, 2011 Uefa seedings had the desired effect I see. Riverdancer McGeady has a greetin face no Scot could tire of rattling.Very true That said though i'd rather see the Oirish in the tournament than Estonia. But i would have liked to see the other non-seeded teams through instead. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted November 12, 2011 Share Posted November 12, 2011 Very true That said though i'd rather see the Oirish in the tournament than Estonia. But i would have liked to see the other non-seeded teams through instead. the estonians being there would have been a great story and they would generate interest in the tournament IMO Link to comment
RUL Posted November 12, 2011 Share Posted November 12, 2011 Looked horrendous last night Link to comment
OddJob Posted November 12, 2011 Share Posted November 12, 2011 the estonians being there would have been a great story and they would generate interest in the tournament IMOKnow what you're saying VDA but you only need to look at the likes of Slovenia last year who were absolutely root Link to comment