Mark Mcghee In The Sunday Herald

Why change what was said or take it out of context? You, (or who ever on Mad) even put it all within one quote. This makes you (or whoever) bitter & twisted also :dontknow:

He wasn't talking about Aberdeen fans or the city in this context, he was speaking about people that are running the club

This is what he said from the story I read & I'm not shifting quotes about to suit & putting it all within one quote or sentence cos that's falsifying what he said.

McGHEE

• Replies 300

Aye Mark nothing was your blame you focking c@ck, who gives a monkeys if Milne never spoke to the tea wifey or looks at your baby photos or Boyle letting you stay with his dodgy mates ! That's no excuse for you being a useless manager

I pity any club that lets you darken their door

Oh, like Reading, Millwall and Brighton, you mean? Clubs where he was actually pretty successful? McGhee failed at AFC, that is true. That he can have no complaints about his sacking is also true. Nevertheless, his CV proves beyond all doubt that he is a better manager than Calderwood and so one has to see the bigger picture and ask the reasons as to WHY he failed. Something people like yourself are unwilling to do. For those of you who are of the right frame of mind though, let's just analyse a few points he's made, shall we?

1. Milne's complete lack of leadership.

Where do we fuckin start? He's right on the money and kudos to him for saying publicly what so many of us have thought for years.

2. His assessment that Brown, who he stresses is a good Manager, won't be able to turn it around until the air of negativity is lifted.

Again, on the money. Brown and Knox are working with one hand tied behind their backs and no amount of Managerial sackings can change the fact that change MUST come from the very top before things look up for us again.

3. Who are/were the "Drainers"? Well, the attitudes he describes says it all. There were cliques around Pittodrie and many of them never accepted the (albeit belated) end of Calderwood's reign. He didn't so much lose the dressing room, insofar as he never fully had it to begin with. Calderwood moulded a team in his own image, a group of players who threw toys oot their prams at the thought of an alcohol ban and Sunday training. How very professional!

I'm sure there are more points worthy of discussion, but those stand out at first. As I said, he can have no complaints about his eventual sacking, given results, BUT there are issues that had (and still have, even now) to be addressed.

I'm sure there can be "drainers" around the club people that just annoy and detract from pushing forward, but he's a big boy in a big boy world who was meant to be managing an SPL team. If he through force of character can't develop the respect of the players enough for them to play for him without "bullying" well see you later, jobs not for you, lets get someone who can. Operating in a leadership vacuum is hard but this guy had designs on managing Celtic, imagine him having to deal with the pressure of that.

To me context or not there is the overtone of him being owed respect as a manager because of what when before well, maybe some yes but respect as a manger is different to that. However, saying you'd prefer Celtic just before you came kind of dulled that then the results (his responsibly) killed it right off.

>Mark read 'Anecdote on Sun Tzu'<

Intersting artcile in the sense that it confirms what we all thought.

"Sunday, we don't train on Sundays"

Kerr, Diamond, Mulgrew, Maguire springs to mind. Tumours that have thankfully been cut out.

Mcghee did himself no favours however factors seemed to contrive against him.

Hopefully now with the like of Osbourne/Arnasen/Mawene we have experienced pros and this situation won't happen again.

Precisely.

Oh, like Reading, Millwall and Brighton, you mean? Clubs where he was actually pretty successful? McGhee failed at AFC, that is true. That he can have no complaints about his sacking is also true. Nevertheless, his CV proves beyond all doubt that he is a better manager than Calderwood and so one has to see the bigger picture and ask the reasons as to WHY he failed. Something people like yourself are unwilling to do. For those of you who are of the right frame of mind though, let's just analyse a few points he's made, shall we?

Where do we fuckin start? He's right on the money and kudos to him for saying publicly what so many of us have thought for years.

2. His assessment that Brown, who he stresses is a good Manager, won't be able to turn it around until the air of negativity is lifted.

Again, on the money. Brown and Knox are working with one hand tied behind their backs and no amount of Managerial sackings can change the fact that change MUST come from the very top before things look up for us again.

3. Who are/were the "Drainers"? Well, the attitudes he describes says it all. There were cliques around Pittodrie and many of them never accepted the (albeit belated) end of Calderwood's reign. He didn't so much lose the dressing room, insofar as he never fully had it to begin with. Calderwood moulded a team in his own image, a group of players who threw toys oot their prams at the thought of an alcohol ban and Sunday training. How very professional!

I'm sure there are more points worthy of discussion, but those stand out at first. As I said, he can have no complaints about his eventual sacking, given results, BUT there are issues that had (and still have, even now) to be addressed.

You say his record is better than JC, maybe so, but JC wiped the floor with him as a manager of Aberdeen and that's the only relevant thing here. Arguably JC had better man management skills as well.

There's no way we should be making excuses for MM. He was a complete tool of a man and shit manager. He did not even have us fit enough for Europe so we got hammered, he over loaded us with strikers and no full backs, he made a big PR mistake sacking Leighton (Jamie's form dipped badly after that), he brought in that nob Leitch, blamed refs / players / fans / cash for all his failures and boy did he have plenty of record breaking failures. I can't think of one positive thing to say about the arrogant moron.

(1) Fuck Ally McCoist, (2) but has Craig Brown already done some/enough?

(3) Do we need a massive clearout behind the scenes (4) or will the binning of several "problem" players be enough?

1. No thanks, He's a fkn prick!

2. No he hasn't done enough.

3. Yes. for sure.

4. No. problems lay deeper within.

You say his record is better than JC, maybe so, but JC wiped the floor with him as a manager of Aberdeen and that's the only relevant thing here. Arguably JC had better man management skills as well.

There's no way we should be making excuses for MM. He was a complete tool of a man and shit manager. He did not even have us fit enough for Europe so we got hammered, he over loaded us with strikers and no full backs, he made a big PR mistake sacking Leighton (Jamie's form dipped badly after that), he brought in that nob Leitch, blamed refs / players / fans / cash for all his failures and boy did he have plenty of record breaking failures. I can't think of one positive thing to say about the arrogant moron.

Again, I agree that he can have no argument that he was responsible for some incredible blunders, such as the imbalance in the squad that you mention, BUT consider this:

- You say Langfield's form dipped w/out Leighton, yet he had already been exposed as painfully out of his depth in several games even when Leighton was here. Ironic too that Leighton (and other good keepers like Snelders, Kjaer and even Preece) never seemed to need a F/T babysitter. Imo, the appointment of a F/T goalkeeping Coach was a "jobs for the boys" appointment that we can ill afford, in our current financial state.

- Leitch is labelled a bully, BUT as McGhee points out here, Fergie used to go mental and throw heavy objects at players, not to mention making them train at the beach on a freezing cold morning. Leitch was a boy scout in comparison. Isn't it a fact that Calderwood's squad were used to a cushy number (alcohol-fuelled nights out, smoking in public, no training on Sundays, etc.) and couldn't handle a bit of rough?

I think it's a fairly balanced interview... It's not like Tango's constant wailing of "I don't know why they sacked me"... I'm pleased finally someone's calling out Milne, the more the criticism is levelled at him the better... If you're brought in as an Operations Manager you need to have the full support of your boss, clearly Milne doesn't have the necessary to run a successful football club. He should stick to businesses that don't require people skills...

Milne is the easy one to blame but he didn't pick the team or preside over dreadful tactics

I think MM is using the fans dislike of Milne to his own advantage. He wants another job and does not want to be viewed as the total failure he is, so he blames everyone else.

He does it all the time and thinks he's better than he is. Maybe that's why JC has struggled to get work because he spoke to the papers, but at least JC had more reason to because he's way better than MM as a manager of Aberdeen.

I think MM is using the fans dislike of Milne to his own advantage. He wants another job and does not want to be viewed as the total failure he is, so he blames everyone else.

He does it all the time and thinks he's better than he is. Maybe that's why JC has struggled to get work because he spoke to the papers, but at least JC had more reason to because he's way better than MM as a manager of Aberdeen.

Agree with all of that. And it's apparently working since McGhee has somehow magicked up even a wee bit of goodwill by blaming Milne.

Amazing. McGhee was shit for us. Let's just keep that absolute fact in sight and forget his excuses and bull about drainers and the like.

Agree with all of that. And it's apparently working since McGhee has somehow magicked up even a wee bit of goodwill by blaming Milne.

Amazing. McGhee was shit for us. Let's just keep that absolute fact in sight and forget his excuses and bull about drainers and the like.

I'm not sure about the good will for MM - he made a catalogue of errors but he also inherited a system that was broken - a systemic failure he worsened - but his comments do have validity and in his description of Pittodrie, Milne, the players and the drainers I can see only the truth. I wouldn't wish MM back at Pittodrie, he was pish but he has seen enough to know a good set up and it is clear that Pittodrie is broken and CB/AK can only do so much.

whilst McGhee deserved the sack without doubt, he makes interesting points the Cliques at the club formed and encouraged by the OAF, he did'nt have a hope in hell with those cliques in place and the more he tried to break them up the more resolute they appeared to get.

Leitch is as course as cat shite we all know that, but he is a poor mans Archie Knox,

At least McGhee has come out and said where HE felt his sacking was caused all we got from the OAHF was " i don't know why they sacked me" YES YOU DID, YOU REFUSED TO ENDORSE OR ENCOURAGE THE YOUTH SET UP IN YOUR TIME AT THE CLUB ONLY MAGUIRE AND PATON PLAYED UNDER YOU AS PRODUCTS FROM THE YOUTH TEAM.

i will give McGhee credit where its due Vernon, Folly, Ryan Jack, Fraser Fyvie McGhee was the man who brought them into the team and for that (and that alone ) he deserves thanks

His legendary status as a player will always be safe.

As a manager?

Up there with the worst ever.

a PR nightmare and the minute he said he wished he'd got the Smelltic job was the minute he should've been booted down the road to that tattie dome.

Arrogant oaf, with not an ounce of man-management ability.

The fact that the two previous managers are not in work says it all.

Probably thinks he's in line to succeed Fergie or Guardiola

:applause::thumbup1:

You fae Aberdeen aye?

What McGhee is saying, not outright, backhanded, is that weegies are better than northern people, and that we are dour bastards, who dinna 'light up' a room.

Aye when there's weegies in it we dinna, unless we're talking with a bottle of petrol and some matches whilst locking the door on the outside.

Calderwood said it too. Fuck them, he brought the 'air of negativity' it's not something that was there all along, it disappeared the moment he was sacked, having gone down as the worst ever manager of the Dons and taken us to the brink of ruin in a couple of miserable years in charge.

You fae Aberdeen aye?

What McGhee is saying, not outright, backhanded, is that weegies are better than northern people, and that we are dour bastards, who dinna 'light up' a room.

Aye when there's weegies in it we dinna, unless we're talking with a bottle of petrol and some matches whilst locking the door on the outside.

Calderwood said it too. Fuck them, he brought the 'air of negativity' it's not something that was there all along, it disappeared the moment he was sacked, having gone down as the worst ever manager of the Dons and taken us to the brink of ruin in a couple of miserable years in charge.

aye tup, unlike you i'm quite comfortable stating where i'm from, think i've told you 7 times i'm from aberdeen. :thumbup1:

regarding my agreement with fine and dandy, you weren't here when quotes regarding mcghee came out. they were twisted and torn out of context. they have since been corrected.

aye tup, unlike you i'm quite comfortable stating where i'm from, think i've told you 7 times i'm from aberdeen. :thumbup1:

regarding my agreement with fine and dandy, you weren't here when quotes regarding mcghee came out. they were twisted and torn out of context. they have since been corrected.

McGhee is saying that the tinks at Motherwell were better than us, mainly because they are so thick that a man who can speak actual words in comprehensible fashion is treated like royalty, they bought into his waffle, education is more popular in the north and the canny folk fae up here seen through this chancer a mile off with his hankering for Celtic, a club hated in our domain, Milne should have sacked him in the press conference, we simply spent so much getting him that this option was delayed for ages.

What a difference now, no tattie muncher in the dugout, no tattie munching captain handling the ball early in the match, no nine nil, no 17 year olds having their careers ruined by a useless tactician.

This story was the unsettling article which always appears before OF games, a good Aberdeen manager would highlight this, and we all know the last one to do so, we need to treat the Glasgow clubs with utter disdain, as they do to us.

First of all I was keen as mustard to get this guy in post QoS in April 2008, as at that time MWell were flying and it was logical. But even Nostradamus coudn't have predicted how bad it was to turn out - I reckon it was actually worse than Steve Paterson, on reflection.

To think of all the Dons supporters emailed in to show support for this guy makes you sick after reading this - especially after he made up a tale of being spat on to get some sympathy. That rouse was pathetic now when you think back at it - and this has sullied his reputation as a player for me as well.

Wouldn't be surprised if some of his headshots in Pittodrie were taken down and binned after that attack on us.

You know what, there is a lot of truth in what he's saying. Aberdeen is full of drainers...............i.e. moaners who just suck life out of everything! And players refusing to train on a sunday boo fuckin hoo!! In fact the way they played it looked like they never trained anyway!!

I know what he also means about not being made to feel welcome. AFC needs a clear out including the girls on the reception desk!

At the same time its disappointing he holds the fans in such low regard now. For that he can go fuck himself.

You know what, there is a lot of truth in what he's saying. Aberdeen is full of drainers...............i.e. moaners who just suck life out of everything! And players refusing to train on a sunday boo fuckin hoo!! In fact the way they played it looked like they never trained anyway!!

I know what he also means about not being made to feel welcome. AFC needs a clear out including the girls on the reception desk!

At the same time its disappointing he holds the fans in such low regard now. For that he can go fuck himself.

:thumbup1:

McGhee did this article to help Celtic. Why now, on the morning of our clash, in a Glasgow shitrag?

He did NOT understand Aberdeen football club in any way.

He's a prick, loudmouth, I dinna give a fuck about his playing career, he's worse than Strachan, putting the boot in.

Drainers my arse, the problems were all his own making, sacking Leighton etc HE did it, take some responsibility for that you square faced tool.