mwg392 Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 Fancy eating out on christmas day this year, ony reccomendations? only place i can think of is jimmy chungs! Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 Fancy eating out on christmas day this year, ony reccomendations? only place i can think of is jimmy chungs! It's lunch not dinner. You've not got much imagination if the only restaurant you can think of is Jimmy Chungs. Link to comment
mwg392 Posted October 27, 2011 Author Share Posted October 27, 2011 Just a quick post starting work soon, so sorry if i didn't give you all a full review of my favourite restaurants that may be open christmas day. Cheers Roberto, only problem is all the family have different plans and my mums claiming shes happy to sit in and have a quiet christmas without all the family to save her having to cook everything for once. But i canna be letting that happen haha Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 Just a quick post starting work soon, so sorry if i didn't give you all a full review of my favourite restaurants that may be open christmas day. Cheers Roberto, only problem is all the family have different plans and my mums claiming shes happy to sit in and have a quiet christmas without all the family to save her having to cook everything for once. But i canna be letting that happen haha Where do you live? That'll make my recommendation that you need to follow easier to make. Link to comment
tup Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 I shall be having no Christmas dinner this year as one option is off to London for Christmas and I burnt my bridges bigtime last year at the other option by instigating a furious argument. It's a load of shite anyway. Link to comment
Redstar Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 I shall be having no Christmas dinner this year as one option is off to London for Christmas and I burnt my bridges bigtime last year at the other option by instigating a furious argument.It's a load of shite anyway. That does surprise me Link to comment
Dynamo Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 I shall be having no Christmas dinner this year as one option is off to London for Christmas and I burnt my bridges bigtime last year at the other option by instigating a furious argument. It's a load of shite anyway. That's nae like you tup. The other side must have been extremely unreasonable. Anyway, just the usual this year for me, out to the family in the morning, then back to the hoose around 1 pm, Christams dinner at about 4, then as abody else falls asleep, up to the bar for some bevvie's. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 as I'm the designated driver this year. Oh dear. Was it you or the missus who had that prang anyway? Never ever got the full story there. Link to comment
zander Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 Never eaten out before for Xmas never intend to either one good thing about the meal is left overs your eating for days afterwards you just don't get that at a restraunt. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 Or... you could stay home and pay a catering company to make Christmas Dinner for you. Dunno if that's available in Medieval Scotland, but here you can just order what you want and they'll deliver it all pre-cooked right to your door on Christmas day. I've considered doing this, since cooking a 43 course meal for mine, and my extended, family... while pished on Skullsplitter.... is for sure a recipe for disaster. Worth looking into. Link to comment
Henry Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 Good Orkney ale there Keltster. Link to comment
zander Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 Or... you could stay home and pay a catering company to make Christmas Dinner for you. Dunno if that's available in Medieval Scotland, but here you can just order what you want and they'll deliver it all pre-cooked right to your door on Christmas day. I've considered doing this, since cooking a 43 course meal for mine, and my extended, family... while pished on Skullsplitter.... is for sure a recipe for disaster. Worth looking into. Canna say chicken wings, pepperoni pizza garlic dip, Ben and Jerry's ice cream would appeal to my family. Link to comment
360 Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 It's lunch not dinner. No, it is dinner. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 Canna say chicken wings, pepperoni pizza garlic dip, Ben and Jerry's ice cream would appeal to my family. Then I wouldnae order any of that... instead, ask about their Christmas Dinner options Here's the idea. Ah, Americans have laziness down to a fine art :thumbs: Too lazy to cook Link to comment
dazzy_deff Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 Think I will probably be round at my dads and the missus will be at hers. We will meet up at night at either of the houses. Link to comment
zander Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 Then I wouldnae order any of that... instead, ask about their Christmas Dinner options Here's the idea. Ah, Americans have laziness down to a fine art :thumbs: Too lazy to cook We've nae quite got the style of yankee gourmet here yet or at least I don't think so. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 Well you and yer mum head to White Horse as per what I've said. They are taking bookings for it, and it is very reasonably priced - albeit you'd probably prefer if it was somewhere nearby you so you could have a few sherries rather than drinking water and having to drive to wherever you stay. A local restaurant will do the same sort of deal the White Horse does. I lived in Balmedie at the time I went there, so I could get pished. This year, I'm getting my feed at the 'in-laws' and then heading to Balmedie at night to see my folks and maybe head to a mates, so I won't be get my first drink until 8 o clock at night.....as I'm the designated driver this year. Last two years White Horse has been the destination of choice for Hogmanay for my lot (I never went first year though). Excellent food first time round, dire second time round. Part of the problem was the size of the group and the meal coming out in dribs and drabs. Hit or miss though is my basic point... Link to comment
The Boofon Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 It was the missus. Pretty brutal day that day. There used to be a thread on it here, but I think it got lost when AFC Chat went down. Scary like. To be honest, it's only fair - let the missus drink with her family during the day, I'll stick to the lemonades then drive out to Balmedie in the evening and both get drunk. I can take or leave alcohol nowadays, which never used to be the case - used to always be minging. Drop me a PM with what happened if you don't mind. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 I shall be having no Christmas dinner this year as one option is off to London for Christmas and I burnt my bridges bigtime last year at the other option by instigating a furious argument. It's a load of shite anyway. what about your 13yr fiancee? Link to comment
OddJob Posted October 27, 2011 Share Posted October 27, 2011 Always usually have dinner at my folks but went to the Ashvale the past 2 years with the family. the first year it was fine, last year was pish cause of a few fuck ups in the kitchen so won't be back. Was possibly thinking of the Toby Grill in BOD but haven't decided yet Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 28, 2011 Share Posted October 28, 2011 Xmas is a time for getting together with yer family for a couple of hours, I've not been invited to anyones yet but will probably go to the other halfs mothers place, went to my mothers last year. the big problem going to her mums place is the size of portions I get given, I'm usually the only male there as her dad passed away years ago so she thinks I need a mountain of food! don't have the appetite I used to have, will hit the pub for a couple hours before hand though, always feel more hungry when pished. I like to go home after lunch and have a kip, with the kid its usually been an early start, couple hours sleep and i'm right up for a house party, go along with a half dozen beers and consume 3 times that amount, you can't beat a good party. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 28, 2011 Share Posted October 28, 2011 Xmas is a time for getting together with yer family for a couple of hours, I've not been invited to anyones yet but will probably go to the other halfs mothers place, went to my mothers last year. the big problem going to her mums place is the size of portions I get given, I'm usually the only male there as her dad passed away years ago so she thinks I need a mountain of food! don't have the appetite I used to have, will hit the pub for a couple hours before hand though, always feel more hungry when pished. I like to go home after lunch and have a kip, with the kid its usually been an early start, couple hours sleep and i'm right up for a house party, go along with a half dozen beers and consume 3 times that amount, you can't beat a good party. better not be that hun from your local's house party Link to comment
Henry Posted October 28, 2011 Share Posted October 28, 2011 what about your 13yr old fiancee? FFS, I didn't know Tup was a beast Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 28, 2011 Share Posted October 28, 2011 better not be that hun from your local's house party I wouldn't go to a huns house. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted October 28, 2011 Share Posted October 28, 2011 I wouldn't go to a huns house. yeah but you'd let him rub it in your face and drink in your local. chicken. Link to comment
daytripping Posted October 28, 2011 Share Posted October 28, 2011 yeah but you'd let him rub it in your face and drink in your local. chicken. I'll give you a true story; about 15 years ago due to the Four Mile in Bucksburn having a large car park some bright spark decided that was where the Aberdeen Rangers supporters club bus would be picking up and dropping off, the set up lasted one match as they were torn a new arsehole in the pub car park on their return. Every dons supporter and local nutters in Bucksburn worth their salt were made aware of the situation and acted accordingly. Times change though and people get older, we tolerate the odd one these days. Link to comment