K-9 Posted October 29, 2011 Share Posted October 29, 2011 Today Jack out suspended and Vernon injured meant we were struggling a bit even to fill our bench. If Milsom and Vernon are out injured next week, along with Jack and Fallon suspended we will really be struggling. Always going to be case if end up with couple of players out as we have little outside our first choice XI which looks ok but is backed up by in the main, well for want of a better word, pish!! Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted October 29, 2011 Share Posted October 29, 2011 The squad may be stretched, but what about the likes of Magennis, Pawlett and Chalali. Seems that they have very little chance of a game. Why wasn't Magennis up front with Fallon from the start, at least he has some pace. Pawlett is the invisible man, and why did Brown buy Chalali if he's only going to be on the bench. Maybe Brown thinks we don't need strikers and one man up front will be enough. We will never make the top six with these attitudes. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 29, 2011 Share Posted October 29, 2011 The squad may be stretched, but what about the likes of Magennis, Pawlett and Chalali. Seems that they have very little chance of a game. Why wasn't Magennis up front with Fallon from the start, at least he has some pace. Pawlett is the invisible man, and why did Brown buy Chalali if he's only going to be on the bench. Maybe Brown thinks we don't need strikers and one man up front will be enough. We will never make the top six with these attitudes.He's injured. AGAIN! Link to comment
OddJob Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 Chalali looked good when he came on. Even if Vernon wasn't injured i'd still have liked him to start the St Johnstone game anyway. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 Good to have the two OF games out of the way but now we go into the "easier" games missing a lot of important players possibly.Fkn nightmare & just our bloody luck. Wonder if there's any grounds for appealing Fallons straight red & at least reducing him to a second booking? Link to comment
Bamber Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 Believe there is a closed doors friendly tomorrow? given the lack of a reserve league an important game for the fringe players that are expecting to play. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 Believe there is a closed doors friendly tomorrow? given the lack of a reserve league an important game for the fringe players that are expecting to play. Yeah against Dundee Utd I believe & Clangers is going to play in it. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 Believe there is a closed doors friendly tomorrow? given the lack of a reserve league an important game for the fringe players that are expecting to play. Could you perhaps list who you class as these "fringe" players? Link to comment
deco_1985 Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 The squad may be stretched, but what about the likes of Magennis, Pawlett and Chalali. Seems that they have very little chance of a game. Why wasn't Magennis up front with Fallon from the start, at least he has some pace. Pawlett is the invisible man, and why did Brown buy Chalali if he's only going to be on the bench. Maybe Brown thinks we don't need strikers and one man up front will be enough. We will never make the top six with these attitudes. Now, did we not play 2 up front for the last few games, including at Parkhead? I think in recent weeks we have been attacking. I think we matched Rangers shape, and Brown thought this was how to beat them. And we might have if Milsom was able to play, Mackie coming on changed the game. I think if we had only 2 in the middle of the park against 3 of them, we'd have been run ragged. Narrow defeats against the OF and everyone is back on Brown's case and having a go at the players (some justified). From what I have seen I am confident we will be challenging for top 6, and reckon we'll make it. Which would be quite a transformation from last season's shambles. Link to comment
Stoney Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 Challali one of the worst players we have ever signed, would rather see one of the younger lads get a wee chunce Link to comment
Ke1t Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 Chalali is another of our routine panic signings, a'la Ifil. We go into the season trying to spend as little money as possible, with as threadbare a squad as possible, and we get found out immediately. So the money we should have spent scouting and acquiring a competent player pre-season is pissed away on any fucker who can fill a shirt. After the Sigma game it was apparent Young and Duff were barely footballers, let alone emergency defenders. So McGhee goes off and buy the BEAST after seeing him play one pre-season friendly. That's what passes for in depth scouting round Pittodrie way. We go into this season with one half-way decent striker and, surprise (?) we couldn't buy a goal in our first few matches. So Brown goes off and spunks his cash on Chalali. Not the first time, won't be the last time. Link to comment
OddJob Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 Challali one of the worst players we have ever signed, would rather see one of the younger lads get a wee chunceYou don't think that when he came on he looked the most likely to do something for us? Link to comment
K-9 Posted October 30, 2011 Author Share Posted October 30, 2011 When we went 2 up front was the only time we looked like we may do something. Which is exactly what we should have done when Mackie went on, Link to comment
Stoney Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 You don't think that when he came on he looked the most likely to do something for us?Only thing he did was drag a shot wide of goal. No link up play to speak of and created feck all. Only reason he is getting on is because brown signed him, only question is will he score before getting shipped out. Waste of a wage Link to comment
Marty13479 Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 Challali one of the worst players we have ever signed, would rather see one of the younger lads get a wee chunce Struggle to see how you can come up with that conclusion? What has he done to make you think this? Has be missed a load of chances? Has he miss placed a load of passes. What i have seen of him he has shown could progress into a decent player. He has hardly been given a chance. When he has come on he has done ok. I think he could be a good player given a run of games. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 Chalali looked good when he came on. Even if Vernon wasn't injured i'd still have liked him to start the St Johnstone game anyway.It is idiotic to suggest starting a 23 year old striker who has yet to score a senior goal in his entire career. Link to comment
K-9 Posted October 30, 2011 Author Share Posted October 30, 2011 Think Brown choosing to stick on Mackie yesterday ahead of his own signing who can play on left aswell kind of sums things up as far as both Brown and Chalali go!! Link to comment
Stoney Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 Has never even looked like scoring either, time for one of the young guys to step up Link to comment
OddJob Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 It is idiotic to suggest starting a 23 year old striker who has yet to score a senior goal in his entire career.So we'll just keep playing forwards who have hardly scored this season then will we? Think Brown choosing to stick on Mackie yesterday ahead of his own signing who can play on left aswell kind of sums things up as far as both Brown and Chalali go!!Aye but Mackie was obviously brought on for his supposed defensive qualities which backfired drastically, cause Brown clearly wanted to play it like that and when he knew we needed a goal - or few goals as it turned out - he brought on Chalali Link to comment
RAZOR Posted October 30, 2011 Share Posted October 30, 2011 So we'll just keep playing forwards who have hardly scored this season then will we?Over a striker who has never scored a professional goal. Yes, every time. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted October 31, 2011 Site Sponsor Share Posted October 31, 2011 Challali one of the worst players we have ever signed, would rather see one of the younger lads get a wee chunce Foxache, give the lad a chance! Link to comment
Stoney Posted October 31, 2011 Share Posted October 31, 2011 Foxache, give the lad a chance! He's had one, lets give one of our own a wee shotty. Link to comment
Stoney Posted October 31, 2011 Share Posted October 31, 2011 Close to dead disnae fill the graveyard........... Its nae barry we're playing here Link to comment
OddJob Posted October 31, 2011 Share Posted October 31, 2011 Mr. Stoneward Stoney of Stonesville Mohammed Chalali almost scored against Dunfermline where he hit the post and he got the assist due to Vernon following up and him scoring. Chalali is a player, sitting in behind the strikers in a free role - he can play a pass - that's where I see his role for the club. I should be manager, it took me a Dunfermline game to see that this is where he should play, he has something about him in that role. MON THE CHALALI!!!!I suggested that before and got laughed at by some folk on here Link to comment