Pawlett

Is anyone else getting sick fed up if hearing that Pawlett is injured again?

What the fuck is up with him this time?

Just when he starts to get a bit of form going, boom. Im sick of it. Yes he shown he has a bit of quality about him but not enough to merit carrying him through season after season of injury.

It is bloody annoying, bit like we've already experienced with Bernard and Smith but think we really need to wait until at least January to see what's happening with his long-term prospects. It could sadly get to the stage where there's nothing can be done and he may sadly have to retire. Of course that's probably not going to happen but it must be a worrying time for him.

Its got to the point where his injuries arent even getting reported. Apparently his last couple of seasons in the youth team he was injured more games than he played.

Pawlett is quality, lets not go down the road of writing him off too early lads, I know if he wipes his arse he seems to get injured for a fortnight.

But until he gets a good run of say 10-15 games we aint going to see his potential, unfortunately like has been said more chance of seeing 10-15 minutes rather than amount of games, shame as I think he is a cracking playeer

To be fair, I don't rate him that highly anyway. Look at James Forrest, of course he has better players etc, but Forrest can get the ball, beat a few players and score goals, and looks a real threat to the opposition. Pawlett is a bit of a headless chicken at times. However he is young and should be given a lot of slack for that. The injury thing is infuriating, seen somebody earlier say we need to see him 15 games or so on the trot, but the thing is he gets injured well before he even plays 5 or 6 games in a row.

yeah, hes injured all the time cos hes still growing

:spanner:

Oh dear. :spanner:

As easy as it is to mock a certain Steven Gerard was injured quite a lot when he first burst onto the scene and the reason given for this, iirc, was something to do with him still growing and the way his body was doing it so JAzzer may be right. It is far more likely though that pawlett is made of wet paper.

My reaction to this was "FFS, give the lad a break. We have plenty of other problems and he's just a young player who will hopefully improve his physicality/strength in the next year or 2"

Maybe he should drink mair milk.

I get the impression that the typical AFC player's diet consists largely of beer and crisps.

Then I got to this and thought "Razor would be so much more agreeable if he could get heart of the matter before his knickers got twisted".

So in summary (and I don't profess to know the answer) IF the reason why Pawlett is constantly battling injuries is down to what I'll call "feeble mind, feeble body factor" aka "Zander Diamond symptom". Then i've no sympathy for the lad and it needs sorted.

Surely the coaching team and work on building this guy up and conditioning his body properly?

As easy as it is to mock a certain Steven Gerard was injured quite a lot when he first burst onto the scene and the reason given for this, iirc, was something to do with him still growing

Listen, someone from AFC (physio/previous manager either Hingmy or McGoo) is on record as saying that Pawlett suffered the same back problem (which effects his hamstrings) as Gerrard did, and thats the point i'm making.

But comments from ill-learned people like Illertime are just that - ill learned and completely unimformed. The grass is blue and sky is green comment (which was way over his head) points out the fact that the ignoramous just says the opposite of what I have posted, because he's an obtuse simpleton.

In all likelyhood Peter Pawlett could well be fit for St.Johnstone because he "narrowly missed" the Sellick game, which will have been 2 weeks prior to McDiarmid.

:sheepdance:

Dunno Roberto but that was what was quoted at the time - manager misquoted perhaps?

We'll see, but surely he's close to a return.........if that was the jist last week.

Back to the main point - the eejits deriding the poor boy coz he's hurt - are wrong, and the fans supporting the boy and wishing him back to full fitness ASAP - are right.

He's a good player, so fucking lay off him.

End of.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=veHKBqtjSno

I'm not disagreeing with the fact he's a good player, but he's no use to us on the injury table collecting a wage and costing us money being on the treatment table.

Aberdeen cannot afford to have a player who can play at a push 10 games a season.

We need a good player like Pawlett all the time, and in the last 3 years he's just shone signs of being an excellent player as well as an expense with being injured all the time.

Got to weigh up pros and cons of it all, so I can see arguments for and against here.

This. I imagine at the current time, his deal is hardly over the top, his place in the squad will not be at the expense of having a senior player in his place. So the alternative would be Pawlett going and bringing in another young player with potential to fill the same role. I'd rather that he was given the best support from the medical team at the club (and elsewhere if required) to get to a stage where he can play week in week out. If by the time his contract is up, he still has such an issue, then at the age of 23, it may be a point to say that his time here is up...

I understand Jazzer is right on this one - it's down to his back, but also his running style which puts extra pressure on it, leading to groin strains and similar muscle injuries.

I believe the Dons coaching staff think it can be trained out - fingers crossed they're right.

Hes been consistently injured since he was a bairn, feel this guy is cursed with injury.