amancalledbuck Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 As the title says. I'm giving up my lazy life as the shit is now hitting the fan. (5 years of gas bill estimates) My employment history is patchy, to say the least, but I'm well educated - MA Hons in Cultural History. I'm needing short term solutions and long term plans. Or folk to call me a sponging bastard. Link to comment
Red Dragon Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 Cultural History you say? Howsabout offering your services to the Scottish Exec and provide a solution to the Weegie problem? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 you could join the other pieces of shit on union street begging for the food folk throw away. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted November 1, 2011 Author Share Posted November 1, 2011 Try here I've got the app for my iPod touch. I wouldn't go near the place normally. It's full of ne'er do wells. Link to comment
daytripping Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 Lidl in Bucksburn is looking for folk, was in last night and saw the big poster up. Money is meant to be not bad for that kind of work, above yer asda and tesco anyway. It's a start anyway, once you're working it's easier to get something else. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 Get a job in Costco, they pay nae bad for a shop. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 Santa season coming up. Combine yer hobby wi a job. Link to comment
daytripping Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 Become an offshore service hand, you have plenty of experience of sitting around doing feck all, why not get paid for doing it. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 work in a charity shop. plenty of cheap gear as a staff perk its like getting paid loads. Link to comment
phoenix Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 Good luck Buck , I'm sure you'd be an asset to the appropriate organisation altho' I'd steer clear of right-wing enterprises.....if they get a whiff of your past , they might like to make you eat shit. It can get more difficult the older we get , is the teaching profession a no-no then ? You are just about to start.....I'm about to finish.....16 weeks and counting.....I'll wake up a 'free' man in March. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted November 1, 2011 Author Share Posted November 1, 2011 Nightshift shelf stackers at Asda drive about in Porsches. I can't drive. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 Sounds like 'Nixx's job is up for grabs. How's yer crystal ball gazing? Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted November 1, 2011 Author Share Posted November 1, 2011 Good luck Buck , I'm sure you'd be an asset to the appropriate organisation altho' I'd steer clear of right-wing enterprises.....if they get a whiff of your past , they might like to make you eat shit. It can get more difficult the older we get , is the teaching profession a no-no then ? You are just about to start.....I'm about to finish.....16 weeks and counting.....I'll wake up a 'free' man in March. I'm still interested in teaching, unfortunately I can't afford the application fee. I'll get myself sorted, it's just a bit daunting getting started. And scary as fuck wondering how the fuck the bills are going to get paid. Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted November 1, 2011 Author Share Posted November 1, 2011 If MT had created this, he'd be slagged off and called an attention seeker. He is an attention seeker. I'm looking for advice. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 I'm looking for advice. dont sit down with eggs in your pocket. Link to comment
phoenix Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 I'm still interested in teaching, unfortunately I can't afford the application fee. I'll get myself sorted, it's just a bit daunting getting started. And scary as fuck wondering how the fuck the bills are going to get paid. It's coming on Winter , keeping warm is expensive.....you'll be alright come the Spring.....' It's Summertime...and the living is easy.....' I always remind myself that our ancestors managed to survive without electricity.....what happened to us ? It is important to select foods that generated heat as we eat , that way we don't need to absorb it from the outside in. Just start low and work your way up and don't be afraid to blow your own trumpet( especially that degree ).....nobody else will. It's competitive , maaan. Link to comment
phoenix Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 I hope you've buried enough nuts for winter. Correct B_M.....many a true word said in jest. A good source of heat and one of Nature's little storehouses of vitamins and minerals. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 I hope you've buried enough nuts for winter. you can give him your two. Link to comment
tup Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 I could find a job in less than 10 minutes it's not the big process you appear to think it. Just walk into somewhere you like the look of and ask. Mind and have a good wash first, and try not to stink of drink is also a good tip. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 I could find a job in less than 10 minutes it's not the big process you appear to think it. Just walk into somewhere you like the look of and ask. Mind and have a good wash first, and try not to stink of drink is also a good tip. Tup, in his own usual way, does have a point. There is ey work for those who are willing. It's a full-time joab getting a joab, but with a bit of graft ye can get a joab regardless of the economic climate. Link to comment
Henry Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 If MT had created this, he'd be slagged off and called an attention seeker. MT doesn't need to create a thread like this. He's got the mega-bucks, high flying job with BT, ken? Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 At the risk of being helpful, if yer applying for a joab, yer covering letter should more or less be the advertisement, jist rewritten. So if they want someone who is flexible, ye write a sentence that says yer flexible but without using that word. If they want a young dynamic go-getter, well yer fucked, but ye get my drift. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 If you are a good looking chap you can always hire oot yir services ti i lonely hoosewives o Aiberdeen an i suroondin area. Link to comment
tup Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 POSITION VACANT We are looking for an unshaven vagrant who has no work experience whatsoever and has little motivation. Ideally it would be someone who drinks early in the day, then plays melancholy songs on a guitar later in the night whilst consuming recreational drugs. The applicant must have paid their utility bills on estimates for a substantial number of years. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 With the kind of character you are, I don't believe a word you just wrote. Oh it's 100% genuine. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 He is an attention seeker. I'm looking for advice. Never buy tights for a mermaid. Link to comment
InTaeEm Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 Get a job in Costco, they pay nae bad for a shop. Yeah they are good for pay, well for starters they are. I worked there for 6 months after I got paid off (although it took me about 5 months to get a job there/anywhere, I only left there in February this year) so i know how sh*t it is to find something. They paid Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted November 1, 2011 Author Share Posted November 1, 2011 POSITION VACANT We are looking for an unshaven vagrant who has no work experience whatsoever and has little motivation. Ideally it would be someone who drinks early in the day, then plays melancholy songs on a guitar later in the night whilst consuming recreational drugs. The applicant must have paid their utility bills on estimates for a substantial number of years. Braw, when do I start? I canna work too late. Oh, and I'll need 2 weeks off at Christmas. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted November 1, 2011 Share Posted November 1, 2011 Have you tried the Royal Mail and asked about delivering mail over the Christmas period?Very busy this time of year and it's better than walking the streets. Why have they never been able to read your meter for 5 years while you've been unemployed for the same period? They also allow you to stage payments of arrears. Link to comment