Poppy

diamondsr4ever

Looking at it again if the Poppy is classed as political symbol which FIFA don't allow, if they were to back down can you imagine what the likes of Argentina and Iran and the likes would put on their shirts

Correct, but don't think for one minute that such sense and perspective will be applied by Murdoch's vapid lackeys on Sky Sports.

There's a drum to bang, and this has nothing to do with the poppy, or any connotations thereof, but more to do with picking a fight with FIFA on every little issue.

The finger for them not getting the WC should be pointed at the three complete homosexuals they recruited to 'bum up' their proposal, step forward Messrs Cameron, Beckham and Prince fucking William FFS :gay: , :gay: , :gay: .

Meanwhile the Russians had Putin, about 40 KGB meatheads who were probably packing poison umbrellas, and tidy bits of stuff in short skirts.

If you were on FIFA's list and had to choose, you'd be insane to go with the former, unless you yourself were a complete bufty who fancied one, two or all three of them for a bit of un-natural hochmagandy.

• Replies 139

playing devils advocate here with a few points but here goes

1. Why are they pushing this so much all of a sudden? whats the agenda? is a minutes silence and black arm band not enough??

2. Scotland and Wales are not pushing to get poppys on their tops and probably couldn't care less. The poppy appeal is for the british forces.

3. The poppy appeal is a charity set up by the british legion so I don't see FIFA's problem. They allowed Barca to have a chairty organisation on their top for a few years.

to sum up - a bunch of arseholes are for some reason desperate to wear shirts with poppys and a bunch of arseholes are saying no.

think fifa are wrong on this one, personally like

as I said above, I don't see why FIFA have an issue with it. If they really want to blame anyone for this then they should be looking at those who have politicised the poppy appeal

Whatever happened to keeping your sympathies and grief to yourself?

I blame the scousers and the tims. :thumbup1:

as I said above, I don't see why FIFA have an issue with it. If they really want to blame anyone for this then they should be looking at those who have politicised the poppy appeal

Agreed.

But, the poppy has fuck all tae dae wi football. Cameron and his lot should concentrate on the more important things going on in the world than whether or not Shrek wears an oversized poppy.

Agreed.

But, the poppy has fuck all tae dae wi football. Cameron and his lot should concentrate on the more important things going on in the world than whether or not Shrek wears an oversized poppy.

i agree.

but if fifa have a problem with poppys or anything similar why is it ok for kaka to show his t-shirt saying he is a god botherer or every other fcukin footballer to make some shitty statement when they score?

fifa gets so many things wrong. and this is just anotehr example of double standards.

i agree.

but if fifa have a problem with poppys or anything similar why is it ok for kaka to show his t-shirt saying he is a god botherer or every other fcukin footballer to make some shitty statement when they score?

fifa gets so many things wrong. and this is just anotehr example of double standards.

It isn't OK. You get booked for doing that.

You get booked for lifting your shirt after you score, Bluto.

Edit: Lord Boof got there first.

hhhmmmmm.

so kaka got booked every game did he?

anyway, you'll find that bookings dont happen every time some one lifts their shirt to diaply something on their undergarment.

Bluto usually does it the other way round :itch-chin:

:laughing: :laughing:

hhhmmmmm.

so kaka got booked every game did he?

anyway, you'll find that bookings dont happen every time some one lifts their shirt to diaply something on their undergarment.

Fuck me. :suicide:

No Bluto that much is true. Occasionally it gets ignored with Billy Sharp being the recent example.

However it's a bookable offence.

A poppy on your top and lifting your shirt are both crimes according to FIFA. One punishable by a booking and the other not allowed.

Happy?

Or would you like to argue black is white?

I'd also order UEFA sanctioned cruise missiles to be fired on the England supporters just as the national anthems were being played, supplied by Russia in a cruel irony to rub salt into the gaping wounds of poor England and their failed World Cup bid, as if they have not suffered enough.

I'd then get NATO to bomb Sky headquarters and also order the destruction of all Murdoch's satellites to avoid the cunt making a comeback of any sort with his yellow fucking ticker tape pish.

I'm telling you this has nothing to do with poppies, the Scots took it on the chin.

Fuck me. :suicide:

No Bluto that much is true. Occasionally it gets ignored with Billy Sharp being the recent example.

However it's a bookable offence.

A poppy on your top and lifting your shirt are both crimes according to FIFA. One punishable by a booking and the other not allowed.

Happy?

Or would you like to argue black is white?

christ. is it a heavy period for you this month.

i'm merely pointing out that players are allowed to wear and expose a logo shirt - with whatever they want on it.

whether they get booked or not is not the point.

the game will not be cancelled because of this.

but in englands poppy case the ref has been told to abandon the match, i.e. not play it if eng turn out with poppys.

why do players get away with undergarments then

or dare i say political banners in the stands

or political/sectarian/racist chanting from the stands

when england cant ware a symbol of rememberance for fighting facism?

i couldnt give a shit about poppys. i have my own opinions on the matter.

but fifa are a joke.

if they really wanted to keep football shirts logo-free they could red card any player. effectively what they are doing to england at kick off.

if they really wanted to kick racism out, they can.

if they really wanted to kick corruption out of fifa out, they can.

but they dont do any of this.

they are full of half arsed measures which arent really that important,

It's got nothing to do with football.

Imagine the outcry from the FA and the Daily Mail if Argentina decided to 'show their respects' for the victims of the Falklands War next time they play England.

your right. it doesnt have a place in football.

but you canna liken ww1 and 2 to the falklands. to totally different kettle of wars.

Or Al-Qaeda had Bin Laden on their shirts next time they face Hezbollah or the Wailing Wall in a qualifier?

Or teams used cloaking devices to field 15 players instead of 11, making them disappear then re-appear to block shots and score goals and stuff?

It would make a mockery of football, I'm with FIFA here.

For the love of cunting Christ:

Two members of the English Defence League climbed onto the roof of Fifa's headquarters in Zurich with a banner protesting against the ban.

A Fifa spokesman confirmed the protest is ongoing and that Swiss police were in attendance.

The two protesters displayed a banner with two poppies on which read: "English defence League. How dare Fifa disrespect our war dead and wounded. Support out troops."

The incident will come as something of an embarrassment to the FA given that the EDL are a far-right group whose founder Stephen Lennon was convicted in July of leading a street brawl with 100 football fans.

Lennon, a father of three from Luton, was sentenced to a 12-month community rehabilitation order, 150 hours of unpaid work and given a three-year football banning order.

A spokesman for 'Hope not hate', an anti-EDL campaign group, said: "It's a little hypocritical of the EDL to be leading this protest given that their leader Stephen Lennon is a convicted football hooligan.

"It is important that neither the symbol of the poppy nor the Three Lions of England are appropriated by extremists of the EDL."

kevzurich1_2050870c.jpg

Five things Fifa should ban instead of poppies on England shirts

First it was bananas, now meddling Eurocrats are trying to get their hands on our poppies. Here are the five things that they should really be looking to ban…

Posies

Insensitive coaching flop Fabio Capello is planning "to wear a special flower on his lapel” to mark the wedding of his son, which he will be missing because it clashes with Saturday’s match. The Italian, who has repeatedly failed to win the World Cup despite having a team overflowing with world-class footballers, reportedly plans to sport a foreign, suspiciously perfumed flower like a cyclamen or a bougainvillea. Fifa must act swiftly to ensure that the lapel of the England manager is unsullied by a fancy Mediterranean bloom.

Patriotic Performances

England fans have frequently expressed their displeasure at other countries’ national anthems by booing throughout them – exercising the democratic right to protest that our grandfathers fought for. And yet still Fifa insist on subjecting English football crowds to pompous foreign cacophonies glorifying the actions of tinpot moustachioed generals. It is no exaggeration to say that the playing of provocative Iberian anthem La Marcha Real on Saturday would be a direct, deliberate insult to our war dead, and it should be replaced instead by a minute’s defiant jeering.

Passing

It is typical of Fifa’s disrespect for English traditions that they sneer at our national football culture of hoofing the ball up to the big lad, shouting, drinking lager at half-time and having sex with each other’s girlfriends in favour of technocratic, cowardly “passing”. That Fifa awarded the 2010 World Cup to Spain instead of England is a direct slight to the culture and beliefs of the country that invented the game. Only an immediate ban on passes of less than 75 yards will honour the memory of those who made the ultimate sacrifice at Ypres (1915) El Alamein (1942), and Bloemfontein (2010).

Players

Typically, Fifa have bent over backwards for Spain by allowing them to field a team of 11 men who are good at football while the home side must make-do-and-mend without heroes Rooney (left out while England work out how to get along without him) and Terry (left out because he can’t get along with other players). Only the permanent banning of other nation’s top stars can ensure the sort of fair contest that this country stood up and was counted for.

Popeye

While Fifa thumbs its nose at British Naval heroes, it has made no attempt to curtail the activities of well-known foreigner Popeye, a notorious user of performance-enhancing substances who shuns traditional British monounsaturated fats in favour of continental muck olive oil. Only swift action by fellow ridiculous cartoon figure Sepp Blatter can restore the credibility of the global game: Fifa must ban Popeye now.

Telegraph. Some perspective.

Fabio Capello has a new lookalike, this time a real person and not just Postman Pat or Beaker from the Muppets. I say new, because it only occurred to me last night while watching Lou Reed thrashing out White Light White Heat with Metallica on Jools Holland's mini Later show, though on making a few checks it turns out people have been going on about it for months. It's just that combination of tiny specs and improbably big hair, I guess. There is even a Twitter campaign devoted to making Reed the next England manager, which seems to be taking the obsession with foreigners a bit far, though at least he can speak the language.

I mention this only because the dearth of real news during this latest international break appears to have resulted in a sort of mid-season silly season, with newspapers devoting pages to deeply uninteresting stuff such as the comfort or otherwise of England's chosen hotel for next year's European Championships and the fixtures and fittings at the sports ground where they will train. All anyone really wants to know about the England hotel is whether it can boast a bed big enough for Peter Crouch so that his feet don't stick out. A simple photograph would have sufficed, with or without a life-size model.

Then there is the poppy debate. At first it seemed this too was just guff to fill the space where actual news or match reports should be, until one read the quite remarkable statement from Fifa that Saturday's match referee is under orders to stop the game and possibly even call it off if he spots anyone taking the field with an unsanctioned emblem embroidered into their shirt fabric. It might have started as a slow burner but this has definitely become news.

Quite clearly England should defy Fifa and wear their poppy with pride, except now the referee has been given instructions the consequences of such an act might be inadvisable. Were the referee to actually abandon the game, for such a reason, with a stadium full of paying supporters, trouble would be extremely likely and England would be to blame, having been warned. The FA appears to have been wrongfooted by virtue of having applied for permission to wear poppies in the first place.

With hindsight, by far the best plan would have been to keep schtum about the whole thing, wear the poppy shirts and face the Fifa consequences afterwards. Sepp Blatter's organisation would then have been uncomfortably faced with charging the FA with bringing the game into disrepute by respecting the war dead, something most footballers have been doing at club level this past week without upsetting anyone. Failing that Fifa would have found itself issuing a fine which England could have handed over from petty cash, perhaps with an instruction to keep the change or better still donate it to the British Legion. We know what international fines are like, after all. You only get a wrist-slap of a few grand if your crowd directs monkey noises at black players for most of a match. It would be interesting, to say the least, were Fifa to impose a larger amount on a nation for honouring the spirit of Remembrance Sunday.

But that sort of guerilla action seems out of the question now. Fifa knows what to expect and has taken effective steps to prevent it. That still leaves England with a range of options from tracksuit tops featuring embroidered poppies, to players taking the field wearing pin-on poppies of the type you buy in the street then unpinning them just before kick off and handing them solemnly to the mascot whose hand they held when walking out (quite a neat and pointedly dignified solution, in my opinion) to going the whole hog and allowing poppy petals to fall gently from Wembley's giant arch as the teams line up for the national anthems, with cameras closing in on specks of red landing on players' heads and shoulders in the time-honoured Royal Albert Hall manner.

Or, and I accept this will sound the most bonkers plan of all, they could just accept Fifa's instructions and get on with the game. Fifa is not completely right in this argument, though neither is it wholly wrong. Even if the poppy is a harmless enough symbol of peace and reconciliation in this country, the Fifa stance that international shirts should not carry political or religious messages is understandable enough. While it can be debated whether the poppy fits either of those categories the danger of setting a precedent is clear. What if the next country wanted to honour the dead of a particular war, or the outcome of a conflict?

And why are we having this debate now, precisely? In the seven decades since the end of the last world war footballers have rarely been accused of failing to respect the fallen, or berated for not wearing poppies on the pitch. We are having this debate now simply because the technology has arrived whereby a poppy motif can be quickly and cheaply incorporated into a shirt design. That was never the case in the past, so the question never arose, even when international fixtures occurred around Remembrance Week. England would quite properly mark the anniversary with a minute's silence or a wreath on the centre spot before kick-off, and that is all they need to do now. The fact that shirts are available with embroidered poppies does not mean the country would view its footballers as callous for wearing the normal all-white version.

When Blackburn played Chelsea at the weekend the home side's strip featured a poppy, the away side's didn't. No one thought any less of Chelsea for it. There was a wreath and a silence, and everything was as it should be. Poppies were available in and outside the ground