Dons Fans Charter Plane To Watch Man Utd

what do you suggest is done?

you seem to be very vocal on Man United on here but very little to say about the dons.

that annoys you doesnt it?

i notice you have a bit of achip on your shoulder too.

well if you care so much much about afc and hate what they have become and the causes of it, why dont you do something about it?

• Replies 188

I cannot connect with English teams as I canna stand folk fae England, never met one decent bloke fae south of the border yet.

Hate their national team too.

but my connection was football related, and I suppose with the innocence of youth, I went with it and to this day I do my best to see them 3 or 4 times a season at least.

its in my blood, my heed and heart, and I cant change that.

I do not and will not support the english national side, and all my west ham mates are well aware of that !

that annoys you doesnt it?

i notice you have a bit of achip on your shoulder too.

well if you care so much much about afc and hate what they have become and the causes of it, why dont you do something about it?

its doesn't annoy me, you are not that important to me. We are debating here and thats it, try not to take it so personally.

I've asked and you have ignored so I'll try again, what do you think anyone can do about this?

You just don't see it do you. SKY, the EPL etc are part of the problem with football in this country and AFC. People liek you, rather watch man United than go to Pittodrie. How many times have you been to Pittodrie in the last 2 years?

Exactly, the "glamorous" games are on the TV every other night, EPL, La Liga and so on, its just human nature that over time, people will tire of watching bog standard, losing, crap atmosphere games such as AFC. and take more interest in these so called glamorous games.

And who can blame folk for sitting in, watching an EPL game on the telly, in the comfort of the house / pub, rather than the ritual of going to Pittodrie.

Sign of the times.

whats the matter,

get battered by some locals?

or your wife bugger off with a salford boy.

Neither, but nice try.

i've seen plenty of it and i know that its not a dump.

if you think manchester is a dump i'd hate to know what you think aberdeen is.

A far far nicer city than that cesspit. If you think Manchester isn't a dump, I despair at the lengths you'll go to defend somewhere just on the basis you support a team from there.

Do you sing 'ANY OLD IRON' and 'KNEES UP MUVVVVVA BRAAAAAAAAHN!' down the old rub a dub dub with these West Ham supporting goons diamonds, whilst you have your arms around each others shoulders and kick your legs up and down like they do on Mary Poppins?

I'd be physically sick simply from listening to their accents.

Exactly, the "glamorous" games are on the TV every other night, EPL, La Liga and so on, its just human nature that over time, people will tire of watching bog standard, losing, crap atmosphere games such as AFC. and take more interest in these so called glamorous games.

And who can blame folk for sitting in, watching an EPL game on the telly, in the comfort of the house / pub, rather than the ritual of going to Pittodrie.

Sign of the times.

glamorous is the correct word but I'd argue that some of these games, particularly in the CL are becoming bog standard and have crap or even terrible atmospheres yet they are still described as fantastic games and people seem to buy it.

Do you sing 'ANY OLD IRON' and 'KNEES UP MUVVVVVA BRAAAAAAAAHN!' down the old rub a dub dub with these West Ham supporting goons diamonds, whilst you have your arms around each others shoulders and kick your legs up and down like they do on Mary Poppins?

I'd be physically sick simply from listening to their accents.

Mary Poppins wasnt fae the east end, that was dick van dyke.,

I sing bubbles pre kick off, gets the hairs on the back of my neck up, real club, real fans....thats all....

oh I have sung STAND FREE when pished in some random pub in the east end on many an occasion, which hasnt always went down well.

I've asked and you have ignored so I'll try again, what do you think anyone can do about this?

well i'm no expert on this and not living in aberdeen i dont quite know how far the problems at pittodrie go.

there are plenty reasons i would think for the demise of scottish football from social ills to the popularity of english and spainish football etc.

tackling these isnt so easy.

but there are many things that you could do on a local aberdeen level to improve AFC from the one man protest to forming a pressure group to voice the fans concerns.

one thing i find amazing is a club so cash strapped are happy to have 3/4 of the stadium empty on a revenue generating match day.

christ if that hasnt set alarmm bells ringing in the finance dept i dont know what would.

glamorous is the correct word but I'd argue that some of these games, particularly in the CL are becoming bog standard and have crap or even terrible atmospheres yet they are still described as fantastic games and people seem to buy it.

This is it. They are sold as 'glamour' because they were in the formative CL years, as it was still a slightly altered European Cup.

The old knockout ties in Europe were proper make or break nailbiters. The CL is anything but. Nobody gives a fuck either way.

The only good games in the CL are in the knockout stages. Do folk not realise why? Because the games are meaningful.

Football matches must have meaning. This is the crux of it. To have meaning you must have competition. It disna matter about the level, folk will come to watch if the games mean something.

For most teams, most games are now without meaning. Because they cannot win. Because the big boys keep all resources.

This is what has ruined football. There is no glamour in Man United beating a team with 5% of their resources, and working to a year on year ever decreasing percentage in that respect. More like :sleeping:

well i'm no expert on this and not living in aberdeen i dont quite know how far the problems at pittodrie go.

there are plenty reasons i would think for the demise of scottish football from social ills to the popularity of english and spainish football etc.

tackling these isnt so easy.

but there are many things that you could do on a local aberdeen level to improve AFC from the one man protest to forming a pressure group to voice the fans concerns.

one thing i find amazing is a club so cash strapped are happy to have 3/4 of the stadium empty on a revenue generating match day.

christ if that hasnt set alarmm bells ringing in the finance dept i dont know what would.

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

none of that will make a blind bit of difference to helping AFC or making an improvement to Scottish fitba.

its radical change thats required to improve us and even if there was a huge improvement the players in our league and team would be cherry picked by the big boys down south and in Europe

This is it. They are sold as 'glamour' because they were in the formative CL years, as it was still a slightly altered European Cup.

The old knockout ties in Europe were proper make or break nailbiters. The CL is anything but. Nobody gives a fuck either way.

The only good games in the CL are in the knockout stages. Do folk not realise why? Because the games are meaningful.

Football matches must have meaning. This is the crux of it. To have meaning you must have competition. It disna matter about the level, folk will come to watch if the games mean something.

For most teams, most games are now without meaning. Because they cannot win. Because the big boys keep all resources.

This is what has ruined football. There is no glamour in Man United beating a team with 5% of their resources, and working to a year on year ever decreasing percentage in that respect. More like :sleeping:

excellent post

I support Liverpool, no secret there but any time I speak to folk about the place, barring the City Centre which is 'quite nice' - the rest of the place is an utter pish hole.

I remember I got the plane down one, the whole way into the city centre from the airport all I was thinking was 'wow this is worst area of Liverpool' - only to continue travelling in the taxi and thinking 'eh eh this is the worst area in Liverpool'.

Terrible place if you're not in the city centre.

Anfield couldn't be in a shitter area if it wanted to be.

Stanley Park is nice, but Anfield is rubbish area. Boarded up windows galore.

And yet coming through Aigburth is one of the better areas of Liverpool :laughing: Still a nicer city than Manchester though.

West Ham fans are the only other team I can think of in England that gets the whole 'fitba' and 'atmosphere' thing.

No plastic flag waving, a proper fitba club and passionate fans.

I can't say that about many other clubs in England.

Birmingham & Stoke spring immediately to mind.

:laughing: :laughing: :laughing:

none of that will make a blind bit of difference to helping AFC or making an improvement to Scottish fitba.

its radical change thats required to improve us and even if there was a huge improvement the players in our league and team would be cherry picked by the big boys down south and in Europe

like they always were.

sounds like your just too fuckin lazy to do anything about it.

i'm an aberdeen fan also believe it or not but my distance from aberdeen has made me a bit more indifferent unfortunatley, but if i was as aberdeen as you are i wouldnt stand for my club treating fans like shit, and making zero effort to improve the club.

some people have a bit about them but i think wiggy doesnt. maybe he's like you.

we do all know this tup.

try saying something insightful.

like they always were.

sounds like your just too fuckin lazy to do anything about it.

i'm an aberdeen fan also believe it or not but my distance from aberdeen has made me a bit more indifferent unfortunatley, but if i was as aberdeen as you are i wouldnt stand for my club treating fans like shit, and making zero effort to improve the club.

some people have a bit about them but i think wiggy doesnt. maybe he's like you.

right so you think I'm too lazy but you would not stand for it if you were here. Tell us all what you would do then bluto?

well i wouldnt pay the extortiante ticket prices.

i probably would go as a protest.

but if i had a bit of get up and go i would make sure nobody went and aim to get a 0000 attendance.

Debating with bluto is like going into the exam you've been dreading where you actually seriously consider the two pencils up the nostrils before slamming your yourself face first into the desk escape route as a means of extracting yourself.

I'm out.

tup,

your just saying the champions league is a closed shop and the league games are pointless and it was better pre 1992.

nothing new there.

you might just have realised but most other have known this for years.