Dons Fans Charter Plane To Watch Man Utd

• Replies 188

and if we did that in our league they'd fuck off elsewhere to get he money as they already do.

Aye but 'they' are not the type I want to pay to watch, let them go, get the guys on the pitch earning much about such with those in the stand and we're getting somewhere close to returning to normality.

They're only kicking a ball about FFS.

Why do people HAVE to associate themselves with a winning team?

Human nature is strange.

Do they see themselves as being succesful if they support a team that wins the league - like the huns?

Thats my theory for Old Firm fans (from outwith Glasgow anyway).

If you typically look at OF fans from Aberdeen. The vast majority of them are minks. Jakey, junkie minks from Tillydrone etc. I'll bet you anything there are more OF 'fans' in Tillydrone than a nicer area like Cults. It's because their lives are shit. They scrape about the few pennies they have for a bottle of White Lighting and a packet of fags. They queue outisde the pharmacy waiting for it to open. Now come the weekend, in their dull little lives, the one hope of success 'they' have is to support a team that 11 times out of 10 is going to win a trophy that season. This is success. They have made it. They can then celebrate with their minky mates, and gloat to the decent human beings they may come across. Scumbags.

Completely agree with the general theme, but not with some of the specific sentiments. :laughing:

This is it. They are sold as 'glamour' because they were in the formative CL years, as it was still a slightly altered European Cup.

The old knockout ties in Europe were proper make or break nailbiters. The CL is anything but. Nobody gives a fuck either way.

The only good games in the CL are in the knockout stages. Do folk not realise why? Because the games are meaningful.

Football matches must have meaning. This is the crux of it. To have meaning you must have competition. It disna matter about the level, folk will come to watch if the games mean something.

For most teams, most games are now without meaning. Because they cannot win. Because the big boys keep all resources.

This is what has ruined football. There is no glamour in Man United beating a team with 5% of their resources, and working to a year on year ever decreasing percentage in that respect. More like :sleeping:

Absolutely. The Champions League bores the sh1t out of me.

T'was ok when it was a novelty, but now the same games are churned out, same old faces, same old qualifiers....meaning heaps of repeat knockout games too.

I have had access to every single CL game played this season.

I've not even watched one game yet. :sleeping:

I'd rather watch the Highland League.

100%

Another sad aspect of this is that fitba is nowadays about "value for money" whereas before it was about supporting your team regardless.

You aren't doing the weekly shop FFS, is this what being a fitba fan is all about these days?

It's like going on holiday with the Mrs, leaving her with the kids and paying the same you'd have spent on a family meal on a couple of high class local prostitutes.

Football is a product like any other....it is a business like any other. This is because they have made it a business - the pragmatism that pervades the SPHell with teams coming to Pittodrie seeking a 0-0 draw is all about commercial pragmatism, not entertainment. If people see football as a business it is because that is the way football wants to be seen.

I agree, it was actually the board that started this "its a business" term years ago, can't remember what it was they were trying to justify at the time.

Never min, we fielded eleven Scots in one game last year, we've only a handful of foreign bastards to supplement our homegrown talent, some of whom are loan players.

Never realised that. Surprised with 13 non Scots in our squad last year.

I dinna count players from within the UK as foreigners.

Edit: Assume you are counting these as being Scots then?

Was it the St Mirren home game right at the tail end of the season?

I'd have thought we'd have had at least one of Milsom, Vernon, Magennis, McArdle, Folly, Vujadinovic or Ifil starting every game last season.

Closest I could think of would have been

Langers

Smith

Considine

Diamond

Jack

Pawlett (ish...)

Fyvie (tail end of season)

Hartley

Megginson

Mackie

Maguire

Da recall that team at any point...

Maybe Stoney can watch the games backwards again, and not look for subliminal hints that confirm his suspicion that AFC are doomed to eternal hell and damnation, but instead maybe do us a favour and keep an eye out for 11 Scottish cunts in AFC tops on the pitch at any one time.

Do you sing 'ANY OLD IRON' and 'KNEES UP MUVVVVVA BRAAAAAAAAHN!' down the old rub a dub dub with these West Ham supporting goons diamonds, whilst you have your arms around each others shoulders and kick your legs up and down like they do on Mary Poppins?

I'd be physically sick simply from listening to their accents.

But yet in a previous post you claimed you don't call people from the UK foreign. Strange thoughts on the English but you still class them as locals playing for Aberdeen.... :dontknow:

West Ham fans are the only other team I can think of in England that gets the whole 'fitba' and 'atmosphere' thing.

No plastic flag waving, a proper fitba club and passionate fans.

I can't say that about many other clubs in England.

Leeds United - still selling out Elland Road when we were in league 1.

Before anyone says it yes I support Leeds but I'd never go to a Leeds game ahead of an Aberdeen game. Same as I'd never go to a dons game ahead of my own football on a Saturday. Supporting a club in england is nothing compared to those born in Scotland who choose to support another Scottish team other than their local one.