Chrisyboy81 Posted November 10, 2011 Share Posted November 10, 2011 I think it's a disgrace, if I were a Newcastle fan I'd be going loopy too. What's the point in teams anymore we might as well pay to watch 11 guys in white play 11 in black, in identical stadiums up and down the country. Everything is being sacrificed in the pursuit of money, when will it stop? Soon even the pies will come with a sponsors label attached to them, each individual seat will have a sponsor, christ maybe we could get sponsorship from the fucking sea gulls at Todders. Link to comment
Aberdeen_Fan Posted November 10, 2011 Share Posted November 10, 2011 Fans have history with even just the NAMING of a park. Sports Direct Park means nothing to them, if Sports Direct went bust, then that reflects on the name of Newcastles ground. St James' Park means something to the fans - if they MOVED stadiums, they'd probably understand a lot more, but this is their stadium - St James' Park has history. This was done by the owner to piss off the fans, that's all. I'm no Newcastle fan, but I'd be fucked off if I was. Guess so. The only reason am sayin that is cause it doesnt affect me. If it was pittodrie i would have a different opinion Link to comment
amancalledbuck Posted November 10, 2011 Share Posted November 10, 2011 It's only a game. It doesn't mean anything in the grand scheme of things. I got a great pair of walking shoes from Sports Direct. Link to comment
Nealey Posted November 10, 2011 Share Posted November 10, 2011 Other named stadiums: Arsenal: Emirates StadiumBolton: Reebok StadiumManchester City: Etihad StadiumSwansea: Liberty StadiumStoke: Britannia StadiumWigan: DW StadiumBrighton: Amex StadiumCoventry: Ricoh ArenaDoncaster: Keepmoat StadiumHull: Kingston Communications StadiumLeicester: King Power Stadium Few in that list have already had more than one name. Leicester used to be the Walker's Stadium I think. Not sure how many of these are new builds and how many have been redeveloped. New builds being named after sponsors isn't an issue as it's a brand new stadium with no history. An existing stadium being given a new name is a bit different but for once I agree with Bluto. It'll always be St James' Park to Geordies and probably most others. There's also, or at least it used to be for about a week, Rainbow Taxis Park - Cove Rangers Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 10, 2011 Share Posted November 10, 2011 so people would be up in arms if pittodrie was renamed? why? it's certianly not worse than defacing a football strip with a sponser. mock outrage on here. maybe if aberdeen board had some business nouse about them they'd take the lead on this and be the first big scottish club to get some naming rights on pittodrie. Link to comment
lethal707 Posted November 10, 2011 Share Posted November 10, 2011 In Houston on business. Here they have the Minute Maid Park and The Toyota Centre. Pizza hut park is in Dallas and get's nicknamed "the oven" There is also the "whataburger field" in Texas. How about "Gaylord Entertainment Center" - Nashville, USA (actually been renamed again to Bridgestone arena). My personal favourite though is the young boys stadium "Wankdorf Stadium - Berne, Switzerland" - it's just too easy to make jokes here. Link to comment
OddJob Posted November 10, 2011 Share Posted November 10, 2011 Are they a better stadium because they have a so called name, are they fuck. Wonder how much AFC supporters actually know what Pittdrie meansMight be wrong but does it not mean "Hill of dung" or something like that? I absolutely hate the re-branding of stadiums, Man City being the worst at the moment. Link to comment
RUL Posted November 10, 2011 Share Posted November 10, 2011 personally i canna believe that the arch corporate club man united havent done this already. ditto liverpool who were skint and now have yanks bankrolling them. why nae everton too who are pennypinching. arsenal did it. the richest club in the world have done it. and now chelase are after it. in todays money driven world its a no brainer to me. winna be long too that the spainish old firm join in. barca caved in and are now shirt sponsered. and madrid were bailed out not long ago by the council.surely your missing the point? That simply accepting money is king is why footballs gone to fuck? Newcastle blatantly lying to their fans? Its not even a real sponsor! Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted November 10, 2011 Share Posted November 10, 2011 surely your missing the point? That simply accepting money is king is why footballs gone to fuck? Newcastle blatantly lying to their fans? Its not even a real sponsor! Bluto and Mike Ashley. 2 peas in a pod. Who'd have guessed it. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 11, 2011 Share Posted November 11, 2011 Bluto and missing the point? Shirley Nae. aye. would be much better to have our own stadium name and keep the club 15m in debt. why dont we scratch shirt sponsership too. after all JVC/abtrust/a-fab/teamrec et al are ripping the heart out of our great red top. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 11, 2011 Share Posted November 11, 2011 If you want football to be about money and not football then carry on. I am losing interest with football altogether because it's all about money. It's the biggest and shittest sport in the world due to money. You fell in love with football when young, it wasn't all about the money back then, look at it now - fucking pish and we have over hyped and over paid players. The game needs to be about the fans again, not these fucking prima-donnas who earn more in a week than some do in a lifetime. You completely missed the point as RUL states, more than completely actually - we will call you the Darren Mackie shot. i agree with you. i think every football fan in the world agree with you.you havent said anything new. but why arent debt ridden clubs like man united and aberdeen and liverpool not trying to clear debt by simple sponsership?deary me. like it or not football also has a business side, and this is a business decision. plain and simple. thats all i'm asking. im not solving the huge influence money has in football. thats for blatter, not bluto. Link to comment
Aberdeen_Fan Posted November 11, 2011 Share Posted November 11, 2011 Some of these names are just fuckin stupid.Surely they would have thought it would make them look daft!! Link to comment
Nespa Posted November 11, 2011 Share Posted November 11, 2011 If it get us ten millon quid over 5 years they could call Pittodrie the Bin Laden Hitler stadium for all I care! who cares what the stadium is called! Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted November 11, 2011 Share Posted November 11, 2011 If it get us ten millon quid over 5 years they could call Pittodrie the Bin Laden Hitler stadium for all I care! who cares what the stadium is called! double standards nespa. happy to seel the strip down the river but dont whatever you do sell the naming rights to the stadium. sad that football has come to this. but if you sell your soul buying shit overpriced foreigner and get into massive debt then what do you expect. Link to comment
OddJob Posted November 12, 2011 Share Posted November 12, 2011 If it get us ten millon quid over 5 years they could call Pittodrie the Bin Laden Hitler stadium for all I care! who cares what the stadium is called! Link to comment