Dynamo Posted February 22, 2012 Share Posted February 22, 2012 If I got a vote I'd vote for change. Place is never used. Link to comment
terenceandphilip Posted February 22, 2012 Share Posted February 22, 2012 I voted for change. Stuff these frikkin NO people who pop up everywhere. NO to the bypass, NO to UTG, NO to the new Pittodrie, NO to Trump. white settlers and "socialists" - couldnt' sum it up better myself. If you are FOR this development, you MUST vote. Guarantee every small minded NO person will vote NO, but a lot of YES people can't be bothered to register their vote. NO people always love their say. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 What an arse. http://local.stv.tv/aberdeen/news/298752-police-probe-into-aberdeen-city-gardens-voting-fraud/ A man has been charged over claims that a resident taking part in Aberdeen's Union Terrace Gardens referendum voted multiple times. A complaint was made to Grampian Police after a comment was posted on a social networking site by someone claiming to have voted for all of his neighbours. The message claimed that a person had voted for all of his neighbours, and had extra voting packs at his disposal. Grampian Police have confirmed that a 31-year-old man has been charged in connection with the incident. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 What a knob. Interesting to hear only 40,000 people have voted so far. I have a feeling this will be a 'NO' because as T&P mentioned the 'YES' people tend to rest on their laurels for this things like this. Come on folks, if you want change, get that YES vote in Link to comment
OddJob Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 What a knob. Interesting to hear only 40,000 people have voted so far. I have a feeling this will be a 'NO' because as T&P mentioned the 'YES' people tend to rest on their laurels for this things like this. Come on folks, if you want change, get that YES vote in Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 Vote NO. Its the Aiberdeen way. Link to comment
dervish Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 Should have been a "da ken" option. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted February 24, 2012 Share Posted February 24, 2012 What a knob. Interesting to hear only 40,000 people have voted so far. I have a feeling this will be a 'NO' because as T&P mentioned the 'YES' people tend to rest on their laurels for this things like this. Come on folks, if you want change, get that YES vote in With a week still to go, that's surely an astonishing number? Pop of Aberdeen city is a little under 200k isn;t it? Take 40k out for underagers (an entirely arbitary figure cos I hinna a clue) , and you're looking at a 25% turnout already. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted February 27, 2012 Share Posted February 27, 2012 At least as entitled? So someone not from the area who lives in Aberdeen would possibly be entitled to having more say in local affairs than someone from the area living in Aberdeen? Astonishing. You live in Aberdeen now do you? This post was clearly made on the understanding that you did not. The point still stands though - just because someone is English does not mean they should be denied an opinion- they pay their council taxes the same as the rest of us. I am perfectly aware of the context, hence why I was ridiculing your incorrect analogy. Griffin would claim someone wasn't British whose skin was the wrong colour regardless of them having been born in Britain - your point; which is NOT the same as someone not born in Aberdeen trying to claim they were Aberdonian. So please don't try rubbishing someones opinion on the back some pathetic pseudo racist pish. Clearly, you didn't understand my point at all. Or you wouldn't have posted this pish. Xenophobia and Racism are easy bedfellows was actually my point. Care to rubbish that? Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted February 27, 2012 Share Posted February 27, 2012 Am I the only one that is really bored of this chat now? It's becoming ridiculous - either do something or don't, stop talking about it - and get on with the job in hand. If not, then stop the talk and 'vote YES' and all this other pish. Completely oblivious to the referendum then? --- On a seperate note, I feel disenfranchised. I moved house and due to the necessary changes to the electoral roll (completed in Jan) am denied a vote. They even had time to write a letter saying I'd be denied a vote, but insufficient time to post out a card. How does that work? Fascists. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted February 27, 2012 Share Posted February 27, 2012 The only reason they can't get on with this and other things like the bypass because a few hippies keep worrying about the fucking wildlife and other such nonsense Link to comment
OddJob Posted February 27, 2012 Share Posted February 27, 2012 The only reason they can't get on with this and other things like the bypass because a few hippies keep worrying about the fucking wildlife and other such nonsense Exactly Link to comment
fatshaft Posted February 27, 2012 Share Posted February 27, 2012 You live in Aberdeen now do you? This post was clearly made on the understanding that you did not. The point still stands though - just because someone is English does not mean they should be denied an opinion- they pay their council taxes the same as the rest of us. Clearly, you didn't understand my point at all. Or you wouldn't have posted this pish. Xenophobia and Racism are easy bedfellows was actually my point. Care to rubbish that?Yes I will rubbish that, you made a clear implication of racism behind the opinion aired, your analogy was highly flawed in that respect. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted February 27, 2012 Share Posted February 27, 2012 Yes I will rubbish that, you made a clear implication of racism behind the opinion aired, your analogy was highly flawed in that respect. No, I implied xenophobia, not racism. I believe the term "settler" to be xenophobic in the context it was used. Particularly as I have known people have "white settler" daubed on their house, along with a brick through their window. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted February 27, 2012 Share Posted February 27, 2012 No, I implied xenophobia, not racism. I believe the term "settler" to be xenophobic in the context it was used. Particularly as I have known people have "white settler" daubed on their house, along with a brick through their window.You clearly implied racisim, when citing the 'nick griffin Britishness' rule. Anyway, I hinna voted yet, fit wye you voting, cos fitiver it is, I'll vote the other way. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted February 27, 2012 Share Posted February 27, 2012 You clearly implied racisim, when citing the 'nick griffin Britishness' rule. Anyway, I hinna voted yet, fit wye you voting, cos fitiver it is, I'll vote the other way. That was why I asked if you were capable of retaining more than one post in your head. Clearly, this is an issue for you judging by your argument. And I'm not voting as I have been disenfranchised for the apparent crime of moving from one part of the city to another. And they worry about giving criminals the vote. But I'm sure you know which I way I'd be voting.... Link to comment
fatshaft Posted February 28, 2012 Share Posted February 28, 2012 That was why I asked if you were capable of retaining more than one post in your head. Clearly, this is an issue for you judging by your argument. And I'm not voting as I have been disenfranchised for the apparent crime of moving from one part of the city to another. And they worry about giving criminals the vote. But I'm sure you know which I way I'd be voting.... Oh, you're retracting that now are you? Anyway, I'm voting NO, we canna afford this. I hate to vote no cos apparently the Green party are against it too, and they are wrong about fucking everything, but sest lavvy. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted February 28, 2012 Share Posted February 28, 2012 Oh, you're retracting that now are you? Anyway, I'm voting NO, we canna afford this. I hate to vote no cos apparently the Green party are against it too, and they are wrong about fucking everything, but sest lavvy. Good man. I count that as a 2 vote swing as I had you down as a yes. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted February 28, 2012 Share Posted February 28, 2012 Good man. I count that as a 2 vote swing as I had you down as a yes.I was a yes, then I went to the exhibition, and I was undecided, then I spoke to the mannie outisde in the flasher's overcoat, he talked a good game, I was a wavering no, then I started to wander back to a Yes, then the wank committe decided to go against the people's vote for the winter gairden, becasue we are nae clever enough to decide for ourselves fits bonny, and decided on the granite mess, so I was a wavering no, then Woodie decided to tell us all that if we voted no, he'd tak a his money, that he's made out of Aiberdeen, and give it to Africans, and we'd see fuck all. At that point I was virtually a nailed on No. However what seals it, is that we canna afford it, and apparently if new business disna say they come to Aberdeen becasue of the gardens, we dinna get all the funding we're promised. Now fa the fuck wil lbe setting up in Aberdeen cos they've plunted a new garden? It's pish, vote NO yo! Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted February 28, 2012 Share Posted February 28, 2012 I was a yes, then I went to the exhibition, and I was undecided, then I spoke to the mannie outisde in the flasher's overcoat, he talked a good game, I was a wavering no, then I started to wander back to a Yes, then the wank committe decided to go against the people's vote for the winter gairden, becasue we are nae clever enough to decide for ourselves fits bonny, and decided on the granite mess, so I was a wavering no, then Woodie decided to tell us all that if we voted no, he'd tak a his money, that he's made out of Aiberdeen, and give it to Africans, and we'd see fuck all. At that point I was virtually a nailed on No. However what seals it, is that we canna afford it, and apparently if new business disna say they come to Aberdeen becasue of the gardens, we dinna get all the funding we're promised. Now fa the fuck wil lbe setting up in Aberdeen cos they've plunted a new garden? It's pish, vote NO yo! I was more of a no, then a definitely not, then a no chance then a fuck no. Link to comment
woohoo Posted February 28, 2012 Share Posted February 28, 2012 The woohoo spent an hour last night writing a fucking essay of a response. I'd spent a lot of the night reading about how TIF schemes (I'd only skimmed the research before) are dodgy as fuck and rarely work (even the 'successes' are fucked situations). I don't see how it can be applied to Aberdeen successfully. Seriously, it would have been one of the longest posts in history. Then my laptop overheated and shut down when I was on my final line. :laughing: Probably just as well as no cunt would have read it anyway. But, I'd urge anyone who is still on the fence to read up on TIFs. This is going to be our main method of funding and the figures simply don't add up. Basically, vote No. The design looks shite now, it'll look shiter in 10 years. We can't afford it now, never mind the upkeep after 10 years. The Gardens as they are (or were but a few short years ago) are a thing of beauty and our jewel in the crown. And for the record... unequivocally in favour of both Trump and the bypass. "It's not blind opposition to progress, but opposition to blind progress" Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 28, 2012 Share Posted February 28, 2012 The woohoo spent an hour last night writing a fucking essay of a response. I'd spent a lot of the night reading about how TIF schemes (I'd only skimmed the research before) are dodgy as fuck and rarely work (even the 'successes' are fucked situations). I don't see how it can be applied to Aberdeen successfully. Seriously, it would have been one of the longest posts in history. Then my laptop overheated and shut down when I was on my final line. :laughing: Probably just as well as no cunt would have read it anyway. But, I'd urge anyone who is still on the fence to read up on TIFs. This is going to be our main method of funding and the figures simply don't add up. Basically, vote No. The design looks shite now, it'll look shiter in 10 years. We can't afford it now, never mind the upkeep after 10 years. The Gardens as they are (or were but a few short years ago) are a thing of beauty and our jewel in the crown. And for the record... unequivocally in favour of both Trump and the bypass. "It's not blind opposition to progress, but opposition to blind progress" We can't afford not to build it, Aberdeen city centre is dying. Link to comment
daytripping Posted February 28, 2012 Share Posted February 28, 2012 btw Woohoo, when were you last in the gardens? Jewel in the crown my arse, empty dark hole with a dualer and a railway line going through it. Link to comment
woohoo Posted February 29, 2012 Share Posted February 29, 2012 Whilst Jewel in the Crown is a subjective opinion, but one the woohoo firmly believes, your description of the above is laughable. And I was there last month. When it's sunny I'm in there often. If it's still there I'll use it again this Summer and if it's given the maintenence it needs I'll use it even more. The point of 'use' is completely over estimated though. These new plans will get just as little use in the Winter months (sure, folk will use it to get to Rev from the Monkey House two minutes quicker than they otherwise would, but actually utilising them - don't see it) as the Gardens do currently. Do you agree that the new Marschal College looks absolutely splendid? For my money, it's the greatest building in Scotland and an absolute credit to the city. How often have you been in it?? I walk past both the Maschal College and I appreciate it. When the Gardens weren't as downtrodden as they are (you only have to go back 5 years ago), I appreciated it just by walking past. It has worth just by being there. You don't need to go down there and smell the flowers every fortnight to say its worth keeping. And there is the small matter of our council being Link to comment
woohoo Posted February 29, 2012 Share Posted February 29, 2012 Can't find any 'quality' pictures since it's been done up, but I think its magnificent. Link to comment
Foster14 Posted February 29, 2012 Share Posted February 29, 2012 Walk past Marischal College every day and it is the most aesthetically pleasing part of the walk. As for Union Terrace Gardens. I don't get what the plans will achieve really. The City Centre could definitely do with some sprucing up, but I really don't get what it will achieve in terms of attracting additonal people or business to the city. The costs v benefits don't seem to stack up to me... Link to comment