dj_bollocks Posted February 4, 2012 Share Posted February 4, 2012 Pretty obvious really - can't believe it'll have been 10 years since the 20th.... What do you think should be doing as we approach the 30th anniversary of the ECWC and Super Cup win - nothing ? Something special ? I would like the club to get some decent strips done - proper home and away commemorative strips ( not the shit they churned out after 20 years), and I'd love next years strips to be intentionally retro too. As for games - well as great as it would be to have The Galacticos come to Pittodrie we'd probably end up further in debt doing so - what are Hamburg doing these days ? Link to comment
granite sheep Posted February 4, 2012 Share Posted February 4, 2012 Get Adidas to release commemorative 30th anniversary replica shirts as Adidas Originals. In lieu of Real Madrid comin for a friendly, yes by all means get Hamburg in. If the start of the 2013 season co-incides wi the new stadium opening, why not have a friendly tournament featuring several top clubs, british and european, all screened on Sky or ESPN? Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 4, 2012 Share Posted February 4, 2012 What do you think should be doing as we approach the 30th anniversary of the ECWC and Super Cup win - nothing ? Something special ? Win the league cup.Then the league.Then the Scottish Cup. No point doing anything else. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted February 4, 2012 Share Posted February 4, 2012 Pretty obvious really - can't believe it'll have been 10 years since the 20th.... What do you think should be doing as we approach the 30th anniversary of the ECWC and Super Cup win - nothing ? Something special ? I would like the club to get some decent strips done - proper home and away commemorative strips ( not the shit they churned out after 20 years), and I'd love next years strips to be intentionally retro too. As for games - well as great as it would be to have The Galacticos come to Pittodrie we'd probably end up further in debt doing so - what are Hamburg doing these days ? win some silverware Link to comment
RUL Posted February 4, 2012 Share Posted February 4, 2012 Get Adidas to release commemorative 30th anniversary replica shirts as Adidas Originals. In lieu of Real Madrid comin for a friendly, yes by all means get Hamburg in. If the start of the 2013 season co-incides wi the new stadium opening, why not have a friendly tournament featuring several top clubs, british and european, all screened on Sky or ESPN? Celebrate a true football occasion by selling out to modern football, nice Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 4, 2012 Share Posted February 4, 2012 Fail to beat a team of part timers in a half empty stadium. Link to comment
Ke1t Posted February 4, 2012 Share Posted February 4, 2012 Fail to beat a team of part timers lower league journeymen* in a half empty stadium. Link to comment
Supersub Posted February 4, 2012 Share Posted February 4, 2012 win some silverware [sarcasim] your expectations as an Aberdeen supporter are set way too high[/sarcasim] Link to comment
robbo Posted February 4, 2012 Share Posted February 4, 2012 why a big deal for 30th? surely 25 was the big one then next is 50. 30 just seems like is clamouring to relive the glory days, something which we are frequently accused of doing at the best of times. Link to comment
RUL Posted February 4, 2012 Share Posted February 4, 2012 Fuck all else worth celebrating. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted February 4, 2012 Share Posted February 4, 2012 Nothing. We'll look worse than the fucking Tim bastards regurgitating 1967 with any given excuse. Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 5, 2012 Share Posted February 5, 2012 Aye should be celebrating a scottish cup win by then. Link to comment
GK55 Posted February 5, 2012 Share Posted February 5, 2012 Nothing. Time to move on. this Link to comment
Oklahoma 1903 Posted February 5, 2012 Share Posted February 5, 2012 A cup competition that no longer exists and hasn't done since the turn of the century. What's to celebrate?I for one had the time of my life during that era, but it's in the past, it's gone never to return. Link to comment
Henry Posted February 5, 2012 Share Posted February 5, 2012 I thought the club said they weren't doing anything more after the 25th anniversary? Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 5, 2012 Share Posted February 5, 2012 As others said, it's time to keep moving away from it. I'd imagine the players from then could do without been trotted out on display again. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted February 6, 2012 Share Posted February 6, 2012 Don't think we need to do anything. As amazing as I'm sure it was at the time, it's been done to death. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 6, 2012 Share Posted February 6, 2012 Don't think we need to do anything. As amazing as I'm sure it was at the time, Oh you've nae idea how amazing it was. I love the fact I was there with my old man and my older brother but my younger brother didn't go as he was deemed to be too young by my dad. Never tire of letting him know he missed it. We were all booked up for the following years final as well but some skull duggery by Porto put paid to his chances of seeing it again. At the time that experience seemed like it was one we'd repeat again and again. Link to comment
Karl Fletcher Posted February 6, 2012 Share Posted February 6, 2012 Lucky you Boof, I was born in '87 Link to comment
The Boofon Posted February 6, 2012 Share Posted February 6, 2012 Lucky you Boof, I was born in '87 I think you'll look back in a few years and find you're the lucky one being born in '87. Still just a bairn. I'm getting too old. Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 6, 2012 Share Posted February 6, 2012 Aye shame we didnt have a proper manager for that European adventure. Link to comment
davieb Posted February 6, 2012 Share Posted February 6, 2012 To be honest I hated the tims for doing this, any excuse to mention 1967, 30 years is not really an anniversary of any signifance in my book Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted February 6, 2012 Share Posted February 6, 2012 i know how you feel, thats how i felt in the Vicente Calderon... if thats how you felt that day then you would probably sex piss your pants if you ever got to witness us win a trophy Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted February 6, 2012 Share Posted February 6, 2012 Playing, and beating, Real Madrid in the Champions League or Uefa Cup would be a great way of celebrating the 30th Anniversary. Link to comment
tup Posted February 6, 2012 Share Posted February 6, 2012 Same as an anniversary with the wife, do fuck all, I hate big nostalgic love-ins. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted February 6, 2012 Share Posted February 6, 2012 Same as an anniversary with the wife, do fuck all, I hate big nostalgic love-ins. and thats why you're getting http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SzZzGxReXmo on topic nowt Link to comment
THE GRIM SHEEPER Posted February 13, 2012 Share Posted February 13, 2012 why a big deal for 30th? surely 25 was the big one then next is 50. 30 just seems like is clamouring to relive the glory days, something which we are frequently accused of doing at the best of times.This Link to comment