Guest Posted February 13, 2012 Share Posted February 13, 2012 So we signed 3 players during the transfer window... 2 of which were already injured and one who lasted a couple of days. We have, as far as I know, the following injury list: AndersonRaeUchechiPawlettClarkMilsomFollyRobertsonOsbourne Have I missed anyone out? I know we have a history of picking up injuries, but this is getting out of hand. It surely has something to do with our training routine/area we train on. Link to comment
tup Posted February 13, 2012 Share Posted February 13, 2012 Anderson - already injured on arrival.Rae - '' ''Uchechi - '' ''Pawlett - Jamie Smith type, brittle.Clark - injured vs QoS in game.Milsom - '' '' hun '' ''.Folly - non footballing diseaseRobertson - injured vs Hibs in game.Osbourne - possibly. So the answer is no, it has nothing to do with training. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 13, 2012 Share Posted February 13, 2012 Apparently Christina has a 10" tear in his hamstring and a broken nail. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 13, 2012 Share Posted February 13, 2012 Apparently Christina has a 10" tear in his hamstring and a broken nail. That's his fanny Link to comment
Sandafc Posted February 13, 2012 Share Posted February 13, 2012 Anderson - already injured on arrival.Rae - '' ''Uchechi - '' ''Pawlett - Jamie Smith type, brittle.Clark - injured vs QoS in game.Milsom - '' '' hun '' ''.Folly - non footballing diseaseRobertson - injured vs Hibs in game.Osbourne - possibly. So the answer is no, it has nothing to do with training. Uchechi wasnt injured when signed, was injured in training. Only one likely to be fit tomorrow. Link to comment
Guest Posted February 13, 2012 Share Posted February 13, 2012 Anderson - already injured on arrival.Rae - '' ''Uchechi - '' ''Pawlett - Jamie Smith type, brittle.Clark - injured vs QoS in game.Milsom - '' '' hun '' ''.Folly - non footballing diseaseRobertson - injured vs Hibs in game.Osbourne - possibly. So the answer is no, it has nothing to do with training. So other than Anderson and Rae, all injuries sustained at AFC. Add in the long history of mostly hamstring injuries our players develop, I'd say we are looking at something a bit more deep rooted. Link to comment
tup Posted February 13, 2012 Share Posted February 13, 2012 So other than Anderson and Rae, all injuries sustained at AFC. Add in the long history of mostly hamstring injuries our players develop, I'd say we are looking at something a bit more deep rooted. Could just be bad luck, and I don't think Folly is injured in the footballing sense. Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 13, 2012 Share Posted February 13, 2012 Last year was similar seems to be a constant problem for us Link to comment
Jack_Glass Posted February 13, 2012 Share Posted February 13, 2012 I think when you shop for decent players on low wages, like we do, we'll always get players who carry an injury history risk. It gives the club a chance to develop youth so it's not always negative, although for consistency it's really frustrating. I'd rather have our probs than Rangers :-D Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 13, 2012 Share Posted February 13, 2012 So other than Anderson and Rae, all injuries sustained at AFC. Add in the long history of mostly hamstring injuries our players develop, I'd say we are looking at something a bit more deep rooted. God knows what goes on during training....the almost constant reporting of someone or other being out due to "an injury picked up during training"...is more than just coincidence. I'd wager the techniques employed by Broon and Knox would have Stuart Hogg wincing at their antiquity. Broon...nice old man that he is...Is probably not best versed with anything other than 60's regimes...which have long since been discovered to be harmful rather than beneficial to the modern player Link to comment
zander Posted February 13, 2012 Share Posted February 13, 2012 God knows what goes on during training....the almost constant reporting of someone or other being out due to "an injury picked up during training"...is more than just coincidence. I'd wager the techniques employed by Broon and Knox would have Stuart Hogg wincing at their antiquity. Broon...nice old man that he is...Is probably not best versed with anything other than 60's regimes...which have long since been discovered to be harmful rather than beneficial to the modern player We just suddenly started getting injuries like? Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 13, 2012 Share Posted February 13, 2012 We just suddenly started getting injuries like? I can't remember a time when we had as many...particularly hamstring injuries...especially picked up during training...The wee Nigerian fellow got injured in his first training session!! Link to comment
zander Posted February 13, 2012 Share Posted February 13, 2012 I can't remember a time when we had as many...particularly hamstring injuries...especially picked up during training...The wee Nigerian fellow got injured in his first training session!! I remember one night at Parkhead we fielded an almost under 19s side. Link to comment
florin_raducioiu Posted February 13, 2012 Share Posted February 13, 2012 I remember one night at Parkhead we fielded an almost under 19s side. Was that not the 2-1 Zdrilic and Prunty game? Link to comment
Guest Posted February 19, 2012 Share Posted February 19, 2012 And yet another player picks up a hamstring injury. Seriously, there needs to be an inquest into why this is such a regular occurrence. Link to comment
Dandie1992 Posted February 19, 2012 Share Posted February 19, 2012 The reasons are un-savory in nature beyond coincidence. In worsening order: 1) They're warming up/down improperly (ie. trying to stretch cold muscles with static stretching, being too dynamic in cool down stretches.) 2) They're not warming up or down at all 3) Previous major hamstring tears leave the hamstrings compromised. Meaning that almost annual hamstring problems arise and in general the hamstring is never just dandy after it. In laymans terms.... injury prone 3) Poor physical condition and not a high enough level of fitness, flexibility and strength leading to weak muscles being exerted beyond their tolerance limit. Link to comment
dons22 Posted February 19, 2012 Share Posted February 19, 2012 The reasons are un-savory in nature beyond coincidence. In worsening order: 1) They're warming up/down improperly (ie. trying to stretch cold muscles with static stretching, being too dynamic in cool down stretches.) 2) They're not warming up or down at all 3) Previous major hamstring tears leave the hamstrings compromised. Meaning that almost annual hamstring problems arise and in general the hamstring is never just dandy after it. In laymans terms.... injury prone 3) Poor physical condition and not a high enough level of fitness, flexibility and strength leading to weak muscles being exerted beyond their tolerance limit. Sorry if this has been said but broon has went on record and said its because we train on 4 different surfaces and the bloody beach so train on 1 2 max problemo solved dunce heed!! Link to comment
K-9 Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Sorry if this has been said but broon has went on record and said its because we train on 4 different surfaces and the bloody beach so train on 1 2 max problemo solved dunce heed!!5 different surfaces he says - seems pretty obvious that is a huge problem!! Link to comment
Dandie1992 Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17105407 Christ sake. ^^ Have we ever had a period in the last 3 years when at least 4-6+ out of 24-30 (around 20-30%!) players in our first team squad weren't injured? There has been some instances of young boys who normally wouldn't be there filling the bench because of injuries. Is the rest of the SPL similar in the amount of injuries at any one time? Are we not doing something to address this? Splash out a bit on some specialists or give the coaches some kind of briefing to address these injuries? As someone in reply to my earlier post said 'we play on 4-5 different surfaces... thats where all the injuries come from'. - Management Team. Well... if you know that this is the reason we have a significant proportion out at any one time... Why the fuck nae do something about it? i.e. stop playing on so many surfaces, get someone/some knowledge in to address the issue. You can't argue that having all these injuries is not affecting the team... Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/17105407 Christ sake. ^^ Have we ever had a period in the last 3 years when at least 4-6+ out of 24-30 (around 20-30%!) players in our first team squad weren't injured? There has been some instances of young boys who normally wouldn't be there filling the bench because of injuries. Is the rest of the SPL similar in the amount of injuries at any one time? Are we not doing something to address this? Splash out a bit on some specialists or give the coaches some kind of briefing to address these injuries? As someone in reply to my earlier post said 'we play on 4-5 different surfaces... thats where all the injuries come from'. - Management Team. Well... if you know that this is the reason we have a significant proportion out at any one time... Why the fuck nae do something about it? i.e. stop playing on so many surfaces, get someone/some knowledge in to address the issue. You can't argue that having all these injuries is not affecting the team... The Management team should be pushing The Board to release funds to get someone who has half a clue about training regimes in the 21st century...not relying on their own old National Service work-outs...which clearly are out-dated and it would seem damaging. Link to comment
Dandie1992 Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 The Management team should be pushing The Board to release funds to get someone who has half a clue about training regimes in the 21st century...not relying on their own old National Service work-outs...which clearly are out-dated and it would seem damaging. Is whats needed but will never happen. Management team wouldn't admit they were outdated. "Eh, Stewarty boy, ehm... well me and Archie and the other coaches dinna really know anything about modern training regimes, can you give us some money so we can bring in some more people who actually know fit their doing? Cus us lot just get the boys injured eh?" Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 The Management team should be pushing The Board to release funds to get someone who has half a clue about training regimes in the 21st century...not relying on their own old National Service work-outs...which clearly are out-dated and it would seem damaging. Is whats needed but will never happen. Management team wouldn't admit they were outdated. "Eh, Stewarty boy, ehm... well me and Archie and the other coaches dinna really know anything about modern training regimes, can you give us some money so we can bring in some more people who actually know fit their doing? Cus us lot just get the boys injured eh?"Do you have any inside knowledge of the training regimes that are currently being used at pittodrie or is this just wild brown bashing speculation being presented as fact? EDIT: Oh and dandie 1992 have a look in the broon troosers thread in the entertainment section. Danke. Link to comment
RUL Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 I hate when fans start guessing about stuff like this, who the fuck here really knows about training methods and whether or not AFC's current methods are outdated? Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Thought Pawlett was still injured?if so, how comes has he been given an U21 call up? Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 I hate when fans start guessing about stuff like this, who the fuck here really knows about training methods and whether or not AFC's current methods are outdated? It's an educated guess though RUL...with Hughes now being hit by what looks like a hamstring...what else can it be?? Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 I hate when fans start guessing about stuff like this, who the fuck here really knows about training methods and whether or not AFC's current methods are outdated? May not be outdated but there's certainly something wrong & that cannot JUST be unlucky circumstances The club have admitted themselves that SOMETHING'S not right somewhere & that they're trying to find the root cause of so many hamstring injuries. Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 It's an educated guess though RUL...with Hughes now being hit by what looks like a hamstring...what else can it be??It is still a guess though. You are trying to put it across as if you are in the know. For all we know Broon may be putting them through the most up to date and cutting edge training techniques known to man. It is this that is causing our bad run of injuries as all our players are used to running up and doon the broadhill and their bodies can't handle this sudden injection of scientific training after just running about like fuds for the rest of their career. That is of course unconfirmed and unsubstantiated crap though. Link to comment
paddy Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Im assuming its because we have no proper training facilities, combined with the cold weather, leads to all these injuries. Its pathetic for a team like aberdeen not to have a decent dedicated training complex. Are we not getting something with Cove Rangers soon? Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Im assuming its because we have no proper training facilities, combined with the cold weather, leads to all these injuries. Its pathetic for a team like aberdeen not to have a decent dedicated training complex. Are we not getting something with Cove Rangers soon?I thought that had been knocked back? We may be able to buy murray park off of the other Rangers though for a good price in not very long! Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 It is still a guess though. You are trying to put it across as if you are in the know. For all we know Broon may be putting them through the most up to date and cutting edge training techniques known to man. It is this that is causing our bad run of injuries as all our players are used to running up and doon the broadhill and their bodies can't handle this sudden injection of scientific training after just running about like fuds for the rest of their career. That is of course unconfirmed and unsubstantiated crap though. I would have thought the inclusion of a statement like "relying on their own old National Service work-outs"...would have clearly put any thoughts that I was trying to pass off my opinion as fact to bed... Link to comment