Liam Posted February 19, 2012 Share Posted February 19, 2012 what a poor game. Fyvie was absolutely terrible. What does it take for this boy nae to be on the pitch? Was like playing with a man less at times Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted February 19, 2012 Share Posted February 19, 2012 Today just perfectly summed up why Brown will NEVER make Aberdeen a top 3 or 4 side. EVERThe man is just not capable of setting up a team to take the game to the opposition.No width.No creativity.He has stabilised us after the debacle that was McGhee, but I cant see us ever making a European slot under him - too many drawsWe are harder to beat but are fucking awful to watchToday (along with most of the games at Pittodrie this season) should get football closed down.Why the fuck would Sky want to invest in that is beyond meDire. pish. awful. waste of money. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted February 19, 2012 Share Posted February 19, 2012 I reckon managers have to take some responsibility here, constantly play to avoid losing Agreed...... and our manager is possibly the worst culprit. How many good entertaining games have you seen this season?The man has no clue how to set a team up to attack Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 19, 2012 Share Posted February 19, 2012 That game was utter, utter garbage.And I was freezing! Link to comment
V for Vendetta Posted February 19, 2012 Share Posted February 19, 2012 I reckon managers have to take some responsibility here, constantly play to avoid losing Most definately. As was mentioned on the motherwell QF thread the fact that they seem to play with less inhibitions and go for a result is the main difference between them and us, dundee utd, kille etc. Brown needs to start to build the confidence in the team going forward. Think where we would be in the table now if we only had the mentality and composure to finish off some of these games we control possession yet can barely pass the ball. Even extra goal in a couple of games would have us looking much better in the table. what a poor game. Fyvie was absolutely terrible. What does it take for this boy nae to be on the pitch? Was like playing with a man less at times Did he play much in the middle? I think if we can't get him on the pitch centrally we should just leave him on the bench for the next 4 or 5 weeks. He needs a "mental rest". Given we just create fuck all going forward every week you'd think we would have set pieces and particularly corners drilled endlessly until we can deliver the perfect ball exactly where it is expected and where we aim to have a spare man attacking the ball. Instead it appears we just look to knock them into the area and hope someone happens to make that run/attack that area. With Brown constantly mentioning the famous win on corners maybe he should actually get this sorted and perhaps we'd actually win some games from these corners. Link to comment
robbojunior Posted February 19, 2012 Share Posted February 19, 2012 Fyvie was indeed pish but why is he playing wide? How to destroy the confidence of a talented loon in one easy step. And who said Jack was poor?? Go easy on the drugs min.He was our best player. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted February 19, 2012 Share Posted February 19, 2012 Most definately. As was mentioned on the motherwell QF thread the fact that they seem to play with less inhibitions and go for a result is the main difference between them and us, dundee utd, kille etc. Brown needs to start to build the confidence in the team going forward. Think where we would be in the table now if we only had the mentality and composure to finish off some of these games we control possession yet can barely pass the ball. Even extra goal in a couple of games would have us looking much better in the table. Did he play much in the middle? I think if we can't get him on the pitch centrally we should just leave him on the bench for the next 4 or 5 weeks. He needs a "mental rest". Given we just create fuck all going forward every week you'd think we would have set pieces and particularly corners drilled endlessly until we can deliver the perfect ball exactly where it is expected and where we aim to have a spare man attacking the ball. Instead it appears we just look to knock them into the area and hope someone happens to make that run/attack that area. With Brown constantly mentioning the famous win on corners maybe he should actually get this sorted and perhaps we'd actually win some games from these corners. "Brown needs to start to build the confidence in the team going forward"He's never done that in 40 years of management - do you really think he'll start in his 8th decade?He's a decent, but limited manager. Where we are (hovering near the top 6) is as good as it will get under him as we will draw too many games.We need a younger, more positive manager.Taxi to Dingwall Link to comment
strachanmcgheegoal Posted February 19, 2012 Share Posted February 19, 2012 I agree but have you looked at the County's last 6 or 7 results. I thought you didn't want draws. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted February 19, 2012 Share Posted February 19, 2012 I agree but have you looked at the County's last 6 or 7 results. I thought you didn't want draws. OK, doesn't necessarily have to be Adams.But he does have a good record.County are usually there or thereaboutsI'm seriously re-considering whether to renew my season ticket next year.I reckon I've enjoyed about 2 matches at Pittodrie all season.Just lately it's been horrific viewing.And it wont get any better under Brown.What you see just now is exactly what you'll get. Link to comment
tup Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Sunday lunchtime kick-offs are always shit games of football. It's to do with the metabolism of the body and mind, they're not fully awake by then. Ergo, the game will be shit. Only the shrewd of perception can see this. The hysterical among us would have you believe it's Aberdeen that are shit and take no account of the foibles of the human body, which affects both teams. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Sunday lunchtime kick-offs are always shit games of football. It's to do with the metabolism of the body and mind, they're not fully awake by then. Ergo, the game will be shit. Only the shrewd of perception can see this. The hysterical among us would have you believe it's Aberdeen that are shit and take no account of the foibles of the human body, which affects both teams.Every week, after yet another insipid performance, you find a different way of defending the indefensable. My eyes were bleeding watching that "performance". Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Every week, after yet another insipid performance, you find a different way of defending the indefensable. I was literally just about to about to post something similar, until reading your post! You've got to laugh really! Tup, you should go into politics! Link to comment
phoenix Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Sunday lunchtime kick-offs are always shit games of football. It's to do with the metabolism of the body and mind, they're not fully awake by then. Ergo, the game will be shit. Only the shrewd of perception can see this. The hysterical among us would have you believe it's Aberdeen that are shit and take no account of the foibles of the human body, which affects both teams. Posted a positive response to this already because tup's nae wrang but we should have ways of psychin' oorsels up for these early games , the players might as well have been playing in pyjamas....unfortunately my initial response disappeared into the dark matter of the information superhighway.....forever and it was such an intelligent response too. I hid a grand day oot , the company had gifted me a table for 12 in the RDS as a retirement gift - Buck's Fizz and bacon rolls at 11.15am with a two course meal after the game and red wine thro'out( except halftime when we most need it ). One lady I invited( a Geordie who has never been to St.James' ) was at her first football match.....and enjoyed it ! Obviously nae a cono soor yet then. CaddyCarHandle was there came oo'er tae oor table tae say hello and I was able tae introduce him tae DobsRed(Dublin Or Bust ). Given the mediocrity of the game , the atmosphere in the function suite was magic , the place was jumpin' until the time they asked us to leave at 4.30pm ish. Plenty of 'faces' there and I got a retirement shot of me wi' ma erm 'roon Russell and later Andy Considine. Recommended as a retirement option , the football , depending on the management's game plan , may come as an added bonus. Link to comment
tup Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Every week, after yet another insipid performance, you find a different way of defending the indefensable. My eyes were bleeding watching that "performance". Indefensible Link to comment
RUL Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Indefensible At last you see what we see Link to comment
K-9 Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Indefensible Poor performances happen and points get dropped. Shit happens. But what is completely indefensible is playing one up front at home to St Johnstone who are going 2 up top. Especially when you have three strikers on the bench that you have signed. Link to comment
tup Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 But if we'd won 1-0 nobody would have been complaining. We looked the far likelier team to win the game. We never won, although we should have, Fyvie should have buried that header in the first half, and some of his general play was poor, we broke quickly in the first half and he simply held the ball, far too long, when realeasing a team mate might have seen a goal as there were two or three others breaking forward. I put this down to the slow metabolism, I challenge any of you to play football at Sunday lunchtime and not feel lethargic in the build up, 3pm you're raring to go, not at 12.45 though. Link to comment
tup Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 You're blaming the time of kick off for the result? This is entertaining to read. No, I'm blaming it for the shit game of football if you read and interpret it correctly. This applies to both teams and has no bearing on the result. Link to comment
barassie_afc Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 But if we'd won 1-0 nobody would have been complaining. We looked the far likelier team to win the game. We never won, although we should have, Fyvie should have buried that header in the first half, and some of his general play was poor, we broke quickly in the first half and he simply held the ball, far too long, when realeasing a team mate might have seen a goal as there were two or three others breaking forward. I put this down to the slow metabolism, I challenge any of you to play football at Sunday lunchtime and not feel lethargic in the build up, 3pm you're raring to go, not at 12.45 though. The flannel gets better and better Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Tups right lunch time KOs are usually shit. However, our 3pm kick offs are shit too. Link to comment
tup Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 The flannel gets better and better Do you have an alternative theory? If not, you're getting a red card. Link to comment
phoenix Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 But if we'd won 1-0 nobody would have been complaining. We looked the far likelier team to win the game. We never won, although we should have, Fyvie should have buried that header in the first half, and some of his general play was poor, we broke quickly in the first half and he simply held the ball, far too long, when realeasing a team mate might have seen a goal as there were two or three others breaking forward. I put this down to the slow metabolism, I challenge any of you to play football at Sunday lunchtime and not feel lethargic in the build up, 3pm you're raring to go, not at 12.45 though. Hemmin! Read my lips! Slow metabolism? Mebbe try rising earlier. Oh aye.....and mind yer diet - the appliance of science. Ken fit? We're jist nae radical enough. Link to comment
tup Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Hemmin! Read my lips! Slow metabolism? Mebbe try rising earlier. My neighbours would maybe have an issue with me doing my mandatory 50 star jumps upon emergence from my scratcher any earlier than 6.01 on a Sunday. Link to comment
phoenix Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 My neighbours would maybe have an issue with me doing my mandatory 50 star jumps upon emergence from my scratcher any earlier than 6.01 on a Sunday. Half the team live in Grandholm Village - a wee bit o' a cross-country run ( up the Dee and doon the Don ) wid be a' that wid be required for pre-match psyche-up. Link to comment
OneBeboMaguire Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Sunday lunchtime kick-offs are always shit games of football. It's to do with the metabolism of the body and mind, they're not fully awake by then. Ergo, the game will be shit. Only the shrewd of perception can see this. The hysterical among us would have you believe it's Aberdeen that are shit and take no account of the foibles of the human body, which affects both teams.Yet celtic will pump us 5-0 at an even earlier kick off!! You live in your own little world, sad. Link to comment
Stoney Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Doesnt matter a fuck what time kick off is the only game we played remotely well in this season was the friday night game that everybody pissed and moaned about. We are shit, we were shit last year, shit the year before and shit now. Not fucking good enough! Link to comment
Scarface Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 One of the worst games of football I've ever had the misfortune to watch in my life, absolutely dreadful, negative tactics playing a lone striker at home to St Johnstone, misery compounded by the fact the game was a lunchtime KO against a diddy club whilst being televised on Sky. Looks like the signing of Rae and Hughes has added two injury-prone veterans to the ranks. Vernon was possibly the only spark of skill/creativity in a narrow team devoid of any flair, although Uchechi looked quite lively when he came on. Both teams did actually try attacking for the final 10 minutes of the game, just a shame for the paying public that they didn't do much of that for the previous 80. Dire! Link to comment
tup Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Yet celtic will pump us 5-0 at an even earlier kick off!! You live in your own little world, sad. Let's forget for a moment that this has never actually happened!!! And accuse others of living in a fantasy world as a means of deflecting from an obvious fabrication!!!!!! i.e. get a hold of yourself min. Link to comment
tup Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Both teams did actually try attacking for the final 10 minutes of the game, just a shame for the paying public that they didn't do much of that for the previous 80. As if my theory needed any further credence, thanks Scarface. The last 10 minutes were the point at which their metabolisms were fully up to the rigours of the day. Imagine if we'd had another 80 like that! We'd have been shouting move aside Brazil 1970 instead of being critical of negative tactics! Such are the small vagaries on which the direction of your life hinges folks. Link to comment
phoenix Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 We didnae lose but it wisnae bonnie. Quite a number of new faces in the team getting to know each other in front of the crowd. I'd say if it's the glass half empty you want , that's what you'll get. But I'll wager that this a team that will start to go places. Or a meringue? You decide....but hurry up , it disnae tak THAT long tae get it right.....shirley? Link to comment