fatshaft Posted February 15, 2012 Share Posted February 15, 2012 To keep it away from the delight in the 'admin' thread, if as seems almost certain, the Huns do indeed die and are liquidated, we then come to the absolute certainty of a phoenix club emerging, and the equal certainty that they will be applying for immediate entry to the SPL. Equally, it seems highly unlikely that our gutless chairmen who have never ever stood up to the old firm, will do anything but look to next week and the next pay check from SKY/ESPN. This is the opportunity everyone (except club Chairmen) have been waiting for, our chance to do a Bundesliga, or even better as it would be a virtual clean slate, but sadly the fear, the very real fear, is that our gutless wonders perform true to form. But with a 11/1 voting system, could it be that the outspoken Lithuanian madman will have his day in the sun, and all his ranting will finally have the chance to express itself positively, and save us all? I fear he may well be the only one who could do it, and very probably will do it. Link to comment
muttondressedaslamb Posted February 15, 2012 Share Posted February 15, 2012 that is all Link to comment
Dynamo Posted February 15, 2012 Share Posted February 15, 2012 If/when it happens I'd like to see the other 10 collectively resign from the SPL and form their own league. Link to comment
Miglo don Posted February 15, 2012 Share Posted February 15, 2012 Hope so, he may be a raving fucking lunatic but he has a set of balls and will stand up when it counts, I think Thompson at united could well be another, and what would celtic decide to do? Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted February 15, 2012 Share Posted February 15, 2012 Hope so, he may be a raving fucking lunatic but he has a set of balls and will stand up when it counts, I think Thompson at united could well be another, and what would celtic decide to do? Celtic!? A raving 100% certainty that they'll vote to have their friends (sorry, 'bitterest rivals') reinstated. Remember, the term 'Old Firm' wasn't originally intended as a compliment. It was coined by a Glasgow journalist who was pointing out that the two clubs, financially at least, are totally reliant on each other. So one down, nine to go, basically. Link to comment
HH_is_back Posted February 15, 2012 Share Posted February 15, 2012 United will want their money from Rangers.Hearts will want their money from Rangers.Dunfermline will want their money from Rangers. They will vote with their best interests. Link to comment
fatshaft Posted February 15, 2012 Author Share Posted February 15, 2012 United will want their money from Rangers.Hearts will want their money from Rangers.Dunfermline will want their money from Rangers. They will vote with their best interests.Which will have nothing to do with a "new" Rangers. If such a reincarnation comes into being, then their money is long gone (assuming they get nothing from administrators) so perhaps this may help the spirit of not helping out those who have so recently shat on them? Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 United will want their money from Rangers.Hearts will want their money from Rangers.Dunfermline will want their money from Rangers. They will vote with their best interests. Totally agree with this. Particularly guys like Stewart Milne. .... however, fatshaft makes a very interesting point. We all know Vlad is at least a couple of sandwiches short of a full picnic. It's not inconceivable that he could cut his nose off to spite his face. We all know he despises the Old Firm, while he would revel in the attention and the hero status that he'd receive, were he the one to punch in the final nail in Rangers coffin. I think Vlad is the type of guy who only entered Scottish football to make a name for him and create his own page of history. He's an ego-maniac. This could be the opportunity he's been waiting for... I think he'd love to be remembered as the man who broke the Old Firm. In fact, when he entered Scottish football, in a blaze of glory, he promised he'd do just that (although, bear in mind he also promised Hearts would win the Champions League!)! Your time has come Vlad! You might be our only hope! Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 Milne could make a statement of intent & announce to our fans that Aberdeen will in no way show rangers ANY support to help them avoid the full punishment they deserve. Imagine the backing he could get then?He could unite all our fans behind him for once & at a time when he needs us most. Fuck the We are Aberdeen & we don't give a shite what happens to you, as you brought it all on yourselves, so bend over & take it you bitches Link to comment
RUL Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 Someone has already posted that the 12 clubs have no say in what happens Link to comment
Tord31 Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 The clubs will have the final say. No way the five of them on the board will make the decision. Still can't see it them becomming a new entity as yet. Its a racing certainty there struggling to get out of admin in the coming months but beyond that think too hard to tell how its actually going to play out. Link to comment
spamspamspam Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 The BBC, Sun, Daily Record etc are all perpetuating the myth that the Sky TV deal will fall through if Rangers are chucked out of the SPL or, as some have now said if Rangers even failed to make it to the top 6 due to the need for 4 old firm games a season. Wouldnt the legal stand point actually be though that a Rangers Utd wouldnt actually be the Rangers that are stated in the Sky contract in the first place? If a new club was created in place of the old wouldnt that mean that Sky would have 2 choices, run with the deal without Rangers (because they'd no longer exist) whether or not they were in the 3rd division or negotiate a new one/remove the clause of 4 old firm games because there was no longer an old firm? Personally I will walk away from Scottish football never to return if Rangers fold and are not treated the same way as any other club that has folded or went into administration in Scotland. Airdrie became Airdrie Utd and had to work their way back up. Dundee started their season with -25 points and Livingston were relegated to D3 all because of administration. If the SPL allow Daniel Cousin to sign it will be a sign of how things will pan out in the future. They'll have bent their own rules to allow it and I also think at that point it should be a sign for the fans of all clubs who feel that Rangers shouldnt be given any special treatment to stand up and be counted before our game and league is dragged further into the gutter. They bought titles, they bought cups, they bought their way into Europe and if they go bust the first thing they'll do is try and bully and buy (using the TV deal money etc) their way back into the SPL. What sort of message does that send out to the general public? Link to comment
Tord31 Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 well we'd just need to do a united walk out of all senior matches across the country once they have went out of existance to show folk were serious. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 I really do hope that there is some groundswell between supporters of other clubs to make sure that they don't get an easy ride of it... That they make their feelings known at games or whatever. If the the SPL, or whoever lets them back in then they have just advocated cheating and the already shit name of Scottish football will be bloodied and battered beyond reproach... If we lose TV deals, so be it... A bit of fiscal responsibility from all teams in the SPL might mean, better grass roots football, scouting local talent, and not having to spend outwith your means to attain success... We did it in the 80s... with a more level playing field who's to say we can't do it again... I don't really care about European football, I want us to win cups again. Surely there's a way to instill that back into the club ? Link to comment
tup Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 The simple, crucial truth here is that there would be an all out boycott of games involving Attilla FC or whatever they are going to be called next from supporters of other clubs. All we need to do is gather at the gates of the ground beforehand in numbers and prevent ANYBODY from entering the home section, as there are morons who truly believe this is going to blow over even amongst our own support. This needs to be repeated at all grounds, except places like Killie, where they're all hun bastards anyway. The authorities would then have to resign, as their implementation of such a devious stunt would be to blame. Link to comment
King Street Loon Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 Help us Mad Vlad, you're our only hope! Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 The simple, crucial truth here is that there would be an all out boycott of games involving Attilla FC or whatever they are going to be called next from supporters of other clubs. All we need to do is gather at the gates of the ground beforehand in numbers and prevent ANYBODY from entering the home section, as there are morons who truly believe this is going to blow over even amongst our own support. This needs to be repeated at all grounds, except places like Killie, where they're all hun bastards anyway. The authorities would then have to resign, as their implementation of such a devious stunt would be to blame. morons is the correct term. spoke to one dandie this morning who genuinely believe that football in this country cannot survive without the huns :suicide: Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 I wish someone with a good bit of clout & respect in the public eye & in football terms would come out & point out just how bad the huns have been to the Scottish game & to the Scottish name etc. in the view of other countries. How they've helped (along with the tic) ruin the Scottish game/league by monopolising all the money.By taking any decent players the we teams had just to keep the wee teams down & then hardly even using them.Their sectarian bile that they forced on the Scottish game & even abroad to make a mockery of themselves & us as a country.their scummy fans rioting in manchester & countless other places.The amount of tax payers money they cost us just by smashing up manchester alone & not counting the extra policing their fkn fannies require. They want to leave the SPL but now they are there cap in hand begging the SPL to save them????????? They take MORE than they fkn give & I wish folk would start to point this out where people will take notice & out speak all these idiots that are trying to brainwash the public into thinking that we actually DEPEND on the cunts Someone please point out to the rest of the UK just how much we DO NOT NEED have these cunts around & the best thing for them is to get a fkn reality check & have a few years out of top flight where they should be rightfully punished. Someone out there with a voice & some credibility come out with a rant in the right places please Link to comment
tup Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 I hear HMRC employees who were pictured in the papers since the story broke have been threatened and Craig Whyte has been told he cannot go near Ibrox for his own safety. Why do we want this club to remain? Why do we 'need' them? Link to comment
Redmist1903 Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 morons is the correct term. spoke to one dandie this morning who genuinely believe that football in this country cannot survive without the huns :suicide: No morons is not the correct term. I believe that the SPL chairmen will more than likely have RangersNewCo back in the SPL asap. I don't want that but that is my gut feeling. How does that make me a moron exactly? Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 No morons is not the correct term. I believe that the SPL chairmen will more than likely have RangersNewCo back in the SPL asap. I don't want that but that is my gut feeling. How does that make me a moron exactly? read my post again Link to comment
tup Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 No morons is not the correct term. I believe that the SPL chairmen will more than likely have RangersNewCo back in the SPL asap. I don't want that but that is my gut feeling. How does that make me a moron exactly? So you basically allow your thoughts to be dictated by SPL chairmen who's over-riding concern is money and not fairness and transparency. Rangers are cheating bastards, they canna be allowed straight back in, if they are, and our fans continue to go along to games with them, I'd be up for personally attacking my fellow supporters in the hope a few black eyes would make them come to their senses. Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 Hopefully Graham Spiers will write a balanced piece - he's usually on the money... Link to comment
The Oxford Don Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 Hopefully Graham Spiers will write a balanced piece - he's usually on the money... Unfortunately not. Spiers is that rarest of creatures, an enlightened Rangers fan. Sadly though the halo has slipped over the last few days, and he's already peddling the 'we all need Rangers' myth with the best of them. The complete lack of transparency and objectivity is abysmal, but not really surprising. I think Fine-n-Dandy has already expressed it: surely to God there must be someone out there capable of reaching a large audience and offering the alternative point of view. Please? Before I open a vein. Link to comment
1983 Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 Rangers have financially doped the league for years, and they've been found out. What really annoys me is the pretense that other clubs need the old firm. We only need the old firm to continue in the same format as we have at the minute, but, and this is the big but - anyone who goes to an Aberdeen match will know there's not much to lose. The quality is poor, their is no ambition to succeed in the league as it would take an act of god to be able to challenge the old firm's success due to financial dominance. So I ask this, what do we have to lose? We may have to pay a player £600 instead of £900 a week, but is the quality of play/player/entertainment really going to change that much from the dross we presently witness? Everyone needs to wake up and acknowledge that no club in Scotland is going anywhere at present and the natural top tier of football will always settle on demographics and population, so who cares if our football has the same standard as Cove Rangers. Over time, the club has access to 200k of people to increase it's revenue organically, not synthetically from third party TV money. Let's rid ourselves of these shackles, let's not worry about the TV revenue that has controlled our game for too long, let's revert our business back to providing football for the fans on a Saturday. Link to comment
tup Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 Correct 1983. I've said before I dinna mind if the players pulling on the shirt are Highland League standard, as long as I can go along to a game and feel genuine uncertainty about the outcome, and as long as my team have a genuine shot at real honours (the league) every now and again. The game is a farce. And a tit like Spears thinks we should preserve that? He should stick to what he knows, egg chasing and homosexual sex. Link to comment
tup Posted February 16, 2012 Share Posted February 16, 2012 I think Fine-n-Dandy has already expressed it: surely to God there must be someone out there capable of reaching a large audience and offering the alternative point of view. Please? Before I open a vein. I'm trying my best. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted February 16, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted February 16, 2012 United will want their money from Rangers.Hearts will want their money from Rangers.Dunfermline will want their money from Rangers. They will vote with their best interests. In this scenario then they would have to screw a deal from the new company as the debt would die in the liquidation and the whatever in the pound they did not get would be lost. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted February 16, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted February 16, 2012 Someone has already posted that the 12 clubs have no say in what happens How so? Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted February 16, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted February 16, 2012 well we'd just need to do a united walk out of all senior matches across the country once they have went out of existance to show folk were serious. A Scottish Fitba Spring. Let's phone our Egyptian and Libyan mates for the SP A no fly zone over Ibrox and Parkhead! Link to comment