Beer

looksgoodinred

:o

BRITAIN is known for its lager louts and beer bellies. But after two decades of drinking strong, continental-style lagers, their beer is weakening. Several brewers have launched new lower-alcohol lines in the past five years, including a new range of 2.8% brews. Even flagship brands are getting weaker.

Carlsberg Export, Stella Artois, Budweiser, Beck

• Replies 60

drinking strong, continental-style lagers

ist mad. a pint of cock softner is considered mental in the UK despite being only 5.2% which is about as low as you can possibly get when drinking continental-style beers.

all i can say is the cockneys over in amsterdam for the match tonight are in for big surprise and most likely an early night and a big hangover tomorrow

drinking strong, continental-style lagers

ist mad. a pint of cock softner is considered mental in the UK despite being only 5.2% which is about as low as you can possibly get when drinking continental-style beers.

all i can say is the cockneys over in amsterdam for the match tonight are in for big surprise and most likely an early night and a big hangover tomorrow

Ach its just the soft cunts here cant handle their drink bluts, that and all the shitty chemicals the average pint here has added to it. Seems to make it go to the head quicker.

I'm on the real ales now, fucking marvellous, hardly get a hangover on them and can scoff all night :beer:

Ach its just the soft cunts here cant handle their drink bluts, that and all the shitty chemicals the average pint here has added to it. Seems to make it go to the head quicker.

I'm on the real ales now, fucking marvellous, hardly get a hangover on them and can scoff all night :beer:

real ales are lovely.

in short supply over here but one of my locals gets them in regularly.

i stay away from the likes of your stellas your carlsbergs and yours heinikens and head straight for the german wheats or real ales when i want a quaffable session beer. but when i want something tasty the belgian brews and american beers hit the spot.

real ales are lovely.

i stay away from the likes of your stellas your carlsbergs and yours heinikens and head straight for the german wheats or real ales when i want a quaffable session beer. but when i want something tasty the belgian brews and american beers hit the spot.

My fav, none of this slugging it down your throat asap either. Not overly keen on real ale all night though used to drink a fair bit off butt cum....

butcombe_brewery_logo.png

Oh aye if you want a magic wheat beer and you're in Bristol http://www.zerodegrees.co.uk/

First I've read of this, a worrying trend, Stella used to be 5.2% but is now 5%, to now take it to 4.8% is taking the piss!

They've already brought out a 4% beer that is disgusting, why drop the good one??

As for anything at 2.8!!!! wtf's the point in that.

the old 5.2% cock softner was nice, certainly better than teh other lagers on sale in the UK. kronenbourg was nice too.

but nae had it in years. whats the 5% one like?

real ales are lovely.

cannae beat a german beer for a day on the beers! I've got back into West brewery's St Mungo and their wheat beer again recently. The st mungo is awesome, as it the wheat beer, hefeweisin or something similar. Their munich red is nice for a slow drink, but gives quite a hangover...

• 3 months later...

Sorry to pollute the wine thread with beer, but had a few bottles of that Rum Finish Innis & Gunn beer. Fucking explosive.

It's my new favourite.

Aye Innis & Gunn is good, thanks to Phoenix for recommending thon ages ago.

I'm sure it's even stronger than that.

Good shit.

I recommended it first. Its fucking lovely, and you can get it on tap in Amicus Apple - fine if your a poof.

Can also get bottles at Korova, which is less poofy but full of dickheads.

I prefer to just buy it in Asda.

Carling were doing a free beer offer.

A lad I know got 100 cans under his name, and 100 cans under his missus name.

Winner.

They gave away 300,000 freebies, but it's apparently closed now. I only found out just now, sick!

EDIT: Bottles, not cans.

Lucky escape.

I'd rather drink camel piss than drink Carling.