granite sheep Posted February 18, 2012 Share Posted February 18, 2012 Copied fae another forum, what scenes in movies, telly, games, or other fiction have inspired loads of dread and bowel loosening terror? An example for me would be the bit in the original 80s Thing, when Kurt Russell is testing everyone's blood one by one to see who's real, and who's the titular alien. You know what's comin, but it's a shock when it does, affa feary bit, full o tension. Link to comment
boboisared Posted February 18, 2012 Share Posted February 18, 2012 When we were in 1st year at school a guy in my class got mad respect for palying Silent Hill in the dark when he was alone in his house. Link to comment
tutankamun Posted February 18, 2012 Share Posted February 18, 2012 Watching The Shining for the first time whilst tripping, alone, on a dark winter's night. Nearly shat myself when this bit happened: Link to comment
OddJob Posted February 18, 2012 Share Posted February 18, 2012 Actually the Yankee version of The Ring still scares the shit out of me. Particularly 2 parts of the film: The bit when it shows the bird who had been scared to death, fucking gross that bit and basically the bit near the end when Samara climbs out the TV and her face. Must admit i shat myself there. Horrors have that effect. Link to comment
boboisared Posted February 18, 2012 Share Posted February 18, 2012 Actually the Yankee version of The Ring still scares the shit out of me. Particularly 2 parts of the film: The bit when it shows the bird who had been scared to death, fucking gross that bit and basically the bit near the end when Samara climbs out the TV and her face. Must admit i shat myself there. Horrors have that effect.Hmmm, was neevr scared by the Ring. Due to my sister's influence however I am terrified of Freddie Kreuger. Link to comment
granite sheep Posted February 18, 2012 Author Share Posted February 18, 2012 Actually the Yankee version of The Ring still scares the shit out of me. Particularly 2 parts of the film: The bit when it shows the bird who had been scared to death, fucking gross that bit and basically the bit near the end when Samara climbs out the TV and her face. Must admit i shat myself there. Horrors have that effect.Never seen the Yank version, the Jap version on the other hand was a bit meh to start wi, but as you got intae it, it got fearier and fearier, culminating in where the lassie climbs out o the telly to kill her latest victim. Was watching it alone in the dark, was quietly filling my trousers by that point.... Link to comment
Dandie1992 Posted February 18, 2012 Share Posted February 18, 2012 Watched Signs when I was about 9 or so. The bit where the alien walks out of the bushes in Mexico fucked me over for years. More recently Threads has had me fucked over ever time there is a power cut, wondering if it's a fucking EMP pre-cursor to some nukes landing in the Broch, Peterhead and the Gas Site. All 3 just far enough away to keep me alive burning to death just before my house explodes. This Iran business doesn't help the white boxers either. Link to comment
boboisared Posted February 18, 2012 Share Posted February 18, 2012 Watched Signs when I was about 9 or so. The bit where the alien walks out of the bushes in Mexico fucked me over for years. More recently Threads has had me fucked over ever time there is a power cut, wondering if it's a fucking EMP pre-cursor to some nukes landing in the Broch, Peterhead and the Gas Site. All 3 just far enough away to keep me alive burning to death just before my house explodes. This Iran business doesn't help the white boxers either.Really?!?! Link to comment
Dandie1992 Posted February 18, 2012 Share Posted February 18, 2012 Really?!?! Fucking hated that scene. Link to comment
boboisared Posted February 18, 2012 Share Posted February 18, 2012 Fucking hated that scene.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZvB9pGmcWWw Here ye go ye big poof. :thumbs: Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted February 19, 2012 Share Posted February 19, 2012 I've never really liked this scene much... Dunno why... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iXgsCPFhSgc Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Trilogy of terror scared the crap out of me when I was a loon, of coarse now it looks a bit stupid but to me as a youngster watching alone in the dark, that Zuni doll was a serious pant shitter Link to comment
OddJob Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Hmmm, was neevr scared by the Ring. Due to my sister's influence however I am terrified of Freddie Kreuger.Think it was more to do with the fact i watched it at my mates flat after a massive piss up in town, totally fucked out my tree and watching that was a bad idea Link to comment
Coopy100 Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 More recently Threads has had me fucked over ever time there is a power cut, wondering if it's a fucking EMP pre-cursor to some nukes landing in the Broch, Peterhead and the Gas Site. All 3 just far enough away to keep me alive burning to death just before my house explodes. This Iran business doesn't help the white boxers either.I want to see threads after a boy on a different forum mentioned it and everyone who saw it when a bairn said they were cacking emselves. EDIT: Where did you see it at? Link to comment
Dandie1992 Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 quote name='Coopy100' timestamp='1329759333' post='713584']I want to see threads after a boy on a different forum mentioned it and everyone who saw it when a bairn said they were cacking emselves. EDIT: Where did you see it at? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iQo0BQM3OlQ Thats the first part Coopy. It's all on Youtube. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Watching The Exorcist as a 10ish year old fair fucked we my heid Link to comment
Dandie1992 Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Cheers! Hearing the word Iran on the news will never be the same again. Link to comment
chief_wiggum Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Watching The Exorcist as a 10ish year old fair fucked we my heid Yup, first time me and a mate watched this we were both feart to leave the room Link to comment
OddJob Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iQo0BQM3OlQ Thats the first part Coopy. It's all on Youtube.Is that Reece Dinsdale from I.D? Link to comment
Dandie1992 Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 Is that Reece Dinsdale from I.D? Correct. Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 This little cu*t caused me sleepless nights as a kid Link to comment
granite sheep Posted February 20, 2012 Author Share Posted February 20, 2012 That looks well creepy, fit's that fae? Link to comment
Redstar Posted February 20, 2012 Share Posted February 20, 2012 That looks well creepy, fit's that fae? He's called Mr Sin he was in Dr Who in the mid 70's...he was a ventriloquist Link to comment
dj_bollocks Posted February 21, 2012 Share Posted February 21, 2012 Doomlord in the Eagle back in the day gave me nightmares as a kid... Even just looking at the crappy masked photo strip now raises the pulse a bit... Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted February 21, 2012 Share Posted February 21, 2012 The Grudge - Japanese version. It's got a few scenes that are just creepy as hell. Namely when she is in bed and she looks under the covers and see's the little boy (sounds dodgy in writing...but freaky stuff) and also when she is lying in bed, she looks up and there is the woman leaning over her, again...sounds dodgy but very freaky. The American version of the Ring wasn't bad. I thought that the video tape in the American version was much creepier than the Japanese version. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted February 21, 2012 Share Posted February 21, 2012 dinna get scared by horror movies. the shining is the most creepy though. seeing gouls and monsters and zombies and stuff like that doesnt do it for me. i always thought the scene in trainspotting where begbi glasses the bearded bloke in london was [articularly realistic and horrible. Link to comment
tightbreeks Posted February 23, 2012 Share Posted February 23, 2012 duel had me gripped the first time i saw it. the car was good as well. 3rd road one would be the hitcher original. i want it. Link to comment
a don in oz Posted February 29, 2012 Share Posted February 29, 2012 Everyone mentioning films so I'll mention one game I've not been able to complete and one I completed the scary part of. I love Alien/Aliens. Two extremely awesome films (my sis let me watch Alien when I was 8 or 9... so that has... "stayed" with me) But there was an Alien v Predator game a long while back where you could be the colonial marines. And that radar thing and the sound and all that... immense. Enjoyable scary finishable immense. The NON-finishable scary as all hell was Amnesia. That game is the must gut churningly screwed up game. I just couldn't get through it. Tried playing it during the day with curtains open and it was still a bit much, but not as much 'fun' as in the dark. It's been out a couple of years maybe but still pretty freaking scary. Want a laugh... check out the amount of "playing Amnesia reactions" videos on Youtube.At 3:30 into this, the guy sounds like he's crying for his mummy http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WiCo9LG8Djc Link to comment