Anonymous Posting

Foster14

BRI, I think you will find that most threads go downhill fast after tup posts on them.

I read this post in the Motherwell cup game thread and it got me thinking.

How different do you think this forum would be if every post was made anonymously?

Do you think you'd soon realise the posting traits of someone else on the board, and know that they were coming from the same person, despite being unable to build a personality profile of someone from their username/avatar or other part of their online identity?

Something I have noticed a lot more frequently again, and it was rife at the latter part of LS's tenure is that there is a recurring theme of people arguing based on their opinion of the person, not the view they are stating. I've been guilty of it myself before where I may end up arguing that black was white because of the other side.

Anyhoo, an anonymous forum to the general population (I assume moderators and administrators would need to keep tabs on who posts what) would be quite interesting, wouldn't it...

I read this post in the Motherwell cup game thread and it got me thinking.

How different do you think this forum would be if every post was made anonymously?

Do you think you'd soon realise the posting traits of someone else on the board, and know that they were coming from the same person, despite being unable to build a personality profile of someone from their username/avatar or other part of their online identity?

Something I have noticed a lot more frequently again, and it was rife at the latter part of LS's tenure is that there is a recurring theme of people arguing based on their opinion of the person, not the view they are stating. I've been guilty of it myself before where I may end up arguing that black was white because of the other side.

Anyhoo, an anonymous forum to the general population (I assume moderators and administrators would need to keep tabs on who posts what) would be quite interesting, wouldn't it...

Think this season more than anybody people are just arguing for the sake of arguing.

Dunno if its the influx of new posters or wether frustration that the team isnt performing i dunno.

Certainly think a lot of threads could be resolved with a simple. Ok maybes i got that wrong, next topic

I also think there should be a seperate thread for people who went to the match and folk who just want to talk about it.

Personally frustrated as fuck posting on here these days and have started posting back on donstalk

Think this season more than anybody people are just arguing for the sake of arguing.

Dunno if its the influx of new posters or wether frustration that the team isnt performing i dunno.

Certainly think a lot of threads could be resolved with a simple. Ok maybes i got that wrong, next topic

I also think there should be a seperate thread for people who went to the match and folk who just want to talk about it.

Personally frustrated as fuck posting on here these days and have started posting back on donstalk

What about people who watched the game on tv?

How about various JIT threads and the access to these is derived from a clapometer?

Therefore you will end up chatting with people of equal happy-clappiness as yourself post game...

Only problem is daytripping may have had such a good time that he doesn't have the hand/hand co-ordination to clap and may end up in the nae so happy thread...

Banning weegies would certainly go some way to alleviating tensions within the support.

I mean from the stadium as well as the messageboard, strip them of their season tickets now, and tell them dinna come back.

Police away games to make sure everyone in attendance speaks with a Northern accent, the weegies would soon get the message.

What about people who went to the game but were too pissed to remember any details.

Think it would be just the two of us posting :thumbup1:

NoNo just a thread for those at the games, all very well and good watching games on tv or going by 5 minutes highlights, but too many match threads being pulled down by people who wernt at the games, its annoying and same old arguments happen thread after thread.

How about various JIT threads and the access to these is derived from a clapometer?

Therefore you will end up chatting with people of equal happy-clappiness as yourself post game...

Only problem is daytripping may have had such a good time that he doesn't have the hand/hand co-ordination to clap and may end up in the nae so happy thread...

I'm not sad enough to rush back home and log in to post my thoughts, a day at the football is a full day out in my book, plenty beer before and after.

Think it would be just the two of us posting :thumbup1:

NoNo just a thread for those at the games, all very well and good watching games on tv or going by 5 minutes highlights, but too many match threads being pulled down by people who wernt at the games, its annoying and same old arguments happen thread after thread.

how would that work. Someone handing out passwords at the turnstiles then you need to input said password before getting access to the thread?

Dunno probably impossible to set up, but i remember supporters clubs used to have their own wee forum and they seemed to work fine.

Think some folk are just on here to pass the day by posting as much rubbish as they possibly can.

Dunno probably impossible to set up, but i remember supporters clubs used to have their own wee forum and they seemed to work fine.

Think some folk are just on here to pass the day by posting as much rubbish as they possibly can.

Agree with that too. But people who watch games on tv might pick up on things to do with the game that those at the game missed. Good discussion from various sources.

Theres certainly a good few you would spot a mile off, could MT really keep his identity a secret, Tup waffling about the OF and Weegies, Redstars every post about Brown being senile, Stoney and his constant negativity, Bri always talking common sense....

I think the board has gone a bit downhill at the moment, but I really think its because of apathy and that there just isn't much to talk about regarding AFC these days, we are a boring, pretty poor team, and the days of frustration at watching this decline have passed into a pissed off acceptance.

Theres certainly a good few you would spot a mile off, could MT really keep his identity a secret, Tup waffling about the OF and Weegies, Redstars every post about Brown being senile, Stoney and his constant negativity, Bri always talking common sense....

I think the board has gone a bit downhill at the moment, but I really think its because of apathy and that there just isn't much to talk about regarding AFC these days, we are a boring, pretty poor team, and the days of frustration at watching this decline have passed into a pissed off acceptance.

If i had posted that line this thread would be on 4 pages :laughing: