beaudandy Posted March 12, 2012 Share Posted March 12, 2012 Think we will still get around 15,000 going to semi despite time. Begs the questioncan we get thay at cove for 3 o clock on a saturday? Link to comment
Tord31 Posted March 12, 2012 Share Posted March 12, 2012 We'll certainly see a huge rise in attendances at loirston initially. They might stay longer if the fitba has improved and of course the better facilities/ match day experience will help Link to comment
boboisared Posted March 12, 2012 Share Posted March 12, 2012 A lot of the 15,000 will be glory hunters and hangers on who would never dream if spending a wet afternoon at Pittodrie. Just the way it is. Link to comment
beaudandy Posted March 12, 2012 Author Share Posted March 12, 2012 We seem to be a support that mobilises when something catches our imagination. Usually it involves an away game in Dundee or the Central Belt. Its never going to happen at Pittodrie any more so the point i was making earlier is that the sooner Loirston is ready the better cos we still show that we will make the effort in big numbers (12.15 Glasgow). Lets face it we talk the talk as a brilliant support but only walk the walk away from Pittodrie. It is Pittodrie that is killingthe team and the support and despite the potential transport problems of the new stadium is there not enough will from the support to get there anyway like when we go away to give us that buzz and atmosphere at our home ground. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 We seem to be a support that mobilises when something catches our imagination. Usually it involves an away game in Dundee or the Central Belt. Its never going to happen at Pittodrie any more so the point i was making earlier is that the sooner Loirston is ready the better cos we still show that we will make the effort in big numbers (12.15 Glasgow). Lets face it we talk the talk as a brilliant support but only walk the walk away from Pittodrie. It is Pittodrie that is killingthe team and the support and despite the potential transport problems of the new stadium is there not enough will from the support to get there anyway like when we go away to give us that buzz and atmosphere at our home ground.I get what you're saying, and I also think a move, as and when it may happen, will galvanize the support, short term. But, and I've repeated it so often in the past, the atmosphere off the park generally goes hand in hand with what is happening on it. It's not Pittodrie to blame, its an apathetic, starved of any real success, support. A cup win this year would go a long way to making us all get on again. Link to comment
centraldon Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 I'd definitely go to more home games if they relocated pittodrie to Stirling. Just saying. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 A lot of the 15,000 will be glory hunters and hangers on who would never dream if spending a wet afternoon at Pittodrie. Just the way it is. I think as its a semi final a lot of people will make an extra effort to go, not necessarily glory hunters. Link to comment
muttonhumper Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 I think as its a semi final a lot of people will make an extra effort to go, not necessarily glory hunters...and also a lot of folk with an AFC past (sleepers) up for a day oot. Link to comment
Stoney Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 Cant blame any fan that doesnt want to go and watch this current team, well any of our teams since 2008. Think the 2008 semi was the last straw for most, and now folk are only going to big games for a day out. Fantastic support at motherwell on saturday but think we will have a quarter of that for the game on saturday. Think the only thing that will get people back through the gates is winning the scottish cup. We need something big to happen to get the supporters back and drawing 0-0 1-1 most weeks just isnt going to do it Link to comment
RUL Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 I'm same, I'd go if it was pittodrie Saturday, there's nothing afc could do to make me want to go to fir park twice in 6 days Link to comment
a don in oz Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 FanBloodyTastic Brilliant. Totally brilliant. Good on the players. And those stewards? They need to get a grip. Hate the pussy arsed way that the game has to be "managed" these days. I mean... stewards telling the fans to sit down, shut up is bad enough. But chasing after a player, after the game, going to his own supporters? Jesus wept. Link to comment
RUL Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 First time I've ever agreed with your post Link to comment
a don in oz Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 First time I've ever agreed with your post Shit... uh ok. The sky is tartan. (There you go... an easy one to let you out of jail ) Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 It isn't just Aberdeen fans, this is Football fans.....in fact SPORT fans all over the world! Big occasions draws out fans out of every corner. I don't really see a huge problem with it, there are folk who can't make every Saturday but will make a family day out of it. There are people who will go mainly for the banter, which I don't have a problem with. Obviously i'd rather see more fans at home every week, but it's not just an AFC issue, it's just the way it goes everywhere. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 Cant blame any fan that doesnt want to go and watch this current team, well any of our teams since 2008. Think the 2008 semi was the last straw for most, and now folk are only going to big games for a day out. Fantastic support at motherwell on saturday but think we will have a quarter of that for the game on saturday. Think the only thing that will get people back through the gates is winning the scottish cup. We need something big to happen to get the supporters back and drawing 0-0 1-1 most weeks just isnt going to do it its simple - competitive fitba gives people hope and they will attend. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 If the SPL continues in the way it is, we're going to see less fans going to league games and more fans going to cup games. I'm surprised the teams even turn up every Saturday as it's futile for 83% of the teams in the SPL as have NO chance of winning the league. There is no point having a competition where 10/12 of the teams have no chance of winning it. Link to comment
Redstar Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 If the SPL continues in the way it is, we're going to see less fans going to league games and more fans going to cup games. I'm surprised the teams even turn up every Saturday as it's futile for 83% of the teams in the SPL as have NO chance of winning the league. There is no point having a competition where 10/12 of the teams have no chance of winning it. A bit like the EPL then?... although they seem to have healthy enough crowds ... The real reason no-one can be bothered anymore is because the product is mind numbingly boring and predictable...couple that with a manager who has further alienated a large section of the support with defensive "must not lose at all costs" tactics and the result is plummeting crowds...Shit Entertainment = Shit Gate Receipts. Link to comment
tup Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 A bit like the EPL then?... although they seem to have healthy enough crowds ... The real reason no-one can be bothered anymore is because the product is mind numbingly boring and predictable...couple that with a manager who has further alienated a large section of the support with defensive "must not lose at all costs" tactics and the result is plummeting crowds...Shit Entertainment = Shit Gate Receipts. I think you need to start giving Brown some credit because Aberdeen went for the throat from the kick-off on Sunday in case it's escaped your notice. Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 A bit like the EPL then?... although they seem to have healthy enough crowds ... The real reason no-one can be bothered anymore is because the product is mind numbingly boring and predictable...couple that with a manager who has further alienated a large section of the support with defensive "must not lose at all costs" tactics and the result is plummeting crowds...Shit Entertainment = Shit Gate Receipts.The EPL has got money flooding into it, every team is given MILLIONS to bolster their squads so they probably believe they have a chance of doing something every year. The SPL is boring due to only 2 teams winning it for ~20 years, It's boring because we are playing the same sides over and over and over. It's boring because we're getting shafted of all our good players because English teams come up and steal them for pennies. It's boring because we've got a league set up in such a way that it plays into the big twos hands. It's also too expensive, but that goes back to over inflated wages of players because of the money that is drowning the game and meaning we have to try and compete at some level. Solution? Buck Fuck the trend and having a league that's more about winning and the entertainment value than the money. How? Someone will get paid to work that out. Link to comment
Redstar Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 I think you need to start giving Brown some credit because Aberdeen went for the throat from the kick-off on Sunday in case it's escaped your notice.I did not see the game...but from what I read and have witnessed previously...yes we went at it from the off but as has happened before the half-time chat looks like it went along the lines of..."we're 2 to the good let's try and hang on to that"...the match is 90 mins not 45 mins...as before...this is not the first time we have been looking good first half and hanging on second half. Credit where it's due though...we're in the semi's and thats all that matters...my previous post was a reasoned response to why the attendance is down...for the season Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 I did not see the game...but from what I read and have witnessed previously...yes we went at it from the off but as has happened before the half-time chat looks like it went along the lines of..."we're 2 to the good let's try and hang on to that"...the match is 90 mins not 45 mins...as before...this is not the first time we have been looking good first half and hanging on second half. Credit where it's due though...we're in the semi's and thats all that matters...my previous post was a reasoned response to why the attendance is down...for the season thats not what happened though. Link to comment
tup Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 I did not see the game...but from what I read and have witnessed previously...yes we went at it from the off but as has happened before the half-time chat looks like it went along the lines of..."we're 2 to the good let's try and hang on to that"...the match is 90 mins not 45 mins...as before...this is not the first time we have been looking good first half and hanging on second half. Credit where it's due though...we're in the semi's and thats all that matters...my previous post was a reasoned response to why the attendance is down...for the season Aye but as I always maintained we were at rock bottom when Brown came in and it's a long way back from there. Link to comment
Redstar Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 Aye but as I always maintained we were at rock bottom when Brown came in and it's a long way back from there.Can't really argue with that Link to comment
StandFree1982 Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 I did not see the game...but from what I read and have witnessed previously...yes we went at it from the off but as has happened before the half-time chat looks like it went along the lines of..."we're 2 to the good let's try and hang on to that"...the match is 90 mins not 45 mins...as before...this is not the first time we have been looking good first half and hanging on second half. Credit where it's due though...we're in the semi's and thats all that matters...my previous post was a reasoned response to why the attendance is down...for the season thats not what happened though.I think the bit in bold explains it. Must have been heartbreaking seeing the Dons in the Semi Finals when his team are going bust Link to comment
Redstar Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 I think the bit in bold explains it. Must have been heartbreaking seeing the Dons in the Semi Finals when his team are going bust Had a big one on Sat night...5.30am finish Sunday...slept thru the fucker Link to comment
K-9 Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 Cant blame any fan that doesnt want to go and watch this current team, well any of our teams since 2008. Think the 2008 semi was the last straw for most, and now folk are only going to big games for a day out. Fantastic support at motherwell on saturday but think we will have a quarter of that for the game on saturday. Think the only thing that will get people back through the gates is winning the scottish cup. We need something big to happen to get the supporters back and drawing 0-0 1-1 most weeks just isnt going to do itAttacking from start (like we did at Motherwell) in every home game and most aways and I reckon you would add 2k onto home average easily. Contrast that to St Johnstone at home where fans see right from kick off we are going 4-5-1 with ten men behind ball trying to stop the opposition first and foremost. Fans see this immediately and just slump into their seats exasperated anticipating yet another boring performance. Fast attacking start gets fans behind the team right from kick off. No surprise the two best atmospheres at Pittodrie this season were in the two games we did this against Dunfermline and United. Link to comment
Oklahoma 1903 Posted March 13, 2012 Share Posted March 13, 2012 Attacking from start (like we did at Motherwell) in every home game and most aways and I reckon you would add 2k onto home average easily. Contrast that to St Johnstone at home where fans see right from kick off we are going 4-5-1 with ten men behind ball trying to stop the opposition first and foremost. Fans see this immediately and just slump into their seats exasperated anticipating yet another boring performance. Fast attacking start gets fans behind the team right from kick off. No surprise the two best atmospheres at Pittodrie this season were in the two games we did this against Dunfermline and United. Add to that the points we would have gained by being more adventurous. Link to comment