bev Posted December 24, 2006 Share Posted December 24, 2006 The huns dont like it when we sing the dreaded "whos that lying on pittodrie.........." song or the "nice one simmie" or "simmie, simmie," etc, so how come they try to instigate it by singing about Durrant. I think we deserve praise for not responding to that. I think Dons fans are treated unfairly by own "finest" police force, fair enough dont sing the whos that lying song but i think we should be allowed to sing a song about "one neil simpson" seeing as they sing "one ian durrant". 1 Link to comment
E-P-K Posted December 24, 2006 Share Posted December 24, 2006 The huns dont like it when we sing the dreaded "whos that lying on pittodrie.........." song or the "nice one simmie" or "simmie, simmie," etc, so how come they try to instigate it by singing about Durrant. I think we deserve praise for not responding to that. I think Dons fans are treated unfairly by own "finest" police force, fair enough dont sing the whos that lying song but i think we should be allowed to sing a song about "one neil simpson" seeing as they sing "one ian durrant". The " Who's that lying at pittodrie" was sung a couple of times yesterday. Link to comment
minijc Posted December 24, 2006 Share Posted December 24, 2006 The " Who's that lying at pittodrie" was sung a couple of times yesterday.Heard it the once and didna really care as the huns brought it on them selfs, as for that hun that was posting lastnight saying we were singing about it and the other event, he was making out to be the end of the world, WOW it's a song but not the best people will get over it. Link to comment
Millerdon Posted December 24, 2006 Share Posted December 24, 2006 Personally I heard Durrant Chants from the rangers lot twice , before I heard a weak rendition of who's that lieing at Pittodrie from the Upper RDS. Sounds a bit childish to say "we'll they started it", but between the BBC stirring it up the night before the game and them signing about him, then I don't see how it's ever goign to be put to bed. If people want the subject to go away then EVERYONE needs to STFU about it. Suppose I've just contributed to continuing the debate by posting this reply ! Link to comment
Ajja Posted December 24, 2006 Share Posted December 24, 2006 Maybe we need to create an alternative song about him. Deflection technique. Perhaps a more metaphysical approach might be apt ? I'll start. He's gayHe's queerWhat happened to his career ?Its Ian DurrantIts Ian Durrant Link to comment
dundee_red Posted December 24, 2006 Share Posted December 24, 2006 Personally I heard Durrant Chants from the rangers lot twice , before I heard a weak rendition of who's that lieing at Pittodrie from the Upper RDS. Sounds a bit childish to say "we'll they started it", but between the BBC stirring it up the night before the game and them signing about him, then I don't see how it's ever goign to be put to bed. If people want the subject to go away then EVERYONE needs to STFU about it.Suppose I've just contributed to continuing the debate by posting this reply ! Sorry, it was more than a weak rendition - it was sung at least twice, very cleary. The people who sung it should be ashamed of themselves - we always go on about how we're better than them, but then allow ourselves to be dragged down to their level. Well done though, to the guys sitting next to me in row H of the RDU that were telling those 'fans' singing it to shut-up. To some extent it was just as well we lost, because if we'd won, the reports would have been about how we were singing about Durrant - and probably about the Ibrox disaster, too - and not about the result. Link to comment
bland_flabbis Posted December 25, 2006 Share Posted December 25, 2006 We live in a strange world where an entire stand repeatedly singing "F*ck Bobby Sands he's deid" isn't worth reporting, but a minority singing about nothing more than a bad tackle is the crime of the century. The media needs to get a grip, 50% of their fans have sang songs about people dying at every game they've played for the past decade whilst maybe 2% of our fans have occasionally sung a song about the Ibrox disaster. The Durrant song isn't even an issue, if Durrant had done that to Simmie they wouldn't sing about it because it's so tame compared to the rest of the crap they sing. I'm not excusing it but in comparison to their conduct we're saints. 2 Link to comment
brunstanesheep Posted December 25, 2006 Share Posted December 25, 2006 might be the xmas eve beers, but so what if we sing about simmies tackle? was anyone killed in the incident? was anyones career permanently damaged by what happened? no. he played footy til about 2000. huns sing about people getting killed in the 15th century so a song about durrant getting his leg f*cked is f*ck all. stand free and merry xmas Link to comment
Henry Posted December 25, 2006 Share Posted December 25, 2006 might be the xmas eve beers, but so what if we sing about simmies tackle? was anyone killed in the incident? was anyones career permanently damaged by what happened? no. he played footy til about 2000. huns sing about people getting killed in the 15th century so a song about durrant getting his leg f*cked is f*ck all. stand free and merry xmas quire right boss. to dundee red, 'to some extent it's just as well we lost'. jesus min, sort yersel oot. you would give up a win against the hun, so that the daily retard and the hun wouldn't report us singing durrant songs. they can report songs about us raping disabled bairns for all i care, if it means we get the points. f*ck them. Link to comment
Guest TenementFunster Posted December 25, 2006 Share Posted December 25, 2006 Sorry, it was more than a weak rendition - it was sung at least twice, very cleary. The people who sung it should be ashamed of themselves - we always go on about how we're better than them, but then allow ourselves to be dragged down to their level. Well done though, to the guys sitting next to me in row H of the RDU that were telling those 'fans' singing it to shut-up. To some extent it was just as well we lost, because if we'd won, the reports would have been about how we were singing about Durrant - and probably about the Ibrox disaster, too - and not about the result. Yeah, right on DR, to a certain extent I'm glad we lost too. :tossr: I am thoroughly unashamed of myself. If any of the "right on brigade" had told me to shut up there would have been bother. I won't be dictated to by the awful level of journalism prevalent in the central belt media. The song is a little old I grant you but it does wind the utter scum that is the Huns away contingent right up. A winner in my book. But hey, that's ok, we lost. Link to comment
carabas Posted December 25, 2006 Share Posted December 25, 2006 What does it matter what the BBC, Daily Record, huns, or anyone else for that matter, says or writes. We are the Dons and we should ignore it all. We would be better to return to the "nobody likes us, we don't care" mentality we had the 80's. Rise above it! OK, said my piece - back to lurking now. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted December 25, 2006 Share Posted December 25, 2006 The people who sung it should be ashamed of themselves - Wise up. I'll sing the Ian Durrant song when its sung. Its not sectarian, its about a little dickhead, and mostly it winds the huns up BIG time. Link to comment
redzrool Posted December 25, 2006 Share Posted December 25, 2006 Lets face it troops, if you really care what the west coast meeja think of us, then you're following the wrong sport.If singing the simmie song really sticks in your throat, then follow bowls, we are here to irritate the f**ck outa all things weeg (apologies to weeg dandies) weeg press dont like us, we dont like them, they will never say anything nice about us, no matter what we do and dont sing, if we dropped "simmie" songs all together, they would berrate us for something else!dont let the "mass weeg meeja" effect us redz.phuck em,STAND FREE. Link to comment
RAZOR Posted November 29, 2017 Share Posted November 29, 2017 quire right boss. to dundee red, 'to some extent it's just as well we lost'. jesus min, sort yersel oot. you would give up a win against the hun, so that the daily retard and the hun wouldn't report us singing durrant songs. they can report songs about us raping disabled bairns for all i care, if it means we get the points. f*ck them.Jesus. That's some way to make a point @@Henry Link to comment
mavv1903 Posted November 29, 2017 Share Posted November 29, 2017 Fuck all wrong with 'whos that lying' song, its about a tackle that's it..Nothing offensive or anything else in it. You hear what they hun cunts sing about and we going to moan at our own about a song that just depicts a tackle ? Link to comment
Parklife Posted November 29, 2017 Share Posted November 29, 2017 Sorry, it was more than a weak rendition - it was sung at least twice, very cleary. The people who sung it should be ashamed of themselves - we always go on about how we're better than them, but then allow ourselves to be dragged down to their level. Well done though, to the guys sitting next to me in row H of the RDU that were telling those 'fans' singing it to shut-up. To some extent it was just as well we lost, because if we'd won, the reports would have been about how we were singing about Durrant - and probably about the Ibrox disaster, too - and not about the result. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted November 29, 2017 Share Posted November 29, 2017 The younger people talking about Durrant become the more cringe it becomes. People seem to be becoming younger every day you know Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted November 29, 2017 Share Posted November 29, 2017 It ruined the career of someone who could have been Scotland's greatest ever midfielder. He was never the same player. Those 2 comments churned out, irritate the life out of me. GTF. Oh aye... nothing better than a quick "he was pish anyway" to really rile up a hun Link to comment
Henry Posted November 29, 2017 Share Posted November 29, 2017 Jesus. That's some way to make a point @@Henry Blast from the past. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted November 29, 2017 Share Posted November 29, 2017 Wise up. I'll sing the Ian Durrant song when its sung. Its not sectarian, its about a little dickhead, and mostly it winds the huns up BIG time. +1 Edit:11 years ago, christ. I need to delete my account. 1 Link to comment
Henry Posted November 29, 2017 Share Posted November 29, 2017 +1 Edit:11 years ago, christ. I need to delete my account. Likewise. On Christmas Day no less @@Dynamo min. 1 Link to comment
Misers Hill Posted November 29, 2017 Share Posted November 29, 2017 Hope our most poisonous songbook gets aired tonight,chuck in the other verses of " You are a Weegie " for good measure..,, ... Link to comment
Dandy Posted November 29, 2017 Share Posted November 29, 2017 It ruined the career of someone who could have been Scotland's greatest ever midfielder. He was never the same player. Applied to Simmie far more Link to comment
Misers Hill Posted November 29, 2017 Share Posted November 29, 2017 Hope our most poisonous songbook gets aired tonight,chuck in the other verses of " You are a Weegie " for good measure..,, ...Edit..no cunts probably heard them fae/since the 70"s...happy hunting tonite gentlemen...the first verse will gadly suffice.. Link to comment
Misers Hill Posted November 29, 2017 Share Posted November 29, 2017 Applied to Simmie far more Never a truer statement.. Link to comment
Betty Swallicks Posted November 29, 2017 Share Posted November 29, 2017 I can honestly say I've never been offended by a fitba song. Its a song.....at the fitba! Get on with it ffs! What next, rainbow coloured boot laces? 1 Link to comment
Redforever86 Posted November 29, 2017 Share Posted November 29, 2017 I can honestly say I've never been offended by a fitba song. Its a song.....at the fitba! Get on with it ffs! What next, rainbow coloured boot laces? In the book a season with Verona, the fans on a bus sing to their own bus driver. Your daughter fucks Nig*ers. We are to tame. Link to comment
fine-n-dandy Posted November 29, 2017 Share Posted November 29, 2017 It ruined the career of someone who could have been Scotland's greatest ever midfielder. He was never the same player. Those 2 comments churned out, irritate the life out of me. GTF.Not sure that is even true because that Kennedy cunt that's coaching at Celtic & got injured on U21 international duty was going to be Scotlands greatest ever player but I guess it wasn't as news worthy as it wasn't another Scottish player that injured him. Link to comment
the_shrimp Posted November 29, 2017 Share Posted November 29, 2017 The Durrant songs are disgusting to be honest. All those years and we've only really came up with a couple.We're not the most prolific of song writers our fans. I feel we won't see any new Durrant songs until he dies or becomes disabled. Link to comment