Top 6 Oot The Windae

Hopefully Motherwell can crack on and consign the Huns to a finish outside their customary top two spot. Fuck it, the way the Huns are playing it's possible the Jutes might overtake them.

We can still finish Top O The Tards in the League O Tards after the split... AND we have a semi final against a team that's actually worse than we are. Jesus and his pixies have smiled on us once again and given us the easiest possible draw in order to progress to a final despite ourselves.

That semi-final is there for us to win or lose, once again, on our own merit. It's not like we have to get past Barcelona to reach our first final in a thousand fucking years. And Killie showed today that the Tims are far from unbeatable.

...and for my own part, I'd like to see Aberdeen win a trophy once more, before they force me to switch allegiance to the Yids next season.

Mon the Reds!

• Replies 106

Positivity, we'll have none of that here thanks very much.

J/k top of tards gave a chuckle, but yeah cups ours we're even getting two trips to hampden and getting to bin the mini-tims and daddy tims out of it. Can't wait to see Lennons face, hopefully we win off a dodgy pen in the 5th min of extra time when there was only meant to be 2 or something.

lennon.gif

Three seasons on the trot without top six football. Doesn't look good for us, does it? Won't care if we win the semi of course, and will deem the season a success if we were to go on to win the cup. But bottom six football, particularly since Brown's been in charge for the entire season this time, is simply not good enough.

Hopefully Motherwell can crack on and consign the Huns to a finish outside their customary top two spot. Fuck it, the way the Huns are playing it's possible the Jutes might overtake them.

We can still finish Top O The Tards in the League O Tards after the split... AND we have a semi final against a team that's actually worse than we are. Jesus and his pixies have smiled on us once again and given us the easiest possible draw in order to progress to a final despite ourselves.

That semi-final is there for us to win or lose, once again, on our own merit. It's not like we have to get past Barcelona to reach our first final in a thousand fucking years. And Killie showed today that the Tims are far from unbeatable.

...and for my own part, I'd like to see Aberdeen win a trophy once more, before they force me to switch allegiance to the Yids next season.

Mon the Reds!

Suppose the semi final is everything for us now and only interest left in our season now. Win and we make our first final in many a year and many will see that as some success. Win it and certainly would be. Lose the semi and fair to say yet another disasterous season.

Is it just me or is our continued failure to make the top 6 almost an accepted fact now. There seems to no reaction or voices of complaint emanating from the Pittodrie hierarchy.

Such apathy and complacency is very dangerous, and leads to a general acceptance of mediocrity. Yes, we may be in the semi-final, but that is no justification for continuing to tolerate ending up in the bottom 6 yet again.

If we aim for the top 6, semi finals will be a regular bonus, not just a consolation.

Is it just me or is our continued failure to make the top 6 almost an accepted fact now. There seems to no reaction or voices of complaint emanating from the Pittodrie hierarchy.

Such apathy and complacency is very dangerous, and leads to a general acceptance of mediocrity. Yes, we may be in the semi-final, but that is no justification for continuing to tolerate ending up in the bottom 6 yet again.

If we aim for the top 6, semi finals will be a regular bonus, not just a consolation.

Doesn't the club budget for a bottom 6 finish, meaning that the club itself expects bottom 6 as a likelyhood?

As far as I'm concerned, if you budget for bottom 6, and your expectations are bottom 6, then that's exactly where you're shooting for... so to finish TOP of the bottom 6 is in itself a successful season so far as AFC is concerned.

I'm not saying I agree that a club like Aberdeen should finish bottom six, I'm simply pointing out that bottom 6 is where AFC itself believes it should be finishing.

And for the last three years straight that has been delivered...all expectations met.

We ARE a bottom 6 club now.

I'd consider that unacceptable... but that's the level of ambition of Milne and those controlling the club.

Think record low crowds post split if we lose the semi would be what sends the message, continuing into season ticket sales in summer.

Doesn't the club budget for a bottom 6 finish, meaning that the club itself expects bottom 6 as a likelyhood?

As far as I'm concerned, if you budget for bottom 6, and your expectations are bottom 6, then that's exactly where you're shooting for... so to finish TOP of the bottom 6 is in itself a successful season so far as AFC is concerned.

I'm not saying I agree that a club like Aberdeen should finish bottom six, I'm simply pointing out that bottom 6 is where AFC itself believes it should be finishing.

And for the last three years straight that has been delivered...all expectations met.

We ARE a bottom 6 club now.

I'd consider that unacceptable... but that's the level of ambition of Milne and those controlling the club.

Budget and ambition 2 completely seperate things here for me.

The budget should be set for low finishes meaning higher finishes mean taking in more money. Budgeting 10th and finishing 8th would mean financially doing ok, but if we budget for 4th and end up 10th then we will lose shit loads of cash.

However the ambition should be much much higher than where the budget is ultimately set. Unfortunately from top to bottom (with emaphisis at top) there seems to be serious lack of ambition and and ignoral of failure. In fact on occasions failure has been mooted as some kind of success by our board (e.g. 2 semi finals in one season or finishing 6th in league)

The semi is make or break.

The budget given to Brown last season was for a top 6 finish.

He's not delivered that. And he should have.

Everything hinges on us making the final....and winning it.

Anything else, well it's not been good enough on the whole has it.

I think Brown, to be fair, has done a great job of dumping the deadwood and hangers on, and of freezing out those who shouldn't be playing football for Aberdeen in the first place.

Pretty much his first act as Aberdeen manager was to tell Ifil and Young there was no place at Pittodrie for them. I'd be lying if I said that didn't impress me.

We now have players who actually seem like they want to play for this club, rather than a group of sulky shitbags who want nothing more than to draw an inflated wage for no effort. I still recall the tail-end of McGhee's last season... watching players not even pretending to go through the motions. That's how little a fuck they gave... watching those games on RedTV was bad enough, but if I'd been at Pittodrie I think I'd have been lifted so fucking enraged was I. And a couple of games near the end I honestly though the Dons support was going to storm the pitch.

We might not be brilliant right now, but if we can find a goal threat I think we can get a top six spot pretty comfortably next season... and that's the first time I've thought that in a fair while.

Based on the ability and effort the team has put in this season, I would argue that 5th place would have been fair.

However, Browns tactics have ensured that we never had a hope of that being the case. We've been a little bit unlucky in some games, and pish in the others.

Win the cup, and he'll be a fuckin' hero!

I think Brown, to be fair, has done a great job of dumping the deadwood and hangers on, and of freezing out those who shouldn't be playing football for Aberdeen in the first place.

Pretty much his first act as Aberdeen manager was to tell Ifil and Young there was no place at Pittodrie for them. I'd be lying if I said that didn't impress me.

What a pile o pish.

He's a fucking fitba manager, part of his job is telling players they're nae good enough or not part of your plans.

If we don't beat hibs Milne shoule tell Broon the exact same.

The semi is make or break.

The budget given to Brown last season was for a top 6 finish.

He's not delivered that. And he should have.

Everything hinges on us making the final....and winning it.

Anything else, well it's not been good enough on the whole has it.

I agree.

To not make the top 6 in this league, with our budget compared to some, is shameful.

And we're nowhere near - is it 9 points behind 6th? Utter pish, and shitey safety first tactics are to blame.

What a pile o pish.

Not to pick you up on mixing your metaphors, but you can't pile pish. It could be a puddle of pish or a pile of shite.... :)

He's a fucking fitba manager, part of his job is telling players they're nae good enough or not part of your plans.

If we don't beat hibs Milne shoule tell Broon the exact same.

Indeed he is, but unlike his predecessors HE identified that Ifil was shite and dumped him when McGhee insisted on playing him. HE identified that Young was pish and and dumped him when Calderwood ahd actually brought the guy back AFTER we were shot of the cunt.

So in that respect alone.. aside from the more obvious that he has done what his two predecessors failed to do and built a professional side... he is a tremendous improvement on the previous regimes in terms of the attitude of the team.

In essence he's removed the piss poor attitude left over from the Calderwood era and the piss poor playing style of the McGhee era.

We now have players who actually seem like they want to play for this club, rather than a group of sulky shitbags who want nothing more than to draw an inflated wage for no effort. I still recall the tail-end of McGhee's last season... watching players not even pretending to go through the motions. That's how little a fuck they gave... watching those games on RedTV was bad enough, but if I'd been at Pittodrie I think I'd have been lifted so fucking enraged was I. And a couple of games near the end I honestly though the Dons support was going to storm the pitch.

We might not be brilliant right now, but if we can find a goal threat I think we can get a top six spot pretty comfortably next season... and that's the first time I've thought that in a fair while.

Your post just confirms what seems to be a major part of the problem. It appears that for some time things were so bad that any improvements are greeted with acclaim and appreciation, masking the fact that basically we are still pretty shite and have a long way to go.

This is because I'm under no illusions that the club has been in decline for a decade and a half, if not more. That doesn't change overnight, and certainly doesn't change while Milne is in charge.

We are pretty shite, and until we remove the dipshit in the Chairman's seat we're going to continue to be pretty shite.

Some years the level of shite will be big and some years the level of shite will be small, but the bottom line is that the club will be shite.

Now, I base my opinion on this painful fact rather than any kind of wishful thinking that we're somehow, in the face of all the evidence, not really shite, or that we somehow have the boardroom in place top kick on to a higher level.

Not so.

Your post confirms, conversely, what I know. That a section of the support erroneously thinks we're in a position to be significantly better than we are.

Telling Ifil and Young they can go impresses you ke1t?

In the respect that Brown identified what his predecessor/s did not, yes, absolutely. Particularly in the context of his other dealings with the players we needed shot of.

So the short answer to that question is yes.

Sadly he replaced Ifil with his twin brother!!

Your post confirms, conversely, what I know. That a section of the support erroneously thinks we're in a position to be significantly better than we are.

I'm pleased to be in agreement with someone on here. And your post confirms my thinking as well. As they say, if you feed on scraps most of the time, an occasional piece of bread with gravy will taste like a steak.

Were we not 6th not that long ago? What happened to this best run since willie miller we were on?

9 points behind 6th and still games to be played (one against hearts) absolute embarassment given the tremendous backing brown has had.

We might be assuming we will beat hibs in the semi but that is dangerous as there has been nothing in the games played this season.

Were we not 6th not that long ago? What happened to this best run since willie miller we were on?

9 points behind 6th and still games to be played (one against hearts) absolute embarassment given the tremendous backing brown has had.

We might be assuming we will beat hibs in the semi but that is dangerous as there has been nothing in the games played this season.

Yes, very true. Brown's reign will be marked by a record of under achievement on the same scale as his predecessors. Managers are only measured by the trophies that they win. Has Brown ever won any?