The Boofon Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 To suggest finishing 2nd is just as good as finishing 11th is ridiculous. From a financial perspective yes it is. From a trophy perspective it's exactly the same. Fuck all in the cabinet. I think we're thinking of different perspectives Byrne so let's leave it at that. Link to comment
Big Stall Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 Dinna buy media spin, finishing 2nd, whilst creditable in the sense of the size of the club, amounts to no achievement whatsoever. If we win the cup we are also in Europe which negates that argument. If Aberdeen get into Europe by winning the cup, they will be out the competition before the team who gets 2nd, even enters the Europa league stage once theyv been pumped out the Champions League. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 tup stop. talking. utter. fucking. shite. The next time you talk sense will be the first. The amount of winded pish you spout on here is laughable Actually, keep it coming, it's entertaining Link to comment
Stoney Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 So whats the point in us playing in the league next year when its obvious celtic will be winning it? Link to comment
tup Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 If Aberdeen get into Europe by winning the cup, they will be out the competition before the team who gets 2nd, even enters the Europa league stage once theyv been pumped out the Champions League. Whoopee doo, break out the bunting, you get knocked out a round later. In any case, continental teams fear Aberdeen, they've never heard of Motherwell, and rightly so. Link to comment
tup Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 So whats the point in us playing in the league next year when its obvious celtic will be winning it? Correct, there is no point, the SPL is a pointless competition for all but 2 teams. You've grasped it, even if it was by accident mid-hysteria. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 So whats the point in us playing in the league next year when its obvious celtic will be winning it? Link to comment
Big Stall Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 In any case, continental teams fear Aberdeen :confused: Sigma must have been really shitein themselves! Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted March 19, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted March 19, 2012 Far from it. I actually think Hibs will turn us over but crowing about second place regardless of financial benefits is in my mind a loser's mentality. Yes of course it would be great to have a pop at the Champions league (which is a nonsense tournament anyway) but as a fan I want silverware. If I was a member of the board then the money would be an issue. I'm not though so a cup win for me please. Not saying that other people's opinions aren't worthwhile though, just my own preference. Finances mean nothing to me as a fan. It's results that count. Results without quality are meaningless. Might as well play a computer game. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 Whoopee doo, break out the bunting, you get knocked out a round later. In any case, continental teams fear Aberdeen, they've never heard of Motherwell, and rightly so. utter fucking drivelSigma Olomouc among others would be bricking it I'd imagine STFU! Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 So whats the point in us playing in the league next year when its obvious celtic will be winning it? there isn't any point to the SPL anymore. Its one of the main factors that people think its shit. Theres no competition to it at all. It isn't the only factor though. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted March 19, 2012 Author Share Posted March 19, 2012 2nd would be a great achievement and a great platform for Aberdeen. We'd be able to attract a better calibre of player on the back of coming 2nd in the SPL compared to 7th-11th. Does a Stenhousemuir fan who thinks Stenny should be winning the Scottish Cup sound like a winner or a drunk? Stupid/irrelevant question... yes. But I just mean Aberdeen are where we are and just because you think anything below 1st is a disaster it doesn't make Aberdeen any more or less pish. Bottom 6 on merit, again. Link to comment
Site Sponsor RTYD Posted March 19, 2012 Site Sponsor Share Posted March 19, 2012 And I'm quite sure if we won the cup then folk would moan about it being a boring game or Fallon getting a game. Not me that is for sure. The cup final is one where it is better to win badly than lose well. The league is a different matter where they have to try to entertain or what is the point. 1990 Scottish cup final was one of the worst games I have ever seen, but the penalties were ace! Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 2nd would be a great achievement and a great platform for Aberdeen. We'd be able to attract a better calibre of player on the back of coming 2nd in the SPL compared to 7th-11th. Does a Stenhousemuir fan who thinks Stenny should be winning the Scottish Cup sound like a winner or a drunk? Stupid/irrelevant question... yes. But I just mean Aberdeen are where we are and just because you think anything below 1st is a disaster it doesn't make Aberdeen any more or less pish. Bottom 6 on merit, again. you mean like when we finished third then found ourselves with some good Euorpean nights at pittodrie? what would happen is our players would fuck off for the higher wages and we'd be left with our same old budget to attract shite. Link to comment
diamondsr4ever Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 we cannot win the spl in its current form. we can however win a league cup or scottish cup. id gladly swap a top 6 season in season out to win either cup each season, Motherwell finishing 2nd is good for them, it will allow them to survive and pay their wages for another few years, but they certainly " wont kick on" Link to comment
Stoney Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 you mean like when we finished third then found ourselves with some good Euorpean nights at pittodrie? what would happen is our players would fuck off for the higher wages and we'd be left with our same old budget to attract shite. Calderwood got excellent backing to replace players, didnt help that he spunked his money away on rubbish. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 Calderwood got excellent backing to replace players, didnt help that he spunked his money away on rubbish. wasn't his budget cut significantly? meaning he could not replace the likes of Nicholson and Anderson with adequate replacements? asking as I really don't know. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 Calderwood got excellent backing to replace players, didnt help that he spunked his money away on rubbish. The AFC equivalent of Godwin's Law has just occurred. Thread closed. Link to comment
Stoney Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 wasn't his budget cut significantly? meaning he could not replace the likes of Nicholson and Anderson with adequate replacements? asking as I really don't know.Hard to tell as there is no way of telling what the club were giving to the players bonus wise! But certainly no significant drop till Mcghee took over. And rightfully so as we were spending outwith our means. Think we paid quite a bit of money to release miller and kerr from united contracts and paid a lot of money for tommy wright, mulgrew and enkelhart, also sammy stewart came with a bit of a price tag. Certainly think Calderwood got very good backing and it was his fault we couldnt repeat or improve on a solid third place. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted March 19, 2012 Author Share Posted March 19, 2012 Anderson out for a million on the back of UEFA Cup qualifying season. Replacement, Lee Mair. Great backing indeed. I think it is commonly accepted that Milne missed a chance to invest in AFC when we were sitting 2nd around Christmas in 2006/07. Thats another story for another thread on another day though... ken Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 In any case, continental teams fear Aberdeen, they've never heard of Motherwell, and rightly so. Before Harcus gets there...... Link to comment
Stoney Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 Anderson out for a million on the back of UEFA Cup qualifying season. Replacement, Lee Mair. Great backing indeed. I think it is commonly accepted that Milne missed a chance to invest in AFC when we were sitting 2nd around Christmas in 2006/07. Thats another story for another thread on another day though... ken Im not sure how much milne could have done. Allowed calderwood to sign Bus, JDV, Brewster, Crawford, duff and also took in Mcnamara and Mair. Those guys wernt on pennies and we had buy a couple of contracts out! Calderwood had his backing and blew it. Cant blame the board for that one. Link to comment
Sonoftherock Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 I think it is commonly accepted that Milne missed a chance to invest in AFC when we were sitting 2nd around Christmas in 2006/07. Thats another story for another thread on another day though... ken That's the story of Aberdeen Football Club. Whenever we've been on top or doing well, we've always just been happy with our lot. AFC has always lacked foresight. Back in the 1980s, with the city of Aberdeen also booming, we should have been laying down the foundations for a successful future. Instead, we just sat on our hands, expecting the good times to continue to roll. Sadly football moved on... and Aberdeen didn't. .... but as you say, that's a story for another day. Link to comment
Byrne Baby Byrne Posted March 19, 2012 Author Share Posted March 19, 2012 So if we finish sort of 4th-11th we will be shite and stay shite. If we finish 2nd or 3rd we wont build on it and will lose our best players and will become shite again. We certainly wont win the league any time soon. Fuck me I feel depressed. I'm never making threads on Mondays again Link to comment
tup Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 So if we finish sort of 4th-11th we will be shite and stay shite. If we finish 2nd or 3rd we wont build on it and will lose our best players and will become shite again. We certainly wont win the league any time soon. Fuck me I feel depressed. I'm never making threads on Mondays again Correct, it's shite whether you finish 2-11th, extra shite if you finish last, and you've no hope of finishing 1st, ever again. Scottish football is exciting. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 Correct, it's shite whether you finish 2-11th, extra shite if you finish last, and you've no hope of finishing 1st, ever again. SPL football is exciting. fixed that for you as not every league in Scotland is shite. Fair enough the first division has seen a runaway leader this season but it can be very competitive. Highland league and other junior leagues are the same Link to comment
tup Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 fixed that for you as not every league in Scotland is shite. Fair enough the first division has seen a runaway leader this season but it can be very competitive. Highland league and other junior leagues are the same Aye you're 100% right, it's only the SPL which is non-competitive. And we all know the reasons for that, it's been implemented, by the terrorist organisations masquerading as sporting institutions. Link to comment
Lang Bar Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 Not me that is for sure. The cup final is one where it is better to win badly than lose well. The league is a different matter where they have to try to entertain or what is the point. 1990 Scottish cup final was one of the worst games I have ever seen, but the penalties were ace! I remember one right moaning cxnt being interviewed efter we won the cup in 83. Decidedly unhappy in regard to the lack of quality we displayed in winning the cup that day.Not good enough for Aberdeen is the message he was putting accross. Link to comment
tup Posted March 19, 2012 Share Posted March 19, 2012 I remember one right moaning cxnt being interviewed efter we won the cup in 83. Decidedly unhappy in regard to the lack of quality we displayed in winning the cup that day.Not good enough for Aberdeen is the message he was putting accross. sheepiekev Alex Ferguson. Link to comment