Comics And Graphic Novels Thread

Right I rarely venture into the virtual Pub but tonight I seem to be particularly bored.

So, prompted by a mention of the book I stole my username from a few weeks ago (boofon I think) what comicbook chat can you all enlighten me with?

Personally first time I read any sort of Graphic Novel/Comic was about 2 years ago and since then I've gone on to read and really enjoy quite a few. I'll come to these in a minute but first I need to get something off my chest:

I've never been a comics person before. Always thought they were weird, Dungeons and Dragons types who don't wash.

However its not an excuse for being a smelly, weird cunt just because you read a comic. Its no different to reading anything else or to watching a film or whatever.

I also couldn't understand those folk who buy comics and keep them in plastic covers and never let anyone touch or breath on them or whatever. I just didn't get it and I still don't.

I think thats because the "collectors" thing I don't get. I think people who collect things, anything at all are just fucking sad OCD bastards.

So leaving all that aside anyone thinking on looking at this stuff for the first time I'd recommend the following (I've read all of these as graphic novels rather than comics):

V for Vendetta

Watchmen

Batman: Year One

Batman: The Killing Joke

Arkham Asylam

The Dark Night Returns

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen Vol 1 and 2

Thinking Sin City series might be next but its pricey and I'm a tight bastard.

Fire Torpedoes!

Right I rarely venture into the virtual Pub but tonight I seem to be particularly bored.

So, prompted by a mention of the book I stole my username from a few weeks ago (boofon I think) what comicbook chat can you all enlighten me with?

Personally first time I read any sort of Graphic Novel/Comic was about 2 years ago and since then I've gone on to read and really enjoy quite a few. I'll come to these in a minute but first I need to get something off my chest:

I've never been a comics person before. Always thought they were weird, Dungeons and Dragons types who don't wash.

However its not an excuse for being a smelly, weird cunt just because you read a comic. Its no different to reading anything else or to watching a film or whatever.

I also couldn't understand those folk who buy comics and keep them in plastic covers and never let anyone touch or breath on them or whatever. I just didn't get it and I still don't.

I think thats because the "collectors" thing I don't get. I think people who collect things, anything at all are just fucking sad OCD bastards.

So leaving all that aside anyone thinking on looking at this stuff for the first time I'd recommend the following (I've read all of these as graphic novels rather than comics):

V for Vendetta

Watchmen

Batman: Year One

Batman: The Killing Joke

Arkham Asylam

The Dark Night Returns

The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen Vol 1 and 2

Thinking Sin City series might be next but its pricey and I'm a tight bastard.

Fire Torpedoes!

Not a big fan of the American Graphic Novels... generally Superpowers just annoy me, and the only American 'Superhero' I an think of who doesn't have a Superpower is Batman.

Much prefer the British stuff, where the central figure is usually a normal person in an exceptional situation, rather than some twat who flies around in tight spandex.

My own favourites would be Slaine The Horned God, which draws on Celtic mythology for its premise.

biz00321.jpg

And of course, V for Vendetta.

Not a big fan of the American Graphic Novels... generally Superpowers just annoy me, and the only American 'Superhero' I an think of who doesn't have a Superpower is Batman.

Much prefer the British stuff, where the central figure is usually a normal person in an exceptional situation, rather than some twat who flies around in tight spandex.

My own favourites would be Slaine The Horned God, which draws on Celtic mythology for its premise.

biz00321.jpg

And of course, V for Vendetta.

Watchmen is another with no magicall special powers.

Totally with you on that though - nothing more difficult to relate to and totally unimaginative than a "superhero" in tights who can fly, see through walls or turn into a goat or something.

Obviously the league ones do but I was pleasantly surprised to find the FAR better than the stupid film adaptation.

Never heard of Slaine. Will check that out.

Watchmen is another with no magicall special powers.

V and Watchmen are, of course, both British creations... The British stuff seems at least within the realms of outlandish possibility. Rogue Trooper being another perfect example... a genetically modified human fighting a war in a poisoned atmosphere, where regular humans have to wear NBC suits. Not outside the realms of possibility.

I would also add Rogue Trooper to my favourites.

19833826_1.jpg

And, if you can even find it any more.. The Light And Darkness War.

27205-4057-30182-1-light-and-darkness-w_large.jpg

For you guys who think of supes as quite silly, you should defo think about getting The Boys, it's still ongoing at the moment (only 8 issues to go till the end), by Garth Ennis of Preacher fame. It's about a CIA backed team of 4 very hard men, one mad Japanese woman, and a bulldog, paid to watch the worst force in the world- superheroes. Raw, quite violent, but a fantastic deconstruction of superhero comics, plenty of shagging and laugh out loud funny in places. Should be able to get all the trades in the shops by now.

Where to start...

About 15 years ago it was all about the artistes - The Macfarlane's the Liefelds etc etc... Used to work in a comic shop in my teens and student days and the amount of Sh*te that would filter through - the multiple covers etc etc...

Whilst I was living in Malaysia I spent a ton on Graphic Novels, on books that I'd missed or mostly because I wanted to read them from beginning to end... For me now it's about story tellers - the artwork is somewhat of a bonus to a great story...

Here's what I'd recommend in no particular order:

Powers, Ultimate Spider-man - and anything by Brian Michael Bendis

Y: The Last Man, Ex Machina, Runaways and anything by Brian K Vaughan

The Walking Dead, Invincible and anything by Robert Kirkman

100 Bullets, Joker and anything by Brian Azzarello

Hellblazer, Preacher, The Boys, Wormwood and anything by Garth Ennis

Kick Ass, Nemesis, Ultimates, Ultimate Fantastic Four and anything by Mark Millar

Rising Stars, Amazing Spider-man, Superman Earth One, Thor etc etc and anything by J. Michael Straczynski

The Filth, The Invisibles, Batman & Robin, New X Men, Batman Arkham Asylum, All Star Superman, etc etc etc etc.... and MOST things by Grant Morrison

Neil Gaiman and Alan Moore can be quite hard work for some although they truly have some ground breaking and innovative work between them and there are other great writers as well Pete Milligan, Joss Whedon's run on Astonishing X Men, John Byrne, Jeph Loeb etc etc etc...

SOME of Frank Miller's stuff - can be very inconsistent - his Daredevil stuff is some of my favourite, Sin City is a bit hit and miss for me same with Hard Boiled... And his Batman stuff goes from brilliant (Year One, Dark Knight Returns) to terrible (Dark Knight Strikes Again)

Some great stuff out there...

What am I even thinking... they turned the novel, Ender's Game, into a graphic novel.

I haven't seen the Graphic Novel, but I've read the actual book and it's without a doubt one of the best books in any genre I've read.

I'd recommend the audio book for Ender's game, though.

Considered one of the best, if not THE best, sci-fi book written. Filming of the movie began in February this year.

Oh, jesus, it's all coming back :)

Zenith is also worth getting hold of. Start with Zenith: Phase One.

Fucking great.

Nothing can harm Zenith - or so he thinks. He is about to get a huge wake-up call, courtesy of a World War II legacy that will not stay buried and a multi-dimensional race of soul-eating gods who want to re-shape the Earth and its inhabitants in their own image

Where to start...

About 15 years ago it was all about the artistes - The Macfarlane's the Liefelds etc etc... Used to work in a comic shop in my teens and student days and the amount of Sh*te that would filter through - the multiple covers etc etc...

Whilst I was living in Malaysia I spent a ton on Graphic Novels, on books that I'd missed or mostly because I wanted to read them from beginning to end... For me now it's about story tellers - the artwork is somewhat of a bonus to a great story...

Here's what I'd recommend in no particular order:

Powers, Ultimate Spider-man - and anything by Brian Michael Bendis

Y: The Last Man, Ex Machina, Runaways and anything by Brian K Vaughan

The Walking Dead, Invincible and anything by Robert Kirkman

100 Bullets, Joker and anything by Brian Azzarello

Hellblazer, Preacher, The Boys, Wormwood and anything by Garth Ennis

Kick Ass, Nemesis, Ultimates, Ultimate Fantastic Four and anything by Mark Millar

Rising Stars, Amazing Spider-man, Superman Earth One, Thor etc etc and anything by J. Michael Straczynski

The Filth, The Invisibles, Batman & Robin, New X Men, Batman Arkham Asylum, All Star Superman, etc etc etc etc.... and MOST things by Grant Morrison

Neil Gaiman and Alan Moore can be quite hard work for some although they truly have some ground breaking and innovative work between them and there are other great writers as well Pete Milligan, Joss Whedon's run on Astonishing X Men, John Byrne, Jeph Loeb etc etc etc...

SOME of Frank Miller's stuff - can be very inconsistent - his Daredevil stuff is some of my favourite, Sin City is a bit hit and miss for me same with Hard Boiled... And his Batman stuff goes from brilliant (Year One, Dark Knight Returns) to terrible (Dark Knight Strikes Again)

Some great stuff out there...

What am I even thinking... they turned the novel, Ender's Game, into a graphic novel.

I haven't seen the Graphic Novel, but I've read the actual book and it's without a doubt one of the best books in any genre I've read.

I'd recommend the audio book for Ender's game, though.

Considered one of the best, if not THE best, sci-fi book written. Filming of the movie began in February this year.

Right then. Thats me away to do some shopping on Amazon.

Or have a gander at warez-bb.org and see what you can find !

Funny Kelt I was thinking about Zenith the other day... Had a look at the graphic novels on ebay coz I couldn't find anything for gratis and they're fucking expensive...

Would love to have a read of that again... and Bad Company... In fact there's a lot of great 200Ad stuff that has or hasn't been reprinted...

http://www.2000adonline.com/books/

I've bought some of the Army Of Darkness books- the movie adaptation's spot on: however everything else is an embarrassment. Anyone here buy any of the Avengers comics? New and Secret Avengers are decent enough, but the main one is gash, then again the Ultimates, especially the ones written by Mark Millar are immense.

Funny Kelt I was thinking about Zenith the other day... Had a look at the graphic novels on ebay coz I couldn't find anything for gratis and they're fucking expensive...

Would love to have a read of that again... and Bad Company... In fact there's a lot of great 200Ad stuff that has or hasn't been reprinted...

Holy shit.. how did I forget Bad Company?

I actually have all the Bad Company graphic novels.

Danny Franks IS.. aaaah, I won't spoil it ;)

Superman red son is a good read with a good premise. Wanted is another good one. Does have superpowers in it but does it vastly different Basically though if you are going to read 1 graphic novel it has to be Watchmen. One of the best books I have ever read.

EDIT: What a bunch of geeky fuckers we are.

If you enjoy 100 Bullets (which of course you will...) Check out Azarello's take on the Batman origin Knights of Vengeance... came out last year one of my favourite Batman stories ever ( that and his Joker graphic novel). Azarello and Risso have also just started a mini series called Spaceman which I've just started - pretty good so far...

Y is awesome too - might have to have a revisit - haven't read it in a while.

I was really into 2000AD as a boy, got most of the first 200 progs, havent read anything for years.

By coincidence, today I noticed this event happening in Polmont on April 21st:

http://www.falkirkcommunitytrust.org/whats-on/events/event.aspx?eid=1131&did=7061&utm_source=fctweb&utm_medium=banner&utm_campaign=graphicnovelnight

"The artist and novelists confirmed for the evening are:

David Bishop: Editor 2000AD, writer for 2000AD, writer on 2000AD novels, writer Thrill Power Overload: a history of 2000AD

Metaphrog: John Chalmers and Sandra Marrs from Glasgow writer and artist behind cult comics Strange Weather Lately and Louis.

Rough Cut Comics: Ed Murphy from Glasgow based publishers of Freedom Collective, Society, The Surgeon, Rose Black.

Emancipation Studios: James Lundy from Armadale based publishers."

Funnily enough I just found a wee Strontium Dog thing I did with 2000AD artist, PJ Holden back in the day. A short one-page filler.

This is my total contribution to the British Science Fiction Graphic Novel/Comicbook genre...

16278eq.jpg

Funnily enough I just found a wee Strontium Dog thing I did with 2000AD artist, PJ Holden back in the day. A short one-page filler.

This is my total contribution to the British Science Fiction Graphic Novel/Comicbook genre...

16278eq.jpg

:hysterical: Was that the viking guy, Wulf Sternhammer or something that's in the ship wi Johnny Alpha? Apart fae that, nae bad piece, mannie.