Call-Me-Dave Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Winning and success is everything and there is nothing more crucial to that than the manager. Relatively, a team financially backed will fail with the wrong manager. A poor manager who inherits a good team will ultimately fail. A managers importance is undermined not least by the majority of themselves, Playing and signing to a standard module. Themselves admitting it's much of muchness. The most important decision a chairman will ever make - what manager. Often the criteria includes experience in the standard module, availability - contractual and financial, topping the list - whether they would be in favour with the fans. The easy options, Calderwood, Mcghee and Brown have met the criteria, have all played and signed to the standard module. On occasion sometimes players that are out with the stand module slip through, but when the do they are placed in storage. Jeffery de Visscher being one such player, defensive frailty in this winger offset the superior touch, passing, composure and creativity he possessed. Derek Young despite having no qualities generally considered beneficial to a footballer was often the preferred choice. Peter Pawlett being another such player, injury has undoubtedly hampered Pawlett but his adventurous nature has been his real demise, Chris Clark who's safety always approach (both his own physical welfare and his football philosophies) being the preferred option. This approach is tried and tested, failed and failing with vague signs (nothing more than hope) of things changing. Kenny Sheils and Peter Houston are not the most intelligent of men - even compared to their peers, nor the most inspirational, both working on limited budgets, however both have the courage to veer off the standard module. Kilmarnock playing man for man and having free will on the ball, Dundee united flooding the midfield with players who offer nothing physically or defensively but have a desire to play. Paul Lambert at Norwich shares all the qualities of Houston and sheils, his team are dynamic and fearless. Swansea City's Barca-esc style of football has been outstanding as has their results. Rodgers, Sheils, Houston and Lambert are all new to management but all have realised that by changing the way they play and the players they sign they can compete in games and in positions they shouldn't. Change is what is needed, Craig brown will not be sacked, but he is failing and only when he has failed sufficiently will he be. Our chairman needs to take another approach now more than ever the free ticket initiative yesterday may actually turn out counter-productive but this mentality, this module will be disastrous after our move to Loriston. My own choice would be Steve Coppell. An odd-ball, temperamental and ready to walk out at any minute. But Brilliant a man who couldn't be further from the standard module if he tried. His teams play without fear, he signs well and he is nothing but honest. Someone who would like skovdahl engage with the fans but hopefully more successful. Link to comment
Mouse Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Good post. My choice would be one of the men mentioned in your post - Kenny Sheils. 1 Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Isn't it a bit premature to be debating who Brown's successor should be. His contract runs until the end of next season. Link to comment
minijc Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Isn't it a bit premature to be debating who Brown's successor should be. His contract runs until the end of next season.Aye but with old age you canna never be so sure. Link to comment
Call-Me-Dave Posted March 25, 2012 Author Share Posted March 25, 2012 Good post. My choice would be one of the men mentioned in your post - Kenny Sheils. Cheers, wouldn't be adverse to Sheils. Link to comment
OddJob Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Steve Coppell? Is he even still managing like? Link to comment
Call-Me-Dave Posted March 25, 2012 Author Share Posted March 25, 2012 Steve Coppell? Is he even still managing like? No, he retired I believe - Absence makes the heart grow fonder and all that. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 I'd have thought when Brown retires at the end of next season, Derek Adams would be the logical choice.Although, it's all about timing.By that I mean Adams seems the logical choice just now, but what if Ross County get relegated at the end of next season after looking out of their depth next season? Adams might not seem such an obvious choice if that happensThis time next year will be the better time to judge. Then again, if Brown takes us to where we should be next season, ie top 4, then he might stay on for another 12 months.Too early to tell really. But if you're asking me now for a prediction, then it's Derek Adams next up Link to comment
OddJob Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 I'd have thought when Brown retires at the end of next season, Derek Adams would be the logical choice.Although, it's all about timing.By that I mean Adams seems the logical choice just now, but what if Ross County get relegated at the end of next season after looking out of their depth next season? Adams might not seem such an obvious choice if that happensThis time next year will be the better time to judge. Then again, if Brown takes us to where we should be next season, ie top 4, then he might stay on for another 12 months.Too early to tell really. But if you're asking me now for a prediction, then it's Derek Adams next upLike i said before when Adams was mentioned i'd have no problems with him being manager, however i know how fickle our fans are. If he struggled with us then the fans would be on his back and we'd be back to square one. Tbh it's a no win situation. Link to comment
paddy Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 The Aberdeen manager's spot seems a poisoned challis now. Just hope for some kinda change in form soon, AFC have been shite for a long time. Link to comment
sheepiekev Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Like i said before when Adams was mentioned i'd have no problems with him being manager, however i know how fickle our fans are. If he struggled with us then the fans would be on his back and we'd be back to square one. Tbh it's a no win situation. Football fans the world over are fickle Oddjob, it's not just an Aberdeen thing.To be fair, McGhee got longer than he deserved for the nonsensical way he handled the job - starting on day one when he said he'd rather have got the Celtic job. His legendary status as a player got him 6 months longer than he deserved. As for Brown, the concensus seems to be that he's stabilised us but might struggle to take us to where we should be because he's too worried about not losing games. He says he knows what he needs to make us a better team...but does he?Finding a good striker, winger and another full back are what's required in my opinion, but I'd be surprised if Brown addresses this - he hasn't in previous windows.If we signed 3 players in those positions of the quality of a Rob Milsom, then we can look forward to next season. Link to comment
ericblack4boss Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 no prizes for guessing who i think should be next incumbment, i heard talksport the other day saying it's no surprise that Blackburns results have picked up since Blacks arrival. Link to comment
Stoneybloke Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 no prizes for guessing who i think should be next incumbment, i heard talksport the other day saying it's no surprise that Blackburns results have picked up since Blacks arrival.So he's a good assistant. No more legends, please. Link to comment
wilm1542 Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Craig Brown's job is to rebuild which is what he is currently doing. I still have faith but there MUST be success next season. After the summer he will of had his 4 transfer windows and the squad will be completely his own. Link to comment
Jazzer_Bett Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Derek Adams is already done. Link to comment
OneBeboMaguire Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Football fans the world over are fickle Oddjob, it's not just an Aberdeen thing.To be fair, McGhee got longer than he deserved for the nonsensical way he handled the job - starting on day one when he said he'd rather have got the Celtic job. His legendary status as a player got him 6 months longer than he deserved. As for Brown, the concensus seems to be that he's stabilised us but might struggle to take us to where we should be because he's too worried about not losing games. He says he knows what he needs to make us a better team...but does he?Finding a good striker, winger and another full back are what's required in my opinion, but I'd be surprised if Brown addresses this - he hasn't in previous windows.If we signed 3 players in those positions of the quality of a Rob Milsom, then we can look forward to next season.Steven Smith, McNamee. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Adams's side seems to play football the right way and without fear, I'm just not convinced he is ready for the perils of top flight management. Not to say by the time CB retires he won't be though. Whoever succeeds Brown though will have to instantly capture the imagination of most to generate anticipation. A boring, tried, run of the mill, usual suspect SPL manager won't do that. Link to comment
boboisared Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Adams's side seems to play football the right way and without fear, I'm just not convinced he is ready for the perils of top flight management. Not to say by the time CB retires he won't be though. Whoever succeeds Brown though will have to instantly capture the imagination of most to generate anticipation. A boring, tried, run of the mill, usual suspect SPL manager won't do that.He's actually been getting hassle for developing more of a direct route this season. I'm sure thats why Steven Pressley etc have been hammering him in the press. Link to comment
ollie1903 Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 He's actually been getting hassle for developing more of a direct route this season. I'm sure thats why Steven Pressley etc have been hammering him in the press.Has he? Didn't realise. Fuck him then. AMG Link to comment
boboisared Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Has he? Didn't realise. Fuck him then. AMG Link to comment
super_al Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Adams would not be the right choice. He has no experience at the SPL and by the time Brown's contract is out he may have just one season in the top flight. We have tried the young lower league manager with Patterson. Aberdeen need a guy with a track record. Link to comment
Redmist1903 Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Adams's side seems to play football the right way and without fear, Nae according to football greats Steven Pressley and Gus McPherson last week in the press! I'm nae keen on Adams being our next boss to be honest. I don't really want a good living, good bothering in-experienced daddies boy as our next manager, not my cup of tea I'm afraid. Link to comment
Redmist1903 Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Derek Adams is already done. I suspect you are speaking total garbage. Link to comment
RUL Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 The adams one is interesting because it appears those of us moaning about brown are fed up with the football. Ross county football by all accounts is non existent? Link to comment
Ke1t Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Adams would not be the right choice. He has no experience at the SPL and by the time Brown's contract is out he may have just one season in the top flight. We have tried the young lower league manager with Patterson. Aberdeen need a guy with a track record. Can't really afford a guy with a track record. I'd personally get Hartley in next season. Shouldn't be too expensive, already has a rapport with many of the fans, is a natural and charismatic leader who isn't scared to tell his superiors at the club exactly what he thinks. Watched his game at Hampden last season... had his team organised, players knew what they were doing, and he was standing on the touchline the entire game shouting instructions at his guys. Also can't imagine any shitbaggery of the sort has been endemic at Aberdeen the last few years being allowed to happen under Hartley's watch... Currently sitting 11 points clear in the third following a 4-0 win over third placed Queens Park. Pros seem to far outweigh any cons regarding Hartley. Link to comment
vanderark14 Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Adams would not be the right choice. He has no experience at the SPL and by the time Brown's contract is out he may have just one season in the top flight. We have tried the young lower league manager with Patterson. Aberdeen need a guy with a track record. However the main aim of the manager has got to be to out perform our rivals in the transfer market. just because we were burned with patterson doesn't mean we will next time we appoint an up and coming manager. Link to comment
K-9 Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Nae according to football greats Steven Pressley and Gus McPherson last week in the press! I'm nae keen on Adams being our next boss to be honest. I don't really want a good living, good bothering in-experienced daddies boy as our next manager, not my cup of tea I'm afraid.Nae too sure if County play long ball game. Top scorers in their squad are all short of 6ft. McMenemin 5'10, Brittain 5'9, Gardyne 5'5, Vigurs 5'8. Link to comment
J4MRU Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 I always thought Csaba Laszlo was a good shout but he is head coach for Lithuania now. Probably command a considerable wage too, but money aside... I think he would be good for the job. Pa Broon will sort the Dons out though! Link to comment
RUL Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Nae too sure if County play long ball game. Top scorers in their squad are all short of 6ft. McMenemin 5'10, Brittain 5'9, Gardyne 5'5, Vigurs 5'8. Every lower league fan seems to think the play the % game, I think that's in terms of they play the ball into corners of the pitch and pressure really high. Hard to judge personally as i've never seen them. Link to comment
MURRA Posted March 25, 2012 Share Posted March 25, 2012 Adams would not be the right choice. He has no experience at the SPL and by the time Brown's contract is out he may have just one season in the top flight. We have tried the young lower league manager with Patterson. Aberdeen need a guy with a track record. guy with a track record- craig brown, managed at world cups and yet everyone still seems to be unhappy with him. Link to comment