Bluto10 Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 i know its popular with families but anyone else like camping? i've only ever done it at glastonbury and twice more, once at home in aboyne and then a second time in a vineyard in champagne. have to say i quite like it. makes a pleasant change for a tradional hotel holiday. its important to get the right spot but if you do its briliant. especially if you are well equipped with food, drinks and stuff to keep you amused Link to comment
Dynamo Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 No I'm not a fan. Probably be quite good abroad in a nice place when it's warm though. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 Thought you were more in to cottaging Bluto? No for me, eh like my comforts, so freezing my erse aff in some shitty tent isn't for me. Link to comment
Dynamo Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 i know its popular with families but anyone else like camping? have to say i quite like it. Camping is for poofs! Sounds about right. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 3, 2012 Author Share Posted April 3, 2012 you can still bring your comforts, just need a bigger rucksac byen. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 3, 2012 Author Share Posted April 3, 2012 Camping is for poofs! check you, stick in the mud. Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 check you, stick in the mud.Haha! Although the amount of times I woken up in my garden after a night on the sesh. Is that classed as camping? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 3, 2012 Author Share Posted April 3, 2012 Haha! Although the amount of times I woken up in my garden after a night on the sesh. Is that classed as camping? id say thats called homelessness. but if youre happy to do that you'd love 'glamping'. Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 Glamping! Gonna have to Google that I'm afraid. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 3, 2012 Author Share Posted April 3, 2012 Glamping! Gonna have to Google that I'm afraid. its the way forward. Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 its the way forward.I take it back Bluto. Looks not too bad! Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 3, 2012 Author Share Posted April 3, 2012 I take it back Bluto. Looks not too bad! good man. essentially when camping, and i'm no expert, you just need to find a site that has got what you need. for me, its showers and food and drink. obvioulsy i want a nice picturesque location and view but that goes with out saying. some folk might want complete and utter isolation. different strokes for different folks. my camping in champagne was ace. the bar bill at the end was not. Link to comment
BrianFaePerth Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 good man. essentially when camping, and i'm no expert, you just need to find a site that has got what you need. for me, its showers and food and drink. obvioulsy i want a nice picturesque location and view but that goes with out saying. some folk might want complete and utter isolation. different strokes for different folks. my camping in champagne was ace. the bar bill at the end was not. Aren't the showers a bit communal? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 3, 2012 Author Share Posted April 3, 2012 Aren't the showers a bit communal? wrong spy bergen. but even if they were i widna care. im a hetero male, and dont feel intimidated by other males. Link to comment
bonzodaddy73 Posted April 3, 2012 Share Posted April 3, 2012 good man. essentially when camping, and i'm no expert, you just need to find a site that has got what you need. for me, its showers and food and drink. obvioulsy i want a nice picturesque location and view but that goes with out saying. some folk might want complete and utter isolation. different strokes for different folks. my camping in champagne was ace. the bar bill at the end was not. I was just looking at some place in Spain that had totally awesome tree houses. Looks fuckin ace! Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 3, 2012 Author Share Posted April 3, 2012 I was just looking at some place in Spain that had totally awesome tree houses. Looks fuckin ace! when i was last camping, well campervaning, one place had amazing views out to sea and goats, dogs and ducks wandering about. we put on a bonfire for sunset, washed down some of their own brew cider then heading to the battle cruiser for dinner and drinks. ace. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted April 5, 2012 Share Posted April 5, 2012 Picking up a family tent later today. My camping in recent years has mainly been of the festival variety, but you can't beat a slab of lager and a campfire in the middle of nowhere. You can get a shower when you get home. Link to comment
tommo1903 Posted April 5, 2012 Share Posted April 5, 2012 Having been to 15 three day festivals, and another puckle coming up, I would say that I'm Bear Grylls when it comes to camping. Though not a total bell end. Link to comment
The Boofon Posted April 5, 2012 Share Posted April 5, 2012 Having been to 15 three day festivals, and another puckle coming up, I would say that I'm Bear Grylls when it comes to camping. Though not a total bell end. I'm not a fan of camping. Caravan or motor home yes but not a tent. Ridiculous things. Link to comment
tup Posted April 5, 2012 Share Posted April 5, 2012 I'm not a fan of camping. Caravan or motor home yes but not a tent. Ridiculous things. I agree, why the fuck would anyone ever wish to sleep in a tent. What's the best that could happen, you get through the night without getting robbed/stabbed/eaten by a bear. Insanity. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted April 5, 2012 Share Posted April 5, 2012 I agree, why the fuck would anyone ever wish to sleep in a tent. What's the best that could happen, you get through the night without getting robbed/stabbed/eaten by a bear. Insanity. I have been camping on several occasions and never once have I been robbed or stabbed by a bear. I think you may be focusing on some pretty low-risk reasons not to camp, there. Link to comment
tup Posted April 5, 2012 Share Posted April 5, 2012 I have been camping on several occasions and never once have I been robbed or stabbed by a bear. I think you may be focusing on some pretty low-risk reasons not to camp, there. Try hiking the Appalachian Trail and then come back and tell me camping is an enjoyable, low-risk experience. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 5, 2012 Author Share Posted April 5, 2012 I agree, why the fuck would anyone ever wish to sleep in a tent. cause big fat caravans cant go to the places you want to stay in? Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted April 5, 2012 Share Posted April 5, 2012 Try hiking the Appalachian Trail and then come back and tell me camping is an enjoyable, low-risk experience. Bears up that way have plenty of knives do they? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 5, 2012 Author Share Posted April 5, 2012 Bears up that way have plenty of knives do they? good dad he is like. probably doesnt even take his kids camping. Link to comment
looksgoodinred Posted April 5, 2012 Share Posted April 5, 2012 i don't mind it. i'm up for the wood chopping, fire building, and fishing. and sleeping in a tent. and nothing tastes better than coffee, fried potatoes and eggs made over an open fire for breakfast. :thumbs: it's the washing in a cold lake that i'm no fan of. Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 5, 2012 Author Share Posted April 5, 2012 i don't mind it. i'm up for the wood chopping, fire building, and fishing. and sleeping in a tent. and nothing tastes better than coffee, fried potatoes and eggs made over an open fire for breakfast. :thumbs: it's the washing in a cold lake that i'm no fan of. aye exactly. anyone that never does it is just a boring old fart. 90% of my holiday are hotels/b&bs but its always good to do something different. certainly memorable. Link to comment
Dandyesque Posted April 5, 2012 Share Posted April 5, 2012 aye exactly. anyone that never does it is just a boring old fart. 90% of my holiday are hotels/b&bs but its always good to do something different. certainly memorable. Are you just trying to sucker us into backing your plans for camping outside Old Trafford overnight to get your hands on some tickets? Link to comment
Bluto10 Posted April 5, 2012 Author Share Posted April 5, 2012 Are you just trying to sucker us into backing your plans for camping outside Old Trafford overnight to get your hands on some tickets? nae quite min. good thinking though,......... Link to comment